backtop


Print E-mail del.icio.us 33 comment(s) - last by Elementalism.. on Apr 18 at 9:36 AM

Psystar shaping up to be totally bogus, infuriating

There are few topics in the tech world that will simultaneously rally hoards of rabid fans and gaggles of haters at the same than talk of Mac computers. Such has been the case this week with a company called Psystar announcing that it would offer a Mac clone for only $399.

This low price tag got some Mac fans excited, but a chink in the armor quickly surfaced when Apple’s legal team found a problem in the EULA for its OS X operating system that was offered for pre-install on the Psystar machines. The little phrase that started all the fuss was “This License allows you to install, use and run one (1) copy of the Apple Software on a single Apple-labeled computer at a time.”

Clearly the Psystar machines aren’t Apple labeled.

This is the point in the Psystar saga takes a turn for the worst. The company website had an address changed in the middle of the day. Gizmodo reports that the first address listed on the company’s website was a single story residence that didn’t appear to be a business. The second address listed on the Psystar website turned out to be the location of a company called USA Koen Pack. According to Gizmodo the manager of USA Koen Pack says it has been at that address for two years.

To compound the problems, Engadget reports that Psystar has issues with licensing from more than just Apple. Psystar allegedly didn’t get permission from developers working on the OSx86 project to use their work. The developer of the EFI emulator used by Psystar, Netkas, went so far as to call Psystar "liars," and that its code is released specifically with the caveat that it can’t be used for commercial purposes.

The drama continues with Engadget saying that it called Psystar and the company president, Rudy Pedraza, asked Engadget to have Netkas call him -- he did not know their contact information. Pedraza later denied using the EFI emulator altogether.

To call Psystar suspect at this point would be a serious understatement.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

April Fools...?
By bplewis24 on 4/16/2008 3:12:58 PM , Rating: 2
Looks like somebody went way too far in an April Fool's Joke attempt :|

Okay, but seriously. This thing is shaping up to have about as much credibility as a joke if this article is accurate.

Brandon




RE: April Fools...?
By das mod on 4/16/2008 3:21:09 PM , Rating: 6
i actually wouldn't be too surprised
if psystar partnered with the atom
chip corporation
http://www.atomchip.com/
to build the ultimate
super mega ubber macos clone


RE: April Fools...?
By Desslok on 4/16/2008 3:36:26 PM , Rating: 2
WOW! That website is top notch!


RE: April Fools...?
By 306maxi on 4/16/2008 3:44:40 PM , Rating: 2
How dare you slur the good name of atomchip! They've got a bulgarian oscar for their work and got an award from the world genius convention! Shame on you! Shame!!!!!!!

Great hoax site though!


RE: April Fools...?
By AstroCreep on 4/16/2008 3:54:31 PM , Rating: 5
Yes, the website's quality is only rivaled by their top-notch Photoshopping skills.


RE: April Fools...?
By amanojaku on 4/16/2008 3:38:35 PM , Rating: 2
A storage device with a free space display? The idea makes sense, but it completely ruins the credibility of this "Quantum-Optical" storage device.

Oh, wait, it HAD no credibility. I love how the company and device logos are photoshoped in.


RE: April Fools...?
By Basilisk on 4/16/2008 6:30:04 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
A storage device with a free space display? The idea makes sense, but it completely ruins the credibility of this "Quantum-Optical" storage device.

So... the Corsair Flash Readout(*) lacks credibility too? Better give them a call!!! :) [NOT that I give the Atom' any more credibility than I give Nigerian businessmen offering great investment opportunities.]

* - http://www.corsairmemory.com/news/press_release.as...


RE: April Fools...?
By Ryanman on 4/16/2008 3:44:52 PM , Rating: 2
aww someone downrated you after I put you up to a three. That website really is a find: I laughed for 20 minutes solid about all of that. I plan to contact their sales department with a thousand dollar order of their solar RAM


RE: April Fools...?
By Phynaz on 4/16/2008 3:33:24 PM , Rating: 4
Yeah, but boy does Dailytech ever get the pageviews from the Apple haters!

Ad revenue is where it's at!


Michaels Computers
By bobobeastie on 4/16/2008 4:43:01 PM , Rating: 2
Is anyone else reminded about the whole Toms Hardware expose on Michaels Computers a couple of years ago? I can't find the article, but http://michaelscomputers.com/ still exists and is still pretty funny, assuming you don't know someone who just gave them your credit card number.

Heres a good one:
quote:
VERIFIED - FASTEST Computers 2008!! Scored 5 PERFORMANCE POINTS HIGHER then DELL or HP! CRYSIS Played at HIGHEST detail levels! PureVideo Blu-Ray & HD Optimized & Installed and EXCLUSIVE 4GB PATRIOT PATRIOT MEMORY!


The vista scores only go up to 5.9, so I guess Dell and HP are selling Pentium 3's. They also constantly "borrow" awards from legitimate publications for the parts they use and make it look like their computer was actually reviewed.




RE: Michaels Computers
By StormEffect on 4/16/2008 5:10:53 PM , Rating: 2
I feel violated after clicking that link.


RE: Michaels Computers
By onelittleindian on 4/16/2008 5:45:52 PM , Rating: 5
quote:
and is still pretty funny, assuming you don't know someone who just gave them your credit card number.
Give them your ex-wife's card number and it's still funny!


RE: Michaels Computers
By jtemplin on 4/16/2008 6:48:35 PM , Rating: 3
Oh wow. That site was hilarious. Michaels doesn't just want to scam you, they want take you for the ride of your life and get you for every cent your worth...because you just bought the biggest load of shit.
Highlights include:
quote:
Michaels has been in business for 12 years. Not a single computer we have ever sold has failed. EVER.
quote:
10 Year Warranty.
quote:
Customers include: Disney, US Navy
Slogan:
quote:
Most reliable since 1996


RE: Michaels Computers
By jtemplin on 4/16/2008 6:50:42 PM , Rating: 2
DOH instant -1 for curse word. Sorry didn't mean to be rude, I forgot to leave the swear words at the door.
8-D


RE: Michaels Computers
By mikeyD95125 on 4/16/2008 8:41:57 PM , Rating: 2
They have a system with some Ballistix PC28500(3562MHz)sticks. Now that's what I call overclocking! I can't believe they convinced Intel and AMD to team up and create the "Phenom Agena 9850 Quad/Intel 12MB"

*bookmarked for next uber fast PC purchase


RE: Michaels Computers
By pxavierperez on 4/16/2008 8:44:39 PM , Rating: 2
Could someone please enlightenment me what the MichaelComputer's controversy was all about? I seemed to have missed the story.


RE: Michaels Computers
By bobobeastie on 4/17/2008 12:19:55 AM , Rating: 2
Basically in early 2004 Tom's Hardware had a huge article about the claims of Michaels Computers. The web site was maybe twice as bad as it is now, made up product names that sounded almost legit, benchmarks used incorrectly, whether or not anyone ever received an actual computer, etc.

They tried to track the owner down and eventually after staking out PO Boxes and such, they interviewed the owner, Michael Gonzales, who claimed that he was on the up and up on a hidden camera.

I personally e-mailed him in probably mid to late 2004 asking why he didn't have any computers with AMD Athlon 64's available, because "if they did I would totally buy one". This was of course when the P4 was still thought of as superior, so he spouted some false benchmarks or something.

I still like to visit the website every once in a while for a good laugh, unfortunately I can't find an archive of the Toms article.


RE: Michaels Computers
By djc208 on 4/17/2008 7:26:14 AM , Rating: 2
I don't know, considering the crap I'm working on right now it wouldn't surprise me if the Navy was one of their customers.

Sure this computer has never failed, but that's because it barely works.


RE: Michaels Computers
By cscpianoman on 4/17/2008 9:25:13 AM , Rating: 2
In the contacts area you'll find Michael listed as the founder and the master webmaster. Apparently, he wanted to emphasize the fact.


RE: Michaels Computers
By nugundam93 on 4/17/2008 2:14:56 PM , Rating: 2
OMG they're still alive?! ROFLOL!


Apple tricked by April Fool's joke
By bfellow on 4/16/2008 3:59:12 PM , Rating: 2
Apparently a fake company wanted to push Apple's buttons and it worked!




RE: Apple tricked by April Fool's joke
By Zandros on 4/16/2008 4:20:15 PM , Rating: 2
Except that Apple has done nothing?