backtop


Print 60 comment(s) - last by MartyLK.. on Sep 8 at 7:36 PM

Nokia reveals its Windows Phone 8 devices

Nokia has a lot to prove with its Windows Phone 8 devices. Nokia’s decision to go “all-in” with Microsoft’s mobile operating system hasn’t exactly paid off for the company yet, so this may be the last chance for the company to pull in new customers and grab market share away from industry heavy hitters like Google (Android) and Apple (iOS).
 
If you’ve been following the tech news sector for the past week, Nokia’s Windows Phone 8 announcements today shouldn’t come as a surprise. EVLeaks did its name proud and leaked specs, pictures, and accessories for both the Lumia 820 and the Lumia 920 PureView. However, it’s nice to have that information now confirmed.

 
The Lumia 920 is the flagship model and features a 4.5” WXGA (768x1280) curved glass display, 1.5GHz dual-core Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 processor, 32GB of storage, 2000 mAh battery, integrated NFC, built-in wireless charging using the Qi wireless standard, and of course, Windows Phone 8.

The polycarbonate body from the Lumia 900 is updated for Lumia 920 duty and is available in yellow, red, white, grey, and black. The phone features ceramic keys and camera surround to resist scratches. Interestingly, the Lumia 920 can also work with gloved hands.

JBL's Power Up external speaker can communicate with the Lumia 920 via NFC, and it wirelessly charges the phone as well.
 
The Lumia 920 features an 8.7MP camera (f/2.0)with a Carl Zeiss lens. The PureView camera used in the Lumia 920 captures 5x to 10x the light of competing smartphones and uses a floating lens that surpasses the image stabilization methods used by competitors according to Nokia.

PureView in action. A night shot using a high-end competitor's camera at defaut settins (left) verus the Lumia 920 (right). [Click to Enlarge]

Nokia also announced the Lumia 820, which features the same polycarbonate body. It has a 4.3" display (480x800), 1.5GHz dual-core Snapdragon S4 processor, 8GB of storage, microSD slot, NFC, 8MP camera with Carl Zeiss optics, 1650 mAh battery and all the added software functionality of the Lumia 920. 
 
The Lumia 820 also has removable shells that are available in different colors, so you can change the color of your smartphone to suit your mood. In addition, there will be removable shells available that add wireless charging functionality.


Nokia Lumia 820

Nokia’s Lumia 920 and Lumia 820 definitely look promising, and we wish Nokia all the best in the cutthroat smartphone sector with these latest entries. With HP/PalmOS pretty much out of commission and RIM stumbling badly, only Windows Phone 8 stands a credible chance of taking on Google and Apple. Microsoft definitely has the money to push Windows Phone 8, but the question becomes if Nokia can deliver on its end as being a torchbearer for the mobile operating system.
 
However, Nokia isn't the only company strutting out new Windows Phone 8-based devices. Samsung has already showed off its aluminum-bodied ATIV S, which is a stark contrast from the polycarbonate bodies used on Nokia's latest wares. The ATIV S (available in 16GB and 32GB varieties) features a 1.5GHz dual-core processor, 4.8" HD Super AMOLED screen and an 8MP camera.



Nokia Lumia 920

 

Nokia Lumia 820

Sources: Nokia Lumia 920 specs, Nokia Lumia 820 specs



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

One Question
By Kyuu on 9/5/2012 11:21:00 AM , Rating: 4
Looks great, just one question: does it have a microSD slot? I know WP8 supports it, so I hope Nokia didn't neglect it.




RE: One Question
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 9/5/2012 11:30:40 AM , Rating: 2
The 820 has a microSD slot, but the 920 doesn't.


RE: One Question
By othercents on 9/6/2012 3:59:48 PM , Rating: 2
Neither product listed on the Nokia website has a microSD listed in their specifications.


RE: One Question
By MadMan007 on 9/5/2012 11:33:18 AM , Rating: 2
Maybe it doesn't. Argh...that is one major reason why I would choose an Android phone at this point, there are many choices with expandable memory. I was pleased to see WP8 add micro SD expansion support but what's the point if some of the top phones don't have it? (I know there are top Android phones that don't as well, but there are some that do too. Also, I rather like the Lumia styling.)


RE: One Question
By MadMan007 on 9/5/2012 11:34:34 AM , Rating: 2
oops, yeah, just saw the specs...http://www.anandtech.com/show/6234/nokia-lumia-920...

So stupid, the lower-end phone has features removed? Potential sale lost.


RE: One Question
By Pirks on 9/5/2012 12:40:15 PM , Rating: 5
32GB of built-in flash should be enough for almost everyone including me, my music collection is only 16 gigs. It's pretty rare when you need more than 32GB of flash on your phone these days.


RE: One Question
By jimbojimbo on 9/5/2012 2:34:18 PM , Rating: 2
My sister has a 5 year old and a 2 year old and it's very convenient to have a bunch of their favorite TV shows on it and that pretty much fills her 32GB microSD card. It's still cheaper than trying to stream everything and paying for the higher outrageous data caps.


RE: One Question
By MrBlastman on 9/5/2012 3:29:23 PM , Rating: 4
That's just what kids need--more TV!

(and less outside... because the kidnappers are everywhere.) :-|


RE: One Question
By Mitch101 on 9/5/2012 4:29:59 PM , Rating: 2
Just like Android Nokia is not the only one that Makes Windows Phones. Except Nokia doesn't make an Android Phone.

There is always the Samsung Ativ S which can have 32gigs of ram and has a Micro SD slot.
http://www.phonesreview.co.uk/2012/09/05/samsung-a...

Thats what you got to love about licensing the software to other companies because one size does not fit all. I personally like Windows Phone OS over Android but hey Jelly Bean is pretty darn good to each their own.


RE: One Question
By othercents on 9/6/2012 4:02:08 PM , Rating: 2
I have a couple terabytes of music, however I personally don't see the reason to keep all that music on the phone especially when I have filled up my 64GB iPad with just the games.


RE: One Question
By Argon18 on 9/6/2012 5:22:29 PM , Rating: 2
you have 64 GB of ipad games? good grief son, get out of the house and get some fresh air. you're getting all pasty and pale!


RE: One Question
By Pirks on 9/5/2012 3:59:16 PM , Rating: 2
Why can't she just stream all those videos from her PC media server over wifi or something? Why clumsy SD cards instead of a straightforward and easy streaming over home wireless N network?


RE: One Question
By Kyuu on 9/5/2012 4:02:12 PM , Rating: 2
Uh, because wifi isn't going to do any good outside of the house...? Also possibly a lot of people aren't tech savvy enough to setup media servers and keep a stock of ripped/downloaded TV shows and movies on it?


RE: One Question
By theapparition on 9/6/2012 1:30:20 PM , Rating: 2
Can't bring your home media server everywhere you go. Even if there is remote access, you still depend on a connection. Cloud access is in the same boat. When you lose connection, you can't get to your data.

Ever been in a restaurant with a screaming toddler, no wifi or cell access to be able to get a Youtube video of Yo Gabba Gabba?

Try that situation and you'll appreciate storage a little more.


RE: One Question
By safcman84 on 9/6/2012 4:08:25 AM , Rating: 2
Why would you want to watch TV on a phone? 4" is still small to watch videos on. seems to me that you want use a device for something that it is not designed for.

A netbook would be cheaper than these phones when they come out and you get a 250gb hard drive....


RE: One Question
By othercents on 9/6/2012 4:06:17 PM , Rating: 2
Size and convenience. I would never boot my netbook up on the train ride into the office, however I can watch a 45min show during the ride on either a tablet or phone. The tablet would be a better choice, but I'm not allowed to have personal tablets in our office, so I'm stuck with just the phone during the ride.


RE: One Question
By Mitch101 on 9/5/2012 12:39:13 PM , Rating: 3
Why is 32gb not enough? Not disagreeing with you just wondering why you need so much space?

The most Ive ever used is 12 gigs of space and that's several thousand music files and at least a two dozen HD video podcast and 3-8 local movies/TV shows on the device. I generally stream movies to my device and stream music sometimes. Ive still got a ton of photos and video recordings Ive taken that I need to delete from the phone too.

Are people putting HD movies on a 4.5" screen phone without recoding to a more optimized format for the small screen? Even then a 720P h.264 movie is around 4-5 gig but MPEG4 480P which is around 700meg-1.2gig perfect for a 4.5" screen.

If Im moving filed I generally carry a USB 3.0 thumb drive for moving files its faster than USB 2.0 of a typical phone and doesn't tie up my phone when all I want to do it move files. I can even loan it to a friend for a few days.

I guess Im saying that 32gig is a ton of space for me.


RE: One Question
By Voldenuit on 9/5/2012 3:11:52 PM , Rating: 2
Usage models vary by person; not having expandability impacts users differently, but some people will run into problems more than others. It seems strange to me that nokia would omit basic functionality that is present in lesser models (such as the 820).

If you are a world traveller, the offline GPS of nokia phones eats up space, I think I have around 8 GB of GPS files on my N8 (16GB on-board + 32 GB microSD card).

If you shoot 1080p video (I don't), they eat up room as well. If you store HD videos (I also don't), that's more room again - as to why store HD videos on a phone, the 920 has a 720p display. Also, some phones are able to output to HDTVs (not sure about WP8, but my old N8 can).

The 920 isn't what I was looking for, I was hoping for an 808 successor with a modern smartphone OS. However, it still has a list of nitpicks (no microSD, no bluetooth file transfer) that I think stand in the way of it achieving greatness. It's a very solid entrant for sure, but nokia need to knock it out of the park to survive right now, and I don't think the 920 is the home run fans have been waiting for.


RE: One Question
By Mitch101 on 9/5/2012 4:20:41 PM , Rating: 3
Just curious.

I would say get a Samsung Ativ S
http://www.phonesreview.co.uk/2012/09/05/samsung-a...
It has 16gb or 32gig and a Micro SD Slot with SDXC support.

Basically its the Samsung Galaxy S3 except it runs Windows Phone 8.


RE: One Question
By tayb on 9/5/2012 1:55:08 PM , Rating: 3
MicroSD is horribly slow. One of the biggest complaints I have about my Android phone is how freaking slow it is with the MicroSD card inside. To make matters annoyingly worse, there is 8GB of internal memory that I can't use at all! The phone won't let me! My choices are extremely slow or no music or photos. It's simply stupid that I should have to make that choice.


RE: One Question
By Kyuu on 9/5/12, Rating: 0
RE: One Question
By theapparition on 9/6/2012 1:34:58 PM , Rating: 2
There are different classes of SD cards.

However, the best one depends on usage. The developer community did a lot of research and determined that a good brand, specifically Sandisk, Class 2 or 4 card performed the best for multiple read/write I/Os.

Class 10 work great for large continuous transfers (for instance, cameras where they are writing a large single file), but tend to be 10x-100x slower for sequential small read/writes.

But for OS style transfers, where there are typically many small R/W operations, the lower classed cards actually performed better.


RE: One Question
By Aloonatic on 9/5/2012 5:29:49 PM , Rating: 1
Just out of interest, what do yo need more than 32GB of storage for on a phone?

I'm not having a go or being sarcastic here, as I see people talk about this so it must be something that really bothers people. I just don't get why people feel that they need to be swapping memory cards and/or expanding to 64GB for.


RE: One Question
By AnnihilatorX on 9/5/2012 3:08:08 PM , Rating: 2
I believe the samsung one does?


RE: One Question
By Kyuu on 9/5/2012 4:00:15 PM , Rating: 2
That may be enough to push me to the Samsung Ativ. I love the Lumia in all other respects, but it's unbelievable that they neglected something as basic as a microSD slot, especially when the lower-end model has one for chrissakes.

32GB is a nice amount to begin with, and I appreciate that they're not pulling the bull of having a base model with 16GB and then charging $100+ for the same phone with 32GB like some companies (*cough*Apple*cough*)... but for a device that I'm going to be keeping for at least 2-3 years, it's hardly inconceivable that I'd max that out under normal usage.


Charging
By chris2618 on 9/5/2012 10:39:03 AM , Rating: 2
I like the wireless charging but i hope a standard usb socket is included as well, which from the picture looks like it has. As i have really liked recently how it doesn't matter where you are someone has a charging cable.




RE: Charging
By Lonyo on 9/5/2012 10:45:19 AM , Rating: 2
Kind of weird if it didn't have a USB port, since people will probably want to connect them to their computers.


RE: Charging
By corduroygt on 9/5/2012 10:49:37 AM , Rating: 2
That is so 2007.


RE: Charging
By Mitch101 on 9/5/2012 11:12:52 AM , Rating: 2
Got to agree Microsoft has been doing wireless sync since the Zune 30 brick.

With Skydrive you just need to log into any pc and it will sync the files down to that machine.

Still I believe a MicroUSB will exist for in car charging.


RE: Charging
By AnnihilatorX on 9/5/2012 3:10:06 PM , Rating: 2
I'd also not want to just have Qi charaging. What if you go abroad somewhere and don't want to take a bulky induction charging base?


RE: Charging
By retrospooty on 9/5/2012 11:46:36 AM , Rating: 2
"Kind of weird if it didn't have a USB port"

Yup... It is nice to just plug in your phone to any computer and have it read as a flash drive to copy MP3's or whatebver file you want to copy. Not a huge deal though. Other than that, these look like some great phones.


RE: Charging
By Denigrate on 9/5/2012 2:46:13 PM , Rating: 2
Unless they've changed it for WinPhone8, you can't just plug your phone in and use it as a flash drive. No drag and drop files on WinPhone7 unless you hack your phone/computer.

Biggest reason I hate my WinPhone7 is the lack of drag and drop, and I've been too lazy to hack it.


RE: Charging
By garidan on 9/5/2012 11:56:24 AM , Rating: 2
It HAS micro USB for data and charging http://www.nokia.com/global/products/phone/lumia92...

AS for not being "metal", I see many iPhones wrapped in bad gum shells, I find this silly but perhaps when you spend > 600$ you don't want to lose them in a fall.


RE: Charging
By jvillaro on 9/5/2012 5:27:57 PM , Rating: 2
It does, it's on the bottom of the phone...


Nokia screwed up...
By MrBlastman on 9/5/2012 3:31:46 PM , Rating: 2
I like the phone, I think it is great. The features are awesome and it is what I hoped for.

Still, they screwed up by not providing us two important things:

1. Price.
2. When can we buy it (exact dates) as in order... and then when can we actually use it.

For these two reasons alone they royally screwed up. There is no motivation for buyers to monetize their impulse. Nokia should learn a couple things from the (gasp) Apple hype machine.




RE: Nokia screwed up...
By sviola on 9/5/2012 4:08:56 PM , Rating: 2
I think it will be available at the WP8 launch, which is around the same time as the Windows 8 launch. And the price will probably be what is expected nowadays for a flagship phone $200 on contract or $600-700 off-contract.


RE: Nokia screwed up...
By Kyuu on 9/5/2012 5:49:14 PM , Rating: 2
I'm thinking/hoping they may offer up the 920 for $100 on contract like they did with the previous Lumia. Top-of-the-line phone for half the price is a great way to drum up interest and sales.


RE: Nokia screwed up...
By Tony Swash on 9/5/12, Rating: 0
RE: Nokia screwed up...
By Tony Swash on 9/5/2012 7:23:47 PM , Rating: 1
This sort of stuff doesn't help Nokia

http://www.theverge.com/2012/9/5/3294545/nokias-pu...


RE: Nokia screwed up...
By luhar49 on 9/6/2012 9:36:09 AM , Rating: 2
To announce it before iPhone launch makes sense.
Atleast people jumping for a iPhone will pause if they like the Lumia enough and wait out some more time.

They can't wait for something they don't know about.


Carriers??
By Kefner on 9/5/2012 3:46:24 PM , Rating: 2
Any mention of carriers? If on Verizon, very interested, if AT&T, not a chance! (sorry if I am blind and missed it, but didn't see this mentioned)




RE: Carriers??
By Kyuu on 9/5/2012 4:05:43 PM , Rating: 2
I'm wondering if it supports the right bands to use T-mobile's HSPA+, so one could buy an unlocked 920 and stick a T-mobile SIM in it.


Waiting for a review
By andrewaggb on 9/5/2012 12:00:10 PM , Rating: 3
It looks great.

I'm particularly interested in the camera. I have a nice DSLR and I cringe every time I see awful cell phone pictures.

I'm not expecting quality photos from a phone, but hopefully something better than embarrassingly awful. I'm particularly hoping that in lower light the pictures are ok. I'm doubtful given the lens/sensor size, but I'd love to be wrong.




Colors
By Myrandex on 9/5/2012 10:41:42 AM , Rating: 2
The Cyan / Blue model was very popular in the 900 series, I am surprised that they took it away from the 920. Also hopefully the camera performance goes up significantly compared to the 900.




Looks pretty awesome
By tayb on 9/5/2012 11:11:14 AM , Rating: 2
I like it. It looks awesome. The ability to switch to pressure sensitive and use the screen with gloves is a huge plus. The camera app looks awesome and reminds me of the BB10 camera demo. I thought the cyan model was the best seller so I am surprised to see that it is not on the list.

Windows Phone 8 is going to have some impressive hardware this time. Decent WP7 phones were few and far between.




By Belard on 9/6/2012 4:51:44 AM , Rating: 2
820 is the cool looking one... but the screen with 800x480 is a bit out-dated... It's still a 2-year old screen. Its the same as on my 2-year old 4" Galaxy1... or the 1 year old Lumia 900.

Not impressive at all... but otherwise, the phone spec is quite nice and looks great. The Hardware should run Android without any problem if Nokia needs to...

The new Motorola Droid M has at least a 960x540 with also a 4.3" screen... which is not quite as good as apple's 3.5" 960x640 resolution. (The Droid M screen is longer)

There is no excuse to be using 800x480 on anything larger than 3.8" in size.




amazing specifications
By sikku on 9/5/2012 6:07:23 PM , Rating: 1
great phone with amazing specs ... have alook in detail at "http://sevencolourgossips.wordpress.com/2012/09/06...




Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/5/12, Rating: -1
RE: Typical Microsoft
By andre-bch on 9/5/2012 5:31:34 PM , Rating: 4
Old spec?!! Care to elaborate?

They are running on the latest snapdragon S4 processors which also power all US versions of galaxy S III and htc one X.
iphone 4S has dual-core cortex-A9 processor which is a generation behind S4, so no, it does NOT have similar hardware.

820 is not a high-end phone. No non-high-end htc or samsung has a HD display either.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/5/12, Rating: -1
RE: Typical Microsoft
By andre-bch on 9/5/2012 7:47:51 PM , Rating: 4
1. The so called quad-core snapdragon that you're so fond of is also form the S4 family. So I guess it's old too, right. /S

2. WP8 supports multi-core processors, meaning 2 and up. Just because samsung or nokia haven't used a useless quad-core, it doesn't mean WP doesn't support it. BTW, both
820 and 920 have LTE.

3. HTC one X also doesn't have a card slot and it's still a high-end device.

WP8 supports all the latest hardware. I suggest you stop trolling now.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/5/2012 8:15:39 PM , Rating: 1
Correct, the One-X doesn't have expandable memory. And that's why Samsung is kicking their butts on sales.

The quad-core Snapdragon *is* the latest technology with individual-core power control. The current dual-core S4 doesn't have that ability. In a couple months, when Samsung and HTC release devices with the quad S4, WP hardware will still be stuck with "yesterday's" tech.

WP might support all of the latest tech, but Microsoft apparently doesn't. Just like HTC losing their rears on their decision to not only eliminate the expandable memory from the One-X and limit the internal storage to a measly 16GB (with an actual user storage space of 11GB), so also Microsoft is going to lose their rears on WP when people sneer at the offerings and turn to the modern and highly praised Android offerings.

Contrary to what Microsoft seems to believe, a company has to actually give the consumer what they want and what appeals to them before they decide to divert from the tried and true system they currently use. WP doesn't offer anything more than what Android or iOS currently offers. And WP actually offers less. Microsoft has no hope of gaining in the smartphone market with aged and featureless products.

And on top of all this, the people who actually know WP and who might most likely consider WP8 because they have familiarity with the system, Microsoft is crapping on by dropping continued support past WP7.8. There's a whole segment of users that will have hard feelings about that and decide to abandon it.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By Kyuu on 9/6/2012 11:18:05 AM , Rating: 2
Nobody except spec-whores gives a hoot about quad-core SoCs. They're simply unnecessary for smartphones. There's nothing out-of-date about the dual-core S4 Snapdragons, and they will be more than adequate for any smartphone task for a long time to come.

Yes, the lack of a microSD slot is a bummer, but they're being generous with the internal NAND. Attributing HTC's falling behind Samsung solely to the non-inclusion of microSD is pretty funny, btw.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/6/2012 7:43:33 PM , Rating: 2
Funny that that has been the slogan associated with WP from the beginning. Anytime someone ever brought up higher spec alternative devices, the most common and prevalent response was exactly what you iterated. That's another thing that seems to be synonymous with WP - making excuses for the lacking nature of the hardware.

Well, while you WP users are languishing with your "yesterday" geek, the rest of the world will be enjoying quad-core technology that will resolve battery life issues - having separate power control of the cores for current demand (powering down up to 3 cores when they aren't needed). Cutting-edge tech that WP adopters will not have.

Enjoy! :)


RE: Typical Microsoft
By andre-bch on 9/6/2012 9:26:26 PM , Rating: 3
You are one persistent troll; I give you that. Are you having fun ignoring the facts?

http://www.neowin.net/images/uploaded/imag0037.jpg


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/6/2012 10:48:52 PM , Rating: 2
Having more fun than you - apparently.

http://www.digitaltrends.com/mobile/snapdragon-s4-...


RE: Typical Microsoft
By andre-bch on 9/8/2012 10:29:05 AM , Rating: 2
And? WP supports quad-cores, so I don't know what you're talking about.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/8/2012 12:10:03 PM , Rating: 2
Sure, WP might support quad-core. But by the time MS or its OEMs put out quad-core devices, Android and Apple will be onto their next advancements. That's the point. MS is always playing catch-up and never catching up. They have blatantly put out a product that is as featureless as smartphones were 4 years ago. I said this in the original post. How is it you didn't catch the meaning? Do you, like all WP fans, keep your head in the sand and ignore reality?


RE: Typical Microsoft
By andre-bch on 9/8/2012 7:20:59 PM , Rating: 2
I bet even if say, HTC, announces a krait quad-core phone, you'll still find something else to bash. Yeah, I get it, you don't like MS. All is good. Move over please.


RE: Typical Microsoft
By MartyLK on 9/8/2012 7:36:25 PM , Rating: 2
It isn't that I don't like Microsoft - though charging for Netflix use on the XBOX is pretty low, it's that they are idiots or arrogant. They have a superfine mobile OS and can't figure out how to capitalize on it or just arrogantly believe they can put out a featureless system and people should buy it. They make me think of a money screwing a football.

This business with Nokia - that's just insane. Nokia has never been a reputable company and will hang around MS's neck like a grindstone. MS thinks Nokia is the answer. But in reality, Nokia will kill them. Maybe that's good because MS being ignorant of how to handle WP, they should go the way of the dinosaur.


"Vista runs on Atom ... It's just no one uses it". -- Intel CEO Paul Otellini














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki