backtop


Print 20 comment(s) - last by CaedenV.. on Apr 15 at 12:07 PM

New developers can enroll for free

Windows Phone 8.1 -- Microsoft Corp.'s (MSFT) latest and greatest overhaul to its smartphone operating system -- was revealed two weeks ago at the 2014 BUILD conference.

Now that update is available in preview form for developers.  For those Windows Phone owners not currently registered as developers, but curious, Microsoft is encouraging you to sign up as a developer for $19 USD (this will give you immediate access to the WP8.1 Preview for Developers).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
EDIT:
But as some readers are pointing out, you can also get it for free by creating an App Studio account.  Free >> $19 USD plus you still get to develop apps if you want to!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Once enrolled you need to download the Preview for Developers app from the Windows Phone Store, which will allow you to receive Developer Preview releases, such as the now-available WP8.1 build.  In Windows Phone 8, you can then launch the installation via Settings > Phone Update, as normal.

Windows Phone 8.1
Windows Phone 8.1 Preview for Developers [Image Source: Neowin]

WP8.1 brings a number of new perks, including more efficient multitasking, the Cortana voice assistant, Storage Sense, Battery Sense, Data Sense, new screens -- including picture-skinned Live Tiles -- and mobile Internet Explorer 11.

For those not interested, but who have Windows Phones, Windows Phone 8.1 should be rolled out next month to all Windows Phone 8 capable handsets.  The update will also be preloaded on new Nokia Devices models that were also unveiled earlier this month, including the Lumia 930, which sports an attractive hybrid polycarbonate/aluminum chassis.

Sources: Windows Phone Dev Center, Neowin



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Great
By Jim_Liquor on 4/14/14, Rating: 0
RE: Great
By Jim_Liquor on 4/14/14, Rating: 0
RE: Great
By retrospooty on 4/14/2014 6:47:33 PM , Rating: 3
Uh... Right. Like you got downvoted for speaking the truth. /s

You got downvoted for acting like a 12 year old asshat. Re-read what you wrote and think about that.

I actually think WP8.1 looks pretty good. MS is defintely getting there. Nice job. You on the other hand could still use some work. :P


RE: Great
By Jim_Liquor on 4/14/2014 6:57:57 PM , Rating: 1
SO .. its untrue that, to use a nicer term, Apple fans thought 3.5" display was enough cause thats all jobs would allow and says was PERFECT and as usual they bought them in droves cause it was basically shiny?

Its untrue that Android, while getting better over the years, is actually a mess a lot of the times with too many versions of the OS on too many handsets that never run the same, and the only thing in the end they have in common is they need 4 core CPU's *ON A PHONE* to get it to come close to Windows Phone as far not being a lag machine... and not even the current version, but the LG Quantum one I had with the slide out keyboard 3 years ago?

Sorry .. these are facts. I just now put them in nicer terms.


RE: Great
By Reclaimer77 on 4/14/14, Rating: 0
RE: Great
By Jim_Liquor on 4/14/2014 8:12:05 PM , Rating: 3
As usual, Reclaimer77 is the voice of reason in such a polite way.


RE: Great
By Reclaimer77 on 4/14/2014 8:19:32 PM , Rating: 3
Yeah you're Emily Post man with the whole "iTard" and "Fandroid" thing.


RE: Great
By retrospooty on 4/14/2014 7:26:03 PM , Rating: 2
like I said, you didn't get downvoted for speaking the truth or not the truth you got downvoted for acting like a complete schmuck.


RE: Great
By Belegost on 4/14/2014 7:41:23 PM , Rating: 4
I would have downvoted (except I had already posted) just because I dislike the ridiculous fanboyism.

I like my WinPhone, it works awesome for me, and the new update is like amazing rich brown gravy on buttery mashed potatoes.

But my wife likes her iPhone, and other people like Android - that's cool. Plenty of room in the world for everyone to like what they like.

And absolutely no reason for someone to badmouth someone(s) because of their choice of phone. That's just silly.


RE: Great
By retrospooty on 4/14/2014 9:04:23 PM , Rating: 2
I get wanting to talk up the virtues of your favorite platform, but the anger level is amazing... Especially when he started off all PO'd... But this doof was the OP. WTF was he all bent about? LOL


RE: Great
By Labotomizer on 4/15/2014 10:08:18 AM , Rating: 2
I agree, very irritating when people do that. It's embarrassing for a fan of any platform that there are people that act that way.

That being said, I have a Galaxy Note 3 Rose Gold on Verizon I'll happily trade for a Lumia Icon. I want to move back to WP pretty badly.


RE: Great
By CaedenV on 4/15/2014 11:58:52 AM , Rating: 2
I am a huge WP fan, and as much as I love the new update, there are still plenty of things that MS needs to do if they want to make a real dent in the US market.

WP8.1 does not put MS ahead of iOS or Android, it merely catches the platform up with 90% of the features and functionality. Though I have to say that the more I use Cortana, the more I love it... it is by far better than Siri and Iris/TellMe. On at least that one front WP is now quite a bit ahead of everyone else... at least in the US where it is available.


You can get a free app studio account
By Belegost on 4/14/2014 6:29:51 PM , Rating: 3
You don't even have to pay 20 bucks.

Go to appstudio.windowsphone.com and start a new project using the MS account linked to your phone.
On your phone download the preview for developers app and enable it to push updates
Get the new update from Settings>Phone Updates

Totally free.




By drumsticks on 4/14/2014 6:44:15 PM , Rating: 2
Seconding this... that's an exceptionally misleading and unfair title.


RE: You can get a free app studio account
By Camikazi on 4/14/2014 6:46:18 PM , Rating: 2
Yep, just make the account and download the app am ATM installing 8.1 preview on my Lumia 520 to see how it works. Just an FYI but make sure you have time because man does it take forever.


RE: You can get a free app studio account
By StevoLincolnite on 4/15/2014 3:13:08 AM , Rating: 2
Didn't take long on my Lumia 920.

I assume that the length of install time varies depending on your hardware, how many apps, pictures, music etc' you have. (Migrating the data can take a bit for phones with lots of stuff.)


RE: You can get a free app studio account
By silverblue on 4/15/2014 8:45:00 AM , Rating: 2
It took about 2 1/2 hours on a new 625 in our office but less than half of that on my half-full 1020. YMMV, I suppose.


By Mitch101 on 4/15/2014 11:34:45 AM , Rating: 2
Look at the build number before the upgrade. Depending on how many build versions behind the device is that will determine how many updates need to occur.


By CaedenV on 4/15/2014 12:07:19 PM , Rating: 2
More than the update, it has to do with how many apps/files are on your device. These updates essentially format your phone and re-install everything, so the more stuff you have (especially on a slower device), the longer the update process is going to take. So if you are in an area with slow WiFi, or have a lot of files on a slower device, then it can take an eternity to update your device.


By CaedenV on 4/15/2014 12:03:36 PM , Rating: 2
Not only totally free, but it is the only way to get updates for devices that have lost support from the manufacturer or carrier. The Lumia 810 will never get this update from T-Mo, and last I checked the 8S and 8X are no longer getting updates from HTC, so for these devices the developer preview is the only way to go.

I really hope that with WP9 MS finally starts pushing updates via a Windows Update process. No right-thinking person would trust their ISP to run their email and update their PC... so why do we think that a cell phone carrier should be responsible for updating our phones?


"Vista runs on Atom ... It's just no one uses it". -- Intel CEO Paul Otellini














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki