backtop


Print 19 comment(s) - last by tjr508.. on Jul 2 at 3:02 PM

Are you ready for the new law going into effect on July 1?

Three more days.  That's the number of days left before drivers in California will be forced to go hands-free while using a cell phone in the car, even if they aren't necessarily ready for the new law to go into effect.

Will the law make the roads safer?  Are drivers ready?  Do people even care?

If you're a Californian who is going to roll the dice and keep chatting on a phone without using a Bluetooth headset or speaker phone, the first offense will be $100.  If you keep on going, the fines can reach $190 for a second offense, with the fine continuing to increase with each additional violation.

But if you do end up getting a ticket come next week, Headsets.com will be giving away 730 free Discovery 925 Bluetooth headsets for drivers who get busted.  A law firm in the Bay Area island town of Alameda will hand out 2,000 Bluetooth headsets to Bay Area residents even if they don't get a ticket. 

The law does allow users with Sprint Nextel push-to-talk to continue using the push-to-talk feature without using Bluetooth technology.  If you're content with simply using your phone's speaker phone, you'll also be allowed to do that.

In case you're wondering, it's still going to be legal to send text messages while driving -- for now.  California Senator Joe Simitian (D-Palo Alto), who authored the current hands-free law, recently wrote a new bill that will ban text messaging while driving.

If you're using a Bluetooth headset, please familiarize yourself with it before getting into the car and learning how to use your new gadget while driving.

Does using a Bluetooth headset actually make driving safer?  The jury is still out on this one, but either way, we still have to deal with it.  Researcher done at the University of Utah indicate drivers using a cell phone are 5.36 times more likely to get into a traffic accident, which roughly is on the same level of danger as driving with a .08 blood-alcohol level.

California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger believes the new law will help keep drivers safer, but researchers indicate it's more about a driver's attention and processing capacity instead of whether or not they're holding a cell phone.

A public survey done by Parrot indicates 63 percent of people who drive at least one hour per day talk on the cell phone for non-urgent matters.

Remember folks, the law officially goes into effect on Tuesday, July 1!



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

RE: Stupid
By xsilver on 6/29/2008 10:33:45 PM , Rating: 2
Hand 1: Steering Wheel
Hand 2: Gear lever
Hand 3: Mobile phone
Where's the problem?? ;)

Jokes aside, I think the standard way is to change gears with the phone hand so changing gears will temporarily break the phone conversation.
If you're really good however, I guess you can hold the steering wheel still with your knees and have the phone in one hand while the other hand manages the gear lever and the steering wheel.


RE: Stupid
By totallycool on 6/30/2008 10:45:57 AM , Rating: 2
Hand 3!!!!

God gave you a NECK for a purpose:P


RE: Stupid
By baseball43v3r on 6/30/2008 8:32:40 PM , Rating: 2
i'm a knee driver myself. left hand with the phone right hand shifting and the knee doing the steering wheel, much safer that way :-D


"This is about the Internet.  Everything on the Internet is encrypted. This is not a BlackBerry-only issue. If they can't deal with the Internet, they should shut it off." -- RIM co-CEO Michael Lazaridis

Related Articles
















botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki