backtop


Print 107 comment(s) - last by superstition.. on Sep 23 at 1:15 AM

Reviewers are ga-ga over the iPhone 5

Apple's iPhone 5 was announced a week ago, and at the time many pundits proclaimed that this was yet another boring refresh of Apple's iconic smartphone. While the smartphone gained a 4" display (complete with a bumped vertical resolution of 1136 px), faster A6 processor, 1GB of RAM, LTE connectivity and the a new "Lightning" dock connector; the smartphone's iOS 6 software layer is starting to show its age after 5 years.
 
Despite the lukewarm commentary, Apple went on to sell over 2 million iPhone 5s during the first 24 hours of pre-order availability; and new orders placed just one hour after the pre-order sales began have been pushed back for weeks.
 
And now, the reviews for Apple's fresh iPhone hardware are now in, just days before the official Sept. 21 launch:
 
Body

Perhaps it’s better to compare it to some of the Android phones out there. Several of those are also very light. The key difference here is that those often attain the low weight by going with a plastic shell. That makes them feel cheap. -- MG Siegler of TechCrunch
 
 
An all-new aluminum construction extends around the back, which is either anodized black or left raw depending on whether you opt for the darker or lighter of the two offerings. The white phone is bright and clean-looking; the black, dark and menacing. We'll let you draw conclusions about personality based on color preference, but we will say that the black surface seems to suck up fingerprints that are difficult to clean. -- Tim Stevens of Engadet
 
Display

The thing with the larger screen is that you get this feeling of having space on the display that you didn’t have before. Clearly, that’s true because the screen is larger, but I mean even more space than the screen allows. Perhaps it’s a perceptual thing. If you told me that I would be able to see another few rows of emails or more of a Web page, I don’t know that I would see the importance, but when you look at the iPhone 5, it’s more than that. -- Jim Dalrymple of The Loop
 
 
However, I found the new iPhone screen much easier to hold and manipulate than its larger rivals and preferred it. In my view, Apple’s approach makes the phone far more comfortable to use, especially one-handed. It’s easier to carry in a pocket or purse and more natural-looking when held up to your face for a call…
 
There’s a temporary downside: Many apps will fail to fill the whole of the larger screen until they are revised. But they still work as intended. -- Walt Mossberg of AllThingsD
 
Lightning

The Lightning connector is infinitely easier to connect. It slots in nicely and does so regardless of orientation, plugging in right-side-up or upside-down. We were able to drive it home without looking the first time, and every time thereafter. (If only the same could be said for the USB connector on the other side.) It's also small, seems infinitely more durable than its flimsy-feeling elder and even stronger than micro-USB alternatives…
 
 
But Lightning comes up short in a number of important areas. It is, of course, incompatible with the roughly 350 million billion iPhone and iPod accessories currently on the market -- a problem mostly rectified by a $30 adapter. But, that's not a perfect solution, as even that won't support iPod Out, the specification used in some cars (most notably BMW and Mini) to enable in-dash control of an iPod or iPhone. -- Tim Stevens of Engadget
 
LTE

Using an iPhone 5 on the Verizon LTE network in Silicon Valley and Washington, D.C., I averaged almost 26 megabits per second for downloads and almost 13 megabits per second for uploads. Download speeds peaked at 42 megabits per second. These speeds are more than 10 times the typical speeds I got on an iPhone 4S running Verizon’s slower 3G network and are faster than most Americans’ home Internet services. While LTE affects only data, voice calls I made on the iPhone 5 were clear, better than in the past. I had no dropped calls. -- Walt Mossberg of AllThingsD

 
Running a few tests with the iPhone 5 using LTE, I regularly achieved speeds around 20 Mb/s down and 3 Mb/s up. By comparison, my iPhone 4S running on Verizon 3G was closer to 2 Mb/s down and 0/75 Mb/s up. (My tests last March of the new iPad with Verizon LTE was closer to 40 Mb/s down, so the network is clearly getting saturated, but again, still holding up well.) – MG Seigler of TechCrunch
 
Conclusions
Seigler says that the iPhone 5 is "The smartphone nearly perfected", Stevens calls it "Without a doubt the best iPhone yet", and Dalrymple chimes in with "Apple has another winner on its hands".
 
Overall, the reviewers seem to be -- unsurprisingly -- in love with the iPhone 5. Apple is just now catching up to Android smartphone in terms of functionality (LTE, larger screen, larger RAM size), but the build quality of the iPhone 5 remains the one to beat with its all-aluminum construction.
 
Apple lovers are sure to jump on the iPhone 5 as soon as possible, while Android and Windows Phone users will likely still snicker from sidelines at Apple's late arrival to smartphone specs war.

Sources: AllThingsD, The Loop, Engadget, TechCrunch



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Lets not forget
By Varun on 9/18/2012 10:23:55 PM , Rating: 5
The only reason these "reviewers" even have the iPhone 5 before release is because they always give glowing reviews of Apple products.

But even as someone who is never going to buy an iPhone, I would agree this is the best iPhone yet. The 4 and 4S were just stupid phones with a glass back and the antennae on the outside of the phone.

I do have to say that I find it very funny how much I have heard of using a phone one handed since the launch. This is exactly why I won't ever buy an iPhone - someone telling me what the ideal phone size is. Everyone buys into it, and is critical of large screen phones (even though obviously that is a choice of the consumer). Then, when they make a larger screen, it is forgiven that apparently the 3.5" wasn't ideal, but instead a 4" is now ideal. No thanks.




RE: Lets not forget
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 9/18/2012 10:30:45 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Everyone buys into it, and is critical of large screen phones (even though obviously that is a choice of the consumer). Then, when they make a larger screen, it is forgiven that apparently the 3.5" wasn't ideal, but instead a 4" is now ideal. No thanks.


Read the first three paragraphs :)

http://daringfireball.net/2011/10/thoughts_and_obs...

Can't wait to see his review ;)


RE: Lets not forget
By amanojaku on 9/18/2012 11:02:19 PM , Rating: 3
I'm sure his review will be positive.

Sh*t Apple Fanatics Say
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FFhjDX-DUew
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTTSsB92L_s


RE: Lets not forget
By Varun on 9/19/2012 12:32:14 AM , Rating: 5
It's up: http://daringfireball.net/2012/09/iphone_5

To be fair, he is pretty critical of the larger display.

But here is the thing I don't get. The Apple phone is a 16 by 9 display now.

Almost all other phones were already 16 by 9. So how is Apple's magical (and wierd - high DPI but not 720p... odd) resolution as amazing as everyone makes it out to be? Well, obviously it's not that magical if you take off your Apple blinders. I mean, just to quote the original article's quote

"The thing with the larger screen is that you get this feeling of having space on the display that you didn’t have before"

Yeah, no shit Sherlock. We've known that for a while. I've been able to buy other phones in the 4" category with a 16 by 9 screen for quite some time now.


RE: Lets not forget
By Mint on 9/19/2012 2:02:17 AM , Rating: 4
quote:
But if Apple offered me an otherwise identical iPhone 5 with a 3.5-inch 3:2 display, which one would I choose? Last week, in the first few days of use, I’d have chosen the 3.5-inch one. Now, though, one week in, I’m not so sure. My trusty old iPhone 4S feels better to use for tapping those back buttons and the status bar, but, it really is starting to look squat to my eyes. Give me another week and I suspect I won’t look back.
Of course, applying the same logic to the larger Android phones phones need not apply.

Virtually every reviewer who's actually tried a 4.5"+ phone for a week or two and then gone back to a smaller one has missed the large size. I understand that 5" plus isn't for everyone, but reviewer stubbornness and Apple brainwashing is why the Galaxy Note got rather panned early on yet became a surprise success.


RE: Lets not forget
By makius on 9/19/2012 3:08:05 AM , Rating: 4
My roommate just got a Galaxy Note and I must say it is pretty sweet.


RE: Lets not forget
By NellyFromMA on 9/19/2012 9:13:28 AM , Rating: 5
It's not Apple brainwashing, they give out enough gifts and pay for enough reviews and exert sway in other ways.

Consumers are ALL about reviews now, which sucks because the majority of them are basically just written commercials


RE: Lets not forget
By BSMonitor on 9/19/2012 9:39:36 AM , Rating: 2
The same logic can be applied to those who buy 17" laptops... However, the trade-off is ALWAYS obvious to me.


RE: Lets not forget
By Old_Fogie_Late_Bloomer on 9/19/2012 11:58:30 AM , Rating: 1
The difference between carrying a 3.5" phone and a 5.5" phone is a lot less significant than the difference between an 11.6" Ultrabook and a 17.3" gaming laptop. The two phones are both fundamentally portable; whereas the gaming laptop is much less portable than an Ultrabook, the tradeoff between size and functionality being much more dramatic.

The tradeoff between functionality and size resulted in my buying a 14.0' laptop with a 1600x900 screen. On the one hand, I needed a higher resolution; on the other hand, I wanted the machine to still be fundamentally portable; on the other other hand, anything much denser than 135ppi would have resulted in text that was uncomfortably small to read for me (your mileage may vary).

On the other hand, I certainly don't look at my current 4.3" smartphone and think, "Man, I'm glad this isn't a millimeter bigger or a gram heavier..." (heck, even I have an Otterbox case on it). I'm definitely going to be looking at larger phones when I upgrade, all the way up to the Galaxy Note II, though I'll definitely have to spend some time in the store with them. After all, 5.5" screen or not, it'll still fit in my pocket just fine.


RE: Lets not forget
By nocturne_81 on 9/20/2012 6:42:00 AM , Rating: 2
17" laptops are not meant to be mobile.. exactly why they are called 'desktop replacements'. They have enough functionality to do actual work, then you can pick it up and go.

Personally, my only laptop right now is a 17 incher.. I have no need to do work in a coffee shop, in the car, or random friend's homes. When needed, I can pull my 17 incher out of the trunk to give me a bit of support trying to solve some problems (without it being an overly cumbersome experience dealing with half a keyboard and a tiny screen).

Otherwise, I'm on my own time.. why the hell do I need to be 'connected' and 'productive' every spare moment of every day..? And mobile computing, just for fun..? That's a bit sad.. get a life.


RE: Lets not forget
By Mint on 9/22/2012 1:27:11 PM , Rating: 2
That's why I said the Note isn't for everyone, but there's very little difference in portability between the iPhone4S/iPhone5 and a 920/S3/OneX. Maybe 1% of people have the hands and obtuse enough fashion sense that they could handle/pocket the former but not the latter.

17" vs 11.6" for notebooks is a colossal difference in portability. Even 13" vs 15" has a big portability difference (hence Apple having both models).


RE: Lets not forget
By nshoe on 9/19/2012 12:08:58 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Almost all other phones were already 16 by 9. So how is Apple's magical (and wierd - high DPI but not 720p... odd)


The reason for the resolution size or cost. At the current resolution it is simply scaling up the current display technology they were using in the iphone4/4S - to go to 720p they would either have had to go even larger (around 4.5 inches) or they would have had to find someone capable of making a 367ppi display (which would likely increase the cost of the display by quite a bit.)


RE: Lets not forget
By liquidaim on 9/18/2012 10:33:31 PM , Rating: 5
I agree with you.

Just read the following from one of the "reviews":
"The key difference here is that those often attain the low weight by going with a plastic shell. That makes them feel cheap. .... The white phone is bright and clean-looking; the black, dark and menacing. We'll let you draw conclusions about personality based on color preference..."

It's as if the author is writing to the sheeple crowd and helping them justify the purchase.

The reason iphones sell so well is because of all the press it gets for free. compare that with the Ativ S (also aluminum body) and nokia (another aluminum body). Not even a peep from the mainstream media about those two announcements...


RE: Lets not forget
By jexp on 9/18/2012 11:44:10 PM , Rating: 3
But the Ativ S does not have aluminum body. It looks like it's got metallic backplate, but that's painted on to look metallic. And I don't know which Nokia model you are referring to, but AFAIK, Nokia doesn't have aluminum body smartphone. In fact, I think Apple's the only one that sells aluminum body smartphones at this time.

And Apple probably does get more than its fair share of positive press coverage, but that's mostly because it does make beautiful products that lots of people love. I mean it's true that Apple strives to portray even mundane things as the greatest thing ever, but all companies set out to sell something are guilty of that. To make such marketing push work, your products must also have substance.


RE: Lets not forget
By tilandal on 9/19/2012 12:15:20 AM , Rating: 2
The HTC One S has an aluminum body.


RE: Lets not forget
By ikeke1 on 9/19/2012 1:05:00 AM , Rating: 5
Hmh. I don't get the aluminum rulez part. Most iPhones i've seen are in some plastic-clad-armour-protector thingy so that "my-precious" doesn't get any scratches/dents/broken screen.

A phone is for using - i've had my SE Xperia Ray for 9 months, it has aluminum frame, which has taken it's share of bumps and falls (tiny scratches/dents visible)and glass front/plastic back (both like new). Plastic is much better at NOT deforming/breaking than aluminum.


RE: Lets not forget
By StevoLincolnite on 9/19/2012 5:54:23 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
And I don't know which Nokia model you are referring to, but AFAIK, Nokia doesn't have aluminum body smartphone.


The Nokia Lumia has self healing plastic/paint anyway, drop an iPhone on the ground and get a scratch in it... Then... :(


RE: Lets not forget
By vignyan on 9/19/2012 10:49:33 AM , Rating: 2
OMG!!! you dont have apple care that only costs about 100 bucks!!! and it only costs $50 everytime you want to use that care!!!
It is like insulting apple's art. They should mandate it for all iphone buyers...

Sh!t people talk about iphone...


RE: Lets not forget
By CyCl0n3 on 9/19/2012 8:53:53 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Nokia doesn't have aluminum body smartphone. In fact, I think Apple's the only one that sells aluminum body smartphones at this time.


Nokia has aluminum body´s like the N8 or the E7 wich already came out 2010!


RE: Lets not forget
By ikeke1 on 9/19/12, Rating: -1
RE: Lets not forget
By michael2k on 9/19/2012 7:42:20 PM , Rating: 2
You do know the first 2007 iPhone was aluminum?


RE: Lets not forget
By ikeke1 on 9/20/2012 1:58:40 AM , Rating: 2
Yes, but ofcourse no-one did that before.

Metal casing on premium phone?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nokia_8800

There.


RE: Lets not forget
By michael2k on 9/20/2012 4:58:37 AM , Rating: 2
No, I didn't know that existed. So are you claiming that Apple's aluminum shelled iPhone is copying Nokia's stainless steel clad slider?


RE: Lets not forget
By ikeke1 on 9/20/2012 8:18:33 AM , Rating: 2
Copying - No. Taking design clues from - yes.

But it's Apple who claims they invented the shape of phone.


RE: Lets not forget
By michael2k on 9/20/2012 4:33:15 PM , Rating: 2
Considering that the stainless steel slider looks nothing like an iPhone, what design cues are you talking about? There's no all black face, though there is a small half-black face. There's the bright steel trim, at least, but then there's that huge metal chin below the screen. The 8800 doesn't feature equidistant bezels top-bottom, and then there's the point that the 8800 has a keyboard.

The only "design cue" I can take away from this discussion is the colors black and silver, when, as you say, Apple's claim to inventing the shape is in fact correct. The closest Nokia device to the iPhone was the N800 announced contemporaneously in Jan of 2007 at CES, except it was silver with black trim, featured a d-pad and buttons, speaker grilles on the face, and no glass surface.


RE: Lets not forget
By Varun on 9/19/2012 12:37:39 AM , Rating: 5
Let's not forget that only a year ago, the weight of the iPhone 4S was a Plus - because the heft was claimed to add a feeling of quality.

But now a year later, the new phone is 20% lighter, feels like a hollow tube, and that is now better for everyone.

I'm not saying lighter isn't better. Just funny how we were told last year that heavier was better.


RE: Lets not forget
By xsilver on 9/19/2012 1:18:57 PM , Rating: 2
heavier is better..... for the iphone 6 that is.... until the iphone 7 of course....


RE: Lets not forget
By Varun on 9/19/2012 12:53:22 AM , Rating: 2
"We'll let you draw conclusions about personality based on color preference..."

Yup. Except what happens if I don't like black or white? It's odd you can get the nano in eight colors, but the iPhone is just two. At least two is double what there was before.


RE: Lets not forget
By Rukkian on 9/19/2012 9:35:54 AM , Rating: 4
That is so they can sell everybody a white or black one, then in 12 months the 5S comes out with more colors and IOS7 and everybody will line up and buy the same thing yet again.


RE: Lets not forget
By woody1 on 9/19/2012 10:34:40 AM , Rating: 4
My Android-based Galaxy S3 has a plastic back. That doesn't make a lot of difference to me, since I only see the back about once a month, or, so, because I keep my phone in a rubber case, as do many iPhone users. If you keep your phone in a protective case, the composition of the back of the phone doesn't make much difference.

And if you have an iPhone, you really need some protection. I've seen many people pull out an iPhone with a sadly cracked screen. The Samsung phones have a very tough Gorilla glass screen which is very difficult to break or scratch.

Otherwise, I love the large crisp screen on my Samsung phone. I can watch tv shows and movies without squinting on the 4.8 inch screen. Screen size is a personal choice, but I would not be happy to go back to a smaller screen after enjoying this larger phone.

The really important thing about having an Android phone is being able to customize and use the phone the way I want to. Android phones have a real linux file system that I can use the way I want. iOS has the file system locked and hidden from the user; each application lives in its own private sandbox, so content loaded in one application can't by accessed by any other one.

With Android, I can freely load music, video, etc. on the phone without having to use the tiresome and tedious exploits required to load and use content on an iOS device. For instance, Apple arbitrarily decides which content you can play on their device. If they don't support .avi files, you'll have to go through a lot of aggravation to get them to work.

I have a replaceable battery and an external SD card. Things I don't like, I can probably change. With iOS, I'm constantly bumping up against arbitrary limitations in what I can do. Android lets me do most anything I want.


RE: Lets not forget
By Vinny141 on 9/19/2012 10:56:55 AM , Rating: 2
I hope everyone one day reads this =)

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2010/05/19/fanboyism-a...

quote:
So, the next time you reach for the mouse and get ready to launch an angry litany of reasons why your favorite – thing – is better than the other person’s, hesitate. Realize you have your irrational reasons, and so do they, and nothing will be gained by your proselytizing.


RE: Lets not forget
By TakinYourPoints on 9/18/2012 10:40:23 PM , Rating: 2
The cell antennas are still on the outside of the iPhone 5.


RE: Lets not forget
By dugbug on 9/19/2012 9:20:32 AM , Rating: 1
so?


RE: Lets not forget
By 91TTZ on 9/19/2012 4:49:59 PM , Rating: 2
Let me refresh your memory:

quote:
But even as someone who is never going to buy an iPhone, I would agree this is the best iPhone yet. The 4 and 4S were just stupid phones with a glass back and the antennae on the outside of the phone.


The iPhone 5 ALSO has the antenna on the outside of the phone.


RE: Lets not forget
By RazelDazel2 on 9/19/2012 1:56:01 AM , Rating: 1
omg, were is the like button. AT needs social feat
this is exactly what i am thinking. thanks


RE: Lets not forget
By amanojaku on 9/19/2012 2:25:01 AM , Rating: 3
This isn't FaceBook, and thank heaven for that. I'm sick of sites requiring a FB account. DailyTech has native ratings buttons. They're labeled "Worth Reading" and "Not Worth Reading", but they're only available when you DON'T post a comment to an article.

This isn't AnandTech, either. Kristopher Kubicki, the founder of DT, left AT back in 2006. Technically, AT and DT are competitors.


RE: Lets not forget
By 91TTZ on 9/19/2012 5:18:18 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
This isn't AnandTech, either. Kristopher Kubicki, the founder of DT, left AT back in 2006. Technically, AT and DT are competitors.


They're not really competitors. If laws weren't an issue Dailytech would just be a section of Anandtech. But since laws are an issue Dailytech and Anandtech needed to be separate legal entities.

The reason is that Anandtech does in-depth hardware reviews, and in order to have the story ready in time they need to have access to the hardware before it's released. This requires them to sign Non-Disclosure Agreements with those companies so they can get access to that hardware. Unfortunately, the terms of those NDAs prohibit them from revealing any kind of information before the product is officially released.

Dailytech, which publishes rumors about the same companies, isn't bound by those NDAs.


RE: Lets not forget
By nocturne_81 on 9/20/2012 6:51:08 AM , Rating: 2
Welcome to DT.. A tech site that uses html codes instead of bbcode for a commenting system that was outdated before the site even opened.

Social features.. nyeh. How about just an edit button..? Or even just fixing all the javascript code that's been broken for months..


RE: Lets not forget
By MrMilli on 9/19/2012 6:31:44 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
Then, when they make a larger screen, it is forgiven that apparently the 3.5" wasn't ideal, but instead a 4" is now ideal.


Hasn't it always been like this? When the iPhone lacked multitasking, it was more than normal. When the camera was very lousy, nobody cared. And so on ...
This is what has always bothered me from the iPhone crowd. They will love a feature that the iPhone is better at than the competition but when the competition is better at something, it's scoffed at as non-essential just because Apple tells them so. What's even more funny, is that when Apple finally introduces that missing feature, it was the right time to do so. Pathetic and people buy into it.


RE: Lets not forget
By dugbug on 9/19/12, Rating: -1
RE: Lets not forget
By NellyFromMA on 9/19/2012 9:11:57 AM , Rating: 2
Sorry to link to another news site, but this article goes hand and hand really:

http://www.techspot.com/news/50185-10-15-of-online...


RE: Lets not forget
By nafhan on 9/19/2012 12:03:59 PM , Rating: 5
Siegler specifically falls into that category. The best way to read his reviews of Apple products is to ignore everything except for the negative stuff. I say this because if he say ANYTHING bad about Apple, it's probably a serious issue.

For instance in his review of the iPhone 5 he says "I don’t think they’re as good as Google Maps, but they’re not bad by any stretch of the imagination." regarding the new maps implementation. To me, that says the new maps app is probably going to be a pretty poor experience for anyone used to Google Maps.


construction
By Nortel on 9/18/12, Rating: 0
RE: construction
By spread on 9/18/2012 10:06:18 PM , Rating: 2
Do you have a link? That does sound interesting.


RE: construction
By heffeque on 9/18/2012 10:42:05 PM , Rating: 2
Here's someone that's also interested on that link.


RE: construction
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 9/18/2012 10:46:47 PM , Rating: 2
RE: construction
By TakinYourPoints on 9/18/2012 10:53:49 PM , Rating: 3
RE: construction
By NeilMacca on 9/18/2012 11:31:44 PM , Rating: 2
My only comment to all the fan boy reviews is - how does it work if you drop it? The ultimate? PWfffff!! My Motorola Razr has been dropped five times and soaked by rain in my pocket twice and never needed to return to the shop to be fixed - beat that and I might be impressed enough to buy a new toy..


RE: construction
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 9/18/2012 11:34:33 PM , Rating: 3
Squaretrade normally does drop tests soon after an iPhone launch to promote their warranty services. They post the videos on YouTube.


RE: construction
By Samus on 9/19/2012 12:42:02 AM , Rating: 2
Sure, the construction quality is on par with a swiss watch, but people hold onto swiss watches for a lifetime. An iPhone is a piece of technology, and even more, a cell phone.

I can think of two reasons this thing is over-engineered and over-manufactured.

1) It still has a fragile screen requiring a case to cover up all the pretty, and designer cases are all the rage now.

2) It will be completely outdated in under two years, and most people will either smash it, exchange it, or replace it by then, anyway.


RE: construction
By vignyan on 9/19/2012 11:04:47 AM , Rating: 2
Heresy!! You want to drop a piece of art!! No one buys a phone for the technical mumbo jumbo. They buy it because it is beautiful. Usage scenarios are not part of the design.

When will the crowd understand... when call drops, you should realize you aRe holding the phone wrong... extrapolate from this... :-)


RE: construction
By chµck on 9/19/2012 1:18:26 AM , Rating: 3
Since cnc mills obviously gets your juices flowing...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pwoGxrLZlAk


RE: construction
By Reclaimer77 on 9/19/2012 9:32:31 AM , Rating: 5
lol some phone made in China with the cheapest labor they could find? Swiss watch!!! AHAHAHAH oh man.


RE: construction
By theapparition on 9/19/2012 9:47:06 AM , Rating: 3
Don't you dare defile the craftsmanship that goes into horological excellence vs. mass produced consumer electronics.

Try making a simple movement by hand and then come back to us.


WOW!
By Treckin on 9/18/2012 10:23:48 PM , Rating: 5
I could barely read the article over the sound of all that shlong slobbering.

Seriously - "Wow it like changed my perception dude!"

Really? Where have you been the last 4 years? mopping around the Apple store squinting at your tiny 3.4" device, begging Siri for directions to market alternatives but only being directed to make an appointment at the genius bar.

I love my Evo4GLTE. Sick of Sprint.




RE: WOW!
By TakinYourPoints on 9/18/2012 10:52:41 PM , Rating: 2
Squinting may still happen, all they did was make the screen taller. Text, scaling, and proportions will remain the same since nothing happened to DPI or the horizontal axis. All they did was add vertical room. The reason for keeping the horizontal the same is based purely on ergonomics; it is to allow a thumb to cover the entire screen without readjusting the phone in your hand.

The hand is what dictates the size, simple, and it seems as though horizontal size is a resulting constraint. If they go larger on both axis like the nearly 5" S3 I will be very surprised.

Cramming as much performance as they can (and the iPhone 5 is faster than anything on the market) without compromising battery life or ergonomics is their only concern. There are tons of other choices if you don't care about that balance.


RE: WOW!
By TakinYourPoints on 9/18/2012 11:06:14 PM , Rating: 2
Speaking of performance, Brian Klug of Anandtech just tweeted Sunspider numbers on the iPhone 5.

https://twitter.com/nerdtalker/status/248248560615...

Dang


RE: WOW!
By dark matter on 9/19/2012 2:39:46 AM , Rating: 1
Amazing isn't it. They only did ONE test.

And the ONE test they did do, shows Apple winning.

What are the chances of that.

Do you think he said "ah, look at that, I have done one test. I'd better stop now"

Ha ha ha ha ha.


RE: WOW!
By lukarak on 9/19/2012 4:50:48 AM , Rating: 1
If you have read the article, you would have seen it was not his review device, which Anandtech didn't get, but one from the guys that did receive it and that he met at a conference.

But sure, keep embarrassing yourself.


RE: WOW!
By tamalero on 9/20/2012 12:22:31 PM , Rating: 2
just saying.. how does that makes the result any better?
they just showed a SINGLE benchmark where APPLE WINS.
where are the rest?


RE: WOW!
By nafhan on 9/19/2012 4:46:50 PM , Rating: 4
Anandtech is good. They actually start out the preview with disclaimer about how Sunspider is outdated and should be retired as a test. Sunspider's convenient and runs on all platforms: that's why it gets used; not because it's the best indicator of real world performance.

While it's very likely that the iPhone 5 + iOS 6 combo has very good javascript performance (as expected), drawing conclusions like "it's the fastest EVER" from such a limited benchmark is kind of silly, and the kind of thing that only a marketing department or fanboy would find reasonable.


RE: WOW!
By nafhan on 9/19/2012 4:30:33 PM , Rating: 2
I have no information to base this assumption on other than your comment, but I'm guessing you are a woman with small hands. Apologies if that's not the case, but I have pretty average sized hands and have not had ergonomic issues with anything smaller than a Galaxy Note.


infinitely
By cokbun on 9/18/2012 10:32:42 PM , Rating: 3
"The Lightning connector is infinitely easier to connect" what does that even mean? is it infinitely harder to plug a micro usb to a phone? it only takes 1 second every time i did it.




RE: infinitely
By JackBurton on 9/18/2012 11:09:09 PM , Rating: 3
How is not worry about the orientation not a plus? USB plugs have had that issue since its inception, but I guess we're going to pretend that never happens, right?


RE: infinitely
By cokbun on 9/18/12, Rating: 0
RE: infinitely
By retrospooty on 9/19/2012 12:19:00 PM , Rating: 4
Apple fan... Its not a far logic leap to grasp that he cant handle USB and cant see the benefits of being 100% compatible with every other phone built on Earth for the past 4 years.


RE: infinitely
By dark matter on 9/19/2012 2:33:41 AM , Rating: 3
I can't imagine how you get on with a knife and fork.

I suppose after years of blindly following Apple, you're now quite happy using a spoon for everything. As you lap up from the bowl of bullshit with eager enthusiasm.

Psst, you have a bit around your mouth. Might want to wipe that off.


RE: infinitely
By Varun on 9/19/2012 12:43:15 AM , Rating: 2
You know what's even easier? No cable. Wireless charging. NFC and Bluetooth for media. A dock with NO connector.

The "Lightning" is both a ..i.. to current Apple users, and an obvious cash grab. The sad part is they will just lap up those $30 adapters like a kitten drinks milk.

I am still shocked they didn't include NFC. The Nokia event where they can just set the phone on a JBL speaker, and it charges and plays music, sold me on the 920. That and the camera.


RE: infinitely
By nafhan on 9/19/2012 4:06:39 PM , Rating: 2
It's reversible, which I'm guessing is what they mean. Kind of a neat feature, but I'd have to say if there's someone out there who has so much trouble with micro USB or the old Apple dock connector that the new one is "infinitely" better... that probably says more about the individuals intelligence than anything.


Our dear friend the RDF
By ZoZo on 9/18/2012 10:31:22 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
but when you look at the iPhone 5, it’s more than that


Sounds like the Apple reality distortion field is back for a vengeance. But had it really ever left?




RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By JackBurton on 9/18/12, Rating: -1
RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By TakinYourPoints on 9/18/2012 11:08:25 PM , Rating: 1
"You can't trust Anandtech's benchmarks" is an excuse I've actually heard. The hoops people will jump through for excuses and denial is amazing.


RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By TakinYourPoints on 9/19/2012 2:31:52 AM , Rating: 3
And they're published: http://www.anandtech.com/show/6309/iphone-5a6-suns...

Full test suite should be up in a few days.


RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By dark matter on 9/19/12, Rating: 0
RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By lukarak on 9/19/2012 5:00:36 AM , Rating: 2
Oh, you still like making a fool of yourself :D

It wasn't their review phone. Like with the macs, anandtech doesn't get the samples before they are released.


RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By Solandri on 9/19/2012 6:59:41 AM , Rating: 3
Anandtech's reviews are among the best I read. And he's been very critical of Apple when they really screw the pooch (e.g. disabling Turbo Boost on Powerbooks, Antennagate). They just ran a story going into laborious detail explaining why the iPhone 5 can't do simultaneous voice and data on CDMA networks.

And it's normal for high-end phones to leapfrog each other with each release. That's kinda what the engineers aim for when designing new high-end products. You don't aim to be second best. e.g. It's quite obvious that AMD and nVidia tune their top of the line video cards to just barely take the performance crown. I don't see why you find it so hard to believe. In fact I would've been more surprised if the iPhone 5's performance didn't top the charts.


RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By retrospooty on 9/19/2012 12:16:22 PM , Rating: 2
I dont know who might say that, the CPU/GPU is clearly fantasic in the iPhone 5. Its high end now. 6 months from now it will just be another CPU. The quad core s4 with Adreno 320 GPU looks really promising. OMAP5 coming as well as newer iterations of S4 and Exynos. It's an ever evolving thing.


RE: Our dear friend the RDF
By Rukkian on 9/19/2012 9:51:33 AM , Rating: 3
I don't care if some bench mark someplace shows it is faster. My Gnex with Jelly Bean is buttery smooth, and runs everything I could ever want. I have had LTE for 9 months and a bigger screen. I can load whatever I want whenever I want from wherever I want. I do not need hand holding or somebody telling me what I can read, what I can install, or what computers I can sync to.

I do not care who sells more, as I do not own stock in either one. I want to see competition so we get better devices, at better prices.

I have no problem with others getting crapple (my wife has one), but get annoyed at the self-centered aholes that think they are better than other people cause they have a crapple. I also have a problem with people that stick with one brand and won't even look at another. I have owned several blackberries, 1 windows phone, several ipods (hand me downs from my wife, as she seems to always need the new version), and now my Gnex.

Keep spouting off about Samsung copying. While I agree (as many do) their original S1 did some copying, put an iphone (any of their many models) up next to a S3 or Gnex, or Note and if you cannot tell the difference from 25 feet, you need new glasses. They do not look alike, they are not copies, the whole lawsuit was just an example of home field advantage and will not stand up to appeals.


Reality Distortion Field
By seven90 on 9/18/2012 10:07:53 PM , Rating: 5
quote:
because the screen is larger, but I mean even more space than the screen allows. Perhaps it’s a perceptual thing.


Or it could be that you're in love with apple and everything they do is amazing. What would your life be like without such a breath-taking work or mastery that you'll throw away in 2 years for the next big thing.




RE: Reality Distortion Field
By someguy123 on 9/18/2012 10:31:24 PM , Rating: 3
I find that review hilarious. He basically says outright that it just "feels" easier to use compared to similar size phones, yet somehow it is easier to use and also apparently smaller and pocketsized. Whatever gets them the first review shipment I suppose.


RE: Reality Distortion Field
By Azethoth on 9/18/12, Rating: -1
RE: Reality Distortion Field
By Varun on 9/19/2012 12:48:31 AM , Rating: 3
The bitterness is that this is a review. Except it's not really a review. Anyone who actually does a review stops getting invites to Apple events, and certainly won't get an early phone to review.

It's sad really what the media has become.


By TakinYourPoints on 9/19/2012 7:14:46 PM , Rating: 1
Yes, because anything positive anyone has said anything about an Apple product ever has to be false.


RE: Reality Distortion Field
By dark matter on 9/19/2012 2:30:46 AM , Rating: 2
You do realise that this "bitterness" you speak of is all in your own head.

And even if you're trolling, and for your sake, I actually hope you are, then you're not really doing a good job of it.

At the end of the day, Apple have fooled you. If you continue to believe in what you do, then it makes you a complete and utter idiot.

I don't feel any bitterness, just a sadness at what it's made you into. I hope that one day, you will get the help you need.

Good luck.


Why even bother.....
By GotThumbs on 9/19/2012 8:34:29 AM , Rating: 2
Just reading the title of this so called "review" tells me this guy is a major Fanboi.

The problem these days is anyone with a podium to speak from could mistakenly be considered knowledgeable on the subject.

How about some real side to side comparisons if your making such a bold statement....unless your referring solely to the 6 generations of one phone (IPhones).

Here's a side by side comparison for your review. Make up your own mind on what a smartphone is best for you.

http://www.foxnews.com/tech/slideshow/2012/09/18/1...




RE: Why even bother.....
By GotThumbs on 9/19/2012 8:38:04 AM , Rating: 2
There should be a disclamer: This "Review" brought to you by Apple.

Apple's secret corporate slogan is something like..... "They don't know what they want, so we'll tell them what they want and they will love it"


"It's the best iPhone yet"
By Booty on 9/18/2012 11:55:52 PM , Rating: 3
...well, I'd hope so. Just like the Lumia 920 is the best Lumia yet... and the Galaxy S3 is the best Galaxy yet...

You could change only the battery life - increase it by 5 minutes, say - and it would technically be the best iPhone yet.

I traded in my iPhone 4s earlier this year... the 5 didn't give me a reason to switch back.




So Personal
By valkator on 9/19/2012 12:24:32 AM , Rating: 3
I like how people take the iphone, andriod, WP8, or whatever phone so seriously. They are just phones people!!! Pick the one you like and use it. I like how people from any camp go around gloating about the product they support as if they designed the damn thing. Apple fanboy: "oh man iphone sells amazing and is built well; hahaha andriod lovers!" Me: "Who fucking cares! Kudos to Apple once again for making something decent. I still like andriod, but what are you an apple spokesperson or employee? Do you feel that you need to gloat about a product that you just bought and had no involvement in its programming or design but talk like you do?"

And since when does the s3 look like an iphone? I have gone to many people and held an iphone and an s3 and said, which one is apple, they pointed at the iphone. I doubt samsung is going to copy anything out of the iphone5 for they never really copied apples design in anything. An S3 resembles.. wait for it... an S3. The iphones construction doesn't even look anywhere near any of samsungs leading phones. The iphone has that just made cold rolled steel look with its flat front and back with the flat edges around it.




Screen feels bigger than it is...
By EnzoFX on 9/19/2012 12:01:22 AM , Rating: 2
This is because of the number 1 thing apple has over any Android manufacturer. Purely optimized software for the hardware. The perception is there throughout the phone. On an Android, a bigger screen usually just means everything is bigger. It's understandably so, considering they have tons of different configurations to consider. But you can't beat optimization, this is why Apple doesn't need a spec war with Android, they're purely pushed by what they want their own hardware to do. Not to say their specs aren't top tier, they always are thus far.




Unnnnnggggghhhhhhh.......
By FITCamaro on 9/19/2012 7:31:06 AM , Rating: 2
Brains...

BRAINS!!!




This just in!!
By elleehswon on 9/19/2012 8:30:17 AM , Rating: 2
New phone benchmarks better than phones already on the market!!!!!! OMG REVELATION!!!!

seriously, iTards. You're bragging about benchmarks for a product that came out a few days ago. what would you expect, piss-poor benchmarks so you can say "hardware doesn't matter?".

Seems like a win-win for you guys. hardware matters until it doesn't. talk about spin.




Fanboyism and Brand Loyalty
By Vinny141 on 9/19/2012 10:58:14 AM , Rating: 2
I hope everyone one day reads this =)

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2010/05/19/fanboyism-a...

quote:
So, the next time you reach for the mouse and get ready to launch an angry litany of reasons why your favorite – thing – is better than the other person’s, hesitate. Realize you have your irrational reasons, and so do they, and nothing will be gained by your proselytizing.




plastic is better
By zephyrprime on 9/19/2012 4:08:12 PM , Rating: 2
With something whose primary purpose is to send and receive radio signals, you're really better off going with a plastic body rather than metal because metal will block signals. I know the iphone has cutouts near the top and bottom for the antennas but the wavelength of the spectrum being used is much larger than the size of the cutouts so you're still losing signal by using metal.




Dual sim..
By Qapa on 9/19/2012 5:28:18 PM , Rating: 2
Now just make it dual sim, and I'm in! :)

(Or tri-sim, while we're at it!)




Thanks for the previews
By ProZach on 9/19/2012 6:42:23 PM , Rating: 2
Now I feel informed enough to be able to list reasons to consider other products (also from a different company).

I especially liked the part where the guy thinks the screen looks bigger than it is. **magic wand sweeping sound**

To paraphrase the character of 1990's Vilos Cohaagen, "Almost perfect, my a$$!"




One image is worth 1000 words
By Asrafil on 9/19/2012 7:07:20 PM , Rating: 2
Surprises me
By dsquare86 on 9/19/2012 7:44:19 PM , Rating: 2
That people actually buy into the hype created around Apple products. I don't know about anyone else but I prefer to make up my own mind about things.

PS I love my S3.




When will you people learn?
By Motoman on 9/19/2012 9:53:36 PM , Rating: 2
...why is anyone surprised that the iPhone 5 is selling like hotcakes even though everyone panned it ahead of time?

Apple consumers don't care. About anything. Specs, quality, cost, fitness-for-purpose, whatever. And certainly not realistic reviews.

If it's an iPhone, they're buying it - without spending the slightest amount of effort to even think about it. It's an Apple iPhone. Therefore they buy it.

It wouldn't matter if the Samsung Galaxy S4 washed your car, printed money, and somehow got you laid by supermodels every night...if the iPhone 6 was literally a burning turd in a box guaranteed to give you cancer, it would still sell out to 100% of the Apple fan base.




perfection, eh?
By superstition on 9/23/2012 1:15:55 AM , Rating: 2
It won't be anywhere near perfection until an effective ad-blocker and no-track program can be added by a user without having to jailbreak.

And, my fingers are too big for the keyboard (no, I'm not fat). It's annoying.




Why would anyone buy a slow Android phone now?
By JackBurton on 9/19/12, Rating: -1
By SkullOne on 9/19/2012 9:18:18 AM , Rating: 4
Bigger screen? removable battery? No iTunes. Plenty of reasons to still go Android. Not to mention it only took Apple 10 months to get the performance lead. You act like it's magical. This is what happens in the tech industry.

In a few months Android devices will all smoke the iPhone 5. Then iPhone will take over again. OMGZ! There's a pattern!

Plus in the long run it doesn't matter since 90% of the apps on both platforms aren't multi-threaded. Guess what Jack, Angry Birds will perform the same on iPhone 4, iPhone 4S, iPhone 5, Galaxy Nexus, Droid RAZR, Galaxy S 3, and countless other Android smartphones.


RE: Why would anyone buy a slow Android phone now?
By xti on 9/19/2012 2:52:45 PM , Rating: 2
Hi, my name is jack and this is how i commit internet suicide.


By dsquare86 on 9/19/2012 7:48:27 PM , Rating: 1
Because I am smarter than you... Go shit in your hat douchebag.


By xti on 9/20/2012 2:47:03 PM , Rating: 2
your response doesn't sound like you are smart enough to reply to the correct post...

you should hire a midget to handle your motor skills for you.


RE: Why would anyone buy a slow Android phone now?
By Chaser on 9/20/2012 11:07:28 AM , Rating: 1
Gee. Let me count the ways:

1. USB to go. Plug, connect, copy.
No Apple Bloatware suite package that tries to force you to pollute a PC with a crap industry losing browser and unwanted CPU cycle robbing Bloattime. (i.e. no i'm stupid) Tunes
2. removable/replaceable battery.
3. micro SD expansion capability. WOW
3. Real (not faux) mulitasking.
4. LTE data that works while on a call too? Amazing.
5. Google Navigation.
6. NFC
7. Industry standard USB connections
8. More More More

Enjoy your overhyped/overpriced teenager "text machine".


By schmandel on 9/20/2012 9:19:55 PM , Rating: 2
All that and I'm not subsidizing a patent troll whose responses make it clear that they see their competitiveness evaporating.

When I found out that iPhones do not have a MicroSD slot, I knew how lame the product design philosophy has become at Apple, they still want to play that old, old "lock you in to proprietary hardware" game. Ready for your newest connector offering?


Death of a Fandroid
By Tony Swash on 9/19/12, Rating: -1
"Intel is investing heavily (think gazillions of dollars and bazillions of engineering man hours) in resources to create an Intel host controllers spec in order to speed time to market of the USB 3.0 technology." -- Intel blogger Nick Knupffer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki