backtop


Print 21 comment(s) - last by Kurz.. on Jul 7 at 9:53 PM


Renault DeZir Concept

Renault DeZir Interior Mock Up  (Source: Autoblog)
Car has 100 mile driving range and crazy yin/yang gull wing doors

Car shows and concept cars go together like peanut butter and jelly. Many of the concept cars that are unveiled at shows today are electric or hybrid vehicles that take advantage of green construction and propulsion systems.

Renault is set to unveil its cool DeZir concept car in Paris this fall. The car is a low slung, sexy little number with an all-electric drive train and gull wing doors. The car uses the same battery pack found in the Nissan Leaf EV reports 
Autoblog. The car also gets roughly the same 100 mile driving range on all electric propulsion.

The battery pack in the DeZir is vertically mounted behind the pair of seats inside the car. It is a 24 kilowatt-hour lithium-ion unit and it is configured for quick replacement. The Renault concept is much lighter than the Leaf with a weight of 1,830 pounds. 
Green Car Congress reports that the power rating is 148 hp with 167 lb/ft of torque. The low weight and power output of the electric motor combine for a 0-60 time of about five seconds flat.

In addition to lightweight, the DeZir is also designed for low drag with a drag coefficient of 0.25.

The car uses the suspension design that Renault uses in its Megane Trophy racer, which is a double wishbone arrangement. The body panels of the car are made from Kevlar and the frame is made from tubular steel.

"DeZir is a statement of our new formal design language which conveys notions such as movement, sensuality and emotion through ideal proportions, in much the same way as an object whose forms have been honed by nature. The result is a warm, stimulating design that says 'Renault'," explains Axel Breun, Renault's Director of Concept Car and Show Car Design.

Recharging the battery pack via a normal plug at home takes eight hours; a 400V three-phase charger can fill the battery to 80% in 20 minutes.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Sweet.
By Motoman on 7/6/10, Rating: 0
RE: Sweet.
By Reclaimer77 on 7/6/10, Rating: -1
RE: Sweet.
By amanojaku on 7/6/2010 11:31:05 AM , Rating: 2
Look at the HP; that's not a $1M car. It's more like $40-50K at 148HP. This car is basically a Lotus Elise, with low HP and weight (1830lb, or 830kg). You fell for the old marketing tactic of "looks implies performance".


RE: Sweet.
By Lugaidster on 7/6/2010 11:37:30 AM , Rating: 2
I'll have to agree on the fact that it probably won't cost $1M but not 40-50K either. It may be a Lotus Elise but it's still electric so it'll be expensive.


RE: Sweet.
By amanojaku on 7/6/2010 12:10:26 PM , Rating: 3
No? Compare it to the Tesla Roadster:

Roadster
288HP, 14K RPM
273, 295 ft-lb (standard, sport)
1235kg
$110,000 (before tax credit)

DeZir Concept
148HP
167 ft-lb
830kg

My estimate is $50K base. The specs and performance are around 50% better than the Nissan LEAF, and that starts at $35K ($35K*1.5 = $52.5K). Tesla announced the Model S that starts at $57K, but it's over twice as heavy as the DeZir. There's a lot of mass in there that doesn't exist in the DeZir, so after subtracting materials (whatever they are) $50K sounds about right. This isn't a high-performance muscle car, this is a descent (read "not awesome") sports car.


RE: Sweet.
By lelias2k on 7/6/2010 3:23:39 PM , Rating: 2
The only problem with your calculation is that it doesn't take in account the fact that this concept is built using kevlar. :)

But that's a moot point as this concept will never reach the market.


RE: Sweet.
By w1z4rd on 7/7/2010 12:17:41 AM , Rating: 2
pity that too - this is one of the better concept cars i've seen around


RE: Sweet.
By bobsmith1492 on 7/6/2010 11:46:03 AM , Rating: 2
Perhaps the maximum HP is low but with an electric motor you get loads of torque at all RPMs...


RE: Sweet.
By Motoman on 7/6/2010 11:50:08 AM , Rating: 3
...what in the world are you smoking? The HP of a vehicle is an awful indicator of what it's going to cost. How you try to make that connection is beyond me.

Besides, I was using the "million dollars" as a snide comment to refer to the fact that, whatever the cost might be, it will be absurd.

I can assure you, that if such a car made it to production, it sure as hell wouldn't be $50k.


RE: Sweet.
By mmcdonalataocdotgov on 7/6/2010 12:37:01 PM , Rating: 2
Until it comes to market, it is vaporware, so even $1M won't get you a real copy of this drawing. In the meantime, to save that $50 a week, take the bus.


RE: Sweet.
By Motoman on 7/6/10, Rating: 0
RE: Sweet.
By JediJeb on 7/7/2010 12:27:59 AM , Rating: 2
Oh that makes me laugh. The only bus that runs within 40 miles of me is yellow and has flashing red lights on it. It is amazing how people just believe that there are buses and other forms of mass transit everywhere.


RE: Sweet.
By wushuktl on 7/6/2010 12:40:35 PM , Rating: 2
why do comments like these still come up? what new growing technology has ever come out cheap? if your first inclination is to stop all development of new technology that costs more than what the common consumer can afford, then what technology would we have at all?


RE: Sweet.
By JediJeb on 7/7/2010 2:32:14 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
...so for about a million dollars I can save $50 a week on gas. Sold!


I just love how so many people can take what is obviously a joke and trash you for not being able to figure out the true cost of the vehicle versus savings in gas!

I read it and completely understood the sarcasm of how people are so willing to run out and drop a ton of money on something that will "save them money on gas" without ever figuring out the upfront cost is never paid back by the "energy savings". For those people I have a bunch of dimes I will let you save for the very small price of a dollar each.


past weakness
By manofhorn on 7/6/2010 12:07:59 PM , Rating: 2
this concept does seem to fix several weaknesses in the past/present electric cars.

having a replaceable battery makes it possible to buy a backup for use when you have no time to recharge the one in use. yes, i know the pack probably costs thousands of dollars, but it's now a possibility for those who need it.

dealing with the same issue is the quick charge. i don't know if past/present evs are already able to do this, but not being able to simply and quickly fill up when the "tank" is empty is a major deterrent for me.

if the weight reduction is feasible for the consumer ev price point then that's an easy way to increase ev viability all around. (except safety, i suppose. but that could be managed, i bet.)

despite the radical styling that will never make it to the streets, i think several things from this concept could be implemented to great effect in production vehicles.




RE: past weakness
By teflonbilly on 7/6/2010 12:57:27 PM , Rating: 2
Well they do have the 3 phase charger that charges the car 80% in 20 minutes. That to me is pretty good. Get home, plug int he car, drop your stuff off, and grab a bite to eat, turn around and head out the door. You have another 80 miles in the battery. thats pretty good.
I think if they were to include the charger with the car you would suddenly see a much more usable system since charging from the wall is impractical. The quick charge system could even be set up at gas stations to allow for faster charging on longer trips, though its still longer than a regular fill up, 20 minutes is not too bad.


RE: past weakness
By JediJeb on 7/7/2010 12:36:25 AM , Rating: 2
That is if you live where 3 phase electricity is available. Most residential areas do not have that possibility. Also if you have to get it run any distance to your house the cost of having the electric company run the lines and have the service installed would cost more than the car itself. We bought a piece of equipment for our lab a few years ago that was 3 phase and at the time we were in the middle of town and the nearest 3 phase lines were a few blocks away. The power company wanted to charge us about $10k just to run the lines over a few blocks. Had to purchase an inverter to convert 220v single phase to 220v 3 phase and that thing wasn't much cheaper. I don't think we could have even gotten the 430v mentioned in the article that the fast charger needed without major power line rerouting. That fast charger would only be for premium charging stations on a commercial scale at best.


RE: past weakness
By ayat101 on 7/7/2010 7:36:59 AM , Rating: 2
Well... don't know where you live, but in Aus, in my parents' house 3 phase power was necessary for central air conditioning, not lab equipment. It was a pretty standard request to the power company in a RESIDENTIAL SUBURB... no city blocks to cross, etc. It cost a little extra for the connection, but it was not outrageously expensive. So, again, I am not sure what you are talking about.


Transmission?
By Lugaidster on 7/6/2010 11:22:28 AM , Rating: 2
I saw no mention to the transmission in this car. Does it have a gearbox? or is it like the tesla roadster?




RE: Transmission?
By Kurz on 7/7/2010 9:53:22 PM , Rating: 2
Telsa Roadster had or has 2 gear transmission.
They just force it in 2 gear I think.


“Then they pop up and say ‘Hello, surprise! Give us your money or we will shut you down!' Screw them. Seriously, screw them. You can quote me on that.” -- Newegg Chief Legal Officer Lee Cheng referencing patent trolls














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki