backtop


Print 75 comment(s) - last by Smilin.. on Jan 5 at 9:53 AM

Microsoft has yet to comment on what is causing massive numbers of its 30GB Zune to fail virtually simultaneously

There have been some mysteries in the technology world over 2008. It seems that the last day of the year will end on another mysterious note for technology fans and Microsoft Zune owners.

According to Gizmodo there are massive amounts of reports of 30GB Microsoft Zune players failing around the country. The proximity to the New Year has led the phenomenon to be dubbed the Y2K9 bug, though the failures actually having anything to do with a calendar issue is slim. Mostly the slim chances have to do with the fact that the calendar won’t change until midnight tonight on the players and the first reports of failures starting coming in at about 2 a.m. this morning.

The failure goes something like this according to reports. At about 2 a.m. 30GB Zune's that were reset or were tuned off failed when they were started back up. The failure is described by those affected as a freeze at the load screen.

According to reports this isn’t a few 30GB Zune's that have failed, the vast majority of the devices have the same exact failure symptoms and have been reports by hundreds of owners according to Gizmodo. At this point little is known as to what is causing the mass failures of the devices. Once Microsoft is up and running for the workday, perhaps we will get more information on the issue.

Until then if you're 30GB Zune has failed, tell us about it in the comments below.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

RE: Will work tommorow.
By Mitch101 on 12/31/2008 10:23:47 AM , Rating: 2
I consider it a warning for the Y2038 bug or Y2K38.

The Zunes are always the first to know.


RE: Will work tommorow.
By Mitch101 on 12/31/2008 10:29:15 AM , Rating: 5
Update: The reason it possibly started at 3am EST 2am CST is because there is no time zone option on a Zune and Redmond works on PST time so 12am PST = 3am EST 2am CST.


RE: Will work tommorow.
By Motoman on 12/31/2008 10:37:45 AM , Rating: 2
Skynet. The revolution will be televisions.


RE: Will work tommorow.
By LorKha on 12/31/2008 2:04:42 PM , Rating: 2
England Prevails!


RE: Will work tommorow.
By poohbear on 1/2/2009 7:10:21 AM , Rating: 2
definetly skynet. and MS released it!!!!!!!!


“We do believe we have a moral responsibility to keep porn off the iPhone.” -- Steve Jobs











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki