backtop


Print 104 comment(s) - last by corduroygt.. on Nov 25 at 8:10 AM

It's coming November 22 for $499

Now that Sony's PlayStation 4 has already been reviewed and released, it's time for the competition to step into the ring: Microsoft's Xbox One.  

Reviewers like CNET, TechCrunch, The Verge and Gizmodo have put the Xbox One through the wringer, inspecting the ins and outs of Microsoft's latest console. While opinions varied from feature to feature, one thought seemed to be universal in the end: the Xbox One has the potential to be a great console, but that day isn't today.

Ready? Set. Go!

The Specs
  • 8 Core AMD custom CPU at 1.75 GHz
  • AMD Radeon GPU clocked at 853 MHz 
  • 8GB DDR3 + 32MB eSRAM embedded memory
  • 500 GB Hard Drive
  • 8GB Flash Memory
  • Kinect 2 motion control
  • Blu-Ray/DVD optical drive
  • USB 3.0
  • Gigabit Ethernet, WiFi connectivity
  • HDMI input and output
Pricing & Availability

The Xbox One will be released November 22 for $499. 

Reviews

Hardware - Console

Many tech sites touted the beauty of the PlayStation 4's console design, but that's not the case with the Xbox One. In fact, the reviewers said Microsoft's console is too large and has no distinguishing features -- it's just a black box.

Eric Limer from Gizmodo compared the Xbox One to a VCR: 

"The first thing you'll notice about the Xbox One is that it is large. Comically large. It looks like a Xbox 360 ate an Xbox 360 slim. It's more VCR than Blu-ray player. And that's in addition to the external power brick, itself a heaping chunk of hardware. It makes me nostalgic for my SEGA Saturn in ways I don't fully understand. And it's waaay bigger than the PS4."

The Verge also thinks the Xbox One is unattractive:

"If ever there were a triumph of function over form, it's the Xbox One. It's not attractive by really any definition: it's a big, black box about the size of an old-school VCR and with about the same amount of design flair. 13.1 inches deep, 10.8 inches wide, and 3.1 inches tall, and with only an capacitive Xbox logo power button and a disk drive on its face, an untrained eye might confuse the Xbox One for your Blu-ray player or cable box. That appears to be the point. The One isn't designed to stand out, like the sharply angled PlayStation 4; it's designed to disappear into the stack of black rectangles next to or underneath your television."

Greg Kumparak from TechCrunch said "it's not very pretty":

"Beauty is a subjective topic, but I think you’d be hard pressed to find anyone that would say the Xbox One is particularly beautiful. That’s not to say that it’s ugly, mind you — it’s not. It’s just.. there. It’s a big, black box, its materials a mix of matte and gloss. It has lots of vents. To describe it more richly than that would be using needless words. Many a commenter has suggested that the Xbox One resembles a VCR, and those comparisons aren’t wrong. It does look like a VCR, or the set-top cable box your cable guy might deliver.
Perhaps that was the intent. Microsoft has been pitching this as an all-in-one entertainment box from day one. For better or worse, it seems they’ve designed this box with the intent of it blending in with the aforementioned appliances, rather than having it scream 'I AM A GAME CONSOLE!'. Regardless, it’s not very pretty."


CNET's Jeff Bakalar reinforced the VHS opinion, but likes the look of the logo:

"The Xbox One is significantly bulkier and notably less sleek than the PlayStation 4; some have described it as a retrofitted VCR. Quite frankly it's not really anything special to look at, though the glowing white Xbox logo on the right panel is oddly soothing."


PS4 on top of an Xbox One [SOURCE: Gizmodo]


Hardware - Controller

The Xbox One's controller received mixed reviews from tech sites. While some felt the changes to the controller improved the gaming experience (one even said it's the best controller they've ever held), others saw hardly any change from the Xbox 360 controller or felt it didn't require the changes it received. 

Limer said the controller is "more solid":

"How the console—which you will only rarely interact with and hardly ever notice—looks is peanuts next to the controller and oh my god the controller. While it's roughly the same size as an the already fantastic Xbox 360 controller, the Xbox One controller feels more compact, a little heavier, and more solid, all in a way that's utterly fantastic."

Kumparak shared Limer's enthusiasm: 

"The Xbox One controller is absolutely superb. It is, perhaps, the best console controller I’ve ever held. The Xbox 360 controller was already very, very good, but it had a glaring fault or two. Its directional pad was, for lack of a better word, 'mushy', and it only got worse with age and use. The analog sticks lacked any real texture for your thumbs to grip on to, especially when the gaming got tense and the ol’ mitts got sweaty. The Xbox One controller is essentially a 360 controller refined, scrubbed of its flaws. The names of some buttons have changed, sure — but functionally, it’s a finely polished version of its predecessor. The D-pad now lets out a resounding click in every direction, and the analog sticks cling to your thumbs."

However, The Verge wasn't as impressed:

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it. Microsoft spent $100 million developing a new controller for the Xbox One and ended up with something almost exactly like the gamepad that came with the Xbox 360 eight years ago. It's practically the same exact size in every single direction, only a half-ounce heavier, and all the buttons are in the exact same places. Even the analog sticks are the same distance from the ground. There are a few subtle, meaningful improvements to the new gamepad, though. From the face buttons to the directional pad to the very seams in the plastic, everything looks and feels more precise than ever before. The analog sticks are now exactly two and a half inches apart and rimmed with an extremely grippy rubber material that practically guarantees your thumbs won't slide off. There's a new cross-shaped directional pad and shoulder buttons that click instantly when you apply pressure, and better still, Microsoft's completely replaced the squeaky, cheap triggers of the Xbox 360 gamepad with a new set that's silent and buttery smooth."

Bakalar doesn't like the feel:

"It's tough for the Xbox team to have improved upon the Xbox 360 controller. Save for its subpar D-pad, the controller was easily the most comfortable one ever made. For Xbox One, the controller's shape and feel have undergone tweaks, and I can't say it's all for the better. The new controller isn't necessarily uncomfortable, but it's gripped slightly different and has more angles as opposed the curves of the 360's controller. The Xbox guide button (now the Home button) is placed well away from where the Back and Start buttons used to flank it -- likely to avoid accidentally hitting. The Back and Start buttons are now the View and Menu buttons respectively. The Xbox One's controller still has the same layout for face buttons and the analog sticks are laid out in the same format as well. The sticks have smaller circular tops on the joysticks and they can be clicked in. The D-pad is the most different-looking, compared with the 360's controller; it no longer sits on a disc. The plus-shaped directional pad now clicks in four directions, totally eliminating the accidental inputs its predecessor suffered from."


Xbox One Controller
 

Software - User Interface

The Xbox One's UI also received mixed reviews. Some tech sites said it reacts much quicker to commands while others said it could be faster, and some like the Windows 8 design with tiles while others said it's confusing.

Limer said the UI is "busy" but not challenging to use:

"The Xbox One's dashboard is an obvious evolution from the latest version of the Xbox 360's UI, but it's also very much its own entity. The tiles on the Xbox one are far more starkly Windows 8 than anything on the 360. It's a change that's fresh, but not alienating. From the moment the Xbox One wakes up, everything is right at your fingertips. Apps, games, notifications, and yeah, a couple of "featured items" that Microsoft would be more than happy for you to purchase. The whole thing can feel a little busy, but it's easy to pick up and use. The UI has some nice little flairs, like color settings that you can change to pair with different gamertags. It's small, but it goes a long way in making it immediately clear who is logged in and driving things."

The Verge thinks the UI is a little cluttered and tough to navigate:

"The Xbox One is not a particularly easy console to set up. After you hook up your TV, your cable box, your Kinect, and your wireless gamepad, you have to download a mandatory day one update, sign into Xbox Live, and wait for the console to install a game before you can play anything at all. You'll need to invest even a little bit more time if you want to do anything else. Want to play a Blu-ray disc? Skype with a friend? Upload a video clip? There's an app for that — an app you'll need to download because there’s virtually no functionality baked in.But the hardest part of setting up the Xbox One is simply getting used to the console's user interface. Where Sony's PlayStation 4 gives you a simple scrolling list of everything on your console — a visual paradigm that, while possibly cumbersome, immediately makes sense — the Xbox One is a smorgasbord of colored Windows 8-style tiles in seemingly arbitrary locations."

Kumparak feels it could be faster:

"Alas, it still feels like it could use a bit of work. The One’s interface is noticably quicker than that of the 360, but it’s not eight years of technology faster. You’ll still see that signature spiral loading screen in between apps — even when you just want to pop in to check the details of an achievement you just unlocked. I never felt like I was waiting painfully long, but with this generation of consoles, it feels strange to wait at all while clicking through something like an interface."

Bakalar thinks the UI will take time to learn:

"Without a doubt, the logic of the Xbox One dashboard will take some getting used to. It's tough to discern which apps can snap and how to take control of everything onscreen, all while managing voice commands and controller inputs. With every new piece of software the user begins to understand behaviors and rules that dictate how things work. With this new dashboard, though, the learning process will take longer than you're used to. Too often in my time with the dashboard I'd get confused about exactly where I was in the system. The best way I can describe it is a form of 'menu Inception' where I was within a menu within a menu, but accessing it from a different place than I thought I had originated from. Got all that?"


Xbox One dashboard [SOURCE: The Verge]
 

Kinect 2.0

Kinect plays a big role in Xbox One navigation now with enhanced voice recognition features. But reviewers say Kinect doesn't always understand your commands, which can make for a frustrating experience. There are also new gestures to learn for Kinect's motion sensor, but once you learn them, they really come in handy.

Limer said Kinect's voice recognition is great -- when it actually works:

"Kinect is ostensibly a camera first, but its voice recognition prowess is a huge selling point for the Xbox One, and it is incredible—when it's working. It's very clear that Kinect, and its always-listening capabilities, have been a huge part of the Xbox One vision from the start, because this stuff goes deep. Wonderfully deep. In optimal circumstances, Kinect voice recognition is freaking fantastic. Like, sit-in-stunned-amazement-barking-commands-and-pausing-to-squeal-with-glee fantastic. There is hardly anything you can't do on the Xbox One using voice commands. The only place I ran into a hard stop was the settings menu, and one weird button in another Kinect configuration window. Just about everything else though—switching apps, opening games, customizing your avatar, checking notifications, going to Netflix, making Skype calls, pulling up videos from your SkyDrive—is voice-enabled, and functional as hell."

The Verge said it had to scream at the Kinect in order to get it to understand them:

"Kinect doesn’t always work. It’s simply not reliable or flexible enough. Often, I felt like I spent more time screaming at the Kinect to follow my commands then it would have taken to just pick up the controller. I begged, I pleaded with the device to do what I wanted in the most commanding yet humble tone I could muster, and on many occasions it indeed felt like I had the robotic butler of my dreams. Most of the time, though, it felt like my butler was a little hard of hearing. There are two distinct ways the Kinect fails, and the first feels inexcusable. Many of the voice commands are extremely rigid, to the point where you need to memorize a list of exact phrases to be able to use them reliably. If you want to go to an app, for instance, you need to start by saying 'Xbox go to.' But if you want to go to Bing, that structure doesn't work. The correct command is 'Xbox Bing,' because Microsoft expects you to unquestionably understand and accept that "Bing" should be a verb. If "Xbox on" turns on the console, why doesn't 'Xbox off' turn it off? Because 'Xbox turn off' is the proper command, and you’ll need to memorize it. If you’re a Redbox Instant subscriber, get used to calling it "Redbox Instant by Verizon," because the Kinect won’t accept anything less. There are dozens more examples like these."

Kumparak said voice recognition could use some work, but the gesture tracking during gameplay is great:

"Microsoft has pitched the new Kinect (their motion-sensing, speech-recognizing accessory) in such a way so as to essentially suggest it puts the old one to shame, claiming greatly improved accuracy in both speech recognition and gesture sensing. The speech recognition does seem better, but not to some insane, mind-blowing degree. Yes, the new Kinect will still mishear you. Yes, you’ll still feel totally stupid when you shout a command at your TV and it ignores you. When it does work, though, I’m still not entirely convinced that using voice recognition outside of a few particularly use cases is particularly awesome. Pausing a video without finding the remote as I run over to my kitchen? Hell yeah. Slowly commanding my Xbox through the App Store, screen by screen? Meh. The same can be said for using gestures to navigate through the menus; while the Kinect’s improved gesture tracking gives it a few new tricks (for example: you now 'tap' at an item to select it, rather than having to hover over it. That can actually prove pretty challenging some times, but I have a feeling I’ll get better in time), it still feels like a neat tech demo rather than something that actually makes the experience better. With gaming, however, the improved gesture tracking starts to shine."

Bakalar said learning the new gestures takes time, but are worth learning: 

"Kinect 2.0 introduces a handful of new voice and gesture commands, all of which will take some time getting used to. In fact, Microsoft provided me with a cheat sheet containing around 30 new voice commands and five new gestures. When it does work, Kinect can provide some brilliant 'a-ha' moments. Even the simple task of turning the console on without the need to locate a controller is a luxury tough to abandon once experienced for the first time."


Kinect 2.0 [SOURCE: CNET]
 

TV Integration

Xbox One's TV integration is a major selling point for the console. It's an entertainment box meant to blend in with your other machines in the living room, and act as your TV powerhouse. The TV integration has a few hiccups, according to reviewers, but the feature definitely sets it apart from other consoles. 

Limer says the TV integration is best if you have cable: 

"One of the primary reasons you might be interested in an Xbox One has nothing to do with games. It's a full-on living room general, one that commandeers your television and gives it superpowers you'd never dreamed of. That's the idea, anyway. And it works! Mostly. Especially if you have cable. Xbox One's TV features come in two flavors. If you don't have cable, the functionality is limited but still awesome in its own subtle way. Thanks to a built-in IR blaster, the Xbox One will control your TV, and the setup is a dream. All you have to do is tell the 'box what make your TV is—with a little bit of trial and error—and BOOM, you're good to go. From there, your Xbox can do most of the most basic stuff your remote would; turning your TV on, turning it off, changing the volume, muting, unmuting, etc. And you can do all that from your controller or with your voice. Saying "volume down" is handy but not life-changing, but things like waking your TV with an "Xbox on" command or muting at a moment's notice with no remote in sight is. You'll wonder how you ever got along without it. The Xbox One's biggest play for 'the one box you need in your living room' only really hits home, though, if you have cable."

The Verge says the idea of TV integration is great, but the execution needs work: 

"The Xbox One’s TV integration is one of its biggest selling points, and it’s potentially very cool. By routing your cable box through the One, you can get game invites and Skype notifications while you’re watching your favorite shows, and you can snap live TV to the side while you’re playing games. The Kinect can fire off infrared commands to control the basic functions of your cable box and TV, letting you use your voice to search and browse the new One Guide, which features streaming services like Hulu and Netflix listed as 'app channels' alongside regular channels. But while the ideas are great, the execution just isn’t there. For starters, passing my TiVo through the Xbox One darkened the picture and stripped the signal of its Dolby Digital audio encoding, taking away surround sound. There’s a beta option to transcode Dolby into DTS or PCM audio, but it didn’t seem to work for me, and Microsoft says it might cause additional video distortion with some cable boxes until it’s out of beta. If you have a home theater system, this is an immediate dealbreaker; I wouldn’t let the Xbox One near your cable box until it can pass the signal unmolested."

Bakalar thinks the TV integration is great, but won't be the one and only box your living room needs:

"Live TV integration is probably the most ambitious 'outside-the-box' thinking a console has done in a while. Xbox One wants to get between your TV and your cable box so that it can cater the experience. Overall, the ambitious live TV and home theater integration features of the Xbox One are a mixed bag. When they work they seem like they're right out of a sci-fi movie, but when they don't, it's enough to drive you mental. I expect we'll see some refinements and tweaks down the road through system updates, but right now no one should assume it will be able to take over control of their entertainment space exclusively."


TV integration feature [SOURCE: The Verge]
 

Games

Many reviewers have said the Xbox One definitely has better launch titles than the PS4, which could score Microsoft's console some big points this holiday season when shoppers are debating between the two. 

Limer said you can expect the Xbox One's graphics during gameplay to be comparable to that of a PC:

"As did the PS4, this thing is going to blow your gat-dang hair back. All the games we tried (Forza 5, Dead Rising 3, Crimson Dragon, and a few titles we're not allowed to talk about yet) looked beautiful, without exception. You can get graphics like this out of a powerhouse PC, sure. But in the console world the Xbox One—and the PS4—is like whoa. Then again, after eight years, you'd expect it to be. Some titles embrace the future better than others. It's an unfortunate fact that Dead Rising 3, one of the cornerstones of the Xbox One's launch line-up, runs in 720p (upscaled to 1080), locked at 30fps. That's not bad, but it's not the kind of HOLY FREAKIN WOW you necessarily expect out of your new $500 box. That said, there's still plenty of HOLY FREAKIN WOW to Dead Rising 3; it boasts massive crowds of zombies on screen at a time, while only occasionally (but still occasionally) stopping to chug if you're really cruising through the scenery in a car or armored tank or whatever. That's a different kind of impressive. And it's worth noting thatKillzone: Shadow Fall did its fair share of chugging too on the PS4, albeit in native 1080p."

The Verge sees excitement in the potential for greater titles down the line:

"Both in terms of graphics and gameplay, the Xbox One and PS4 are more or less equivalent. Where the Xbox experience differs is the Kinect. Despite its impressive power, it’s currently just a better version of the 360’s implementation when it comes to games. There’s already a fair amount of good gameplay on the One, but here’s the most exciting part about launch games — they almost certainly won’t stand the test of time. The best years of both Xbox One and PlayStation 4 are a ways off. 12 months from now, the library for both consoles will almost certainly be more fleshed out, and the best games could take even longer. The longer developers play with these consoles, the better they’ll understand the new platforms. That means shorter load times, better visuals, and more chances to be creative with allt he power these new platforms have to offer."

Kumparak reviewed individual titles: 

"FORZA: Absolutely beautiful, though most of the processing time seems to be going towards making the cars insanely shiny and throwin’ down that sweet, sweet lens flare. Once you start looking at the buildings and bushes you’re blasting by, it’s not quite as pretty. KILLER INSTINCT: A surprisingly complex fighter for being a freemium title (you get one character for free, but can pay to unlock the rest.) based off a property from 1994. After 6 or 7 hours of practice, the computer still whooped my ass on a medium difficulty. Loading screens were a bit longer than I’d hope. CRIMSON DRAGON: Not good. Gameplay felt disappointingly disconnected, and it got boring really, really quick. LOCOCYCLE: I love the team that made this (Twisted Pixel, same folks who made ’Splosion Man andThe Maw), but this one isn’t my favorite game of theirs. The graphics seemed rather dated, and the gameplay got repetitive within a few levels. ZOO TYCOON: It’s.. Zoo Tycoon. It was cute as heck, but not quite my thing. Loading screens were crazy long."

Bakalar said cloud computing didn't noticeably provide in-game results:

"Most of the Xbox One games I tried out look great and perform mostly well. Dead Rising 3 is capable of displaying a dizzying amount of zombies on screen at once -- way more than its hardware predecessor was physically able to do. Ryse: Son of Rome and Forza Motorsport 5 are the best-looking eye candy among the initial crop of exclusive titles...Since the Xbox One's announcement, Microsoft has really drilled in the idea of cloud computing and how it will supposedly open the door for revolutionary in-game results. None of the launch titles we've seen incorporates cloud computing in any noticeable manner, but we're sure this kind of tech will surface as we head deeper into the console's life cycle."


"Crimson Dragon" [SOURCE: Gizmodo]
 

To Buy or Not to Buy?

So what do reviewers think when it comes to actually dropping the $499 this holiday season?

Limer:

"Not yet. It's generally dumb to buy any new console right at launch. PS4's have been having issues with a 'blue light of death,' and for all we know the Xbox One could have its own issues as well; the sting of the red ring of death is still fresh in most memories. Besides, the launch line-up of games—while a little better than the PS4's—is a bit soft. The real gotta-play system-sellers like Watchdogs, Destiny, and Titanfall, are still a few months out. Halo 5 is a mere glint on the horizon. The software is still in flux too. We experienced a little jank with a few apps. Twitch streaming isn't coming until sometime early 2014. HBO Go is "coming soon" but hasn't shown up yet. These consoles are coming in hot, so just chill. Theoretically all will get fixed with time; hopefully right around when a game you just have to have finally gets released. For now, the Xbox One is one impressive living room box machine—and it more than justifies its $500 dollar price with the inclusion of at least $100-worth of set-top boxitude—but you're going to be better off waiting for a little while to see how things shake out."

The Verge

"When Microsoft says it's building a console for the next decade, it's not lying. Where the PlayStation 4 is designed to simply become an ever-better version of itself, the Xbox One is poised to turn into an entirely different, entirely unprecedented device. It may not only supplement, but replace your cable box; it could have a rich, full app store; games are only going to get better, more impressive, and more interactive. The blueprints are all here. Virtually everything Microsoft is trying to do is smart, practical, and forward-thinking — even as they've undone some of the Xbox One's most future-proof innovation over the last few months, Marc Whitten and his team at Microsoft have clearly kept their heads in the future. But nearly everything that could be great someday isn't great right now. The Kinect is an incredible piece of raw machinery and engineering, but it's not implemented well into games, nor does its voice control provide a truly fast, seamless way to navigate the operating system. The TV integration is an awkward hodgepodge of menus and overlays and dead ends. There's a massive opportunity for Windows apps to turn the Xbox into something no one could have imagined, but it's as yet gone unexplored. Some of these are easily solved problems, but others — cable integration in particular — are a much steeper uphill climb."

Kumparak:

"Would I recommend buying the Xbox One? If you already have a 360 and aren’t absolutely dying for any of the launch titles, I wouldn’t say you need it right this second. Give developers a bit of time to figure out the console’s inner workings. Let the must-have titles get made. If your 360 is on its last leg or you skipped the last generation, however, it’s a solid buy as is."

Bakalar:

"Xbox One gets points for its forward-thinking mentality and ambition to integrate live TV and home theater control, even if that vision is far from being realized at launch. Of course no console is perfect out of the box, but it will be a difficult road ahead on that specific front. Where Sony positioned the PS4 as the 'gamer's console,' Microsoft felt customers would be better served with a console that wears many hats. Thankfully it can still play games with brilliant visuals, but it lands short of its ambitious all-in-one hubris."


So what do you think DT readers? Now that both consoles have been reviewed, which do you want to see under the Christmas tree this year?

Sources: Gizmodo, The Verge, TechCrunch, CNET



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Wheel chock
By ipay on 11/20/2013 11:55:40 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Many tech sites touted the beauty of the PlayStation 4's console design
I know design is subjective... when I see the PS4 all I see is a wheel chock and it reminds me I need to change the cars' oil.




RE: Wheel chock
By retrospooty on 11/20/2013 12:08:09 PM , Rating: 2
LOL... To me the PS4 looks like one of those retro future designs... Like what they thought 2013's tech style would look like back in 1983.


RE: Wheel chock
By inighthawki on 11/20/2013 12:20:27 PM , Rating: 5
Honestly I'm not sure why the reviews make a big deal over the design. Both xbox one and PS4 look fine. The PS4 goes for a bit more post-modern feel, while xbox one goes for a more simple flat edged approach. If anyone decided to buy either console over what they look like, I think they need to recheck their priorities.


RE: Wheel chock
By retrospooty on 11/20/2013 12:39:54 PM , Rating: 1
People are weird, but I dont imagine many people would care. If you like the way it looks on your ent. center, good, if not, you hide it , that is about it.


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 4:46:19 PM , Rating: 2
I agree who plays with the plastic box? Maybe someone does because the 360 had rounded corners.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By ipay on 11/20/2013 2:15:32 PM , Rating: 5
quote:
There is nothing revolutionary in any way about the Xbox720p
Sure there is. The discs revolve making at least one thing about it revolutionary in nature.


RE: Wheel chock
By themaster08 on 11/20/2013 2:34:04 PM , Rating: 5
Have you used an Xbox One? No? Then shut up and wait for it to be released before forming your pre judgemental opinions, and accusing otherother's who have actually tried the console of being "MS homers".


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By troysavary on 11/20/2013 4:51:26 PM , Rating: 3
Wow. You are accusing him of being an internet tough guy when you are the one making an anonymous challenge to a fight?

What has been scrutinized since day one? Theorycrafting based on paper specs, that is what. Now that actual games are out, the Xbox One exclusives are head and shoulders above the PS4 exclusives so far. That could very well change in the future, but right now, Xbox One handily beats PS4 in visuals for the launch exclusives.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:12:22 PM , Rating: 5
"shut up Reclaimer77"


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By troysavary on 11/20/2013 6:56:50 PM , Rating: 4
I love how every time you are caught and called out for your hypocrisy, you backpedal and try to claim you were not saying what you said. You want to know the real drama queen here? The one who is attacking reviewers for stating evidence contrary to your preconceived notions.


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 4:59:01 PM , Rating: 2
I wish you would extend that internet tough guy invitation to me. Id be glad to take you up on it if you sign a waiver. I could use a good ass kicking if your man enough to deliver it.

The graphics differences seem to be AA in some games otherwise the graphics point is moot and its no secret your anti-microsoft every chance you get. But dont let that stop you from telling people having fun with XBox One how stupid they are.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:25:25 PM , Rating: 2
The adults didn't ask you to join any discussion and we already know your stance. But feel free to tell us 100 more times. Try cut and paste it will save you a lot of time.


RE: Wheel chock
By corduroygt on 11/21/2013 6:00:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
The graphics differences seem to be AA in some games otherwise the graphics point is moot


Reclaimer is a huge troll but this is the biggest chock of crap I've heard.
Look at Anandtech's review of Call of Duty to see just how much better PS4 version looks. It's running at 1080p vs. 720p on the Xbox. Similarly Assassin's Creed is 900p vs 1080p on PS4, etc.


RE: Wheel chock
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/21/2013 7:22:37 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Reclaimer is a huge troll
Says an Apple troll....


RE: Wheel chock
By corduroygt on 11/21/2013 7:36:18 PM , Rating: 2
What? I use Apple products but a fanboy, no.
Apple works better in my experience but Android's a nice open ecosystem that's getting better every day. I don't like the fact that Google allows play store on carriers with locked bootloaders, but that's a separate argument.


RE: Wheel chock
By themaster08 on 11/20/2013 5:29:22 PM , Rating: 2
If you actually read my post, I said nothing about buying one. I said wait until it has been released.

I never stated there was anything revolutionary about the Xbox One. The fact that reviewers were generally positive about it has clearly irked you, leading you to insult them over something you have no experience with using.

I'm pretty sure being told to shut up doesn't offend you. You've been insulted a lot worse on here. In fact, you insult people a lot worse when their opinion differs from yours.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:39:34 PM , Rating: 2
Are you bi-polar?


RE: Wheel chock
By TheDoc9 on 11/20/13, Rating: 0
RE: Wheel chock
By ClownPuncher on 11/20/2013 3:54:07 PM , Rating: 1
They're both ugly. Build a nice SFF PC and throw these consoles out.


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 4:49:24 PM , Rating: 2
Sure plenty of mod kits will be out to spice it up. Void Warranty if it means that much to someone.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:06:03 PM , Rating: 4
Making stuff up again the clock speed was increased after the case design. Whats wrong with having more airflow instead of trying to cram something into the smallest possible box? Is your stereo receiver tiny? If you like tiny things then go play with yourself.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:26:57 PM , Rating: 1
I wish your Mom swallowed or spit that day.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 6:03:53 PM , Rating: 2
No more immature and pointless than your posts and the many things you call various people who dont agree with you.

I think your bi-polar you have some personal self confidence issues. How many people do you insult and when they respond you think its them who started it?

Go seek professional help to get over your hate and wanting to pick and argument with so many people. if anything look at how many posts you make compared to others and ask why?


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By inighthawki on 11/20/2013 6:55:02 PM , Rating: 3
While I do agree that I think he is being the immature one here, he has a very valid point. You absolutely do have a huge issue with insulting people and then accusing other people of extremes based on your personal opinions, and seem to refuse to acknowledge when you're wrong (or maybe just can't realize it, idk).

It seems like any time someone tells you to wait until xbox one actually ships to see reviews you jump in and label them as a "Microsoft defender" and accuse them of stuff they never said. You've done this to me like 100 times, yet (for example) in the past I've made it clear to you that I don't care and don't even plan on buying consoles because I don't like either of them, but you accuse me of bias.


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 7:51:55 PM , Rating: 2
Hes quite the joy on many forums it appears.
https://www.google.com/#q=reclaimer77


RE: Wheel chock
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/20/2013 8:00:38 PM , Rating: 2
Totally, because obviously no one else could use that name....


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 9:21:40 PM , Rating: 2
I doubt it. I know from doing internal investigations that some people tend to use the same ID/e-mail address in multiple locations its how I caught an HOA board member losing community dues to his poker addiction.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 9:37:25 PM , Rating: 2
Somehow I don't think you keep your opinions to one board and I'm pretty sure that's you on a lot of those sites the attacking conduct of the posts is so you. But I only did a spot check to see how desperate on many sites you are or how you really might be a paid shill to downplay Microsoft products but I really think your just angry all the time.

Yes you got me Im Steve Ballmer. Billionaire who wastes his time on a forum. Sorry Im working late tonight on deployments and in between I read tech articles and comment instead of watching the status bar move across the screen. Oh wait Im Steve Ballmer Im busy offering suggestions to the board of directors.


RE: Wheel chock
By TheDoc9 on 11/20/2013 5:43:33 PM , Rating: 2
Hopefully it will help the cooling and make the console last longer. Good, lasting engineering is one thing that companies need to bring back.

I think PS4 could've used some over engineering as well. It looks like they went with the upside down processor layout as with the early PS3's. Many ps3's failed with even light use after a few years... This time I won't be as kind to buy a PS4 replacement.


RE: Wheel chock
By Mint on 11/20/2013 11:45:16 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
The massive size and cooling vents plastered everywhere are sadly a side-effect of going with an inferior design that had to be overclocked to compensate.


Yeah, MS was in a tough spot with their console having LOWER power consumption than the PS4.

Don't you ever get tired of being wrong?


RE: Wheel chock
By Manch on 11/20/2013 5:19:45 PM , Rating: 2
I quite happy with the function over form. MS was hell bent on not repeating the RROD issue so they made sure this thing would not overheat. If that means it looks like a VCR, so what. Hell i still have my VCR lol


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:31:09 PM , Rating: 2
Please buy a PS4 so you can stop posting.

Im dropping soon so you can spend you evening convincing nobody to buy a PS4.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:42:01 PM , Rating: 2
Sony, Nintendo, and lets throw in EA especially their DRM and every game developer out there are not in it for profits? Just Microsoft is guilty.


RE: Wheel chock
By inighthawki on 11/20/2013 6:57:59 PM , Rating: 3
Yeah, look how poorly a digital distribution system with no ability to purchase or resell used games and strict DRM worked out for Valve...


RE: Wheel chock
By troysavary on 11/21/2013 7:39:44 PM , Rating: 1
Aren't you the one who defends every move Google makes and claims anyone who criticizes them are against companies making profits? Or are profits only something deserved by Google and not others?


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/21/2013 7:43:37 PM , Rating: 2
I generally defend every corporation against extremist haters, yes, even Microsoft.

My stance on the MS vs EU debacles are a matter of record here. Not that you care about facts that get in the way of your witch hunt.


RE: Wheel chock
By Reclaimer77 on 11/21/2013 8:03:56 PM , Rating: 2
Well every corporation besides Apple that is. Naturally :)


RE: Wheel chock
By retrospooty on 11/21/2013 7:36:42 AM , Rating: 1
"now watch. Incoming Mitch PR post in
5..
4...
3....
2...."

LOL. You called it.


RE: Wheel chock
By Motoman on 11/20/2013 12:53:48 PM , Rating: 4
I can't even believe that a single word is wasted talking about the physical appearance of a console.

Is anyone in this world actually so vapid that they would choose one console over another because of how it looks?


RE: Wheel chock
By Schrag4 on 11/20/2013 1:17:07 PM , Rating: 2
If my wife were buying it for my kids, she would only care about how it looked.

If you're reading this, honey, no offense - I wouldn't have married you if you were a dude.


RE: Wheel chock
By nafhan on 11/20/2013 1:33:19 PM , Rating: 2
Certainly not as a primary consideration, but I could see it being one of those things that might push me in favor of one or the other if I was on the fence.

I probably won't get into either one prior to the first hardware revision, though.


RE: Wheel chock
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/20/2013 1:55:49 PM , Rating: 2
*Cough* Apple Fans *Cough*...


RE: Wheel chock
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:03:44 PM , Rating: 2
Better have that cough looked at it sounds like smug.


RE: Wheel chock
By techiesnetpromo on 11/21/2013 7:37:15 AM , Rating: 1
The XBOX One is here guys!! Check out this awesome review along with its cool new features right here!! ht tp://g oo.gl/7bCFNT


"Games are Gorgeous"
By 2bdetermine on 11/20/2013 3:03:59 PM , Rating: 2
Is it as gorgeous as 4K gamming?




RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By synapse46 on 11/20/2013 3:19:29 PM , Rating: 2
Are all games locked at 30fps? It is not terrible, but I've played some games ported to the PC locked at 30fps and it is far from great.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/2013 4:46:57 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah is that screenshot an example of gorgeous? 720p@30FPS gaming with painfully obvious low-res textures.

Looks like PC games did about 10 years ago...


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/20/2013 5:36:14 PM , Rating: 1
ROFLMAO oh your posts never get old even after the millionth time youve told that one.

Rethink your life Reclaimer do you want to be on your death bed thinking you wasted your life posting on a forum nobody will remember you for?


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Reclaimer77 on 11/20/13, Rating: 0
RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/21/2013 7:09:49 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Rethink your life Reclaimer do you want to be on your death bed thinking you wasted your life posting on a forum nobody will remember you for?
Says the person constantly MS trolling....


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By retrospooty on 11/21/2013 7:42:19 AM , Rating: 2
You have to admit the IQ on XBO leaves alot to be desired. The PS4 isnt great, but it's quite a step up from XBO.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7528/the-xbox-one-mi...

"You really start to see the PS4’s resolution/AA advantages at the very end of the sequence though (PS4 image sample, Xbox One image sample). The difference between these two obviously isn’t as great as from the 360 to Xbox One, but there is a definite resolution advantage to the PS4. It’s even more obvious if you look at our aliasing test"

Now we have real reviews out from trusted sources so you can stop the spin and deal with what's real.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Reclaimer77 on 11/21/2013 8:38:40 AM , Rating: 3
This crowd isn't interested in facts or even honest debate. Every real tech community out there acknowledges the One's shortcomings. On DT you're a horrible person with personality disorders if you offend the fanbois.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By retrospooty on 11/21/2013 9:15:10 AM , Rating: 2
I wouldn't say "DT" in general but yes, there are definitely several MS apologists here that will dump all over anything said that isn't positive about MS.

Now that its out, it is exactly what we knew all along based on the specs. We were right, Mitch and the apologists were wrong. Whatever, the facts are the fact. XBO is slower and therefore has lower IQ period.

Ultimately, if you would use all the extra TV/MEdia features and Kinect it might be worth it. To me that is all 100% useless. If you just want to game, PS4 is the one, and its cheaper.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/21/2013 9:37:02 AM , Rating: 2
The problem is people blow these Microsoft things way out of proportion. Especially reclaimer77 who you can tell has never tried many of the devices he claims to have knowledge about. Apparently he is an XBox One specialist and has used it extensively over the last couple months. LOL The focus gets so intense on one item (In this case Specs) that its the end of the world for that product. How about try it before you form an opinion but Im guessing that opinion is already formed even if he passes one in the dept store.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By retrospooty on 11/21/2013 10:50:08 AM , Rating: 2
I think it was pretty easy to look at the XBO and PS4 and form an opinion months ago. Clearly one was going to be slower, but have more TV/Media related stuff. Clearly the other is faster and cheaper and avoids all the useless (to some) TV/Media features. Early opinions were spot on if you ask me.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/21/2013 12:41:07 PM , Rating: 2
Its still trying to compare Apples to Oranges and the gap is not as far and it seems. Hardware wise yes but when you get into the software rendering because the hardware needs software to work the gap starts to close this is why Carmack was saying that the two consoles are nearly equal.

Direct3D is much faster than OpenGL by about 30% that closes a lot of the gap.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vk__hyOM2M

Why do game developers prefer Windows?
http://programmers.stackexchange.com/questions/605...

30% isn't enough to close the entire gap but with Microsoft bumping up the speed of their console and changing the final silicon it is much closer than the hardware specs would make you believe.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By corduroygt on 11/21/2013 7:38:22 PM , Rating: 2
Please stop with the bs MS marketing, DirectX, LOL. Consoles don't use any of those. The results are obvious, compare COD, AC4, BF4. PS4 looks NOTICABLY better and also RUNS better too. There is an issue with COD that PS4 judders, because it's actually running FASTER than 60fps and tearing frames, but that's up to the developer to patch.
Nope, it's not 30% or a BS number. It's noticably better running and looking.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/22/2013 11:09:34 AM , Rating: 2
REALLY? ROFLMAO

Microsoft: Xbox One Will Exclusively Rely on Direct3D 11 API .
http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/multimedia/display/20...

You had better read the Linux forums and why most of the linux developers abandoned Open GL and came to the Microsoft side its because Open GL focused more on CAD than gaming.

It would be really cool if consoles could use Mantle


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/21/2013 9:28:47 AM , Rating: 2
Retro you need to stop following Reclaimer on spin there is no spin. Don't let the disillusion guide you.

No denial the PS4 has more gaming power under the hood is it enough that the XBox one will be horrible? No. Personally Ive said it before I think both consoles are under powered. The XBox 360 outsold the PS3 but who cares they both did well the same will happen for PS4/XBONE.

I personally see them as different consoles and Kinect is a big hit in my household and the Kinect 2.0 brings it to a new level. I'm disappointing there are not any big Kinect 2.0 titles at launch. Im sure I can get the latest dance game for the 360 and the family be happy with it. Do I need realism for a dance game I think not.

I also have a huge demand for Skype instead of crowding around my PC its moved to the living room so the whole family can join in. That a big deal my father is old and I cant be there all the time so its a great way for us to communicate with him.

I rather like the remote abilities of the XBox One because I go through remotes every other year and not having a remote that can be dropped or buttons wear out is a plus I'm anxious to get that working especially with the in laws who cant figure out a Logitech harmony remote.

Plus the XBox One can do high end games that the PS4 can do and I have a lot of faith in Microsoft optimizing Direct X for the X-Box over Sony development that Im not worried about a few pieces of eye candy because in any fast paced game you don't have time to stand around and look for some tiny eye candy visual difference that would separate the XBONE and PS4.

Both Consoles will be great but the XBox one has some features I want in a game console over the PS4 but I will eventually pick up a PS4 for the exclusives.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By retrospooty on 11/21/2013 9:42:23 AM , Rating: 2
I totally agree... If you like/use the extra TV/Media and Kinect features on XBO its worth it... But the spin was YOU prior to the reality of real reviews. YOU were the one insisting it would be as as fast or near as fast when everyone else looked at the memory bandwidth vs that tiny bit of esram, and said "no way". You were the one defending it like it was the next great thing... Now that reality hit, you have dialed it down several notches, so props to you for at least being able to see it now, losers like Tony, Tester, Takin, just keep on their same stale arguments long after they are proven wrong.

Anyhow, the IQ looks like crap to me on those videos at Anandtech. The PS4 looked better. That is pretty much what everyone expected.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Reclaimer77 on 11/21/2013 3:35:32 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Retro you need to stop following Reclaimer on spin


Or you'll insult his mother too?

Retro is a grown person who can make up his own mind. He doesn't "follow" me, and there is no "spin" here.

Disillusion? Everything I've said has been backed up on Anandtech and other sites. You just don't like the truth and have made it your goal to personally whitewash over anyone who thinks otherwise.

quote:
Both Consoles will be great but the XBox one has some features I want in a game console over the PS4 but I will eventually pick up a PS4 for the exclusives.


So I HAVE to care about those features too? Apparently so.

Now get on your other accounts and -1 this post too. You've done such a good job so far, I want you to be perfect.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Mitch101 on 11/21/2013 4:01:06 PM , Rating: 2
Retro actually responds with good info. While him and I dont agree on resolutions on small screens and Windows 8 menu I can respect his point of view at times.

Im more than happy to allow DT to confirm I only have one account.

Ive told you before if your so great start your own tech news site or blog. Im sure someone will appreciate your accusatory comments and im sure everyone who disagrees with you must be shills and is just plain stupid, vapid, or a luddite.

Try contributing to the subject instead of trying to mock everyone and everything that disagrees with you.


RE: "Games are Gorgeous"
By Reclaimer77 on 11/21/2013 4:10:17 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Try contributing to the subject instead of trying to mock everyone and everything that disagrees with you.


Oh please, after your behavior yesterday? This is beyond hypocrisy. You've officially lost the high ground.

I was contributing to the subject. You are the one who made it about personal attacks and a comical attempt to channel Dr. Phil.


No proper Audio pass-through
By unplug on 11/20/2013 11:50:49 AM , Rating: 2
Wow that is a huge let down. I plan on running xboxone though my $3000 receiver. This will be an issue, if it can't pass through HD audio (DTS-MA, etc..)

or am I confusing myself.....




RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By extide on 11/20/2013 12:24:29 PM , Rating: 2
You have a $3k reciever ?! What is it a Marantz or something?


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By unplug on 11/20/2013 12:52:30 PM , Rating: 2
Close, Onkyo 3008.


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By EricMartello on 11/20/2013 1:35:06 PM , Rating: 2
It will not pass through surround-sound audio from devices that are connected to its HDMI input...but it should play back media with surround-sound encoding via its HDMI out, i.e. movies off your home network or streaming video service. There isn't much reason to run any signal into the xbox and then out again anyway.

Sidepoint - once you enter the $3K price range for audio gear, you're better off going with a preamp and dedicated amps. All-in-one HT receivers priced around $1,000 sound just as good as, if not better than, ones costing double or triple. The sound you get with a good preamp and dedicated amps has incredible potential, and has some headroom to grow as new audio formats are released.


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By unplug on 11/20/2013 3:52:22 PM , Rating: 2
Correct, I expect it to play console stuff in surround, but it sucks that I have to miss out on surround sports, and that's if I directly connect it to my cable box. I was hoping to run my cable box into my receiver and then into xbox one, so depending on my receiver input "Xbox, watch TV" will show my PS3, PC, etc.. input :)

I think one I get it I will have to fiddle around with it.


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/20/13, Rating: -1
RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By Bubbacub on 11/20/2013 3:25:36 PM , Rating: 2
he's probably including the cost of speakers and cables like this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AKDL1-Dedicated-Cable-...


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By unplug on 11/20/2013 3:46:23 PM , Rating: 3
And it looks nice beside my Aston Martin.

douche


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/20/13, Rating: 0
RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By unplug on 11/21/2013 11:45:44 AM , Rating: 2
Yes you are sir.


RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By Cheesew1z69 on 11/21/13, Rating: 0
RE: No proper Audio pass-through
By althaz on 11/20/2013 9:55:17 PM , Rating: 2
It does pass it's own sound correctly, it's only an issue with whichever device you plug into the HDMI port (for me I'm only going to be passing a TV signal, which only carries stereo sound, which will work fine).


All I see is an epic fail...
By jnemesh on 11/21/2013 3:43:36 PM , Rating: 1
Here's some of the issues I have with the Xbox One

1. First and foremost is the lack of GPU horsepower. Most games are running at only 720p, and several are running at 30fps, INCLUDING Xbox exclusive titles like Dead Rising 3. Inexcusable for a "next generation" console!

2. HDMI passthrough degrades image quality and strips off surround sound. Again, inexcusable for a device that wants to be the center of your TV experience.

3. IR control of AVRs, Cable Boxes and TV. IR? Really? No IP control? No serial? What is this, 1990?

4. Not even DISCRETE IR commands. Say "Xbox On" while you are playing your PS3 (or Wii U), and the Xbox will send a "Power" command, shutting off your TV and your AVR. Good job, guys! Discrete power commands have been available for YEARS on all major brands. USE THEM!

5. Kinect needs work. 80%-85% accuracy is unacceptable. If you have to repeat yourself more than once, and more than once a day, it's a fail. People wont want to use voice recognition until they get it to 95% or higher accuracy. The facial recognition is a great idea too, but it seems to be flaky so far, according to reviewers. Again, this needs to be close to 100% or it's worthless. I have yet to see ANY compelling games that use Kinect. It's a waste of time and effort for MS to keep shoving this down our throats!

6. Speaking of Kinect...many people with home theaters (or nicer living room installations), have their electronics hidden in remote closets or equipment rooms. There is currently NO WAY to have the Xbox One live in a closet and have the Kinect attached. Until we have a USB 3.0 extender (over Cat5e or Cat6) that is less than the cost of the console (Gefen USB 2.0 extenders cost $399 MSRP, which is what you had to use to extend the old Kinect), it's another fail. The ONLY way you can get this working if your cable box and AVR is in a closet is to have the Xbox on a shelf under the TV with the Kinect, then have TWO HDMI extenders back to the closet. Not cheap, nor is it easy.

7. No user replaceable HDD, no external HDD support, no way to see how much storage is used or free. Fail, fail, and yes, fail.

8. Snap feature is laggy. See comment 1. Unit is underpowered.

9. UI is a hideous mess. Some people like "It's not Metro". I am not one of them. All I see are tiles that will eventually be used for ads. See Xbox 360 for a great example.

10. Paywalls for all apps and services. What if I don't WANT to play multiplayer games, and just want to use Netflix? Too bad, you still have to pony up $60/year. No thanks.

I could go on and on, but honestly, any ONE of these should be a dealbreaker for most people.




RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By Morawka on 11/22/2013 2:52:24 AM , Rating: 2
1: Both Consoles are using a Low Power Budget Laptop CPU Core, and a mid range GPU. BOTH. The Xbox has 32MB on die RAM which negates some of the missing CU's from GPU. Additionally, the Xbox One's GPU Clock is 53mhz more than the PS4 which scales brilliantly. As the verge said, they perform basically the same. The titles released on launch are not fully optimized to take advantage of the on die cache, and developers got lazy and did optimize as well as they could have due to time constraints.

2: Image Quality degradation is not a problem. they are just wrong/don't know what they are talking about. regarding the sound, a planned update will fix this issue.

3: Apps can do ip control. Although i wish the kinect could do RF relaying.

4: nobody cares

5: Kinect works fine with me although your living environment is what determines performance. If you have a lot of static noise such as a Window Air Conditioner, Air purifier, Gaming PC, all of those polute the sound waves. This is meant for the living room, and not a loud server room.

6: buy a usb 2 extender. They are backwards compatible.

7: No external Hard drive support? wtf you talking about man, this is one of the main features of the xbox. Why do you think they put a usb slot on the side? the PS4 has no External support, maybe thats what you were thinking of.

8: UI performance will only improve over time. Remember what the first xbox 360 dashboard looked like?
http://gamethingdaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/...

9: the ui is based off of windows phone and later on, windows 8. That ui is universally praised by the tech industry.

10: Both consoles charge $50 a year for online. gotta pay for those data centers and bandwidth somehow. Additionally, you can get a year of xbox live gold for $35 regularly on amazon.


RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By corduroygt on 11/22/13, Rating: 0
RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By Morawka on 11/22/2013 4:47:32 PM , Rating: 2
The Increase in clocks makes up for most of the ROP and CU differences. Clock scales across the entire GPU where rop's only scale in rop bound task. Same with CU's.

32MB on die has a effective bandwidth of 200 Gbps, on top of the already 67 Gbps the DDR3 interface provides, putting it well over the top of the total memory bandwidth of the PS4.


RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By corduroygt on 11/24/2013 3:52:20 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
The Increase in clocks makes up for most of the ROP and CU differences. Clock scales across the entire GPU where rop's only scale in rop bound task. Same with CU's.

32MB on die has a effective bandwidth of 200 Gbps, on top of the already 67 Gbps the DDR3 interface provides, putting it well over the top of the total memory bandwidth of the PS


A measly 6% of clock does not make up for 50% more CU's and 100% more ROPS.
ESRAM is only 32MB and it's nowhere close PS4 main bandwidth for the entire memory, not a small chunk.
The proof is in the pudding: COD 1080p on PS4, 720p on XB1, BF4 900p with better framerate on PS4, 720p with worse framerate on XB1, AC4 1080p on PS4, 900p on XB1.
It is a weaker system, both in specs and in practice.


RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By jnemesh on 11/22/2013 7:21:40 PM , Rating: 2
1. They don't perform "basically the same". One has a MILLION pixels more per frame. Your argument is ignorant.

2. YOU are wrong, as other reviews HAVE found image degradation...especially with Tivo devices. But you can't tell the difference between 720p and 1080p anyway, so you are the LAST person I would listen to on this subject!

3. What apps can do IP control? Phone apps, or Xbox apps? The Kinect cant do squat except blast out the codes built in. Lack of learning capability is a MAJOR fault here.

4. No one cares about discrete IR? Then you don't mind your system SHUTTING OFF, when you say "Xbox on"? You SHOULD care about discrete codes...even if you dont understand their purpose.

5. Kinect works about 80-85% of the time according to SEVERAL reviews. Not good enough.

6. USB 2.0 extenders will NOT work with USB 3.0 devices! You are gravely mistaken if you think that BACKWARDS compatibility = FORWARD compatibility! The Kinect 2.0 is a USB 3.0 device.

7. NO External storage is allowed. Don't quote me what they SAY they will bring with future updates...it doesn't work NOW, while RIGHT NOW you CAN install a larger HDD in the PS4.

8. Ok, let me know when it's safe to buy one. I wont buy a console based on future SPECULATION!

9. Praised by who? Have you seen Windows 8 sales figures? THEY SUCK. I HATE METRO, and always will, no matter what the PR machine tells me I should like, I will still hate it. It's purely my opinion, yet I am fully entitled to have one, #DEALWITHIT

10. Cancelled my XBL account. MS has gotten their last dime out of me. If I give anyone money for an online subscription it will be Sony.


RE: All I see is an epic fail...
By Reclaimer77 on 11/23/2013 8:04:52 AM , Rating: 2
So much FUD in in this post, where to even start.

Putting the 32MB on die means there's less room for GPU power. And the benefit is about the same as the PS4's setup in terms of memory bandwidth, but ONLY for whatever is in that cache. And 32MB isn't nearly large enough in the first place. The PS4 offers superior bandwidth all the time, for everything, without sacrificing GPU performance.

How exactly does that "negate" anything? Putting some memory closer to the CPU has nothing to do with graphics rendering potential anyway.

Microsoft's decision to go with this setup was stupid on a purely technical level. It's all about maximizing their profit margin, the end user doesn't benefit at all.

Notice how many cross-platform titles run at 1080p on the PS4 but the Xbone can only manage 720p? That should tell you all you need to know.


Yawn
By edge929 on 11/20/2013 1:19:01 PM , Rating: 5
So all the review sites said the same thing about both the PS4 and XBox One: "Has potential, needs more time/games". Wow, what a revelation that nobody saw coming.




By johnpombrio on 11/24/2013 4:14:46 PM , Rating: 2
I was REALLY surprised to see how well the new Kinect responded to voice commands. I am getting close to perfect response when I talk to it as long as I am saying the correct command. I donno if I was just lucky, the house is quiet, I have a golden voice, or if I did a good job on the Kinect setup, but it works great.

I have not played any games with the One so far and plan to use it mainly for Netflix. Netflix is terrific on the One, razor sharp graphics, no hesitation, and 5.1 audio. Heck, even YouTube looks better on the One than it does on my GTX 780/ 27 inch Dell IPS monitor computer setup! As far as I am concerned, worth the money for this alone. "XBox on. Netflix" and I am there.




By corduroygt on 11/25/2013 8:10:47 AM , Rating: 2
Hey astroturfer, why should someone pay $500 + $60/year on TOP of their existing Netflix subscription when their Smart TV/AppleTV/Roku/PS3/PS4/WiiU/Chromecast etc already play it?


My lord
By EasyC on 11/20/2013 11:45:18 AM , Rating: 3
Some of these reviews are pathetic...

IT DOESN'T REPLACE YOUR CABLE BOX! Stop telling the masses this automatically replaces your cable box. Joe Shmoe won't know the difference between piggy backing and replacing. Also, make sure you tell people they have to have an Xbox Live account to do anything, and a Gold account to do most of the things they are selling as features.

That said, I really hope Xbox competes, though I feel like it will ultimately fail. It would be nice to have legitimate competition between the two major players. As of now, I'm skipping this round (PC Gamer on 60" with surround sound hehe). But I still want to see decent innovation because the gamers will be the ones that benefit as a result.




i wonder when.....
By Bubbacub on 11/20/2013 3:53:17 PM , Rating: 2
your average to decent laptop will be able to push more polygons than either the ps4/xbox?

iris pro vs a 7950 (i think that is the closest pc gpu to what is in the new consoles) right now is obviously a massive win for the 7950 - but with intel graphics doubling or more each year i could see them catching up before the consoles get replaced.

when that inflexion point occurs gaming grade hardware will be available to everybody - PC gaming will become massive again like it used to be.




No more Start button
By The Von Matrices on 11/21/2013 3:33:10 AM , Rating: 2
I know Microsoft wants to phase out the Start button, but why did they have to take it to the extreme and remove it from their game controllers too?




By BZDTemp on 11/21/2013 4:46:39 AM , Rating: 2
The side-by-side XboxOne-PS4 game comparisons are rather revealing.




Where is the WAR?
By tallcool1 on 11/21/2013 9:02:58 AM , Rating: 2
This launch of consoles is not as exciting as the last time new consoles where launched. XBOX 360 decided to stick with DVD and support HD-DVD with an add on drive. The PlaySation 3 was late because of wanting to provide the "then new" Blu-Ray technology, more media focused. Both offered then new HD quality games for the console market.

This time around:
> No HD-DVD vs Blu-Ray "war".
> Price advantage and focus flipped: now the Playstation is the less expensive "gamers" console while the XBOX is trying to be the more expensive all in one media console.
> The most interesting story this time was "prior" to launch was the announced Microsoft death grip on used game support, and "Orwellian" Kinect spy system. Literally trying to shoot itself in the foot before it even got out the door.




"What would I do? I'd shut it down and give the money back to the shareholders." -- Michael Dell, after being asked what to do with Apple Computer in 1997

Related Articles













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki