backtop


Print 55 comment(s) - last by superstition.. on Oct 15 at 11:01 PM

Developers can get their hands on the update starting today

Windows Phone is getting its third update in the coming weeks, which will add features for new devices with larger screens and 1080p resolution.

Microsoft announced Windows Phone 8 Update 3 today along with a special Windows Phone Preview Program for developers. The latter gives registered Windows Phone devs access to the update today without needing a carrier in the middle. The program is likely a way to attract developers to the platform, which is a much-needed step to broaden Windows Phone's app ecosystem. 

As for the actual update, Microsoft says Windows Phone 8 Update 3 (8.0.10512) is geared toward new devices. More specifically, it offers support for Qualcomm’s Snapdragon MSM8974 quad-core processor as well as 5 and 6-inch displays at 1080p resolution.

With larger screens, the update plans to utilize the expanded space by adding a third column of Live Tiles to the Windows Phone 8 Start Screen on 1080p displays. This will allow up to six small tiles across the screen. With 6-inch displays, built-in apps will be scaled correctly to fit the screen.
 

There are also some new features for both new and existing devices with the third update. For instance, there are now custom notification sounds for text messages, emails, reminders and voicemails. There's also a new rotation lock option to keep the screen in either portrait or landscape mode, and a feature called Driving Mode, which limits the number of notifications on your lock screen to keep from distracted driving. 

Another new feature is "Mobile Accessibility for Windows Phone 8," which offers multiple apps that help Windows Phone 8 be easy to use for everyone. For instance, there's a screen reader to make it easier for blind and visually impaired users to manage phone calls and text messages.

Some fixes to existing Windows Phone features include a way to quickly close apps when multitasking; better bluetooth support; Wi-Fi access during the phone set-up (allows you to restore from a backup device over Wi-Fi), and better storage management. 

The update is expected to roll out over the coming weeks. 

Source: Windows Blog



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

The UI is ugly
By superstition on 10/14/13, Rating: 0
RE: The UI is ugly
By p05esto on 10/14/2013 7:41:00 PM , Rating: 2
No way, I love Win8 on my phone but refuse it on the desktop. The live tiles and ability to totally customize the home screen is pretty slick. I like seeing at a glace all my stuff, weather, email, updates, etc. It's also fresh and modern feeling.

But on the desktop where I use a mouse and refuses to touch my stupid screen like a retard I HATE it. So lame, so kiddie dumb.

Make it optional on the desktop MS and you would have been fine. Bring back the start button and menu already. So stupid MS, so stupid!!!!!


RE: The UI is ugly
By troysavary on 10/15/2013 6:12:45 AM , Rating: 2
You know, the tiles work with a mouse too.


RE: The UI is ugly
By inighthawki on 10/14/2013 7:57:36 PM , Rating: 3
That's because most people like it on the phone and tablet, and why the common complaint is "I don't want a phone OS on my desktop."


RE: The UI is ugly
By retrospooty on 10/14/2013 8:13:51 PM , Rating: 3
It makes perfect sense. Its designed for a touch screen and is horrible on a desktop or laptop.theThus the complaints from users that hate it, and the insanely slow adoption rate.


RE: The UI is ugly
By superstition on 10/14/2013 10:24:24 PM , Rating: 1
You're not addressing the aesthetics much, though. You're talking about functionality more than form.

When I said the UI (on the desktop) is ugly, I was rated 5. Now, I've been rated 1 and -1 so far for making the same observation about the very same UI, but on a phone.

It's still ugly.


RE: The UI is ugly
By retrospooty on 10/15/2013 1:13:29 AM , Rating: 2
I agree with you there, its ugly on both. A lot less ugly on the phone simply because of space. On the phone tiles aren't grossly over sized. On a PC they are.


RE: The UI is ugly
By superstition on 10/15/2013 12:34:25 PM , Rating: 1
Apparently it has some rabid fans here because I got -1 twice for expressing an opinion as a consumer. The abuse of the rating system is amusing. It should be used to hide spam comments and such, not legitimate ones.


RE: The UI is ugly
By inighthawki on 10/15/2013 4:09:44 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Apparently it has some rabid fans here because I got -1 twice for expressing an opinion as a consumer. The abuse of the rating system is amusing. It should be used to hide spam comments and such, not legitimate ones.

The rating system here is typically about whether or not someone agrees with you or not. I do feel it is a bit flawed in that it has a very limited range of values, but nonetheless usually accurately represents not the quality of the post, but how much it's agreed upon. Those who favor your perspective will upvote, those who do not downvote. Posts with 5s would be considered well liked and probably represent the majority opinion, while those who are 0s or -1s typically represent posts with no meaningful content of a large number of people disagree. Overall I don't see anything wrong with it, but it could use some improvements, definitely. I think everyone can agree that the comments section needs quite a few improvements. An edit button for one thing :)


RE: The UI is ugly
By drlumen on 10/15/2013 4:37:02 PM , Rating: 2
No doubt there are the fans and detractors on both sides. However, there seems to be a lot of undue bias toward anything microsoft. Almost like M$ has a paid herd of astroturf landscapers to come through.

Let the negatives begin in 3... 2... 1...


RE: The UI is ugly
By superstition on 10/15/2013 10:51:14 PM , Rating: 2
Even a quote by Douglas Adams was hidden, on a tech site!

(Because it was critical of Bill Gates.)


RE: The UI is ugly
By superstition on 10/15/2013 11:01:51 PM , Rating: 2
The system is bad. I've seen really good thoughtful comments rated 0 and a lot of really poor comments (particularly in terms of quality content) rated 4 and 5.

A better system would only let people hide comments if a large number of negative votes are cast. That would take care of spam. Thoughtful comments, no matter how unpopular they are with whatever random people look at them, should not be hidden.


ugly UI
By superstition on 10/14/13, Rating: -1
RE: ugly UI
By nikon133 on 10/15/2013 2:30:59 PM , Rating: 1
Why, they can. iOS7.


Minor update
By CSMR on 10/14/13, Rating: -1
RE: Minor update
By CaedenV on 10/14/2013 4:36:54 PM , Rating: 2
I thought that was going to be an issue, but so far it has not been bad. you can browse media in the media player, documents in office, etc. The only issue is that you cannot move files around within the phone... but at the same time I am pretty sure I would not want to do that with my phone in the first place and it is much simpler to do it from my PC via a USB cable on the rare occasion that it needs to be done.

All of that said, WP and winRT are now part of the same department over at MS. Not sure if that means that WP will become more like RT, or if RT will become more like WP, but there is a very real possibility of some limited desktop features coming available in a year or two when that all gets sorted out.


RE: Minor update
By kleinma on 10/14/2013 4:50:50 PM , Rating: 2
so iOS is not a serious platform?


RE: Minor update
By inighthawki on 10/14/2013 5:01:41 PM , Rating: 2
I was going to say the same thing but I don't have a lot of experience with iOS. I wasn't sure if I misunderstood the OP's reason, but I guess I'm not alone.


RE: Minor update
By amanojaku on 10/14/2013 7:00:10 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
so iOS is not a serious platform?
No, iOS is a joke.

Oh, come on. You give me a meatball, and I'm gonna smack it outta the park.


RE: Minor update
By retrospooty on 10/14/2013 8:11:08 PM , Rating: 1
IOS is a good OS for the dull masses. Locked down optionless, simple, worry free. Not for the technically inclined.


RE: Minor update
By inighthawki on 10/14/2013 9:16:43 PM , Rating: 4
That doesn't make it a less serious platform, it makes it a less power user-friendly platform. Apple has proven time and time again that the mass majority of users do not need (or really even care) about such features. A file explorer relates to an incredibly small niche portion of the phone market. Even many tech savvy users don't care about such a feature, as long as the rest of the system is designed well enough that it doesn't matter.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/2013 9:31:39 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Apple has proven time and time again that the mass majority of users do not need (or really even care) about such features.


Since when?

Name me anything Apple makes that enjoys a mass majority? Their desktop OS marketshare is pathetic. iOS is quickly on it's way to becoming a niche itself. With nearly 70% of the global market going to Android.

quote:
A file explorer relates to an incredibly small niche portion of the phone market.


More nonsense! The vast majority of the entire human population has been intimately familiar with a file explorer system for decades now. It's called WINDOWS! Maybe you've heard of it? Which is why for most people, Android is VERY intuitive. It's like using a PC in a lot of respects. The fact that it's on a phone is irrelevant, and it's certainly not a 'niche' thing at all.

This idea that Apple caters to the average everyman is a myth that needs to end. The generalization that non-Apple users are tinkerer extraordinaire or super tech-savvy geeks is about as accurate as their Mac vs. PC adds.

This isn't the early 90's. This idea that everyone is a dumb sh*t, and are intimidated by computer technology, is so outmoded I can't stand it. It's time we actually LOOK at what the market is telling us, what people are buying and using, and rethink a lot of these stereotypes.

People don't need a tech company to hold their hand and get them through the day anymore. People don't need to be told "they don't know what they want, until you give it to them." They KNOW what they want, and if you aren't offering that, they know where they can go and get it.


RE: Minor update
By Alexvrb on 10/14/2013 9:49:38 PM , Rating: 5
Yeah right. The majority of users have no idea what a file system is, and never dig around their storage in that fashion. They might manage to open the documents folder via a desktop "shiny button" but that's about it. You severely overestimate the tablet and smartphone using masses.

Android could remove file system access and more than half of Android users wouldn't notice. Oh and you'd love it because Google does no wrong. ??


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/13, Rating: 0
RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/14/2013 10:35:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
More nonsense! The vast majority of the entire human population has been intimately familiar with a file explorer system for decades now


quote:
The majority of all "majority" based arguments are BS.


This is getting bad. Your contradictions are occurring sooner than they use to.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/2013 10:50:59 PM , Rating: 2
One is a fact based on decades of statistics and observation.

The other is just spewing out whatever.


RE: Minor update
By inighthawki on 10/15/2013 2:00:50 AM , Rating: 2
Actually I know people who have used a computer for a decade and still have no concept of a file system. What they know is that there's a folder called "downloads" that has a bunch of files they downloaded in it, and programs are installed magically on the system and they can run it with the icon that's on the desktop. The concept of mounted drives or a hierarchy of folders is completely foreign to them.

Your argument is as much BS as you claim others to be. Even then, if "many" of the people were familiar with a file system, that doesn't mean that the 'majority' actually require it to be browseable to use the device. If that were true then the iPhone would've flopped on day 1. Instead it's the single most popular smartphone out there.


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/14/2013 10:14:08 PM , Rating: 2
You need a day pass so you can leave the Android campus. There's another world out there. I understand why you like your platform, I don't use it and that's what you can't understand.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/2013 10:22:37 PM , Rating: 1
My post had nothing to DO with Android! I made the same arguments pre-Android on Mac vs. PC topics.

My point was really goddamn simple: The notion that Apple somehow caters to average people is a massive blunder. If that were the case, they would have a majority marketshare everywhere they went. Instead they don't have that ANYWHERE!


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/14/2013 10:46:43 PM , Rating: 2
quote:

My post had nothing to DO with Android!


Sorry I forgot you have to start it first.

As far as the rest of your argument you couldn't say that a few years ago but now that you can you sure stand on your soap box. I wonder what your arguments were when it wasn't true because I know you had them.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/13, Rating: 0
RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/15/2013 12:54:15 AM , Rating: 2
Isn't it obvious I don't. I was just pointing out your closed mindedness, hypocrisy, and offensiveness. So just relax.

It's like when a telemarketer calls and you keep him on the phone so he can't call anyone else. This way others can have real discussions.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/15/2013 1:12:25 AM , Rating: 2
Can we stay on topic?

This is really simple, and if I'm so wrong it should be easy to blow me apart.

If everyone is tech-illiterate simpletons, why is Apple not enjoying market-leader status in the PC and mobile markets?

See I think this whole 'the average person is a dumbass who can't find the power button' mantra has gone on long enough. Why does it persist when almost no actual data exists to back it up?


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/15/2013 1:47:50 AM , Rating: 2
I think we are both using our own experiences here. You may know many tech savvy people, I know many people with tech that aren't savvy.

This may be part of Windows 8 problems. I know why you don't care for it but the average user isn't looking at the Windows they are use to. They have to relearn. They aren't tech savvy. This isn't the only problem with it but it's definitely a problem.


RE: Minor update
By inighthawki on 10/15/2013 1:54:27 AM , Rating: 2
Quote by Reclaimer:
"Can we stay on topic?"

Quote by Reclaimer on post above that:
"You're just a little b*tch who follows me around and whines about every post I make. What do I care what you think anyway? "

quote:
If everyone is tech-illiterate simpletons, why is Apple not enjoying market-leader status in the PC and mobile markets?

For a very long time they enjoyed a complete dominance in the mobile market. The mobile market differs heavily from the desktop market, though, and includes a lot of server and enterprise backing which is one of the primary reasons that Windows remains the dominant desktop platform while Apple is losing ground to mobile, since there is no incentive to stay on any particular mobile platform.

quote:
See I think this whole 'the average person is a dumbass who can't find the power button' mantra has gone on long enough. Why does it persist when almost no actual data exists to back it up?

It exists everywhere. Your mistake is that you are assuming all the people you deal with are the same as everyone else out there. You would be massively surprised at the incompetence of the average person when it comes to ordinary technology. Many of them don't know how to do anything beyond facebook and web browsing.


RE: Minor update
By troysavary on 10/15/2013 6:09:54 AM , Rating: 2
Which, in itself, doesn't make them stupid either. For most people, phones and PCs are appliances to get done what they need to do. If they have no interest in learning the hows and whys of the tech they are using, it doesn't make them stupid. There was a time when you had to be technically savvy just to use a computer. That time has passed, just as you no longer have to know anything about mechanics to drive a car.

As much as I love tech myself, I think not knowing how to grow your own food is more of a sign of incompetence than not knowing how to browse a file system. Most people in North America have a complete disconnect from the system that provides the packaged goods stocking their supermarket. I actually heard a girl say farmers are cruel because they kill their pets and they should get meat at the supermarket like everyone else. That is WAY more stupid than any tech unfamiliarity.


RE: Minor update
By inighthawki on 10/15/2013 12:04:15 PM , Rating: 2
Oh I completely agree, these people are not stupid, they just don't know the ins and outs of a computer, the OS, and its file system. This particular concept extends way beyond just computers into any field that isn't common knowledge.

quote:
I actually heard a girl say farmers are cruel because they kill their pets and they should get meat at the supermarket like everyone else. That is WAY more stupid than any tech unfamiliarity.

That's pretty funny, actually. I would've loved to hear that, but that sounds like a bit more of a one-off case of stupidity than what is being referred to here. :)


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/15/2013 9:18:47 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
For a very long time they enjoyed a complete dominance in the mobile market.


They enjoyed a two to three year period of market dominance. As soon as any significant competition entered the market, Apple quickly lost it's grasp.

Even the iPad, which had something like 95% of the tablet market all to itself, has been soundly dethroned in a few short years.

Now, these are the devices that "just work", right? iOS is so "intuitive" and "easy to use", right? So what's going on? Please explain this to me. If we're all dumba#s apes who can barely grasp technology...

quote:
You would be massively surprised at the incompetence of the average person when it comes to ordinary technology. Many of them don't know how to do anything beyond facebook and web browsing.


In my lifetime I think it IS amazing that our parents and grandparents are on Facebook and web browsing and playing MMO's etc etc. When this whole Internet thing started, I honestly couldn't see that coming. People are getting more 'tech savvy' all the time.

If you choose to see the average person as incompetent, I can't change that. It's easy to view yourself as superior to others. I fall into that line of thinking myself. I have made similar statements myself.

But I think if you step back and look at this, you'll be forced to rethink some misconceptions. I think using this "average person" argument as a blanket statement to rationalize any argument is a bit...wonky. It seems to be thrown out as a kneejerk affirmation of the personal biases of the poster himself, not the actual "average" persons position.


RE: Minor update
By nikon133 on 10/15/2013 2:39:01 PM , Rating: 2
Classic.


RE: Minor update
By retrospooty on 10/14/2013 10:13:54 PM , Rating: 2
"That doesn't make it a less serious platform, it makes it a less power user-friendly platform."

That, I believe, is exactly what CSMR meant.


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/15/2013 12:59:28 AM , Rating: 2
I don't use Apple but I agree with you, it holds true for many users and devices. There is a reason they use the user friendly.


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/15/2013 3:00:22 AM , Rating: 2
Ment to say "user friendly". That's what the majority need and if you can't target that it's a tough sell.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/2013 7:09:30 PM , Rating: 2
iOS is actually a fairly terrible OS.


RE: Minor update
By p05esto on 10/14/2013 7:32:42 PM , Rating: 2
Um, have you used iOS and tried to manage the files? Now THAT is a joke of an OS. Try plugging that in via USB and see what happens, lol. I'll take my plug-it-in-and-it-just-freaking-works Windows Phone any day. iTunes is the devil man.. DEVIL I say.


RE: Minor update
By StevoLincolnite on 10/15/2013 2:26:34 AM , Rating: 2
You have to use the Zune software for Windows Phone 7/7.8 etc'.

But, I've had no drama's on my Windows Phone 8. :)


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/14/2013 9:14:57 PM , Rating: 1
Forget that, I cannot believe that Windows Phone is coming up on the end of 2013 and is just now getting some of these features. I mean custom sounds and notification sounds, really!! Is this 2009? Driving mode? Seriously!?

How can the biggest, largest, and most resourceful software company on the planet continue being THIS far behind in mobile software? It's mind boggling!!


RE: Minor update
By rsmech on 10/14/2013 10:32:36 PM , Rating: 2
Some people want productivity. This doesn't make my phone less productive either. You may think its behind but I don't need hello kitty features to be productive. They are just adding the candy for the kids after the adults are fed.


RE: Minor update
By troysavary on 10/15/2013 6:12:00 AM , Rating: 2
Seriously. Reclaimer once listed the absence of Candy Crush as a weakness for Windows Phone.


RE: Minor update
By Reclaimer77 on 10/15/2013 9:02:49 AM , Rating: 1
You're full of it, nice try. Context matters.

I listed the absence of Candy Crush as evidence of weak app library, which was the context of that discussion: apps.

Seriously could you be more transparent? It's so obvious that the vast majority of your posts have the singular goal of insulting me or antagonizing me in some way.


RE: Minor update
By nikon133 on 10/15/2013 4:48:09 PM , Rating: 2
He owns you right now. By a margin.


WP8 is stupid
By whickywhickyjim on 10/14/13, Rating: -1
RE: WP8 is stupid
By InsGadget on 10/14/2013 8:56:17 PM , Rating: 2
tens of millions you mean? as in, approaching 40 million?


RE: WP8 is stupid
By troysavary on 10/15/2013 6:14:11 AM , Rating: 3
Windows Phone will soon pass iOS in most of Europe at the current growth rate.


RE: WP8 is stupid
By whickywhickyjim on 10/15/2013 10:32:22 AM , Rating: 1
I didn't know that. In America, at least where I live, it seems that everyone has an iphone or an android and all the locally useful apps are developed for those two groups. I guess matters are different in Europe.
I still think that live tiles need to tilt -- it's just lazy programming that they aren't able to.


RE: WP8 is stupid
By weskurtz0081 on 10/15/2013 10:58:56 AM , Rating: 2
There are many apps still missing, but I have seen new apps that I want come online since I purchased my 928 a few months ago. So far, I prefer the WP8 version of the same apps that I used on my iPhone and different Android devices.


"This is about the Internet.  Everything on the Internet is encrypted. This is not a BlackBerry-only issue. If they can't deal with the Internet, they should shut it off." -- RIM co-CEO Michael Lazaridis














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki