Sources: University of Illinois [press release], SSRN [abstract]
quote: If anything, it means a law may be needed here.
quote: Memorializing the account: It is our policy to memorialize all deceased users' accounts on the site. When an account is memorialized, only confirmed friends can see the timeline or locate it in Search. The timeline will also no longer appear in the Suggestions section of the Home page. Friends and family can leave posts in remembrance. In order to protect the privacy of the deceased user, we cannot provide login information for the account to anyone. However, once an account has been memorialized, it is completely secure and cannot be accessed or altered by anyone. If you need to report a timeline to be memorialized, please click here. Removing the account: Verified immediate family members may request the removal of a loved one’s account from the site.