backtop


Print 16 comment(s) - last by Alpha4.. on Nov 20 at 2:22 AM

The iPad Mini is expected to be announced Oct. 23

You probably thought Apple CEO Tim Cook would announce the iPad Mini on Oct. 23, but a new video has Steve Jobs' ghost doing the job while rap battling other tech giants that dare to challenge the new iDevice.
 
The video, created by Mondo Media, is a parody video that makes fun of Apple, the iPad Mini and Apple's rivals. 
 
The video opens with Tim Cook, who is portrayed as a fannypack-wearing, unhip Apple leader who attempts to rap about the iPad Mini's announcement. The audience's disapproval brings Steve Jobs back from the grave in the form of a ghost, who takes over the show in an epic rap battle with the likes of Amazon CEO Jeff Bezos. 
 
Jobs' ghost later performs a rather inappropriate action to Microsoft co-founder Bill Gates, and continues to rub the iPad Mini in everyone's face. 
 
Some could say the video is disrespectful and goes a bit too far -- even for a parody -- while others have gotten a laugh out of it and moved on. Personally, I chuckled a couple of times throughout the video, but thought it was kind of ridiculous overall (in a "not-that-entertaining" sort of way). I don't agree with making fun of the dead, but let's be honest -- there is way worse on the Internet.

What do you think?

 

The iPad Mini, which is the 7.85-inch version of the iPad, is expected to be announced Oct. 23.

Source: CNET



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

I think it's ridiculous
By EasyC on 10/24/2012 3:07:05 PM , Rating: 5
That people automatically "have to" respect someone just because they died. Just because Jobs died doesn't mean he suddenly becomes a much better human being, deserving of everyone's respect.

That said, I'm not about to go ripping into him all over the internet, but if people want to make videos... I'm not certainly not going to judge them on it.




RE: I think it's ridiculous
By lightfoot on 10/25/2012 11:41:18 AM , Rating: 5
I don't know... I wouldn't put it past Apple fans to use this YouTube video as an excuse to burn down a couple of U.S. Embassies and kill an Ambassador.

That's the only rational thing to do when someone insults your messiah.


RE: I think it's ridiculous
By Tony Swash on 10/25/12, Rating: -1
RE: I think it's ridiculous
By Cheesew1z69 on 10/25/2012 12:41:43 PM , Rating: 3
You are a tool...


RE: I think it's ridiculous
By CheeseSucks on 10/27/12, Rating: -1
RE: I think it's ridiculous
By hifloor on 10/26/2012 2:10:08 AM , Rating: 2
stupid-ass troll - if you'd been paying any attention at all, you'd know it had nothing to do with that video.


By inperfectdarkness on 10/27/2012 8:32:46 PM , Rating: 3
i'm glad someone can draw a correlary.

now i'm going to godwin the thread and mention that hitler doesn't deserve respect even though he's dead--so it doesn't hold true for anyone else either.


Gone too far?
By dark matter on 10/23/2012 4:28:40 PM , Rating: 2
I'm all for free speech.

And you know where the off switch is.

No-one puts a gun to your head and says "watch this"




RE: Gone too far?
By Flunk on 10/24/2012 12:04:51 AM , Rating: 2
Exactly, there is no such thing as "too far" when it comes to free speech.

Just because something offends you doesn't mean that others don't have the right to say it.


RE: Gone too far?
By maugrimtr on 10/24/2012 8:09:44 AM , Rating: 3
Since the video is described as a parody, I don't see the problem. Sure, we can perhaps label it as mildly offensive - to someone somewhere. Even advocating Evolution will be distressingly offensive to someone somewhere.

Luckily, free speech is not curtailed by such concerns...


LOL
By kattanna on 10/23/2012 11:03:41 AM , Rating: 4
so.. if this new device is a mini pad.. does that make the original a maxi pad?

;>)




Offending the Dead?
By EricMartello on 11/19/2012 12:19:16 AM , Rating: 2
It was a good tune, funny and well-produced. Actually kinda catchy for a parody song. Why is it going "too far"? Nothing in the vid was mean-spirited (get it?) and even if it was, I doubt Steve cares now that he's resting in his iTomb.

BTW - Tea-bagging your opponents is quite common these days. Don't tell me you don't camel-toe your adversaries after you pwn them!




RE: Offending the Dead?
By Alpha4 on 11/20/2012 2:22:50 AM , Rating: 2
I wonder if the song is available on iTunes.


Well Done
By Milliamp on 10/24/2012 4:12:44 AM , Rating: 3
Apple is kind of the Harley Davidson of computing. Being expensive is part of the appeal.




No
By JoeJonnyBoy75 on 11/8/2012 10:55:14 AM , Rating: 2
Not too far at all! Much enjoyed!




It's just a device
By schmandel on 10/27/2012 3:38:24 PM , Rating: 1
Boring, boring.




"The Space Elevator will be built about 50 years after everyone stops laughing" -- Sir Arthur C. Clarke

















botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki