Print 83 comment(s) - last by doctor sam ada.. on Jun 20 at 8:47 AM

Pluto and its biggest moon, Charon  (Source: NASA)
Pluto gets new classification: Plutoid

After being demoted from a planet to a dwarf planet by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) two years ago, the IAU has announced the term "plutoid" will be given to Pluto and similar dwarf planets.  Members of the IAU argued amongst themselves for two years, confused on how to classify dwarf stars like Pluto.  

Only dwarfs orbiting further than Neptune can be classified as a plutoid, and they must also circle the sun and be large enough to have their own gravitational field.  Pluto's permanent classification as a plutoid now means Neptune is the outermost planet in Earth's solar system; one complete orbit around the sun takes almost 165 years.

"Plutoids are celestial bodies in orbit around the sun at a distance greater than that of Neptune that have sufficient mass for their self-gravity to overcome rigid body forces so that they assume a hydrostatic equilibrium (near-spherical) shape, and that have not cleared the neighborhood around their orbit," said the IAU.

Pluto and Eris remain the only plutoids at the moment, but astronomers expect to find other small bodies that meet the qualifications to be a plutoid.

The controversy over Pluto's planet status has been strong for years, and the IAU-created plutoid classification most likely will not end the debate.  In fact, it is unlikely the debate regarding Pluto's status and what it should be classified as will never end, and defining it as a "plutoid" will only add fuel to the fire.

Many astronomers remain angry that Pluto, considered a planet for around 70 years, could have its status demoted so easily by the IAU.  Text book publishers and teachers must now begin to teach students that Pluto lost its planet status and is now a plutoid, along with describing the new classification.

The IAU has been the sole organization responsible for classifying all planetary bodies for more than a decade.

Comments     Threshold

This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

RE: Pointless
By bmheiar on 6/13/2008 12:51:10 PM , Rating: 1
Actually dolphins & whales are aquatic mammals since they have lungs, so are required to surface to breath in air & also are warm blooded. While fish like a shark for example have gills, which extracts out the oxygen from the water. Turtles, snakes, alligators are reptiles since they have lungs but are also cold blooded. So NOT all animals who live or swim in water, are classified as fish.

RE: Pointless
By jbartabas on 6/13/2008 1:01:19 PM , Rating: 3
Actually dolphins & whales are aquatic mammals since they have lungs,[...]

Actually, I believe that it is the point he was making, i.e. not everything you find in water at some point is called fish.

RE: Pointless
By JKflipflop98 on 6/16/2008 12:46:53 AM , Rating: 2
Remember the scene where Bruce Lee is pointing at the moon, but the kid keeps looking at his finger? :)

"It looks like the iPhone 4 might be their Vista, and I'm okay with that." -- Microsoft COO Kevin Turner

Copyright 2016 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki