backtop


Print 48 comment(s) - last by tmartin1994.. on Aug 30 at 9:13 PM

"Threshold" will be the start of a more rapid update pace than enterprise users are accustomed to

Microsoft Corp. (MSFT) CEO Satya Nadella is rethinking one of the software industry's most auburn firms, by building an operating system business model for the age of cloud computing.  According to a number of reports -- which include a recent piece by ZDNet Microsoft insider Mary Jo Foley -- his plan is to transform Windows from a discrete product purchase into a subscription model.
 
The transition mirrors the general direction of the industry.
 
Many feel that in terms of consumer product, mobile is killing the traditional PC.  A big part of this feeling is that top mobile platform providers Google Inc. (GOOG) and Apple, Inc. (AAPL) have changed the paradigm for OS updates, rolling out major upgrades with new features every year.  Even Microsoft has embraced this approach on the mobile front.


Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella

Microsoft already has transitioned some of its products such as virtual machine testing/programming environments and Microsoft Office, off the traditional PC and into the cloud.  Mr. Nadella rose up at Microsoft via these pivotal efforts -- Windows Azure and Office 365 -- which are today being viewed as a blueprint with which Microsoft is looking to reinvent itself.

Get in the cloud

To some traditionalists, including many enterprise users, the idea of OS platforms as a service is a foreign one and the idea of being forced to partake in annual updates is a hostile one.  But in the war between enterprise who prefer periods of status quo, and consumers who prefer a more progressive pace, enterprises appear to be on the brink of losing.
 
Microsoft will reportedly make its Release Preview of Windows Threshold (aka Windows 9) contingent on submitting to regular updates.  This is significant as the Preview -- while available to consumers -- is believed to be primarily geared at exciting enterprise clients who were disappointed in Microsoft's Windows 8.x offerings.
 
Traditionally Microsoft has allowed enterprise administrators "go their own way", distributing to them packages and software that they could use to apply security updates and feature upgrades.
 
On the consumer side Microsoft's movement away from that model actually began well before the advent of mobile devices as a dominant form of personal computing.  It actually traces back to 2003 and was motivated by the quick-moving paces of security threats.  Microsoft's Windows Update program was the first effort to accustom users to the idea of regular updates to their device's OS.  Its updates have since grown less intrusive to the point where in Windows 8.x, patches can now modify components of Windows without even forcing a reboot of the whole OS.
 
The holdout against regular updates on the enterprise side is very real.  As much as Windows 9 looks to add features that appeal to enterprise clients and to try to fix what enterprise clients hated most about Windows 8.x, some may hate Windows 9 equally for removing the control of micromanaging their platform (at least on the client side) from their hands.

Windows 9
Windows 9 adds back the Start Menu, adds virtual desktops, and generally caters more to enterprise clients. [Image Source: My Digital Life Forums]

But such complaints are likely more paranoid rhetoric than reality.  While Microsoft's update process is not without flaws, more granular software distributions have suffered even worse issues.  Indeed, most large business have experienced occasional disruptions when administrators deign to apply patches to the masses, disruptions that likely at least equal whatever hiccups Microsoft's next generation enterprise client platforms may experience.  Further, enterprise clients have already embraced the model Microsoft is turning to, when it comes to mobile devices.
 
Under the new pace of updates we can expect major releases (Windows 10, 11, and 12) every two years, or so -- similar to what we see with Windows Phone.  These major releases will be punctuated by mid-size updates on the off years, again similar to Windows Phone.  So assuming rumors of a spring 2015 launch of Windows 9 prove true, we might expect a spring 2017 launch of Windows 10 and subsequent launches of Windows 11 and 12, respectively, in the spring of 2019 and 2021.
 
Windows 9
[Image Source: Windows Store (Wallpaper App)]

An interesting side note of the ZDNet report is that it cites sources as saying that next month's Windows Threshold preview will only be available for x86 devices.  It indicates that a preview of Windows Threshold for ARM will be rolled out in Jan. or Feb. 2015, a couple months before the final launch of the operating system.  The report does not mention or clarify whether this means Windows 9 on ARM will release after the base x86 version of Windows 9, or will simply have a shorter testing cycle.  Either way that's something to keep an eye on.

Microsoft recently made Windows Phone and Windows 8.1/Windows RT 8.1 available to OEMs for free on devices with 9-inch or smaller screens.  ZDNet suggests even bigger changes could be coming, with Ms. Foley writing:

The next phase of change could get really interesting. DoesMicrosoft go the subscription route with its updates and patches, as my colleague Larry Dignan is assuming? Or does Microsoft make these patches and updates free in the hope of keeping users on its platforms and hope to offset the cost by attracting users to subscribe to its other software and services? I've heard from my sources that Microsoft might go so far as to make Windows Threshold free to Windows 7 and Windows 8.X users to try to get the majority of its Windows users on the most up-to-date release. 

Lastly, a report from Neowin reveals a potential mechanism that Microsoft may employ to soften the blow of forcing enterprise users into a more regular update pace.  According to that report Microsoft is testing a button that an administrator would push to apply the latest patches.  This would allow administrators to delay the adoption of major patches until they prove healthy on the consumer side, but would still move them closer to a fully automated process.

updgrade -- Beyonce
Microsoft is reportedly pitching the idea of an "upgrade button" at enterprise clients.
[Image Source: YouTube]

It's unclear whether Microsoft will make this "Upgrade Windows" button of sorts available to consumers in next month's Preview.  In short, many mysteries and questions remain, but Microsoft's most connected followers appear in unanimous agreement that Microsoft is in the midst of a major shift with the release of Windows 9.

Sources: ZDNet, Neowin



Comments     Threshold


I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Tuor on 8/26/2014 8:17:56 PM , Rating: 4
'his plan is to transform Windows from a discrete product purchase into a subscription model. - See more at: http://www.dailytech.com/Windows+9+Upgrade+Now+But...

If this turns out to be true, Win 7 Pro will probably be my last Microsoft product. There's no freaking way in Hell I'm going to go for a "subscription model" for my OS.




RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By CaedenV on 8/26/2014 9:09:54 PM , Rating: 3
I seriously dobut they will do this for home machines. This subscription model would be for Enterprise users. In all likelihood Home users will get free upgrades, and Pro users are looking at a cheaper version of the OS to purchase... but with a faster 2 year turnover instead of 3 years.

That said, win7 is a perfectly fine OS and you still have a long time to use it before it looses support. There is literally no rush to move to anything else unless you want to use MS based cloud services more seamlessly.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By amanojaku on 8/26/14, Rating: 0
By dfedders on 8/26/2014 10:54:27 PM , Rating: 4
That doesn't mean much for most people. It just means no new features or service packs. Security patches will be available until 2020.


By zero2dash on 8/27/2014 2:46:54 PM , Rating: 3
We're not in a "rush" where I work.

Any new machines purchased at my company have come with 7 Pro installed "with a license for 8", and we've paid extra without a care in the world for those workstations and laptops (rather than save $100ish on ones that only come with 8).

Not saying "all" companies mirror this here, but, from my neck of the woods - we've done all but banned 8 from stepping foot in our domain. We have 2 8.1 devices - Surface Pros, and 1 of those is no longer in use (and I suspect that the other one will soon be out the door in favor of an Ultrabook running 7 Pro). We do have 3 servers running 2012 Enterprise, but the only reason there is because we could not purchase 2008 R2 OEM licenses anymore.

I can guarantee you that despite our MSDN SA account (which will probably have free upgrades), we won't be going to 9 either.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By reconize on 8/27/2014 11:14:52 AM , Rating: 2
They went that way with Office, I'll bet they will go that way with the Desktop at some point. They didn't go subscription based for Office only for enterprise users. But hey, who needs to use their desktop every month.

This kind of crap is why they are slowly loosing market share to Linux, Chrome, and Mac. The enterprise market is their saving grace right now, but there are more and more Linux servers coming online every day.


By DJMiggy on 8/27/2014 12:22:30 PM , Rating: 3
I think I am loosing my marbles. I keep reading that people are using loose instead of lose or in this case loosing instead of losing. Only one "O" people!

Also yeah this won't be a good move for their mark share I agree. They will fail miserably. I won't continue with a Microsoft OS after Windows 8.1 if they go subscription based. (Since my laptop uses Windows 8.1)

Also Windows 8.1 is pretty good now I have noticed. Just use classic shell and all is well. I still don't get the complaining about Windows 8.1.

Anyways, thanks for reading my garbage I vomited out of my brain. Have a good day!


By Ammohunt on 8/27/2014 1:52:15 PM , Rating: 3
The already have a "subscription model" for enterprise users its called software assurance.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By TGeml on 8/26/14, Rating: 0
RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Samus on 8/26/2014 11:58:48 PM , Rating: 3
Apple has a subscription model for its OS's. OS generations (whether it be iOS or OSX) only support hardware 3 generations back. For example, Mavericks only supports Mac's back to 2011, and iOS 8 only supports iPhones back to the 4S and iPad 2+. They are, and have been, slowly dropping all software support for users of hardware more than 3-4 years old.

That's a tough pill to swallow when your already being bent over with huge premiums on the hardware. Granted, the software is free, but in the same way a phone is free on a 2-year contract. You're paying for it indirectly.

At least Microsoft's OS's run on decade old hardware. You can't even install Mountain Lion, an OS that released in 2012, on a MacBook Air from 2008.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bug77 on 8/27/2014 5:52:20 AM , Rating: 1
You, sir, have a funny idea about what "subscription model" means.
iOS can be thought of as an OS requiring a subscription because Apple gets a share of the revenue from your provider, but OS X is a whole other story.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By ATC on 8/27/2014 9:37:13 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
For example, Mavericks only supports Mac's back to 2011


I don't know where you're getting your info from but I'm typing this on a 24" iMac from early 2009 (iMac 9,1) running OSX 10.9.4 (Mavericks). Oh and on the same HD under a separate partition I'm running the latest Developer Preview of OSX 10.10 (Yosemite) and both OSes running smooth as butter and are fully supported.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Samus on 8/28/2014 5:50:18 PM , Rating: 1
Mavericks (and Yosemite) runs in what Apple calls "feature limited" mode on CPU's prior to the Nehalem microarchitecture. Your early 2009 iMac 9,1 is a Core 2-based machine, running in limited-mode which means it will not run most newer programs that need QPFnc support (introduced in 10.8) and will not support AHCI 2.0 (required for SSD trimming) AirDrop, AirPlay Mirroring, Power Nap, etc.

Feel free to Google this information yourself. At least Microsoft OS's install on decade old hardware with no restrictions. Apple, having full control of their ecosystem, has no excuse for not issuing BIOS updates for Core 2-based hardware to support these various hardware functions, or at least emulating QP functions in software for compatibility with Adobe Suite 5, AutoCAD 2013+, etc.

One of the other hilarious things is the planned obsolescent Apple is inherently reliant on (being a hardware manufacture more than a software developer) with the most obvious cases being the iPhone4 "compatibility" with iOS7 and the iPhone 3GS compatibility with iOS6, both of which crippled the performance to the point of usability. With no downgrade option, most people were actually forced to replace their phones! Microsoft, on the other hand, has had lower system requirements for Windows 7 than Windows XP, and likewise, Winodows 8 being even less demanding on resources than Windows 7.

Since Microsoft has hundreds of OEM partners (Apple has none) and has a heavy PC refurbishing initiative (Apple has none) with the Microsoft Registered Refurbisher Program alone having thousands of members, its in their best interest to make sure Windows 8 runs, and runs well, on an old IBM Thinkpad T41 (Pentium M) from 2002.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Flunk on 8/26/14, Rating: 0
RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By retrospooty on 8/27/2014 8:02:15 AM , Rating: 3
"Seriously, that's the answer to all your problems Microsoft. Do it now or lose you audience"

I don't know if its the answer to all of their problems... They first and foremost need to make products that people want to buy and/or enterprises will want to upgrade to. Win8 and 8.1, WP, WinRT, Surface, none of those are hitting that mark.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Flunk on 8/27/2014 9:07:25 AM , Rating: 3
Windows 8 isn't really that different from Windows 7, other than a huge overreaction to the new fullscreen apps that were designed for tablets and a few unfortunate interface changes. The big issue, as it was with Windows Vista and Windows 7 is that most people never upgrade the OS on their computer systems. They just stick with the one it came with until they replace the computer.

If OS upgrades were free and simple, like the one-click title seems to imply it solves their upgrade issue. If the upgrade from Windows 7 to 8 had been that easy the only people still running Windows 7 would be the group of technical people who always resist change, the same people who constantly post about how bad Windows 8 is. This is not an isolated issue, Microsoft has had it with every version of Windows since 95.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Flunk on 8/27/2014 9:11:44 AM , Rating: 2
Also, I was only referring to their problems with Windows. Microsoft could easily dump Surface and Windows Phone. They've never been profitable. Windows RT basically exists to threaten Intel into building more energy efficient chips for tablets and it seems to have worked (Bay Trail).


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By retrospooty on 8/27/2014 10:26:55 AM , Rating: 2
"Windows 8 isn't really that different from Windows 7, other than a huge overreaction to the new fullscreen apps that were designed for tablets and a few unfortunate interface changes."

Forcing fullscreen apps and menu was the problem, not peoples reaction to it. The dingbat's at MS that made that choice were the issue.


By Piiman on 8/30/2014 9:02:36 AM , Rating: 2
"Forcing fullscreen apps and menu was the problem, not peoples reaction to it. The dingbat's at MS that made that choice were the issue."

I like how they went from being able to run many windowed apps to TWO applications (one is a 3 inch strip, now half the screen)and then try to make it sound like a feature! LOL WTF?


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bug77 on 8/27/2014 10:45:18 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
If OS upgrades were free and simple, like the one-click title seems to imply it solves their upgrade issue.


Ubuntu (and variants) have had this for years. I believe Fedora picked it up recently. I don't know about other distros.
Which reminds me: time to upgrade to 14.10beta tomorrow ;) Looking forward to see what the next KDE has in store so far.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Nutzo on 8/27/2014 11:08:23 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
If OS upgrades were free and simple, like the one-click title seems to imply it solves their upgrade issue.


Not from an enterprise standpoint.
A one click upgrade and half your apps stop working. No thanks. An update to IE 11 broke Microsoft's own CRM 2011 product. Yes, there are work arounds, but I couldn't even imaging the headache with 1000+ users going down.

This is why there are still people running XP. I still have XP & IE 6 running in VM so I can run tools for accessing some of our older equipement that won't run under Windows 7.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By abzillah on 8/27/2014 3:27:15 AM , Rating: 1
Yes, if it is true, time to permanently convert to Linux/GNU Mint


By Hakuryu on 8/27/2014 3:20:44 PM , Rating: 3
My thoughts exactly.

The only thing keeping me tied to Windows is certain software that won't run on anything else.

Try to turn me into a cash cow by subscribing to your OS, because you are losing money hand over fist from failed phone and other offerings - screw you MS. I'll keep an old Win7 machine for that software, and find an alternative to Windows for all future desktops.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bsim50 on 8/27/2014 4:08:07 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
"I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9"

+1. I think Microsoft's biggest problem is people are realizing that unless significant new features are added beyond interface change purely for the sake of it ("3D is the new flat!" [5 years later] "flat is the new 3D!" [another 5 years later] "3D is the new flat!", or gimmicks like Vista's "sidebar" / W8's "tiles" which "change the way you work" (except they don't), then people simply don't want to upgrade the OS as often as they used to (just like hardware), and MS need to reflect that rather than keep trying to force the issue. XP lasted many almost a decade, and many people still have that mindset of upgrading once every 7-10 years.

W7 was a big jump in terms of hardware support over XP (DX11, SSD TRIM, AVX, booting to +2TB discs, native 4k partition alignment, USB 3.0, Bluetooth +2.1, UDF 2.6, etc), but strip away the marketing BS & UI changes, and W8-9 vs W7 is ultimately about selling an OS with an integrated advertising billboard as per Google & Apple. It's an OS for marketers not users.

Like you, my answer to that is "No thanks". Sticking with Windows 7 (still the pinnacle of decent looking desktop UI IMHO) until at least 2020, whilst keeping one eye on Linux.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By w1z4rd on 8/27/2014 7:06:15 AM , Rating: 1
quote:
strip away the marketing BS & UI changes

I've said this before and i'll say it again. win8.x is superior in terms of:
a) windows explorer ribbon bar [this is actually the selling point for me and win8]
b) fixing issues and different types of support is a breeze (including a brand new chkdsk) in comparison to ALL previous versions of windows
c) there are also "underthehood" security features that make it more secure than 7
d) account syncing is awesome if you have multiple win8 computers
e)Home networks and PPPOE work with eachother a lot better than 7/V
f) You can PAUSE FILE COPYING!!! (and the new dialogue box UI changes are awesome too)
g) Storage space finally arrived to a windows home desktop
h) faster startup times than 7
i) secureboot
j) improved hardware acceleration for graphics
k) better printer discovery
and so much more, i've just listed the big changes and only half a one of those was to do with the UI, the rest is all functionality. And then i'm the rare guy that likes metro too, lol.

I do agree that its not as much of a big change as 7 was to XP, but remember there was a decade of no OS(kernal etc stuff) upgrades during that time

I wish ppl could stop posting that windows 8.x is just a GUI update. its not...
cant post linksfor some reason, so go google what i'm saying


By retrospooty on 8/27/2014 8:06:01 AM , Rating: 3
"I wish ppl could stop posting that windows 8.x is just a GUI update."

People know that. It's just that the UI is so bad, that it stops people from buying and using it, so that is what gets discussed.

Agreed on all your points above though, but to borrow a plotiical phrase... "It's the UI stupid"


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bug77 on 8/27/2014 8:09:36 AM , Rating: 2
If you already had Win7, would you pay $200 for a-k?

Also, I suspect you;re being really creative at least about j. Games on Win8 benchmark within the margin of error of Win7. And if you're thinking about 2D, that's really irrelevant as Windows' interface hasn't lagged in probably a decade.
My point being, improvement for the sake of improvement is fine within the Linux kernel. But when you sell an OS, an improvement either brings some real value to the end user or you just forget about it (e.g. no one will EVER care that the OS can copy files 1% faster).


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bsim50 on 8/27/14, Rating: 0
By Labotomizer on 8/27/2014 10:56:09 AM , Rating: 2
Hyper-V is a big one, something I much prefer over VMware workstation.

I don't see how the ribbon can brake anything. It exposes more features and, for many users, they now see things they didn't even know existed before. Such as open command prompt here.

Pausing file copying is extremely useful. Sometimes you have multiple going but you need one to finish first, sometimes you lose connectivity to the source or destination. It used to mean restarting it but because file copy supports pause it also supports resume, so you can continue on like nothing ever happened.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By theapparition on 8/27/2014 11:22:15 AM , Rating: 2
Spoken exactly like someone with blinders on and only cares about themself. Just because you have no idea on the new features, or because they aren't useful to you doesn't mean the OPs post isn't 100% correct.

Windows 8 is better than Windows 7 in every way.....except for the awful UI and metro. Once that gets fixed, Win 9 has the potential to be really, really good.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Bill S. on 8/28/2014 8:00:15 AM , Rating: 2
Ah, but what MS needs to be concerned with, is the ratio of people who believe the way the OP does, versus people who believe the opposite, and are more than happy with W7, and plan to keep it for the foreseeable future.

What good are features as a selling point for your new OS, if not enough people appreciate them enough to switch? Especially when your new OS already has the reputation of being "weird", and not as easy to use as its predecessor??

Microsoft missed one HUGE point, when it came to W8, IMHO. You have to sell the product, NOT just cram it down everyone's throats, while telling them how awesome it is.


By theapparition on 8/28/2014 10:41:03 AM , Rating: 2
I will agree.

Perception is a huge part of marketing.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Nutzo on 8/27/2014 11:14:22 AM , Rating: 2
If I had the option of switching the desktop to look like Windows 7, I'd be using Windows 8 on some of my systems.

And don't say just use a 3rd party app, because from an enterprise standpoint, I'm not going to put my job on the line by supporting a third party app that Microsoft could break with an update.


By datdamonfoo on 8/27/2014 5:25:36 PM , Rating: 1
The desktop DOES look like Windows 7 already.


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By Nephelai on 8/28/2014 9:29:09 AM , Rating: 1
I can't wait for a sub model much better than periodic lump sums. Just like how I love the Office sub model!


RE: I'll Just Be Saying "No" To Win 9
By bug77 on 8/28/2014 10:26:05 AM , Rating: 2
How much does Office set you back each year? I'm curious, I haven't made the jump (probably never will).


Mistakes
By coburn_c on 8/26/2014 8:42:25 PM , Rating: 3
Lumping desktop and mobile products into the same market is a mistake. Mobile products are ad and data collection driven, and it will only lead to our desktops becoming worse. I blame the media. You've all made the world a little worse, again.




RE: Mistakes
By TacticalTrading on 8/26/2014 8:50:03 PM , Rating: 2
I agree,
So you can pay a subscription to use Windows 9 ad-free or use it for free with random ads popping up on your desktop.
I have 3 monitors, so much space for random ads to pop up....

Looks like I am going to be on Windows 7 for a very, very, very long time....


RE: Mistakes
By tamalero on 8/28/2014 1:33:44 PM , Rating: 2
unless the ads pop in every screen.


Subscription is a joke
By masamasa on 8/27/2014 2:47:17 PM , Rating: 3
Why would I pay Microsoft a subscription fee? So they can line their pockets with more of my money? Look at Office and how many versions I had to buy over the years and what did they really give me in return? A fancy UI with some bells and whistles. Whoop dee doo. Microsoft operates like big government. Inefficient and without innovation and with a business model that keeps sucking your hard earned money up. Sounds a lot like taxes.




By DrKlahn on 8/27/2014 3:53:40 PM , Rating: 3
It's really like MS reads these tech articles and is confusing being agile with being duped. Businesses were never going to wholesale embrace touchscreens. People that work in businesses and truly utilize a PC had no interest in fullscreen tablet apps. That they even went ahead with deploying that UI on a server shows just how much stock they put in speculative journalism. Windows 8 should have had a UI fork from the inception. I didn't hate Windows 8, I just tried it in testing and found it made things less efficient from a UI standpoint (keyboard and mouse).

The smartphone and tablet markets will take parts of the PC market. That is inevitable. There were PC's in use cases that didn't really need them. The PC was simply the only choice. There is a huge dearth of x86 Windows applications that businesses rely on. Even if these businesses decided tomorrow that they were going to cease using Windows it would take years or even decades to do it.

Microsoft is it's own worst enemy. It needs to stop the alarmist moves and keep an eye on its core market. Stop pushing the Cloud as a universal fix. It isn't. Many companies lack the infrastructure to use to it. And some business models plain don't work for it. REINTRODUCE REGULAR SERVICE PACKS! Vendors have a hard enough time reliably supporting periodic service packs let alone this every week model. And non regression tested patches in a datacenter aren't really a great idea. Uptime is still the primary goal here.

I really hoped this guy would get it. Keep the phone/tablet initiatives going, but grow that separately from business side. As long as both use the same basic underpinnings you can still leverage developments from either side.

Windows 9 going to a subscription model using their existing pricing scheme would be a significant cost to business that do not license the OS. What cost a small fee when buying the PC, will now be a yearly charge at several times the cost. Maybe they'll revisit pricing.




Interesting
By CaedenV on 8/26/2014 8:59:27 PM , Rating: 2
This is not a bad idea... depending on how it is implemented.

The rumors going around so far is that win9/Threshold/One/whatever would be a free upgrade for home users, but then have a charge for Pro/Enterprise editions. With this we could see home users continue to get free OS upgrades every 2 years, but then pro/ent users would pay a little extra every two years. Home edition would (presumably) require a MS account on the machine for activation purposes, which would give access to store apps which MS gets a cut off of sales and adverts on. In the pro space MS would essentially knock 2 years off of the business upgrade cycle (moving from 3 years to 2 years, and most business skip a generation).

But at the end of the day it all depends on how exactly they decide to implement and message this. A lot of the features MS was tauting for XB1 were actuially pretty awesome... but because MS is incapable of explaining things there was a huge public rejection. Had MS been smoother with their words, or the general public a little smarter, then the console market would probably have a better future ahead of itself that looks a lot more like Steam on the PC. Thankfully business users tend to be smarter, and MS better at relating to businesses than teenagers, so there is at least a chance that they don't screw this up.

... It will be curious to see if WP8.x apps transfer over to the win9 store.




By Anoop Rajasekharan on 8/27/2014 5:28:19 AM , Rating: 2
i will quit windows 9 if it is cloud os.and now days the size of their updates becoming large as os.if this is going on i have to quit it because i can't afford such large data plans




Not really
By bug77 on 8/27/2014 5:49:21 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
The transition mirrors the general direction of the industry.


There is no such trend when it comes to operating systems.
I believe they think they'll be taking the trend in the software industry a step further, but I think this will backfire (just like Vista or Win8). This could make sense for enterprises (today, one of the company pages told me it can now work with IE9!), but not at home. Personally, I'd rather go with my Linux distro of choice and SteamOS instead.
Let's not forget Windows had three things that kept it alive: backwards compatibility, office and games. Backwards compatibility is far less relevant with the advent of the cloud. Office has been over-overkill for home users since around Office2003. And games, Microsoft forgot about this the moment they decided they'd rather milk consoles instead. They now know they need a new cash cow and they may try subscriptions for the OS. The problem as I see it, is that I need a reason to subscribe.




By plopke on 8/27/2014 10:25:56 AM , Rating: 2
I always been wondering why Microsoft does not release Windows on a subscription basis for regular consumers.I get the impression people are scared/reluctant with the costs that upgrades of Microsoft software brings with them(including me). The one time massive cost for the new operating system/office, specially if they hear bad things about it.

But the same people(also including me) still pay 20-60€ on anti-virus protection software yearly, which in most cases over the lifetime of the device overtakes the OS license costs.

So what price?(Price listed are Microsoft store prices for my region BE/NL)
I just hope it doesnt turn into silly office 2013/360/365 price plans.

There used to be office 2007/2010(and i think 2003 also) home user for 3 pc's licences for around 200 €. With the majority still stuck on 2007-2010 and using it on 2pc's ? Which in office 2013 turned into 140 €-1pc, 270€-1pc(if you want outlook :shock:) and subscription plans: 1pc 65€/year, 5pc 99/year €. For many people a 100%to 300% increase in price if they would have written of their previous office version on yearly basis up until now?

But most annoyingly ,STILL NO FLEXIBILITY AT ALL , NOOOOOOOTHING ,IT IS 2015 ALMOST!!!, no custom picking of the software suite , just :
a)pay them a lot for one licence
b)pay them for too many licences/software then your personal need
c)can use 5 licences at home and pay them a reasonable fee compared to previous editions

What do I find personally a reasonable price?
I think personally I would be ok with 10-20€/yearly for one license(whatever version 7/8/9) with many possible extra options like office ,secondary copy for tablet , online storage ,...
The more you get, the bigger the discount ...?

In The End?
In the end I am not against subscription based plans for Windows and curious if they will try it out on Windows 9.In my eyes it makes a lot more sense since they do provide support for people and updates for many years.But lately when it comes to Microsoft it feels they react a bit delusional in what they think the consumer wants or how much it values them.




Not a bad idea
By jardows on 8/27/2014 1:12:14 PM , Rating: 2
If you look at the major windows virus infections or hacks, almost all of them exploit vulnerabilities that had already been fixed by Microsoft, but end users had not installed updates, and Enterprises had not applied the patches.




returning my UI..
By TheEinstein on 8/29/2014 12:36:45 AM , Rating: 2
Subscription means I pray for a new os... but I will pay a big one time price for good UI, standard support, and reverse functionability.




By tmartin1994 on 8/30/2014 9:13:48 PM , Rating: 2
While sysadmins fight over the OS strategies and wars, I can tell you, your management and the "bean counters" are far more interested in managing software (applications) costs, software audits, etc. Software License Optimization (SLO). It's the bean counters that control things, and drive the purchasing decisions for IT.

Find a way to put a major dent in software costs - more specifically "unused software" - and you will get their attention. This is where the business needs IT to bring value. The OS is BAU, boring and the lines are getting blurred e.g. think faxing; When was the last time you did "RightFax project"?

Get away from the cost-center mentality that OS wars wreak of.

Between SLO and Security...give more attention to solving these problems.

This is what's keeping your management and the bean counters awake at night...




"Well, there may be a reason why they call them 'Mac' trucks! Windows machines will not be trucks." -- Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki