backtop


Print 36 comment(s) - last by TechJunkie69.. on Aug 19 at 5:37 PM

According to Mary Jo Foley, the tech preview will be open to the public and will be available in late September

A preview release of Windows 9 “Threshold” could be here sooner than you think. Microsoft’s next major operating system release will reportedly into the “Tech Preview” phase late next month according to Microsoft insider Mary Jo Foley.
 
According to Foley’s sources that in the past have “provided accurate information on Windows in the past,” the tech preview won’t just be open to developers; it will also be open to the public if they wish to test the operating system.
 
Foley adds:
 
And in a move that signals where Microsoft is heading on the "servicability" front, those who install the tech preview will need to agree to have subsequent monthly updates to it pushed to them automatically, sources added.
 
Windows 9 is expected to introduce Virtual Desktops, which will allow users to select from multiple workspaces. As previously reported, this functionality is present in Windows 7 and newer operating systems, but is disabled by Microsoft.

Pre-release build of Windows 9 "Threshold" 

Windows 9 will also reportedly ditch the Charms bar for desktop PC users. Charms provide shortcut access to common system functions, and can come in handy on touch screen devices. However, desktop users often find the Charms bar (like other touch-centric aspects of Windows 8.x) incredibly annoying.
 
Another, less likely scenario is that Microsoft will ditch Charms altogether. This would break backwards compatibility with existing apps, so Microsoft should be careful to tread lightly.
 
Other features lined up for Windows 9 include a new “mini” Start Menu and Cortana integration. The Cortana personal digital assistant was already introduced with Windows Phone 8.1, and has been greeted with generally favorable reviews. Its introduction on Windows tablet and desktop platforms will be a welcome addition.
 
Microsoft is reportedly targeting Spring 2015 for the official, final release of Windows 9.

Sources: ZDNet, Neowin



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

By TrendsAreJustTrends on 8/15/2014 12:34:06 PM , Rating: 3
I never understood why MS didn't make the Windows NT powertoy Desktops into a standard feature of the OS. They have so many cool things that most people don't even know that exist (such as ICE) and still insist on not making them standard. Go figure...




By Labotomizer on 8/15/2014 12:44:25 PM , Rating: 1
Most normal users find multiple desktops confusing.


By ClockworkPirate on 8/15/2014 12:47:29 PM , Rating: 3
"Normals" on OS X seem to handle them just fine.


Good luck
By Ammohunt on 8/15/2014 2:36:23 PM , Rating: 2
I wonder if Microsoft thinks they can pull the PC market back from its losses created by the release of Windows 8 with the release of Windows 9. Hopefully they absorb all user feedback religiously prior to any major marketing campaign.




RE: Good luck
By KiwiTT on 8/15/2014 3:51:02 PM , Rating: 2
The way I read the market is that all the casual users are moving to tablets. New Gamers are moving to consoles. The backroom staff still require desktops, however the frontend staff can move to tablets. So desktops are really only needed in less and less places. I still love my 2 big screen Windows 7 desktop and use it for development, gaming, movies, browsing, etc. I considered a tablet recently, but as I spend most of my computer time in front of big screen desktop, I don't see the need. If I want portable computing I have my smartphone.


RE: Good luck
By just4U on 8/18/2014 1:43:23 AM , Rating: 2
They didn't really lose anything. Sales of Win7 went way up.. it's a win/win/Fail scenario that their great at. (think ME Think Vista.. Not bad OSes overall.. but they never took hold and generated more sales of previous versions)


Now for something totally off topic
By GotThumbs on 8/15/2014 1:53:55 PM , Rating: 4
quote:
"My sex life is pretty good" -- Steve Jobs' random musings during the 2010 D8 conference


What a total puttz this guy was.

Steve Wozniak was the brains of Apple and Jobs was the smuck Salesman. Jobs was very good at selling, but still a smuck.




By lexluthermiester on 8/15/2014 9:10:59 PM , Rating: 1
I'm not a fan of Apple, but Steve Jobs was anything but a "schmuck"[learn a how to spell genius].


FVWM
By fishman on 8/15/2014 1:38:56 PM , Rating: 2
I liked the virtual desktop features of FVWM on my linux box so much that I compiled the sources on our SGI workstations and used FVWM on them instead. This was almost 20 years ago.




Not a Win 8 Hater...
By BuddyRich on 8/15/2014 5:15:16 PM , Rating: 2
but this can't come soon enough.

I actually don't mind the metro menu, but I hate the fact that it takes me away from the desktop completely.

This fixes that, and allows metro apps to run in windows, something they should have done from the start. My big problem with Win 8 is that its schizophrenic. It doesn't know if it wants to be a desktop OS or a tablet one.

Bonus that they get rid of charms on the desktop.




The Problem with Windows 8
By TechJunkie69 on 8/19/2014 5:37:12 PM , Rating: 2
The problem Win8 had was not the core OS, but the interface. What I mean by that is not that the desktop or touch interfaces were bad, but that the convergence between the two was poorly implemented. Win 8.1 improved upon this convergence, but was still not to everyones liking. Win9 will obviously improve upon this further and will hopefully allow us to customize it to however we would prefer it to run, be it entirely touch, all desktop, or a mix of the two regardless of a touchscreen or not.




Yawn
By HostileEffect on 8/15/14, Rating: -1
RE: Yawn
By kleinma on 8/15/2014 1:33:06 PM , Rating: 2
They did. It is called Windows 8. Looks just like Windows 7 except it has a start screen instead of a start menu.


RE: Yawn
By GotThumbs on 8/15/2014 1:50:02 PM , Rating: 2
Yep.

Nothing wrong with Windows 8, but they over estimated the publics ablity to adjust to the new front end.

With 8.1, you can default to the desktop on boot-up and right clicking on the windows START flag provides shortcuts to Control Panel and other typical locations.

Windows metro was just a different view of the start/programs menu. Most people just didn't get it and the IT crowd jumped on the Bashing bandwagon IMO. It's NOT that big of a deal really.

Most probably don't even know Win* has drive pooling. Google it, if you don't know what I'm talking about.



RE: Yawn
By GotThumbs on 8/15/2014 1:51:17 PM , Rating: 2
Win8

How about starting work on an EDIT feature DailyTech?


RE: Yawn
By BennyTroves on 8/15/2014 2:05:27 PM , Rating: 2
I can understand how Win 8 could be confusing for users but once you get it, you get it - and in no way shape or form is better than how Win 7 operated.

MS has smartened up for 9 and is going back to what was better and making improvements upon that as you can already see in the new start menu.


RE: Yawn
By StraightCashHomey on 8/15/2014 4:40:30 PM , Rating: 1
No way, share, or form better than how Windows 7 operated? I suppose... if you're a complete moron.


RE: Yawn
By wordsworm on 8/15/2014 5:06:31 PM , Rating: 1
Windows 7 was all right compared to what came before it. But Windows 8 is far superior. It's the best OS they've ever made. The stuff you Luddites care about is superficial at best. Under the hood, it's the first OS they've made whose requirements were less than the one before it. I can boot and shut down my computer three times before a comparable W7 can start doing anything. I can have power shut off on me, come back on, and be back on my desktop as if nothing had happened. Why do hill billies and swamp rats care so much about a stupid start button?

I am very curious about W9. If they do virtual desktops in W9 successfully, then that will make it worth the upgrade provided they haven't slowed the boot or stability in W8. And now that real Intel Windows phones are silently entering the market, I'll be interested to see how powerful a smart phone can be.


RE: Yawn
By thesaxophonist on 8/15/2014 5:23:05 PM , Rating: 2
We're not debating the fact that the backend is better-it is. What we don't like is the fact that MS refused to listen to its customers and give us a more familiar interface, not only once, but multiple times.

Also, virtual desktops would be pretty cool.


RE: Yawn
By Cstefan on 8/15/2014 7:46:25 PM , Rating: 2
MS did and continues to say FUCK YOU to people without touch screens. Windows 8 is perfectly great with a UI replacement.


RE: Yawn
By lexluthermiester on 8/15/2014 9:03:57 PM , Rating: 2
I have quad core at 3.6ghz with DDR3 2133 and an OCZ SSD. The boot times between Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 are 5 seconds. FIVE WHOLE SECONDS. Dear heavens what an eternity!... The term "making mountains out of mole-hills" comes to mind...

Us power users and professionals don't care as much about the start button as we do the menu that goes with it. Calling us hill-billies and swamp rats is only one demonstration your limited intellectual capacity.

Your failure to see the "powerful" smart phones that already exist and far eclipse anything the Windows Phone arena has to offer is another.

Please shovel your drivel elsewhere...


RE: Yawn
By wordsworm on 8/16/2014 12:08:08 PM , Rating: 2
I notice you left out how long it takes W8 to boot. My average computer can boot in about five seconds. Most average computers with Windows 7 can boot in a little under a minute. Windows 7 was really, imo, simply a more solid version of XP + Vista.

I just like having it on in seconds rather than waiting a minute.

You misunderstand what I am saying about Windows phones. I want to see full Windows on a phone, not that runted version that can't really run any of the powerful apps that I can run on a PC.

So far I have been disappointed that the only available Intel phones are also running Android rather than a full version of W8.

How can you be a hill-billy and a swamp rat at the same time?


RE: Yawn
By lexluthermiester on 8/16/2014 10:49:06 PM , Rating: 2
The plaintiff rests it's case...


RE: Yawn
By bsim50 on 8/17/2014 10:56:55 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
"Most average computers with Windows 7 can boot in a little under a minute. Windows 7 was really, imo, simply a more solid version of XP + Vista."

Great idea. Compare your personal Win8 PC + SSD to an "average" Win7 PC with a mechanical 5,400rpm laptop HDD then declare Windows 8 to be 12x faster than Windows 7. No obvious trolling there...


RE: Yawn
By DiscoWade on 8/15/2014 9:24:34 PM , Rating: 5
My hatred Windows 8 has nothing to do with Metro screen. In 8.1 Metro is actually pretty good. All-in-all, 8.1 is really good, but it has some major problems not found in Windows 7.

I hate Windows 8 does not have Aero. The entire design and color scheme is hard on the eyes. It is hard to find what you are looking for because it does not stand out. As an aside, this is especially true in Office 2013. But Office 2013/365 is another nightmare in of itself. (Why does every new version of Office get slower and buggier?) I want to see a return of Aero in Windows 9.

I hate the new log in screen. Nobody, and I mean nobody, should ever use a Microsoft ID to sign in. I've had to help several people who sign in problems with password problems when their internet did not work. It was the dreaded "use the last password" problem. It is a problem that manifests itself on 8.0 and 8.1. Not only that, when you use a Microsoft ID, far too much of this accursed cloud and advertising junk is enabled by default just because Microsoft desperately wants to be Google. I want to see the entire Windows 8 sign in process locked in a safe, hurled into a river, and then hurl the river into the ocean. I want to see every cloud or Bing option deep-sixed. In short, I don't want Microsoft to know when I log in, what I do, or have any of my files. It is bad enough Google knows a lot about me, the last thing I want is another advertiser with the same information. (I use Ghostery+NoScript+Firefox just for that reason.)

Although I do not hate the 8.1 Metro screen, I prefer the concise traditional start menu. I want a Windows 7 style start menu return, with the option to customize to a Windows XP style for those that like that. Don't get rid of Metro, but give people a choice.

For all that is good and holy, RETURN THE F8 OPTION BY DEFAULT!! Make safe mode easy to get to! Make System Restore easy to get to! Return the very useful repair console found in Windows Vista/7, not the one where I have to click on several different options just to get a command prompt.

Give me the entire Windows 7 user interface with the performance boost of Windows 8 and I will be very happy. The improved task manager of Windows 8 can come, but it has to be pretty like Windows 7.

These are minor gripes that bother me for some reason: Stop using contractions; it just seems unprofessional. Stop calling programs "apps". Why is the old "Computer" (or "My Computer" in XP) icon called "This PC"?

I am going to try Windows 9. And I will tell them why I am not using Windows 8. Listening has never been something Microsoft has done, but I can still try.


RE: Yawn
By inighthawki on 8/16/2014 3:25:20 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
I hate the new log in screen. Nobody, and I mean nobody, should ever use a Microsoft ID to sign in.

A microsoft account is not required. Still has local accounts

quote:
I've had to help several people who sign in problems with password problems when their internet did not work. It was the dreaded "use the last password" problem. It is a problem that manifests itself on 8.0 and 8.1.

What is wrong with the "use last password"? Are people just changing it every 2 minutes?
quote:
Not only that, when you use a Microsoft ID, far too much of this accursed cloud and advertising junk is enabled by default just because Microsoft desperately wants to be Google.

This is just a straight lie. I've been using a MS account since Win8 was released across a half a dozen PCs, and I have yet to see a single piece of advertising as a result. Cloud storage is also something that a lot of people like. Most of the people I know that don't use SkyDrive/have a MS account use DropBox or some equivalent anyway

quote:
I want to see the entire Windows 8 sign in process locked in a safe, hurled into a river, and then hurl the river into the ocean. I want to see every cloud or Bing option deep-sixed. In short, I don't want Microsoft to know when I log in, what I do, or have any of my files

So again, use a local account and dont use skydrive. Problem solved, both are completely optional components.


RE: Yawn
By Solandri on 8/16/2014 12:57:32 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
A microsoft account is not required. Still has local accounts

The only way I've figured out to create a local account on a new computer is to disconnect the network when you're creating the account. The "Sign in without a Microsoft account" option simply isn't there when creating the first account. You have to disable your networking, enter an email address like you're creating a Microsoft account, wait for it to fail, then it will create a local account instead.

If you're starting up a new laptop, the account creation comes after the wireless LAN setup. So unless you know ahead of time not to enable networking, the default account that's made is going to be a Microsoft account, not a local account.

quote:
What is wrong with the "use last password"? Are people just changing it every 2 minutes?

It's not that frequent, but it can fail if your cached credentials get wiped (an update can do this). Worst case is your computer updates the network drivers as part of an update which wipes the cache, and it needs you to login to complete updating the drivers. You can't login without the network working again. You can't get the network working again without logging in. Catch-22.

Not saying it's a common problem. Just that it's a really crappy move by Microsoft to prioritize their marketing over your system integrity.


RE: Yawn
By inighthawki on 8/16/2014 1:39:18 PM , Rating: 3
You just need to click "Create new account" when it asks to log in, then there's a link at the bottom to create a local account instead of a Microsoft account. No need to unplug networks or anything.

quote:
It's not that frequent, but it can fail if your cached credentials get wiped (an update can do this). Worst case is your computer updates the network drivers as part of an update which wipes the cache, and it needs you to login to complete updating the drivers. You can't login without the network working again. You can't get the network working again without logging in. Catch-22.

This has never happened to me, but I'll take your word for it. Even still, This isn't just a marketting thing. Having a MS account has a lot of benefits. As I mentioned in my above post, I have yet to see a single piece of advertising, so that's clearly not their main concern. However, I have several Windows devices, and having the MS account let's me seamlessly sync things across. I have a single user account shared across all my devices that synchronizes settings, calendars, contacts, etc. It works beautifully.


RE: Yawn
By just4U on 8/18/2014 1:37:08 AM , Rating: 2
This is something that confuses users with a lot of computer experience as it's not prominent.. for your "average" user the option might as well not even be there. There are a fair number of things that trip up very experienced users.. little own the masses who are used to what they are used to.. and changes this drastic with them becomes a disaster.

People can defend windows 8 all they like but the fact is it's a FAILED operating system where not enough early adopters stayed with it to convince other's to buy it.

Windows 7 and before that Windows XP were very successful because of word of mouth. Vista ME and Win8 (with all it's derivatives)are not for the exact same reason.

And btw.. we get it. We all know why MS is doing it.. They want a tightly integrated set across all platforms so they can compete against Apple and Android.. but their pushing the LEGION of desktop users to learn it rather than trying to work with them. That's not the way to go.


RE: Yawn
By robinthakur on 8/18/2014 6:37:23 AM , Rating: 2
I found that you can't create a user account anymore without making it a MS account, perhap there was a tiny button I missed somewhere to allow local accounts, but it must have been pretty obscure. It definitely wasn't like that before Windows 8.1.

I had an issue recently whereby my security info had to be reset on my MS account which is linked to my Windows. this takes 30 days to ensure that you aren't trying to hijack the account. Somehow this enabled dual factor authentication where to login to any MS service I had to get an SMS or email with a code before I could log in. This was so annoying, I briefly considered chucking the laptop across the office. The moral of the story is alway use a local account.


RE: Yawn
By inighthawki on 8/18/2014 11:15:56 AM , Rating: 2
It is a bit obscure, and hard to find, but it's there. Next time I run through a setup, maybe I'll take some pictures.

I'm also confused by your scenario. Are you saying you had to enter a security code every time you logged in? I have never heard of this prompting the user more than once for a particular operation per computer. If it truly did ask you every time you logged in, it almost seems like you missed a little checkbox that says "remember."


RE: Yawn
By croc on 8/16/2014 3:04:08 AM , Rating: 2
"I can boot and shut down my computer three times before a comparable W7 can start doing anything."

Really? Start up / shutdown (not "sleep" or "hibernate") three times in less than 20 seconds?

As to your losing power claims... So what? My PDP 11/70 had zero issues with that, back in the '70's.


RE: Yawn
By chizow on 8/15/2014 9:45:05 PM , Rating: 2
The bashing by the IT crowd was legitimate, there's no way in hell any IT enterprise would risk deploying Win8 with its obfuscated desktop to a bunch of standard users. In the earlier Win8 iterations, you almost had to use keyboard shortcuts to get around quickly. Complete nightmare.

That said I've been using Win8/8.1 on my personal desktop for about a year now and it is a better all around OS than Win7, the only flaw it still has is the full-screen metro UI. Once that is gone with 9/Threshold, it will just be Win7, improved. It's basically Vista to Win7 all over again, but even Vista had fewer warts than Win8's massive Metro flaw.


RE: Yawn
By momorere on 8/16/2014 7:24:45 PM , Rating: 2
Dude you need to get back over to Fudzilla. Dan_amd has been missing you ALOT.


RE: Yawn
By cyberserf on 8/16/2014 6:39:26 AM , Rating: 3
if many of you think Metro is only reason people hate W8 then you are fools. Lots of customization is gone and features too. Icons/folders/buttons which were perfect in XP are gone. They should have just allowed an XP theme in W8 and it would have been ok.

for MS and their push for mobile they also foolishly tried to push the Metro on desktop when people are fine with an fully open customizable desktop instead of the locked giant start screen in w8.

and now that time has passed and metro still has not gained any transaction on mobile either and is losing users we all need to agree what the majority says that it is a complete epic fail. lol


RE: Yawn
By Solandri on 8/16/2014 1:08:21 PM , Rating: 3
Aside from the obtrusiveness of full-screen Metro, my biggest gripe is how they've flattened the appearance by getting rid of the 3D shading on borders. It makes overlapping windows blend together (only the window with focus gets a drop shadow), and takes more effort to figure out which part of the screen belongs to which window.

It's a huge step backwards. The Microsoft designers and managers who thought it was a good idea need to be taken out to the parking lot and run over with a steamroller. See how they like being flattened. We live in a 3D world and our eyes and brains are designed to assume objects are 3D. If you really want your interface to be 2D, then you need to get rid of the 3D concept of overlapping windows.

I also dislike how some of the control panel options are still in control panel, others have moved to the Change PC Settings option in the charms.


"We basically took a look at this situation and said, this is bullshit." -- Newegg Chief Legal Officer Lee Cheng's take on patent troll Soverain














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki