Print 30 comment(s) - last by CreganTur.. on Jul 6 at 10:48 AM

"Madness? This is Sparta!" Hero of Sparta has been maddening developer rivals, dominating the sales charts. It offers fast, addictive hack and slash in the vein of Diablo or Gauntlet.

Pinky is back in the new Doom Resurrection tracked tap-and-shoot game for the iPhone which sports hellishly sweet graphics.
We take a peek at the hottest iPhone games on the App store

The iPhone is hot, and not just because it's overheating -- its also hot because it has some of the best handheld games on the market.  In this first edition of our iPhone gaming update we look at what's new on the App store scene and what games are selling the best.

This week's top 15 paid apps are:

  1. Hero of Sparta (Gameloft)
  2. Sally's Spa (Games Cafe Inc.)
  3. Flight Control (Firemint)
  4. StoneLoops! of Jurassica (PlayCreek)
  5. Real Soccer 2009 (Gameloft)
  6. Fast & Furious The Game (I-Play)
  7. Bejeweled 2 (PopCap Games, Inc.)
  8. Doom Resurrection (id Software)
  9. Bloons (Digital Goldfish Ltd.)
  10. Knights Onrush (Chillingo Ltd.)

    Honorable Mentions:
    Tetris (17), Sally's Salon (13), The Sims 3 (20), and F.A.S.T. Fleet Air Superiority Training (11)

Hero of Sparta continues to be the App store's hottest seller, priced at $0.99.  This hack-and-slash adventure released in December 2008 features some pretty impressive 3D graphics and slick storytelling cut-scenes.  The game will give you about four hours of solid gameplay, or about 6-10 for obsessive types -- not bad for the price.  This one is recommended for fans of the God of War, Gauntlet, or Diablo franchises.

Despite a relatively high price of $9.99, Doom Resurrection has also smoked its way up sales charts like a bat out of Dante's Inferno.  Currently residing in eighth place for iPhone games a mere seven days after its release, the game brings all the grizzle, action, and graphical pizazz one would expect from a game whose engine was hand-coded by John Carmack.  The game's major disappoint is that you don't get to control movement, but a solid tap-to-shoot control scheme and minimum 2-3 hours of gameplay (over 8 levels) guarantee a decent experience for Doom fans.  The game is a new entry in the Doom series and not a port as some mistakenly have claimed.

On the lighter side Sally's Spa and Salon are seeing strong sales.  These casual games are great for fans of Harvest Moon or Nintendo's time management games.  They put you in control of a business complete with endearing anime-style graphics.

To wrap, up here's a few other titles to check out that aren't top sellers, but are a fun experience.  One to try out is Dream Chronicles, a Myst-like adventure game played in landscape mode.  Another fun title is RoboFighters, which offers 3D mega-robot battles against players worldwide. Galactic Gunner is another recent release, which gives gameplay similar to the Interplay classic Descent.  Finally, check out Quantum Collapse for an addictive fantasy-genre real time strategy title -- its graphics are exquisite.

Comments     Threshold

This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Mac Games
By AndMatt on 7/3/2009 2:16:01 PM , Rating: 3
Now if only Apple could leverage the success of games being made for the iPhone into games being made for the Mac!

RE: Mac Games
By inperfectdarkness on 7/3/2009 2:58:05 PM , Rating: 2
i'd settle for compatibility, instead of exclusive games.

personally, i don't get the iphone (figuratively & literally). my cell phone was free; and for the cost of an iphone, i have a ds and about 2 dozen + games.

oh...that AND nintendo's reliability. although to apple's credit, the iphone has lower failure rates than the xbox 360.

RE: Mac Games
By MonkeyPaw on 7/3/2009 3:07:28 PM , Rating: 5
Considering that the failure rates of both are not freely published, this is only opinion. However, if your 360 overheats, MS will fix it for free. If your iPhone overheats, Apple expects you to move someplace cooler.

RE: Mac Games
By cparka23 on 7/3/2009 4:40:43 PM , Rating: 3
Yeah, free.. for $100 if you're out of warranty. Never hurts to throw in the details.

RE: Mac Games
By someguy123 on 7/3/2009 8:47:46 PM , Rating: 5
not really sure what the problem is here. if it survived long enough under warranty to be out of warranty you would have to buy a new system from any other manufacturer if it failed.

RE: Mac Games
By LordanSS on 7/4/2009 11:06:28 AM , Rating: 2
I'm not sure about you, but if I spend a good amount of money in an electronic device, I expect it to last. A long time. Very long time.

Just so you can have an idea, my Atari 2600 console STILL works. And my NES and SNES. My Playstation 1 gave out a couple years after it's purchase, but was the CD-drive motor giving out... I never bothered to have it serviced, but could be fixed.

That was the last of my consoles, I kept to PC-gaming since then. If it's a moving-part defect, like a drive, I can understand the failure, as those are prone to break sooner or later. Other than that though, it's simply poor design, period.

RE: Mac Games
By icanhascpu on 7/4/2009 10:19:48 AM , Rating: 1
Yes because Phone = Gaming console

But lets rate you up because these here forums are full of raging Apple haters.

RE: Mac Games
By dark matter on 7/5/2009 11:42:31 AM , Rating: 4
Come on dude.

Apple have made a phone that has a thermal cut off point lower than the temperature of the human body.

"Sorry sir, you cannot have a replacement phone as you failed in your duty of care"

"But all I have ever done is hold it in my hand and make phone calls, I don't even go on the inernet, or in sunlight, or live somewhere warm"

"Exactly sir, you held it in your hand and put it next to your head. The iPhone has a cut off point of 35 degrees. You sir ar 37 degrees. You are in breach of the guidelines and therefore not due a replacement"

"How on Earth am I supposed to use it then. I demand a replacement"

"Sorry Sir, company policy states we cannot give you a refund. You should have made an informed choice before you purchased. Although we can sell you these iMitts. They are thermally insulated gloves for use with the iPhone"

RE: Mac Games
By nafhan on 7/4/2009 10:28:48 AM , Rating: 3
Speaking of iPhone's overheating, I found Apple's advice on keeping the iPhone cool pretty funny. They advise not "listening to music while in direct sunlight"

RE: Mac Games
By chmilz on 7/3/2009 5:02:24 PM , Rating: 2
Half of the games listed are free to play on your favorite flash games website...

RE: Mac Games
By WikiChici on 7/4/2009 9:56:03 PM , Rating: 2
Games on the Mac would be suprisingly good, however i fear that the graphic chipsets used in the lower models would stop them gaming...

However since the OSX platform is quite locked down Apple would have a advantage over Windows here in terms of compatability, its a shame the Imac have not gone quad core yet though... oh well!

RE: Mac Games
By Pirks on 7/5/2009 3:18:31 AM , Rating: 3
Quad core is a waste gaming-wise, fast dual core rules for that. iMac only needs decent mobile GPU to become a cool gaming machine. It's almost there, but Apple's too much into thin cases and silence these days, sigh...

RE: Mac Games
By Chaser on 7/6/2009 8:52:01 AM , Rating: 2
Not to mention enough computers in homes to even make it worth while for investors, developers, etc.

Blizzard and a handful of others supports Apple but thats more an "Apple friendly" write off more than anything else.

By Soldier1969 on 7/3/09, Rating: 0
RE: lol
By Pirks on 7/4/2009 12:23:37 AM , Rating: 1
My 32Gb iphone 3GS is insanely fast and hands down the best phone ever
Does it overheat?

RE: lol
By GaryJohnson on 7/4/2009 12:59:53 AM , Rating: 5
Im not a apple fanboy either.

Which of the twelve steps is "Denial"?

RE: lol
By 67STANG on 7/4/2009 4:18:55 PM , Rating: 3
Considering my 4 year old LG Chocolate listen to music in direct sunlight (and I can replace the battery too), which phone is really "sub par"? I forgot to add the my LG Chocolate is also on Verizon's network, which is much more reliable in the U.S. than AT&T.

RE: lol
By dark matter on 7/5/2009 11:48:28 AM , Rating: 4
Dude, as soon as you claim not be something when no-one claimed you were you instantly raise the suspiscion that you actually are.

For example, starting a new post that contains any of the following.

a) I'm not gay.
b) I'm not racist.
c) I'm not stupid.

By icanhascpu on 7/3/2009 1:35:44 PM , Rating: 3
Hero of Sparta looks good.

RE: Hmm...
By Pirks on 7/3/2009 1:58:47 PM , Rating: 4
Now where's your freakin WinMobile games, Ballmer?!

*throws chair*

RE: Hmm...
By TMV192 on 7/3/2009 6:28:05 PM , Rating: 2
If they made like a DirectX mobile and actually got more manufacturers to put a damn GPU in their phones, they would have games. Although that's not only to blame, your average consumer probably didn't know WinMo had apps let alone games, I can't count the number the times I've seen people just live on the pack in solitaire.

One thing worth mentioning is a game called Eningmo, released in 2004 with the Dell Axim running in 3D at 640x480, but again because of WinMo's limitations it didn't get far. Fast forward 4 years, and now it's quite popular on the iPhone running at half the resolution

RE: Hmm...
By GaryJohnson on 7/4/2009 12:57:33 AM , Rating: 2
There's also cellDoom and Pocket Quake. The major problem with both being the awful control scheme on WinMo phones. They generally have poorly responding touch screens and really crummy button layouts.

I wish somebody would wake up and pair a WinMo phone with a couple of analog sticks and some shoulder buttons.

You have got to be kidding me....
By AEvangel on 7/3/2009 4:09:50 PM , Rating: 4 IPhone gaming review...that is pretty ridiculous. Where is DT's Nintendo DS gaming review or Sony PSP gaming Review.

By CZroe on 7/5/2009 9:02:57 AM , Rating: 4
Actually, I figured that they were LINKING to a review, just as in their "Daily Hardware Reviews" posts. I was disappointed to find that they had not. It's just a review of what is new/top sales without even a hint as to the quality.

How does this work?
By Hakuryu on 7/3/2009 5:32:47 PM , Rating: 3
The game's major disappoint is that you don't get to control movement, but a solid tap-to-shoot control scheme...

I don't get it. You simply sit back while the game automatically moves you through the levels? Then you tap the screen to shoot? Doesn't sound fun at all.

RE: How does this work?
By someguy123 on 7/3/2009 5:40:50 PM , Rating: 3
it's an on rails time crisis. you control your crosshair but not your movement.

mini mobile gaming
By tviceman on 7/4/2009 10:01:03 AM , Rating: 3
$10 for a mobile 2-3 hour game sounds outrageous to me. Half the steam weekend deals can net you 1-2 great games with 4-5x the play time for the same price or cheaper. On a similar note, I have absolutely no desire, nor do I see the appeal in playing mobile games on a 3 inch screen that are made to mimic, mirror, or otherwise convey experiences of AAA titles on PC, xbox, etc.

I'll stick with the brain teasers, card games, and casual stuff when I'm mobile and save my money for the "real" games when I'm home.

Mafia LIVE
By TomCorelis on 7/3/2009 2:51:54 PM , Rating: 2
Played this one every day... then yesterday the devs unleashed an update that made the game no fun any more. There's a weekly gaming wrap-up for you :-( Most popular iPhone mafia clone gets trashed...

Galactic gunner
By Alphafox78 on 7/4/2009 10:21:32 AM , Rating: 2
Galactic gunner is nothing like decent at all. I just bought it and am very disappointed!! It's a shooter on rails which might not be bad but you have to have like a 90% score to progress every level. It gets old real quick replaying the same level 4 times... Pass.

Weekly Review? We'll see...
By CreganTur on 7/6/2009 10:48:51 AM , Rating: 2
Is this going to be like the regular Video Games Weekly Review you used to do that suddenly disappeared from the site?

Will we be getting more content then a rehash of the top 10 games each week?

"I modded down, down, down, and the flames went higher." -- Sven Olsen

Copyright 2015 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki