backtop


Print 26 comment(s) - last by crippledgimp.. on Nov 26 at 4:39 PM

A look at what Wii U reviewers are saying around the Web

This is an exciting time for Nintendo, as it has finally released the successor to its Wii console -- the Wii U -- this week. But is the new addition to the Nintendo family going to be a hot ticket item, or just another dust collector?

The reviews are in, and DailyTech has collected the opinions of three top sites for a Wii U review roundup. Featured in this roundup are CNET's Jeff Bakalar, Ars Technica's Kyle Orland and The Verge's David Pierce. 

The Specs

Let's take a quick look at what this console is packing, shall we? 
  • IBM Power-based multi-core processor
  • 1.8 inches high, 10.6 inches deep and 6.75 inches long
  • AMD Radeon-based High Definition GPU
  • 8GB/32GB storage options
  • 1080p video output
  • Supports HDMI
  • Charging Stand
  • Wii U GamePad Controller (with 6.2-inch LCD touchscreen, button controls, two analog sticks, front-facing camera, sensor bar, rumble features, stylus and NFC functionality)
  • Supports Wii Remote, Wii Remote Plus, Wii U Pro Controllers and Wii accessories like the Classic Controller, Wii Balance Board and Nunchuk
The Wii U was released on November 18, just in time for the holiday season. If you're looking to get the 8GB Basic Set, the price is $299.99. If you're up for an upgrade, the 32GB Deluxe Set is $349.99. 

The Basic Set offers a white 8GB console with all white components. It comes with a GamePad Controller, sensor bar, charger and HDMI cable. Those opting for the Deluxe Set get a black 32GB console with black components, such as a GamePad Controller, a console stand, a GamePad stand, a GamePad charging stand, an HDMI cable, a sensor bar and the game "Nintendo Land."

There has been a lot of talk about the Wii U since it was announced back in June 2011 at the Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3). Many wondered if a cool new tablet-like controller would be enough to draw in competitive sales against the likes of other consoles like Xbox 360 bundles and even smartphones and tablets, which have largely crowded the gaming space with attractive features like affordable apps and mobility. 


Design
 
According to Bakalar, which reviewed the Deluxe  Set, the Wii U isn't much larger than the original Wii (not enough to notice, at least). It has a wealth of ports, including HDMI, an AV port, four USB 2.0 ports and an SD card slot. However, he did have one complaint: fingerprints on the black finish. 

Both the console and GamePad are total fingerprint magnets just like most of these shiny black plastic encasings I see so often. It's one thing if the console looks like that, but after just a few days using the GamePad, it could already use a good wipe down.

Orland added that the Wii U has a nice design and is decently sized for an HD console.

It’s worth noting again how small the Wii U is compared to even the reduced-size revisions of other HD consoles. At 1.8" high and 6.8" wide, the unit is barely bigger than the minuscule Wii when viewed from the front and is only noticeably larger when extending to the 10.5" depth. If you already have a Wii in your entertainment center, the Wii U should fit in as a fine replacement with no problem. Nintendo has added a lot of nice small touches to the system, too. The power and eject buttons rest flush with the front of the system, making for a nice, smooth surface that is quite pleasing to look at. The cover that conceals the front USB ports and SD card slot retracts into the system, rather than protruding out when opened, to preserve those flush lines.

Pierce completely disagreed with the previous two, saying that the size of the Wii U is very noticeable (even "big" and "heavy") with power cables that are even too large. 

Time to clear a spot in your home theater stack. The Wii U's console is a hefty piece of machinery, a glossy black (or white) rectangle that may or may not slide neatly next to your TV.

I'm not sure I've ever written about a power cable in a review before, but the Wii U's merits a mention. Because it's massive. The power brick is almost the same size as the console itself, and it made installing the system a lot harder — hiding something that big behind your TV can be tough.




 

GamePad Controller

This may be one of the largest draws to the new console, and the differentiator from other major players in the space. Nintendo has created a tablet-like controller called the GamePad for a dual-screen experience. 

Bakalar specifically mentioned that the GamePad Controller is surprisingly large, where he had to stretch his thumbs to reach across the screen a few times. He wondered how children will manage to play with the monster of a controller. He also mentioned that Nintendo has failed to explain how NFC technology will be used with the controller, as well as a few other complaints. 

The GamePad can be held a number of ways to play and doesn't seem to interact with the sensor bar at all. From what I can tell, the bar's only purpose is to work with older Wii remotes, which are fully backward compatible with the Wii U. In fact, they're required for some games, so you'll need to purchase a few if you don't already have any.
Because the GamePad's touch screen is resistive -- rather than the capacitive screen found on most modern tablets and smartphones -- it requires a bit more pressure to register. The screen doesn't have as much wiggle room as the DS did, but nevertheless, a light swipe might not work. This is almost never an issue when using the included stylus, though.

Orland disagreed for the most part, saying the GamePad was easy to play with without noticing the weight after awhile. However, button positioning is a different story. 

The biggest ergonomic problem with the GamePad comes in the shoulder buttons. Two of these buttons, ZL and ZR, rest on top of the back ridge and provide a perfectly natural resting place for your index fingers. The others, labeled L and R, sit on the top edge of the GamePad, roughly an inch higher. With your middle fingers under the ridge, reaching up to hit these shoulder buttons with your index finger is an uncomfortable stretch.
Moving your index fingers quickly between the two sets of shoulder buttons is also quite a bit more awkward than doing the same on the Xbox 360 or PS3 (where the buttons are at the same vertical height). It’s possible to put your ring finger under the ridge and rest both your middle and index fingers on the shoulder buttons, but this setup felt a bit unnatural to me.

Pierce said the GamePad has a few issues, like battery life (it drained after only three hours of gameplay), but also added that it's a versatile new controller that can be used in many ways to enhance the gaming experience. 

When it's used right, the GamePad is an awesome complement to the TV interface — I loved having it as my pocket PDA of sorts during Ninja Gaiden, or using it to draw routes for Yoshi in Nintendo Land. But every game implements the GamePad differently, and most don't do it very well. Some of the games in Nintendo Land take place almost entirely on the GamePad, so all you see on your TV is "Look at the GamePad!" Others are mirrored, so you're seeing exactly the same thing on the TV and on the GamePad – it's distracting to see things happening on both screens, and I wound up constantly shifting my gaze because I'd see some movement out of the corner of my eye.



Performance

Bakalar's main concern is the battery life of the GamePad, which he says sits around 3.5 to 4 hours, and it takes another 2.5 hours for a full charge. However, a power cord can remedy that situation fairly easily. He did find one bug, though. 

So far I've run into one bug with the system. If you attempt to eject a game disc while the console is off (a handy LED glows whenever a game is inserted), the system will eject the disc, turn on, but then freeze up. The only way out of this is to actually pull the power cord out.

Orland mentioned longer load times for Wii U games, and offered a table of load times for each title. But he did say that the console was quite powerful. 

But if the Wii U is capable of generating graphics more detailed than those of other current systems, the launch games I’ve seen so far don’t do a great job showing that off. I’m willing to believe the Wii U is more powerful than the older HD consoles though, primarily because the system is also pushing a lag-free wireless image to the Wii U GamePad while it generates those HDTV graphics. Sometimes that touchscreen image is just a mirror of what’s happening on the TV, but often it’s a totally different viewpoint of the same scene, or a different scene entirely. I’d have to imagine ignoring the touchscreen altogether might actually give developers more horsepower to spend on the image being pushed to the TV.

Pierce went as far as to say that the GamePad's power left him wanting more.

The Wii U is close — tantalizingly close — to being a portable console. So close, in fact, that I found myself wondering constantly why the GamePad wasn't the console, and the TV-connected piece a peripheral. The GamePad and console connect to each other via an ad-hoc Wi-Fi connection, which works absolutely seamlessly — there's no lag, and I had no connection issues whatsoever. Nintendo says the two parts will work up to 25 feet apart, but I found that it could sometimes be much farther; they stayed in touch anywhere in the Verge offices or in my apartment, even through walls. That means for games like New Super Mario Bros. U, where all the gameplay also takes place on the GamePad, you don't even need your TV anymore — just turn the console on, and play on your GamePad. That's a great way to avoid monopolizing your family's TV, and it frees you from even needing a TV. Anywhere there's a power outlet, you can play some Wii U games using the GamePad.


Games

Bakalar had great things to say about the GamePad's gameplay, saying that it's the king of multiplayer gaming (it allows up to four other controllers in addition to the GamePad simultaneously). The problem? The launch lineup of titles, he said. 

So far, Nintendo has yet to do an overly impressive job of locking up exclusive titles only available on the Wii U. Aside from forthcoming first-party titles like Pikmin 3 and Game and Wario, Nintendo has only teased exclusives like Bayonetta 2, Lego City Undercover, and The Wonderful 101. Of course it's safe to assume the usual crop of first-party franchises will show up down the line, too: more Mario, Zelda, and Metroid, etc.

Orland seemed to be more upset about the way the games look rather than what they actually were. 

First-party titles like New Super Mario Bros. U and Nintendo Land capture the company’s signature bright, cartoony style, but they come across as high-definition versions of games that would have been possible on the original Wii. Third-party titles like ZombiU and Tank Tank Tank! show more detail and have more moving elements than what was possible on the original Wii, but those titles are far from out-classing complex games on the Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3. Most of the other launch titles are direct ports of games actually available on those systems. These look indistinguishable on the Wii U.

Pierce had a great time playing "New Super Mario Bros. U," which he even called his favorite game out of the bunch. He said it was by far the hardest Mario game to date with many layers to each level, but there was "nothing special about how it works on the Wii U." The multiplayer format can be a little awkward, too. 

Multiplayer is actually one of the odder experiences with the Wii U. For most games, one player uses the GamePad and everyone else uses Wii remotes. That by itself creates a sort of disjointed experience, like you're all watching the same thing but you're on your phone while everyone else watches it on TV. In many games, the player with the GamePad is the only one really playing, and the other players are like supporting actors — it's less like co-op and more like hero and sidekick. The one exception I found was Metroid Blast, in which you team up to, well, kill bad guys. In that game the GamePad and Wii remote experiences aren’t better or worse, just different — you’re in a vehicle on the GamePad and on foot with the remote, but both are fun experiences geared for their hardware. Once again, the potential is there — it’s just not yet fully realized.

 


Bottom Line

Bakalar:

In almost every other department, save for what Nintendo TVii is supposed to provide, the other consoles on the market have the Wii U beat: network and offline media playback, diversity of streaming services, exclusive games, and speedy operating systems.
Despite its unique dual-screen presentation, innovative GamePad controller, and ambitious Nintendo TVii service, the Wii U still has a lot to prove.

Orland: 

There are a lot of things I’d love to tell you about the Wii U. I’d love to tell you how the Miiverse social networking service lets you play games and exchange messages with friends. I’d love to tell you how the GamePad’s built-in camera works for video chatting with other Wii U owners all over the world. I’d love to tell you about the transfer process for content from your old Wii, or how the new system handles old Wii retail games, or how easy it is to expand the storage space with a USB hard drive, or what the sign-up process for the new Nintendo Network ID is like, or how functional the Web browser and free video apps are, or how the new eShop compares to other digital download services.
Unfortunately, I can’t tell you any of that. As of mid-day Saturday, mere hours from the system's North American launch, Nintendo had not yet pushed out a promised firmware update to activate all of these features (and maybe a few that I’m not aware of). 

As a result, this first review of the Wii U is going to be necessarily incomplete.

Pierce:

Nintendo’s facing an unfortunate chicken-and-egg problem. Developers won’t devote the time to making their Wii U games sing unless a lot of people buy the console, and plenty of shoppers will skip over the console unless the games are great. Nintendo can’t rely on its lead-in, either: Wii sales have plummetted in the last year, falling at a much faster rate than its even-older Xbox and PlayStation competitors. The novely factor of the Wii may have worn off, as customers demand more media features and a better gaming experience — Nintendo has to prove once again that it’s a real competitor.
I don't know which future awaits the Wii U. But until it's obvious, I'm not buying one.

Sources: CNET, Ars Technica, The Verge



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Wii U not up to competition
By nabeel_912 on 11/20/2012 3:03:25 AM , Rating: 1
I like wii u's new controller and the multi screen gameplay. but I'm disapointed by its hardware specs. If you compare it with the current consoles ps3 and xbox 360. it is not much improved.

http://www.trendx.info/wordpress/wii-u-review-best...




RE: Wii U not up to competition
By BushStar on 11/20/2012 9:47:26 AM , Rating: 5
The original Wii was never a power horse so we would not expect its successor to be either. The Wii U may pale in comparison to the upcoming XBox 720 or PS4 but right now it outperforms the current XBox and PS3 and leaves the original Wii in its dust. The Wii taught us that graphics are not what makes a console good. We do now expect certain standards like 1080p which the Wii U is going to provide. I cannot see any problems with the specification of this new console.

I'm looking forward to a Wii U Christmas.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By KFZ on 11/20/2012 11:36:49 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
The Wii taught us that graphics are not what makes a console good.

No, it did not. SNES vs. Genesis anyone?

I'll give Nintendo an innovative sticker for all it has done, but its games haven't interested me in almost 20 years. If you told 1995 me, who thought that this Mario act was getting old, his likeness and adventuring would still be the banner title of Nintendo going into 2013, I'd of said you were insane. Who could keep playing Mario for nearly 30 years?

A ton of people, apparently. Ditto Link, Samus, Donkey Kong...I don't dislike the games because of stigma. I stopped playing them because my prepubescent brain said "Hey, you've played this before, I'm bored."

Mobile gaming (hello, monochrome Gameboy and graphing calculators) is the earliest proof of my life that graphics are overrated mostly by lurid gamers.

The Wii did not prove anything about graphics; gamers came from blobs of color and pixels on a screen to the lush environments of today. We are spoiled rotten, but plenty of us do not care and make intelligent, personal choices about our gaming, and there's a lot to dislike about the Wii and its games.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By FastEddieLB on 11/20/2012 1:16:51 PM , Rating: 2
I didn't get my first console until 1998 and by then the Genesis and SNES were long dead and buried. You seem to think that all people who play video games started the same time that you did, but there are always new generations of kids to keep the sales up for the things you've outgrown.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By Nortel on 11/20/2012 1:22:01 PM , Rating: 3
I think you completely missed his point.


By inighthawki on 11/20/2012 3:32:44 PM , Rating: 2
Just because you get bored of games doesn't mean everyone did. Whie I'm not a huge fan of (and never really was) the mario games, I for one love the metroid and zelda series. The metroid prime games are among my favorite games ever played, and skyward sword was nothing but fantastic. Beat the entire game and all the side quests totalling almost 40 hours in only about 4-5 days. These are simply games that I won't get bored of as long as the next game sticks to the same mechanics.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By someguy123 on 11/20/2012 9:31:11 PM , Rating: 2
I would agree with you if video games were film or literature. Does it really matter if its mario for his franchise fame? Does putting on a pair of jeans, soldier uniform, gigantic suit of armor, or having a little girl take the place of a two grown women really change the gameplay?

Outside of the new super mario games, majority of mario games play pretty differently, especially the first transition to 3D. They all feature jumping on things but the same can be said about practically every game where you shoot something, yet people consider those new and exciting. Ironically the gamecube was when nintendo probably did the most publishing of new IPs, yet that console was their largest failure, meanwhile people apparently can't get enough of NSMB for every nintendo platform. People ask for the new and then buy the old.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By Da W on 11/20/2012 11:21:50 AM , Rating: 5
People are still playing half-assed crapy games with low graphic on their decade-old Xbox 360 or PS3 console, which don't come anywhere near the quality of a good PC game, yet it doesn't seem to bother them. If graphics and horsepower where so important why didn,t Microsoft or Sony release a new console yet? Why are people playing iOS games? We know the PS4 will run on a Trinity APU, which is what i have in my laptop to play Diablo 3 on medium détails. There you have it.
I don't think the Wii-U supposed disapointing hardware specs mathers anymore. People are moving on.


RE: Wii U not up to competition
By nikon133 on 11/20/2012 5:01:09 PM , Rating: 2
As a PC and PS3 gamer, I'll try to ignore your obvious heavy bias and answer withing reason:

That is because 99% of PC developers are lazy S*Bs and don't push PC graphics nowhere close to actual capabilities of hardware. Save for my personal heroes like Dice and handful more, majority don't even try to make PC games look like a PC game any more.

Current consoles are old, true... but you still cannot find Lara Croft (or any other game from that genre) that looks and plays anywhere close to Uncharted 2 and 3... heck, even original Uncharted. If you are into the genre, you don't have the choice.

Fighting games fare just a bit better - a few of them are available on PC, but again, if you are into the genre, you simply must go console if you don't want to miss on Tekken, Soul series, DOA...

Driving games, same story. Forza, GT... exclusives, and look as good as any PC driving game, if not better. What is available on PC is usually just a port and not any better looking than console counterparts, regardless of what PC could do.

Strategies, PC strength... but not a genre that is usually pushing visuals.

MMO, same story. WoW and likes are hardly games to make 2012 hardware proud.

At the end, shooters should be strongest point for PC to make visual differentiation between consoles and real hardware... but save for BF3, not so many current games really push to the full potential. Even Crytek gave up on PC exclusivity (or at least PC domination) and tried to level all the platforms.

And then, so many FPS don't even appear on PC. If you are interested in Halo, Resistance, GoW, Killzone... you don't have a choice, play them on console or miss them.

At the end, you can live in dreamworld where PC beats the crap out of “old crappy consoles”, or accept reality that only handful of games really take advantage of PC hardware, many look and play pretty much the same, and number of them are not available on PC at all… and embrace best of both worlds.

PS4 will run on derivative of existing A10 hardware. I don't think Sony will lock in already couple of years old graphics, but we can expect that whatever they do will be compatible with A10. I wouldn't be surprised if PS4 ends up with Cell CPU alongside AMD CPU/GPU, for compatibility with PS3 but also some interesting ways to offload some work from AMD to Cell and end up with some neat visual tricks and physics, while locking in exclusives (or, at least, getting some extra eye-candy from multi-platforms). How much can Cell cost nowadays? But regardless, you can expect that, at least for exclusives, games will be optimized to squeeze most of available hardware, resulting in titles that will look and play better than most of PC games on same or even better hardware, for years to come. Something that PC developers simply don't do anymore, if they ever did. Sad, but proven so many times so far.


By inperfectdarkness on 11/21/2012 3:27:41 AM , Rating: 2
Wrong. PC developers aren't lazy, they've just gone to where the money is. And the money--thanks to console gamers like yourself--is in 1080p console gaming. While the PC gamer in me mounrs the dearth of higher-quality PC offerings that are a natural result of this shift--the Nintendo fan in me is quietly smirking.

1080p is what gamers have collectively decreed as "sufficient" so all arguments about "lackluster" capabilities in the Wii-U (performance specs, etc) is nothing more than hot air. Maybe if you can demonstrate slowdown issues or something--THEN you might have a case. As far as I'm concerned, the Wii U is exactly all that is needed for console gamers of all walks of life--because those same gamers have already decided what is "good enough".


Why not mention the big ELEPHANT in the room?
By corduroygt on 11/20/2012 9:41:41 AM , Rating: 2
The Nintendo Network ID you create on a Wii U cannot be used on any other Wii U. So if your console breaks or gets stolen, etc, you lose all your digital purchases.
I would not advise any customer to buy a Wii U under these conditions.




By Ramstark on 11/20/2012 2:57:52 PM , Rating: 2
Is this real? Source???
If this is actually how you manage your Network ID it's a deal breaker for me... I play in diverse locations and absolutely enjoy getting Gamerpoints in any console i play...I hope they do the same.
Now, If I can somehow download my profile to my Gamepad and I take it to another console, THAT would work for me...


By TakinYourPoints on 11/20/2012 4:52:44 PM , Rating: 2
Nonsense.

While it sucks that you can't use your id on other machines, the part about losing your purchases if you brick your system is wrong. Nintendo has probably the best customer service of the major console manufacturers, and in the past if your hardware was bricked (say a Wii or a DS/3DS) they would restore your account and purchases on the replacement hardware. The same applies here.


By inperfectdarkness on 11/21/2012 3:31:35 AM , Rating: 2
Um, no. The Wii already has the ability to restore your digital purchases if the system bricks, simply by linking your Wii to an online account at Nintendo's website. I know, because I've done it before.

The only people who "lose" anything are people running hacked apps, cloned programs, etc. Legit software owners have nothing to fret. And besides, if you're savvy enough to crack/root your Wii to play cloned games, then I'm sure you are capable of figuring out how to deal with these types of issues.


Reclaimer77, where are you!
By The0ne on 11/20/2012 9:35:32 AM , Rating: 3
We need your voice of reason and common sense about how bad this system is!! Please share your wisdom ASAP! Thanks. LMAO :D




RE: Reclaimer77, where are you!
By tjcinnamon on 11/20/2012 12:36:44 PM , Rating: 4
"Obama"

that will get him on here.


I like it... with one caveat...
By tayb on 11/20/2012 9:45:58 AM , Rating: 2
The system looks like great fun and fun is the ONLY point of a gaming console. My only real concerns all revolve around the gamepad. It looks like the battery life isn't all that great, it seems pretty fragile for a game controller, and it will probably be expensive to replace.

Otherwise it's really an upgraded Wii and I thoroughly enjoy my Wii.

At $299 I'm not a buyer but I'll pick one up when people start selling theirs on craigslist.




RE: I like it... with one caveat...
By Stuka on 11/20/2012 11:56:16 AM , Rating: 2
I think 3-4hrs of battery is perfectly usable. After three hours my butt hurts, my thumbs don't straighten out, and my eyes are on fire from not blinking. Use it up then charge it and it will be ready the next time.

I do think they missed an important boat here. This could have brought the equivalent of the LAN party to the common folk. If you could use up to 4 GamePads on one system, you could have massive party game options. Imagine Mario Kart where everyone gets their own screen... then everyone else can spectate on the TV screen. Maybe even allow others to pass the Wiimote around and set booby traps or dynamically change the course.

In the end, it could have been great, but it will end up only really good.


It does one thing right
By tjcinnamon on 11/20/2012 12:34:29 PM , Rating: 2
It will certainly make a gamer think twice about spiking the controller...

I am really against the dual screen. The battery life is obviously disconcerting. The actual ergonomics are even more frightening. Worst is the cost of replacement. I would hate to have my console rendered useless if that gamepad broke via the screen going black or cracking or just abysmal battery life after 1.5 years of use.

One nice element of playing on a TV/Monitor is not having to look down so much. My neck gets sore playing mobile games for appreciable periods of time.

I hope Sony and Xbox don't go crazy with the touch screen controllers. I hope they are merely a value add as opposed to the product itself.




RE: It does one thing right
By someguy123 on 11/20/2012 9:40:47 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, the battery life is abysmal, and there's a huge expansion socket presumably for a better battery. Really milking their customers with that one.

I like the concept, though, if only for making RTS games slightly more playable on consoles compared to analog.


I have to say
By Sazabi19 on 11/20/2012 8:23:47 AM , Rating: 2
When I played a Wii U at Gamestop a few weeks back I enjoyed it and had fun. I played a demo of Rayman (Legends?) and found it quite enjoyable. The reviewer that said that you have to push on the screen with more force than normal is either a wimp or just imagining it. I laughed during a few phases of the demo and got to use the small screen on the gamepad and it was fairly seamless. The image was exactly on par with what was on the tv, looked crystal clear, and there was no lag at all, wherever my finger went on the pad there it was on the screen. I have to agree about the game selection though, provided they could get a better lineup I think this would do better. I was looking at titles and found that most of the ones that I want are not currently out yet. I also notice a distinct lack of a Mario Kart title. Overall I think this would be great for kids or even adults if they could get some hit titles on there, like a Super Smash Bro.s titles, haven't seen one of those in a while. Mario Party would also be another good one. Hardware wise this thing now plays 1080P and looks great on full HD screens, possibly Bluray (25gigs per disk is what I have heard)? I would check into that. I want to know if 2+ gamepads can be used at once as well. I can see this taking off and found the reviewers to be pretty pessimistic. Still needs more higher end games though.




Dissapointed
By Crazyeyeskillah on 11/20/2012 9:44:52 AM , Rating: 2
I wanted to get my son a new tablet and the WiiU for Xmas but I honestly can't find a good (any at all?) reason to buy this when I already have a Nintendo Wii. Most people don't own a ton of Wii games and could simply buy more if they wanted additional content. As far as futuristic options I don't really see the benefits of this console over anything else out there. The whole point of the Wii was to get up and move around a bit which made it unique. Tethering both of your hands together onto the new tablet is a step backwards as far as ergonomic moveability. Swinging an axe down on a zombie with both hands connected to the tablet is rediculous. Also, the battery pack life is a deal killer. I don't know how many times I have a dead controller and can just grab another one off my charger as backup, theres no luxury of this with the new setup. My son doesn't always put the controllers on charge so the tablet would *ALWAYS* be dead. Too bad I really wanted to get a new toy like this for Xmas...




By lenardo on 11/20/2012 9:46:11 AM , Rating: 2
bakalar said this
quote:
So far I've run into one bug with the system. If you attempt to eject a game disc while the console is off (a handy LED glows whenever a game is inserted), the system will eject the disc, turn on, but then freeze up. The only way out of this is to actually pull the power cord out.


well it must be his unit because MY WiiU doesn't freeze, it turns on and everything works, or if i just wanted to eject the game, i press the power button and it turns off.

i love the white led saying a disk is in.

my critique of the system.

good system, needs a bit more refining.

universal remote function- doesn't control enough components, it needs to be able to control audio receiver, i have 4 hdmi in one out from my receiver, i control the hdmi components FROM the receiver...cannot do it with the WiiU- this pertains to the audio volume as well.

TVii - not implemented yet. netflix works great though

menu's loading is a bit slow- figure system updates will fix this

range of gamepad- its good :)
feel of gamepad, unlike the person in the article, i found the shoulder buttons to be perfectly placed for my hands- very comfortable to use.

MiiVerse--its decent.

games:

ZombiU- Awesome
NSMBU- its a mario platformer :)
Nintendoland- kids love it
AC3 - its good.




about the Nintendo network thing
By lenardo on 11/20/2012 9:47:41 AM , Rating: 2
IF THE WIIU is stolen, i am sure nintendo will be able to xfer the account over.

i had the wii stolen once, i got a new wii and they were able to link the system fine-should be pretty much the same deal




playa console
By Nortel on 11/20/2012 11:39:44 AM , Rating: 2
I played around with it for as long as I could before I had to hand the demo unit over. It was appealing but had that heir of 'just not enough'. It's an interesting console for sure but with something intrinsically missing. The console-controller symbiotic relationship was something that struck me right in the feels. It's something so obvious, being able to take the controller with you and keep playing the game! It's something the iphone/ipad + iTV already does... and by anchoring the controller to its all your base are belong to us station it unfortunately never leaves the living room.

With launch titles failing to excite, games demanding $60(!), and local multiplayer limited to a single wii U controller + wii controllers it feels like they ushered out an unfinished product into the cruel world of competition.

Please don't take this parallel to harshly but I speak with veracity. The wii U is $300 or $350 plus $60 a game. A iPad mini is $350 with game prices ranging from free to $9.99. I talked to some kids waiting to try the wii U and it was apparent, multitouch tablets have captured a spot on their Xmas list. With parental units quite unlikely to shell out for both a tablet + wii U system it will be interesting to see if we are indeed living in a post console world.




Don't forget about the price
By crippledgimp on 11/26/2012 4:39:05 PM , Rating: 2
Nobody has mentioned that yet, it currently sells for 13,400 yen. It's roughly $172 dollars just to play with someone else in the house, $150 at best. Hopefully someone else from up the block, who also owns a Wii U, can come over to my and connect just the same.




"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins

Related Articles













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki