backtop


Print 66 comment(s) - last by testerguy.. on Jun 12 at 5:47 AM


Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1"
Tablet is Android's long awaited (true) answer to the iPad 2

South Korean gadget maker Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. (SEO:005930) was one of the first to deploy a major Android tablet, releasing the 7-inch Galaxy Tab.  The small tablet wasn't exactly the "iPad-slayer" the market had been waiting for, but it occupied a unique niche in the food chain.  Now Samsung is stepping up to the plate, releasing a 10.1" direct challenger to the iPad and looking to go strong, where past competitors like Motorola Mobility Solutions, Inc. (MMIstruggled.

surprisingly slick iPad 2 design forced Samsung back to the drawing board.  It responded by trimming over 2 mm off its design.  In its new form, the Galaxy Tab 10.1 is a mere 8.6 mm thick -- 0.2 mm less than the iPad 2.  And with 4G wireless connectivity, it weighs in at 595g -- 15 grams less than the iPad 2.

The tablet’s construction is also apparently high quality.  Referencing the "Limited Edition" test builds that Google handed out to attendees of its I/O developers conference Engadget writes:

The consumer model is a spitting image of the LE variant, save for the motif on the rear; the one you'll pick up this month has a glossy white plastic rear, while the LE model had a glossy white plastic rear... with an Android army adorning it. Weight's the same, size is the same, build quality is the same. It's a tremendous thing to hold, and it truly oozes quality from corner to corner.

PC World adds:

In my hands-on testing, the Tab 10.1 achieved perhaps the best design compliment an Android tablet could hope for--often being mistaken by passers-by (including Apple iPad users) for an iPad 2.

Engadget seems to be the only ones who benchmarked it thoroughly, thus far.  They say the tablet's 7000 mAh battery offers 10 hours of battery life when playing video at 65 percent brightness.  That's only 0.5 hour less than the iPad.

Both the iPad 2 and the Galaxy Tab 10.1" should be similar in processing power as both pack dual-core ARMv7 proprietary CPUs (ironically Samsung manufacturers and likely helped design the iPad 2's CPU).  The one advantage the Galaxy Tab 10.1" has is it packs 1 GB of DDR2 memory, versus a mere 512 MB in the iPad 2.

The 16 GB model is priced the same as the iPad 2 for the 16 GB model with Wi-Fi only -- $499 USD.  As with Apple a 32 GB model ("the one with the bigger GBs") is available for $599 USD.  And Verizon will be offering 4G-equipped models for $130 USD more than their respective Wi-Fi counterparts -- the same premium as with the iPad 2.

The Galaxy Tab carries a minor update to Honeycomb -- Android 3.1.

Engadget concludes:

[T]his is the best Honeycomb tablet to date, and lucky for you, the one's available to purchase! Only time will tell if the Android Market will prove to be as well-stocked as the App Store, and if you're willing to wait, this here slate provides a world-class Gmail experience, better handling than the iPad 2 (in our humble opinion, anyway) and a higher resolution display.

PCWorld chimes in:

Whether you go Wi-Fi only or opt for a connected version, the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 is the first Android tablet that makes a credible, and successful, run at competing with Apple's iPad 2. It matches iPad in most every way-design, price, and even that intangible IT factor. Where it falls short lies is in sacrificing ports, but that alone isn't a dealbreaker; heck, Apple's been doing that from the outset. Google's Android Market continues to make it more difficult to find tablet-optimized apps than Apple's App Store does, but again, that may not be a dealbreaker. If neither of those constraints phase you, then the Galaxy Tab 10.1 is one of the top tablets you can consider buying today. And it becomes the flagship Honeycomb tablet for showcasing what Android 3.1 can do.

Note, the reviews all around were much more positive than with the Motorola Xoom, and better even that the somewhat warmly received original Galaxy Tab (7-inch model).

Sounds like the wait was worth it -- Samsung may have a winner on its hands.  That would certainly be a godsend for the struggling Android tablet market.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Asus Transformer
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 6/8/2011 5:18:18 PM , Rating: 5
This thing might be iPad 2 thin and light, but the Asus Transformer is a far better bargain/versatile device IMHO at $100 less.




RE: Asus Transformer
By Mumrik on 6/8/2011 5:21:32 PM , Rating: 4
Yeah, I'm not sure how it's a big achievement to hit the same value as Apple.

An Android tablet should be better or cheaper. Let's not accept Apple's value standards as the norm.


RE: Asus Transformer
By omnicronx on 6/8/2011 5:50:32 PM , Rating: 4
quote:
An Android tablet should be better or cheaper. Let's not accept Apple's value standards as the norm.
Kind of a catch 22 isnt it though?

You want more features, but you think the cost for the manufacturer is going to be the same.

Clearly in order for others to best Apple, they are going to have to spend more doing so.

Many analysts have already noted that as it currently stands, pretty much all other manufacturers simply can't meet the same build quality at the same pricepoint with expanded features while still maintaining acceptable gross margins.

It makes absolutely no sense for manufacturers like Motorola whom have poor sales NOT to lower their pricing if they actually could.

Please remember this is not a Mac priced far above comparable PC's with similar build quality and superior components.


RE: Asus Transformer
By omnicronx on 6/8/2011 6:01:01 PM , Rating: 1
As for the transformer..

Great device, great idea, but sub par build quality in my opinion.. (which I'm sure is one of the reason the price is lower, when you use plastic for most things costs drop)


RE: Asus Transformer
By Peter544 on 6/8/2011 7:15:26 PM , Rating: 3
Being objective here, or as much as I can be.

I have used the iPad, iPad2, Samsung 7", the Xoom and ASUS Transformer.

What exactly is it that you think makes the transformer of lesser quality? It feels really solid, looks stylish, works good. If it was just another version of the iPad, people would pee all over themselves about its designer look...

I haven't seen the new Samsung (the 10"), so I can't comment on it compared to the ASUS, but otherwise the Transformer kills the other ones, IMO.


RE: Asus Transformer
By jvillaro on 6/8/2011 9:46:37 PM , Rating: 1
Well I was going to buy the Transformer but didn't because it was always out of stock. When it was available again in amazon I checked the reviews there and posts on XDA forums and there are too many negative reviews about the quality, too many hardware faults specially about the screen.


RE: Asus Transformer
By darkhawk1980 on 6/9/11, Rating: 0
RE: Asus Transformer
By Reclaimer77 on 6/8/2011 6:06:55 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Clearly in order for others to best Apple, they are going to have to spend more doing so.


Or they can pay Chinese next to nothing for doing it like Apple. Suicides? Explosions? No matter, gotta keep that profit margin up on our "quality" products...


RE: Asus Transformer
By themaster08 on 6/9/2011 3:00:54 AM , Rating: 2
RE: Asus Transformer
By mars2k on 6/9/2011 8:44:39 AM , Rating: 1
No they don’t have to spend more. They just have to find another Foxconn to work their employees to death even faster. Apple is the benchmark in so many ways.


RE: Asus Transformer
By B3an on 6/8/2011 8:11:03 PM , Rating: 4
quote:
Yeah, I'm not sure how it's a big achievement to hit the same value as Apple. An Android tablet should be better or cheaper. Let's not accept Apple's value standards as the norm.

....Wot?

It IS better:

Twice as much RAM.
Thinner and lighter.
Higher resolution display.
And a better Super PLS display at that. It offers even better viewing angles than IPS. PLS is a new Samsung display tech. For more info and comparisons see:
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-outs-Super-...


RE: Asus Transformer
By michael2k on 6/8/2011 11:35:09 PM , Rating: 2
It's also got a slower GPU, too.


RE: Asus Transformer
By KoolAidMan1 on 6/9/2011 4:08:58 AM , Rating: 2
The GPU is the big thing: http://www.anandtech.com/show/4225/the-ipad-2-revi...

It'll be a much more even playing field once the Tegra 3 tablets come out later this year, that and a selection of games made for Honeycomb that will take advantage of it.


RE: Asus Transformer
By robinthakur on 6/9/2011 5:27:30 AM , Rating: 3
The quality and number of games made for Honeycomb depend greatly upon whether Android tablets start selling in numbers to rival the iPad. You might have less hardware fragmentation of the market, but the cost of entry is high and Apple make selling of apps so much easier than on Android that it's a complete joke. A search company should be able to come up with a decent tool for searching their application store. In an ideal world, i'm sure most developers would prefer to develop for an opensource OS, but they all seem to develop for iOS instead as the primary platform despite Android now being in the lead and the reason for this is quite simple: They derive lots of revenue from the App Store and much less from the Android platform. People will always go where the money is and currently this means iOS.


RE: Asus Transformer
By robinthakur on 6/9/2011 6:00:04 AM , Rating: 1
Is the price better? It starts at $1150 in the UK, while the iPad is $655. This is a ridiculously high cost of entry, for a device with far less compatibility than the iPad.


RE: Asus Transformer
By robinthakur on 6/9/2011 5:18:25 AM , Rating: 3
This makes me laugh! The iPad originally was priced unbelievably low (far lower than analysts expectations) yet you seem to think that somehow a device from a manufacturer which does not control the environment from start to finish a la Apple and has higher specs is going to cost less than an iPad? It's not going to happen anytime soon because Samsung has watched Apple be unable to supply demand on the iPad2 (yes, still they are quoting a 2-3 week delivery time on the website) so clearly the market is interested in a tablet at this price point, but they just didn't go for the offerings on Android. They were reveiewed poorly and there wasn't the App support. One of those problems is fixed, the other is not quite there yet. The price will go down when the iPad 3 is released next March because there is no advantage to competing with Apple on price here for Samsung (or anyone else for that matter)

To be honest, even on the iPad the fact that not all apps are universal or have different versions for the iPad, by now is somewhat irritating, although there are enough iPad specific apps (65,000) like Pages, Numbers and Keynote as well as all the business software which make it usable for business now, not 6-12 months in the future when developers catch up. When I got bored of te standard apps and features of the iPad2 it was really handy to have all these Apps to hand, and I think without them, the device's functionality is significantly less than its potential.

Without this dimension, they are intriguing devices to kill time with, watching youTube, doing email, gaming, and browsing the web, but I would say there is a way to go before the Andoid tablets become as indispensible as the iPad for work and play, due to the lack of Apps in my experience.


RE: Asus Transformer
By Guspaz on 6/10/2011 1:01:23 PM , Rating: 2
Apple's values in hardware design are that it should have high build quality, an attractive but clean and simple design, and be as thin and light as they can make it. I don't see why every product should not try to hit these values. If you want the opposite of this, which would perhaps be a low quality build, heavy and bulky, unattractive or gaudy design, I don't think I want you designing my products!

People hate Apple for a lot of reasons, I don't think that their industrial design is generally one of them.


RE: Asus Transformer
By munky on 6/10/2011 1:33:58 PM , Rating: 2
You consider the defective antenna or glass back of iphone4 "high build quality?" Or the fact that you need itunes to do anything useful on it? Apple products are bough up by sheep who think "quality" is shiny packaging and a UI with flashy animations, dumbed down for the average Joe. That's not my definition of quality.


RE: Asus Transformer
By testerguy on 6/12/2011 5:20:15 AM , Rating: 2
Are you a moron?

Firstly - the 'defective antenna' - isn't defective. If you deliberately seek to hold the phone in a ridiculously obscure way (that nobody ever does) it can lose signal - but the reality is that the antenna works - and it works much better than the iPhone 3 antenna did. People who cry about the antenna are like people saying the phone doesn't work if you hold it on the power button. In other words, it's not an issue because YOU NEVER DO.

Secondly - At least with the Antenna Apple was trying to bring original elements of design - innovation, one of the main reasons they're so successful.

Thirdly - the iPhone 4 has the highest customer satisfaction ratings of any phone, ever. How could that be if the antenna didn't work? The reality is that insecure, irrational people desperate for reasons to hate Apple just jumped all over what is effectively a non-issue.

Fourthly - The glass back of the iPhone 4 DOES ooze high build quality, ABSOLUTELY. It's ridiculous to say anything else.

Fifthly - I don't know if you've seen, but you don't need iTunes anymore, you can sync and activate wirelessly - but even when you DID need iTunes, so what? It's free, takes 5 seconds to install and you don't have to deal with it again if you don't want to.

Sixthly - the GLOBAL recognition of the quality of the Apple engineering is a fact (even demonstrated from Samsung in this article) - packaging is completely irrelevant, as are the 'flashy' animations (which all phones have).

Seventhly? - You mistake 'dumbed down' with 'user friendly'. Who wants something to be unnecessarily complicated? Are you one of those original computer geeks who just wants to feel superior because you've wasted your life with nothing better to do than fiddle with computers, and hate that other people can now do anything they want too? I'm a very capable computer person, but I'm not so insecure to the point that I can't recognise something which is user friendly. In fact, EVERY company aims to develop user friendly products, so your 'dumbed down' comment is beyond ridiculous.


RE: Asus Transformer
By rburnham on 6/10/2011 3:57:07 PM , Rating: 2
Based on hardware specs alone, Android 3 tablets are better than the iPad 2.


RE: Asus Transformer
By testerguy on 6/12/2011 5:22:04 AM , Rating: 2
Based on 'How-Similar-Is-The-Brand-Name-To-Ford' test alone, Fords are better than Ferraris.


RE: Asus Transformer
By quiksilvr on 6/8/11, Rating: 0
RE: Asus Transformer
By B3an on 6/8/2011 8:00:27 PM , Rating: 1
You're wrong about point 1.

The Galaxy Tab 10.1 has the best display of any tablet. It has a Super PLS display, which is a newly developed Samsung display tech, it's better than IPS and has even better viewing angles.


RE: Asus Transformer
By mcnabney on 6/8/2011 9:45:38 PM , Rating: 3
I was wondering about PLS. I haven't seen PLS and IPS side by side yet. Hard to imagine viewing angles BETTER than IPS. To get any better you would need to see the screen from the back.

Still, no SD and no USB is a deal breaker. Sorry, don't want to be 100% dependent on a wireless technology to get data on or off the device.

Besides, Nvidia quads are coming soon.


RE: Asus Transformer
By piroroadkill on 6/9/2011 3:30:25 AM , Rating: 2
USB and SD are essential additions. Plus, yeah, how could you get better viewing angles than IPS? I have a Dell 2005wfp at home and there's no angle you could be at where the colour or backlight distorts in any way.
If you're at an angle where an IPS screen becomes distorted somehow, you probably can't even see the screen at all.


RE: Asus Transformer
By piroroadkill on 6/9/2011 3:31:22 AM , Rating: 2
Whoops, why do I always think that. It's a 2007wfp.


RE: Asus Transformer
By B3an on 6/9/2011 9:51:55 AM , Rating: 2
Sorry to break it to you piroroadkill but your Dell 2005FPW uses a S-PVA panel. And i had 3 of them monitors, and they certainly distort colours and got washed out at angles. Mostly the colours get more dull/washed out than anything else. I now have two 30" IPS monitors, and colours get washed out too, just not as much. All IPS displays do it.

I think both of you simply need to use a Samsung Super AMOLED+ display of a Super PLA display. Then you'll realise that these IPS and especially PVA displays are not all that good on viewing angles. Even a good Plasma TV would put them to shame.

Heres some comparisons against PLS...
http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsung-outs-Super-...


RE: Asus Transformer
By robinthakur on 6/9/2011 5:40:39 AM , Rating: 2
Right, so you're going to wait to purchase an Android tablet now they finally have something that is on a vaguely similar level to the iPad2 (barring App support)? You had better hope that everyone doesn't think like that, or Samsung aren't going to sell many...The problem in the market thus far is of stability and those people who don't already own an ipad1/2 dissing the iPad whilst not actually putting their money where their mouth is and buying an Android.

The general public doesn't want to buy a product when a better one will be out in the next month or two. Nor do they want to buy a product that is seen as an 'iPad2-killer' me-too, almost-as-good device because this still makes it clear that the iPad is the standard which everybody else is buying and is pretty much the same price. The exact same thing happened with the iPhone back in the day. "iPhone killer" was shorthand for "disappointing execution, poor sales", and it stayed like that until the HTC Desire/Droid came out.

This applies to Apple as much as anyone else which is why each product has a life of at least 1 year on the market to establish itself. I feel sorry for those that paid a similar price of entry to the iPad2, for either the Blackberry Playbook or the Motorola Xoom, because they have been left in the dust holding lemons (especially the BBPB which has been an unmitigated disaster)


RE: Asus Transformer
By The0ne on 6/9/2011 12:12:15 AM , Rating: 2
Better viewing angles like using and watching the device from the side? Yea, it's awesome doing that. I'll wait for a 99.9% viewing angle device myself.


RE: Asus Transformer
By Gungel on 6/9/2011 1:34:22 PM , Rating: 2
Super PLS got issues too. Its brightness uniformity is pretty bad compared to e-IPS panels. See review:
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/monitors/display/...


RE: Asus Transformer
By B3an on 6/9/2011 3:49:08 PM , Rating: 1
Nothing to do with PLS. Thats an issue with the backlight on that particular monitor they are reviewing. That same problem exists on some IPS panels because it's nothing to do with the display tech and totally to do with how well the monitor has been made/designed.


RE: Asus Transformer
By rudy on 6/9/2011 11:22:35 PM , Rating: 2
Are you sure it is PLS, first of all PLS has not yet out done IPS, only samsung claims that but until we see alot of them come out and get good analysis we do not know that. People were saying VA panels would do that at various times, it never panned out.

Second to me the way samsung could crush everyone is get the super AMOLED screens in there. I know someone with a galaxy S and nothing touches those screens.


ASUS Transformer a much better choice
By Peter544 on 6/8/2011 5:46:47 PM , Rating: 3
Whoa. "the best Honeycomb tablet to date" ???

Do excuse me, but look at ASUS Transformer that came out just about a month ago (if you can find it in stock anywhere, that is).

$399 for the same tech specs

Much *MUCH* better overall design.

W/removable keyboard ($125), 16hr battery, SD card (as well as mSD) slots (so you can unload your digital camera photos, etc.), USB ports for mouse (should you choose to use it as a laptop), etc.

No wonder they sell out everywhere within hours - even Amazon has had problems with keeping them in stock since it came out about a month ago. People buy them up and resell them for more...

Plus, if Samsung sucks like it did with the Samsung Android phones - needing some kitchy BS software to "sync", then that would make it that much worse of an option.

Don't get me wrong. I love Samsung as a company and they do make the best TVs, but let's not over-hype this particular device over all others.

Still - it's better than Apple, anything Apple. Apple is frickin CREEPY anymore.




RE: ASUS Transformer a much better choice
By GTVic on 6/8/11, Rating: 0
RE: ASUS Transformer a much better choice
By Peter544 on 6/8/2011 7:07:02 PM , Rating: 2
Are you serious? You think that objecting and rejecting Apple's walled garden, our way or the highway, customer is too stupid to know or be able to decide on things is invalidation of other arguments and takes away from credibility?

In May of 2011, when there were two huge waves of infected Macs coming to the Genius Bars everywhere, Steve Jobs issued the following orders to his minions via email: "DO NOT CONFIRM INFECTION EVEN IF IT IS OBVIOUS. DENY, DENY, DENY." Look it up on Google, search for "mac infection denial".

Apple sticks it to its customers, overcharges for any and all iKnickKnacks, doubles and triples prices of third party parts in their computers during upgrades and repairs, depends on cult of personality and generally abuses people's ignorance.

For wanting to avoid that you think one has zero credibility?

Does this describe Apple?
A system of religious veneration and devotion directed toward a particular figure or object.

Disclosure: I have to have a Mac, I have had a Mac (along with other PCs) because of my work since 1984 and owned an Apple ][ before that. Lately they do make the hair in the back of my head stand in attention.


By sprockkets on 6/8/2011 8:48:26 PM , Rating: 4
By testerguy on 6/12/2011 5:35:45 AM , Rating: 2
erm, are you serious?

'Apple's walled garden, our way or the highway, customer is too stupid to know or be able to decide on things'

What the **** are you on about? They offer more user friendly, higher quality products, with more applications and consequently greater functionality, than any other company. How do I not get to decide what I do with my iPhone? Seriously. What a ridiculously blind, ignorant comment. The first post was right when they said your credibility is completely shot.

Your assertation of 'Deny Deny Deny' and 'reliable source' of suggesting we google it - is also beyond ridiculous. Labelling company associates as 'minions' is also ridiculously immature and pathetic. No successful businessman, anywhere in life, would have such a sad, pathetic 'evil' hatred of a COMPANY. It's seriously sad, you have issues.

You say: 'Apple sticks it to its customers, overcharges for any and all iKnickKnacks, doubles and triples prices of third party parts in their computers during upgrades and repairs, depends on cult of personality and generally abuses people's ignorance.'

1 - 'Sticks it to it's customers' - You mean in achieving the highest levels of customer satisfaction of any company? Right.... those customers just didn't see it coming?

2 - 'Overcharges for any and all' - Do you have any knowledge of business, whatsoever? If you did, you would know that VALUE is driven by SUPPLY AND DEMAND. The iPhone 4 and the iPad 2 are both the best selling devices, EVER, in their category. The market has spoken, and BY DEFINITION, proved that they cannot be overpriced. If they were, they wouldn't have been best sellers.

3 - 'doubles and triples prices of third party parts in their computers during upgrades and repairs' - Yeah, it's crazy. I mean this company, is actually selling stuff, and trying to make a profit out of it. IT IS OUTRAGEOUS! Satan's minions at work again. Thank god that no other technology company aims to make a profit, what would the world come to? YOU IDIOT, LOL!

4 - 'depends on cult of personality and generally abuses people's ignorance' - The reason they have a 'cult' following, or as us intelligent people refer to it, a 'well respected and established brand name' is because of their continual ability to produce products, which, especially recently, such as the iPhone 4, iPad, iPad 2, Macbook Air - have ALL been WIDELY REVIEWED by INDEPENDENT websites / magazines / institutions to be THE BEST at the time they were released. That's what Apple depends on. Why that causes a massive bunch of lonely, insecure freaks like you to describe them as Evil, is beyond me, but seriously - you've got issues.


By ApfDaMan on 6/9/2011 5:56:23 AM , Rating: 2
Well i would say its a better design, but not much much better.

also they are in short supply asus is having production issues. but also because they are very good. =)

its a hard choice between the two... id probably go for the samsung objectively, but i like the asus brand better.


By vision33r on 6/8/2011 9:53:43 PM , Rating: 1
For a tablet to succeed you need great apps and software support. Apple has a lock in the tablet space right now because nobody can match their app inventory, quality, ability to release timely software updates, accessories ecosystem, and ease of use.

With iOS 5 coming in the Fall, people will be flocking over for iPads again while Google will have to wrestle with another catch-up update to Honeycomb.

Notice any time Google makes a 1/2 major release it takes vendors 6 months to 1 year to apply the update.

If the Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 is stuck with Honeycomb 3.1 for another 6 month+ it will show up heavily discounted just like the current Galaxy Tab going for 1/2 original price.

By then, iPad 2 will have iOS5 and all the new cloud features.




By bplewis24 on 6/9/2011 1:42:38 PM , Rating: 2
What world are you living in? Android has a comparable market. They have comparable quality apps. Timely software updates? Honeycomb (a tablet-specific OS, unlike anything on iOS) has already been updated to 3.1 and these new tablets are shipping with it. Ease of use? Call me when you've actually used a tablet specific OS that is easier to use than Honeycomb. And yes, consumer electronics manufacturers like Samsung & Toshiba know all too well how important the accessory ecosystem is, which is why they are specifically promoting all of their accessories with their product launches.

It's great that the iPad2 will have iOS5 and all cloud features in a few months. Honeycomb has all that stuff NOW.

Wake me when you enter 2011.

Brandon


By Tony Swash on 6/9/2011 2:31:30 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
What world are you living in? Android has a comparable market. They have comparable quality apps.


Does it? How many Android tablet optimised apps are there? You may think blowing up phone apps to a bigger screen is OK I suspect consumers will be more discerning.

quote:
Timely software updates? Honeycomb (a tablet-specific OS, unlike anything on iOS) has already been updated to 3.1 and these new tablets are shipping with it.


Android device makers do not have a great track record at updating the OS.

quote:
Ease of use? Call me when you've actually used a tablet specific OS that is easier to use than Honeycomb.


The point is about the familiarity of the OS. Millions of iPhone users can move instantly to an iPad and know how to work the UI, that is not true of Android handset users.

quote:
And yes, consumer electronics manufacturers like Samsung & Toshiba know all too well how important the accessory ecosystem is, which is why they are specifically promoting all of their accessories with their product launches.


I think you find that i-device accessories vastly out number the quantity available for any given Android device.

quote:
It's great that the iPad2 will have iOS5 and all cloud features in a few months. Honeycomb has all that stuff NOW.


Will it? Can you do the following. Take a photo on an Android handset and with out doing anything else (literally nothing, no buttons to click, nothing) have that photo appear simultaneously on your tablet and your desktop computer? Pretending that Google offers something that is the equivalent of iCloud now is simply not true, I bet Google don't think that and I bet they are scrambling right now to catch up. It will be a complex thing to do because they don't control the device and software stack.

Wait and see what the iOS developer community offers on iCloud, the single most important slide in the WWDC keynote was the one that said 'iCloud APIs". Google's cloud solutions are closed - Google is a very closed company that likes to use 'open' as part of it's PR offensive.

Personally I don't think that Google cares very much about tablets. Their only motivation is to ensure access to data about people so they can sell advertising. Android handset help them counter the iPhone (where people are using Google search a lot less) but the iPad is less of a threat because people use Google to search on it a lot more. I think a bigger competitive threat to Apple will come from the Amazon tablet (if it's real and reasonably well done) because Amazon can offer the inter grated content provision that Google cannot.


By SPOOFE on 6/9/2011 8:26:37 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
I think you find that i-device accessories vastly out number the quantity available for any given Android device.

Good point, but how many of those accessories are due to Apple's exclusion of various ports, like SD or USB? I think "needs lots of accessories" is not exactly a good selling point...


By smackababy on 6/10/2011 8:31:35 AM , Rating: 2
Considering having accessory choice is a very good selling point, Android simply is outclassed. How many car mounts are there for the EVO? None, you have to buy a universal that may or may not work. That is stupid.


hmmm
By kleinma on 6/8/2011 5:34:44 PM , Rating: 3
So its 730 bucks for the 32GB version with Verizon 4G (plus 4G monthly data package fees) ??

All for something that can't really replace a laptop for doing most levels of serious work.

Still too rich for my blood. Let me know when verizon is subsidizing these things like they do phones and selling them for 400 bucks. Till then I will stick with my 6 year old laptop upgraded with an SSD that is still faster than these things.

Funny how apparently no one has jobs and we are in a double dip recession, with record unemployment, but 700 dollar tablets sell like hot cakes so people can play angry birds and watch netflix... is there what people are spending their unemployment checks on???




RE: hmmm
By Quadrillity on 6/8/2011 5:42:20 PM , Rating: 3
quote:
is that what people are spending their unemployment checks on???


The answer to your question: Yes


RE: hmmm
By phantom505 on 6/8/2011 5:48:48 PM , Rating: 2
I'm pretty sure unemployment checks are getting spent on rent. The surge of Chinese kidney's is for tablets.


copycat
By hexxthalion on 6/9/2011 9:10:37 AM , Rating: 1
looks like an iPad copycat, c'mon apple haters, bury me alive :) it's still just a copycat, nothing else




RE: copycat
By Belard on 6/9/2011 5:56:03 PM , Rating: 2
There isn't a whole lot you can do with a tablet formfactor, other than how thick, texture and the software.

Go to an office supply store, there are dozens of versions of white paper... as they all do the same thing.

The Galaxy doesn't look like an iPad from the back.

Also, to me... its not the thickness that matters. I have the very thin Galaxy phone. Its how the product feels and proper weight. I had a very small thin SONY phone that I HATED... Can't hold it any way other than a girlie-man. Its plastic fake cover breaks off easily, crap like that.

I'd take a thicker phone if it has a better grip, easier to find buttons, etc.

Samsung Galaxy can still be ho-hum without proper software support.


RE: copycat
By rburnham on 6/10/2011 3:59:42 PM , Rating: 2
Except that it is not.


RE: copycat
By testerguy on 6/12/2011 5:42:06 AM , Rating: 2
.... except that it is, with even Samsung admitting they had to redesign it to be more like the iPad.

Hate apple all you like ,but at least use your brain.


Asus Transformer - Where's the 3G/4G
By WhyJohn on 6/8/2011 6:22:14 PM , Rating: 2
I would get an Asus Transformer over any other Tab in a heartbeat, except for one crucial missing component. 3G/4G. YES, I will gladly pay for an extra monthly data plan.

I will give up a keyboard/dock/hdmi for the ability to use this thing on the road.

So don't bash Samsung. At least they've done their homework and stepped up to the plate with all three models - 16GB wifi, 32GB wifi, and 4G.

What's the release date for the 3G Transformer? Rumored - Q3/Q4... F that!




By Ralos on 6/8/2011 6:39:38 PM , Rating: 2
If you've already got a phone with a data plan, just pair it with it and you're done. That's what I'm doing. Transformer + iPhone 3GS; sharing the connection using Bluetooth.

And then I can even make the Transformer into a WiFi hotspot.

My phone is never far from me, so even if the 3G/4G was available, I wouldn't have paid for it and an extra data plan, no thanks.


DDR2?
By bug77 on 6/8/2011 6:50:24 PM , Rating: 2
I may be nit picking here, but why DDR2? It uses more power than DDR3, which is dirt cheap these days (I got 8GB just because 4GB were embarrassingly cheap). I thought portables are sensitive to power consumption.




RE: DDR2?
By silverblue on 6/9/2011 8:20:20 AM , Rating: 2
You're thinking of traditional computer memory. I'm not sure LPDDR3 exists for ultraportables.


bad idea matching price
By wired00 on 6/8/2011 7:26:52 PM , Rating: 2
I think its a bad idea to match the price of the ipad2. It will turn people away. its the same marketing idea of a shop full of (too) many flavours of ice cream. A person walks in, is overwhelmed and leaves without buying anything. Whereas, if the customer only has a selection of strawberry, vanilla and chocolate they will be less overwhelmed ... and buy thinking they made a good choice.

With this situation people will become confronted with two devices priced the same. One company basically claiming it has everything the competitor has but at the same price(!).

People will only be confused and hold off till either a price drop happens or a new clearly better solution becomes available. There is no better solution so why go with either? People like making the right choice but samsung seems to think 2 "right choices" is good for the market?




RE: bad idea matching price
By Belegost on 6/8/2011 9:17:48 PM , Rating: 2
Sure seems like plenty of people go to Baskin Robbins and Cold Stone and pick a flavor out of whole bunch with no problems...

It's this little factor called taste. Some people prefer vanilla, others really need to have chocolate chip cookie dough.

The difference between Android and iOS is quite a bit, and users will tend to discriminate on taste.


Shame
By Raiders12 on 6/9/2011 8:43:45 AM , Rating: 2
Its just a shame that no matter how technologically advanced or similar any tablet or personal device is compared to an Apple product, it simply won't sell as well. Apple is too embedded in the mainstream hipster/cool kid/mom/dad/dog/cat crowd. I for one research and purchase/build my computers and seek out better alternatives than Apple. This tablet is quite intriguing though.




RE: Shame
By Tony Swash on 6/9/2011 12:52:23 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Its just a shame that no matter how technologically advanced or similar any tablet or personal device is compared to an Apple product, it simply won't sell as well. Apple is too embedded in the mainstream hipster/cool kid/mom/dad/dog/cat crowd. I for one research and purchase/build my computers and seek out better alternatives than Apple. This tablet is quite intriguing though.


Let's think about that for a moment.

On the technical front see my previous comment but to reiterate: tech specs don't matter. What matters is discernible advantage or disadvantage to the consumer. So if any given 'superior' technical component or spec actually results in no real world advantage then normal consumers see no advantage in having it.

You mention products being similar, I assume you mean technically similar - made from similar components, similar in size and weight etc. But again you need to look at this from the consumer point of view and ask what is similar, what is best, what is better. A typical consumer might ask the following sort of reasonable questions about a tablet:

How many tablet optimised apps does it have right now?

How polished is the OS and UI?

How familiar is the OS and UI - is it just like my iPhone or Android handset UI?

Where can I go to meet some helpful retail staff that will let me play with the tablet and patiently and knowledgeably answer my questions?

Can I just import all my music and media content from my iTunes library into this tablet?

If I have bought music from the iTunes store how easy is it to get that music onto the new tablet?

Is it easy to connect this thing to my Mac or PC and sync my data?

And here are questions that will be asked once iCloud, Lion and iOS5 are all released in September:

If I take some photos on my iPhone or Android will they just appear on this tablet without me doing anything?

If I edit a document on this tablet will my edits just appear on the copy on my iPhone or Android handset without me doing anything?

If you pose such questions, reasonable questions that a normal sort of consumer would pose, you realise that although it possible to get a positive answer on many of them for the Android tablet not all answers are good (very few tablet optimised apps for example) and some require the consumer to work too hard, to know too much, to wrestle with too many technical complexities. Getting stuff out of iTunes and across to an Android tablet, buying new content, getting you photos from your tablet to your handset. All these things can be done but doing them with an Android tablet is just so much more kludgy than doing them with i-devices. And that's not a surprise, it's the result of Apple's very specific integrated design philosophy where it controls all levels of the value and function stack and it ensures they all work together very well.

It will be interesting to see how Android (and other non-iOS tablets) sell. Without the vested interest of the well established mobile operator channels they may find it harder than selling Android handsets. Time will tell.


Two products, two buyers
By Chaser on 6/9/2011 12:47:08 PM , Rating: 2
First of all a lot more people "need" a phone than a tablet.

One reason Android smartphones appeal to more tech savoy types is because it's more open than IOS. i.e. no iTunes needed software layers needed or ridiculous "music library" interference to simply copy music to an Android phone. And there are plenty of other legit examples.

However those same Android enthusiasts are a little more cautious about the "need" for a tablet.

Where the Apple faithful will splurge on a matching iPad because just like their "tech darling" iPhones, they want the newest show off device for their airline flight/airport layovers.

The application factor is also very significant. As Android is if anything noticably behind on tablet optimized apps.

I personally have a rooted Color Nook which suits my needs nicely.




RE: Two products, two buyers
By testerguy on 6/12/2011 5:47:04 AM , Rating: 2
... or maybe they buy an iPad because, as confirmed by almost every independent review site there IS, it's the best tablet - offering the best user interface, the most dedicated apps along with excellent battery life and usability.

You don't have to be an 'Apple faithful' to buy an Apple product - you just have to move past the ignorance of assuming that because it's popular, everyone is buying it to 'show off'.


By mosu on 6/8/2011 5:23:51 PM , Rating: 2
I'm waiting for it at local carriers, had enough of cheap PRC copies




By ScotterQX6700 on 6/8/2011 6:43:36 PM , Rating: 2
"The one advantage the Galaxy Tab 10.1" has is it packs 1 GB of DDR2 memory, versus a mere 512 MB in the iPad 2."

You forgot screen resolution. Much higher on the Galaxy Tab. The iPad 2 kept the same rez as the iPad.




Funny
By bplewis24 on 6/8/2011 7:02:02 PM , Rating: 2
Just goes to show how subjective all of these "expert" reviewers are. It has almost the exact same software, but in a thinner and lighter form factor, and it's a hit. But on competing devices, all they wrote about was how bad the software was.

Is it all of a sudden great software? No, the reality was it was already great to begin with (albeit rough in some edges). The reality is that this is just another form factor on the market for the ergonomic-centric folks. People who prioritize functionality in the way of additional ports or expandability may go elsewhere... still the same great software.

Brandon




Competition...
By jrs77 on 6/9/2011 1:35:35 PM , Rating: 2
Call me again, when there's a tablet with 4G at $500 or less, then I'll be interested. Where I'm living there's unlimited 4G-contracts available for $20/month so this is the major-point really, to have a device I can surf with wherever I go.

Currently there's no point in buying anything else then an iPad2, aslong as the competitions 4G-models are priced the same. The iPad2 simply works like a treat and has a grown up OS that perfectly matches the hardware.

And for those who want to tell me about the closed garden... well... All I need on a tablet is a browser, a mediaplayer and an App for painting like Brushes or Sketchbook. I don't even need a USB-plug on that thing aslong as I can transfer files to/from other machines via WiFi or 4G.




4G
By rburnham on 6/10/2011 4:01:15 PM , Rating: 2
So this thing has 4G and we are still waiting on Motorola to roll out the free 4G upgrades on the Xoom? Not to mention that SD card slot just waiting to be turned on. Motorola, what is the hold up?




"There's no chance that the iPhone is going to get any significant market share. No chance." -- Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki