backtop


Print 35 comment(s) - last by theapparition.. on Jun 20 at 9:26 AM

Nokia and Amazon.com bring PureView stateside, but the Nokia 808 PureView will still be saddled with Symbian OS

When Nokia pulled the wraps off the 808 PureView back in February, a lot of mobile phone users were interested in the phone and its groundbreaking camera. The phone boasts a 41-megapixel camera sensor making it more like a digital camera that can make calls than a smartphone with an integrated camera.
 
The big letdown of the announcement was certainly that the smartphone would be running the Symbian OS. Right on the heels of the operating system as the biggest letdown in the announcement of the 808 PureView was that the phone would only come to Europe.
 
Now, however, Nokia has announced that thanks to consumer interest it and Amazon.com have agreed to launch the Nokia 808 PureView in the U.S. The smartphone will be offered unlocked and unsubsidized exclusively on Amazon.com for $699. The smartphone will come with a SIM card that will work on the AT&T network. Nokia notes that the smartphone will work on the T-Mobile network as well but only at 2G speeds.
 
The phone will still feature 41-megapixel sensor that got us excited back in February with Carl Zeiss optics. The smartphone camera will also feature technology to allow the camera to oversample and combine up to seven pixels into one "pure" pixel. That feature promises to eliminate visual noise common in another camera phones. Other features include the ability to record full HD video and the phone can record CD-like sound quality using internal microphones thanks to the first use of Nokia Rich Recording technology.
 
The mobile phone has a four-inch display and promises 6.5 hours of 3G talk time a full charge. Unfortunately, the phone will run the same Symbian OS European devices use.

Source: Nokia



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

1700mhz
By chµck on 6/19/2012 12:16:46 PM , Rating: 2
I have no idea why nokia isn't including the 1700mhz frequency on the american model. Every other international model shows it as being pentaband.
Also, symbian is not a con.




RE: 1700mhz
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 12:43:49 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Also, symbian is not a con.
Having used both, I can safely say, yes it is a BIG con versus having Windows Phone 7.5 onboard.

One is an excellent operating system -- perhaps the best available today -- the other is a defunct design with a layer of hasty Android-imitating gloss that does not hide its deep underlying flaws.

Windows Phone 7.5 is very slick and gets my work done extremely fast -- lightyears faster than in Android Gingerbread, my previous day-to-day device. I have virtually no complaints thus far with my experience. It looks great, it's feature packed, everything is laid out logically, and it just works.

Symbian Belle, by contrast, still looks like a Palm relic, takes far longer to execute basic tasks, has a less responsive virtual keyboard, inferior core apps, and a dieing app market.

Tell me again how that's not a con?


RE: 1700mhz
By chµck on 6/19/12, Rating: -1
RE: 1700mhz
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 1:25:12 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
lacks features and functionality.
Like what?

quote:
Android's UI imitates iOS (apple) and maemo (nokia).
In terms of basic graphics, which your post alludes to, Nokia imitated Palm. Your point??

There's a lot of new "graphical flair" in Belle that's not present in past releases by Nokia or Apple. It is, however very similar to similar graphics found in Android Ice Cream Sandwich, which came out first. So yes, copying Android.
quote:
No doubt it's slick, once you've spend enough time trying to figure things out. I'm also able to get work done quickly on my N8. It looks great, it's feature packed, I can lay out everything the way I want, and it just works.
It may "just work" as you say, but the virtual keyboard is less reliable, you simply can not argue that. And I've played with an N8. Commands feel somewhat laggy compared to my Lumia 900. I would argue that it is you who needs to spend some time with the Lumia 900. It puts the N8 to shame and makes it feel downright slow.

As for the learning curve, I had used Windows Phone less than I had Symbian before I picked up the Lumia 900, but I was instantly able to navigate through the operating system with virtually no learning necessary. It's extremely intuitive. Even a moderately gifted Chimpanzee could probably use one.
quote:
I'm sorry you don't think symbian looks pretty enough. The nokia store has about as many apps as the WP store, not to mention not every app for symbian requires it going through the store. I can download any .sisx file from the internet and install it
About as many?

And pray tell me, how many of those are going to receive ongoing support over the next year or two as developers bail from what is a defunct platform.

You cannot change the fact that developers are not going to continue to update their Symbian apps by and large. I am a developer. I currently sell a handful of apps on iOS and am working on Windows Phone and Android ports. Symbian is so far off my radar, and off my developer friends radar that it's laughable.

Developers would probably be better off working on BlackBerry apps that Symbian apps. At least there'll be a clear upgrade path there, versus a phase-out.
quote:
Tell me again, how are you not biased?
My "bias" is simply me explaining to you that one system is workable, but that another provides better tools.

I've been called an Apple fanboy, an Android fanboy, and a Windows Phone fanboy by different people on this site at different times. I simply look at devices objectively. I can objectively say to you that Symbian is simply not as good as Windows Phone for your average user, all other things equal. It looks worse, the core apps are worse, and it's slower.

And most important IT'S EOL !

So no matter what denialist mantra you chant, whatever meager selection of apps there presently is, will fast face evaporating growth and vanishing update support.

If observing reality (that Symbian is dying for a reason) is "bias", then yes, I suppose you are correct, I am biased towards reality.

Enjoy your Symbian phone, but don't count on Nokia or Developers to support you as it creeps excruciatingly to a well-deserved end-of-life.


RE: 1700mhz
By leomax999 on 6/19/2012 1:48:50 PM , Rating: 1
Symbian is dying because Elop wants it to.

Why didnt 'pureview' launch with a WP?

I dont want to get into an argument,but WP doesn't support lots of basic stuff out of box to downright missing /impossible (codecs,otg,mass storage,BT profiles etc)

Belle FP1 improves things a bit.


RE: 1700mhz
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 2:51:36 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
I dont want to get into an argument,but WP doesn't support lots of basic stuff out of box to downright missing /impossible (codecs,otg,mass storage,BT profiles etc)
Don't want to get into an argument, or don't have evidence to prove your point, which is it?

quote:
Belle FP1 improves things a bit.
Sure. Belle is indeed nicer than past Symbian builds. It's passable. It's functional.

But it's very hard to argue it's as fast or functional as Windows Phone 7.5 (because its not), and it's pure lunacy to expect quality ongoing application or manufacturer support for a former racehorse that's been declared to be headed on a one-way trip to the glue factory.

Sure appreciate Belle as the pinnacle of the Symbian experience, which I too would argue at ONE TIME was a market leader before bigger and better things came along, but understand it's not going to be well supported, so you're essentially going to be on your own if you insist on purchasing one.


RE: 1700mhz
By chµck on 6/19/2012 6:25:54 PM , Rating: 3
quote:
There's a lot of new "graphical flair" in Belle that's not present in past releases by Nokia or Apple. It is, however very similar to similar graphics found in Android Ice Cream Sandwich, which came out first. So yes, copying Android.

By that logic, android is copying nokia's "smartphone" concept. I don't know why you keep bringing up that the stock UI isn't as shiny as everyone else's.
quote:
It may "just work" as you say, but the virtual keyboard is less reliable, you simply can not argue that. And I've played with an N8.

I have no issues with the keyboard, you do have a big thumb however. Maybe the 4.3" screen helps in that case.
Playing with an N8 != experience.
quote:
I would argue that it is you who needs to spend some time with the Lumia 900. It puts the N8 to shame and makes it feel downright slow.

Aww, your newer phone with a faster processor feels slightly faster than my old phone with a downclocked processor :(. Surprise!
The newer Symbian phones have 1.3GHz processors. Play with one of those.
quote:
Even a moderately gifted Chimpanzee could probably use one.

Oh cmon, that's too easy.
quote:
About as many?

http://www.developer.nokia.com/Distribute/Statisti...
quote:
And pray tell me, how many of those are going to receive ongoing support over the next year or two as developers bail from what is a defunct platform. You cannot change the fact that developers are not going to continue to update their Symbian apps by and large.

I updated 2 apps just yesterday, and many apps are being added everyday. Just because you don't have any experience developing in Qt doesn't mean that no one else will.
quote:
And most important IT'S EOL !

It's guaranteed to be supported until at least 2016. A lot can happen in 4 years; that's a long time.
quote:
I am biased towards my reality.

ftfy
quote:
Enjoy your Symbian phone

I do.


RE: 1700mhz
By BillyBatson on 6/19/2012 10:12:35 PM , Rating: 2
You guys are absolutely silly.... Arguing over nothing.
In the end no matter what you think of Symbian OS it's dead it's eol and not a platform worth following for one reason perhaps more than any and that is even if you bought ANY Symbian phone today the likelihood of your following upgrade also being a Symbian phone is practically nonexistent!!! So why buy any apps even if they do continue to release them say or the next year or so when they won't transfer to your win8/iOS/android device in 1-2 years when it's time to replace your Pureview.

Is Symbian great? It was. It could still be but it just isn't anymore. It could be in the future except it's EOL so I guess it won't.

And here is a good question: if both a Symbian and a win7.5 Pureview were released the same day which would sell better? Whether you think it's marketing, advertising, or sales tactics used by phone companies the answer would undoubtedly be the Win7.5 version by a large margin. That alone means this Symbian Pureview is a con.


RE: 1700mhz
By xdrol on 6/20/2012 9:24:00 AM , Rating: 2
To be honest, if you buy a new phone now, it will be dead and/or obsolete when Symbian will be actually dead, meaning no support, no fixes, anything. So this alone should not stop anyone buying a Symbian phone - you'll be replacing it anyway when it will be an issue. Check the other aspects - if it has apps you need, if it is fast enough for you, etc.


RE: 1700mhz
By chµck on 6/19/2012 6:32:57 PM , Rating: 2
btw, I have nothing against WP. I have no idea why you're being so defensive of that one phone you have.


RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 1:55:45 PM , Rating: 2
Exactly how much is Microsoft paying you, Jason? LOL come on.


RE: 1700mhz
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 2:59:39 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Exactly how much is Microsoft paying you, Jason? LOL come on.
The same amount Google used to be paying me....

$0.

Honestly I would love to promote the Windows Phone for pay, because I wouldn't have to lie, obfuscate, exaggerate, or otherwise deceive. It's truly the best platform I've ever used and makes my daily life a whole lot easier, and that's just my honest opinion.

About the only glaring weakness of the device, in my perspective is that the battery life is about on par with many Android's, which is to say that it's inferior to the iPhone's industry-leading smartphone battery life. But I still feel I come out ahead as I greatly prefer WinPhone to iOS. I own a third-gen iPod Touch for development purposes, but it's almost excruciatingly clunky to navigate speed-wise after Windows Phone, though the keyboard in iOS and core apps are quite good.

I admit that Microsoft has done a horrible job marketing and selling their product, hence why most people choose Apple or Android.

But few as they may be, if you ask Windows Phone users who migrated from Android and other platforms what you think, the enthusiasm is rather overwhelming. At present my sentiments may place me in the minority in terms of the overall smartphone population, but in terms of WinPhone users, I do not see them as atypical. The platform sells itself, for most users who actually buy a device.

Anyhow, as much as we may disagree...

As for Symbian, though, I think we can both agree it's a dud compared to ICS, WinPhone Mango, and iOS 5, right?


RE: 1700mhz
By Mitch101 on 6/19/12, Rating: 0
RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 4:37:31 PM , Rating: 3
It's fine that someone "likes" Windows phone. Using your position at Daily Tech to advance the platform, that's something else. For something that has like 5% of the market, WP7 gets about 80% of the articles around here lol.


RE: 1700mhz
By Mitch101 on 6/19/2012 5:52:53 PM , Rating: 1
Probably because its worth talking about. Its a Solid OS and every bit as good and personally better than the alternatives but the fanbois of the alternatives like to tell you its not as good and make up or find one feature and harp on it. They have run out of things to scream about and are down to finding the few apps not ported to the phone from the original vendor but completely overlook all the clones or even better apps that are arriving because of arrogance of the developers to produce on the Windows Phone. Yet its breaking 100,000 apps and climbing faster than Android for developers.

Flurry: Windows Phone app development catching up to Android
http://www.fiercemobilecontent.com/story/flurry-wi...

Ive sworn off Android devices because of the bugs and while not everyone claims to have experienced any both my wife and I are done with buying Android devices. About 6 devices all with various bugs that require the device to be recycled. I also like being able to uninstall garbage and there is a lot of garbage in the android marketplace.

As for Apple I like them to a degree. I think they have a great product but I dont feel its evolving in a direction I can accept since it was released. I really want a Memory slot on the tablet it doesn't make sense that a device with a retina screen cant take the memory card from my camera and watch the video and photos I just took without some strange adapter. It should be built in and allow for expansion and the Apple products are just not expandable you have to sell your existing device and buy the bigger one just to get more memory? This is just stupid to have so many sku's. Windows 7 had one phone with this and Windows 8 Phones the memory slot returns. They are correcting their mistake. Even if its just for MP3, Video, and Photos its perfect they are listening to consumers.

Microsoft also doesn't allow garbage manufacturers like Android does which probably costs them a lot of market share but keeps the experience to being good which is why Windows Phone owns the top Rated spots on Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/gp/top-rated/wireless/240774...

Windows Phone is ROCK SOLID Ive never had to reboot it and Windows Phone 8 is making all the changes that consumers want and making me stay away from Apple who wants to tell me what I want in a device. All while delivering on what Android should be doing like standardizing and enforcing some level of quality and updatability.

Android is too busy allowing anyone to do whatever the F they want with it and a lot of crap is getting produced.


RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 6:12:51 PM , Rating: 3
*yawn* Go preach it to someone else. We're halfway into 2012 and WP7 is still three years behind the competition. I'm glad you like it now, but understand, Apollo is what the people want. And it should have been here a year ago if not the start of 2012.

Seriously the amount of rosy blind optimism and bias in your post was just really difficult to read through. You want me to believe it's a vastly superior product that just so happens to be barely chosen by consumers. That doesn't compute. WP7 isn't perfect, start acknowledging the negatives if you want to be taken seriously.

WP7 might be great, but halfway into 2012 and the Nokia 900 is your flagship phone? You must be kidding me with that!


RE: 1700mhz
By sprockkets on 6/19/2012 7:22:46 PM , Rating: 2
Indeed. Their "flagship" phone sells for $99. Nokia isn't going to make a profit doing that. And their 800 and 900 already had bugs upon release. To be fair so does everyone else, but to say WP is perfect is ridiculous. And while WP fans claim their phone is "lag free", watch how slow a cheap WP7 acts compared to the lumia 900.

I'm glad DT's biggest WP7 fan is happy. He may be done with Android, but I won't give MS a dime to continue their crusade against Android. Save goes for crapple.


RE: 1700mhz
By Mitch101 on 6/19/2012 7:58:47 PM , Rating: 1
Yup as I watch all the Android people I know now tell me how much they hate their android phones. The shine has worn off people want a phone that works. I dont even mind if they go to iPhone its much better than Android.

Windows Phone 7 doesn't have a memory slot - Problem solved in Windows Phone 8. There is your negative its all I got about the device.

How many processors do you think Android will need before it catches up to the Nokia 900?
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsphone/en-us/cmpn/s...

Must suck to pay so much when a $99.00 phone whips your arses.


RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 8:28:46 PM , Rating: 2
I love you and Jason's little myopic stories about how your wife switched to WP7, or you did, or your friend. And they love it etc etc. It's just so heartwarming! It's changing the world as we know it.

quote:
The shine has worn off people want a phone that works. I dont even mind if they go to iPhone its much better than Android.


And after the Galaxy 3 sells 20+ million units like the ones before it, you'll probably still be saying this tripe. Yeah Android is just terrible. Ignorance is bliss.


RE: 1700mhz
By Mitch101 on 6/19/2012 9:52:21 PM , Rating: 2
Baaaah - I can only assume your trying to attract a farmer.


RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 9:56:23 PM , Rating: 2
Ah so I'm a sheep for using Android. Apple users and sheeple too. I guess that leaves WP7 and Symbian for "free thinking" people? Down with the establishment!! Join...errr..Microsoft? lol.

I can only assume you're trying to catch crabs with all that trolling you're doing :)


RE: 1700mhz
By BillyBatson on 6/19/2012 10:31:43 PM , Rating: 2
You are such a bitter opinionated FOOL reclaimer have I and others told you that before? YUPS many many times!!!! But once opinionated always opinionated. You offer nothing in the way of discussion you just offer your own point of views with a never ending condescending tone.

How was he preaching he was describing his own experiences!!!!! How egotistical can you be?!?!? He pointed out the reasons why he likes apple and then Wp7. I don't think anyone here is arguing that their mobile OS is perfect, everyone is arguing their mobile OS is best for them out of what's available today.

And who are you not to call the Lumia 900 a flagship phone? Is it on top of the wp7.5 heap? YUPPPPP. Why would an android phone or a 4S be anymore flagship? Because they have more powerful processors? Example: Would a PC running Corei7 hardware but win95 software be more flagship than a core2duo running win7? Of course not when there aren't any advanced OS's you can install and run. You are buying based on hardware, I and some of the others here are buying based on OS experience.

Seriously does anyone know where reclaimer lives? He needs a baseball bat to the back of the head.


RE: 1700mhz
By Reclaimer77 on 6/20/2012 1:43:45 AM , Rating: 2
Just make sure you try that on my property. That way when they haul your dumbass bullet riddled corpse away, I can site Castle Doctrine even though you brought a bat to a gunfight.


RE: 1700mhz
By BabelHuber on 6/20/2012 7:10:20 AM , Rating: 2
It is OK that you like your Windows Phone. To each its own.

But Windows Phone 7 is utterly failing to get any traction regarding market share.

Just look at Nokia's Q1 sales: 12 million phones, while only 2 milllion are running Windows Phone.

This means that the EOL'd Symbian and Meego devices outsell Window Phone 5:1.

In 2010, Nokia sold 100 Million phones. In 2011 they sold only 77 Millions. In Q1 2012 they sold 12 millions.

So Nokia is rapidly going downhill with the Windows Phone strategy. Too bad that they already fired their Symbian/ Meego/ Meltemi developers and closed all European factories.

So there is no going back. Nokia is dying not because of Symbian, but because of Windows Phone.


RE: 1700mhz
By BabelHuber on 6/20/2012 7:12:11 AM , Rating: 2
Correction: I mean smartphone sales, not phone sales. Nokia sold 400 million phones in 2010, 100 million of them were smartphones.


facepalm
By NellyFromMA on 6/19/2012 12:39:29 PM , Rating: 2
Inclusion of Symbian is asinine. Releasing new phones with obsolete software can never be wise.




RE: facepalm
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 12:48:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Inclusion of Symbian is asinine. Releasing new phones with obsolete software can never be wise.
Agreed, might as well make it dual boot BlackBerry 7 while you're at it.

It's a pity... such a beautiful image sensor on that phone. Hopefully a WinPhone upgrade will land before too long.


RE: facepalm
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 2:01:47 PM , Rating: 2
Releasing WAY overpriced phones to get a bit more image quality from the camera doesn't seem very wise to me. $699? Who honestly wants to buy this?

Good luck Nokia!


RE: facepalm
By JasonMick (blog) on 6/19/2012 3:02:33 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
Releasing WAY overpriced phones to get a bit more image quality from the camera doesn't seem very wise to me. $699? Who honestly wants to buy this?
A bit more??

The thing has 4x time the sensor surface area as the iPhone 4S, which in turn has a bigger sensor than just about any Android phone (regardless of the megapixel resolution).

Cool the hate and give Nokia a little iota of credit there. That's not "a bit more", it's the difference from smartphone pictures and a full-blown digital camera on your phone.

Still agree with the ops that it's moronic to ship this with Symbian Belle, though, particularly with developers fleeing from that platform en masse.


RE: facepalm
By Reclaimer77 on 6/19/2012 4:28:39 PM , Rating: 2
Yes but Jason, the idea that there's demand for that is silly. The general phone buying public really doesn't place such a high value on the camera. Current cameras are "good enough", and the rest of this phone is pretty mediocre.

Hate? Okay so just because you love Windows phone, we all have to love Nokia now too? I don't hate Nokia, I just "hate" the idea of this phone especially at this price point.

quote:
That's not "a bit more", it's the difference from smartphone pictures and a full-blown digital camera on your phone.


Dude people aren't even buying digital cameras all that much anymore! Smart phones, even with their inferior cameras, are slowly but surely marginalizing the dedicated camera industry. When the average person just want's pictures to send to their friends and family or put on Facebook, smart phones are convenient and "good enough" for most uses.

quote:
Still agree with the ops that it's moronic to ship this with Symbian Belle, though, particularly with developers fleeing from that platform en masse.


That just goes to how poorly thought out this was. I guess they figure people will be so jazzed about a bigger sensor, they'll put up with anything? Shipping ANY phone to the United States at this point with Symbian running on it is just baffling. And for $699!!??


RE: facepalm
By theapparition on 6/20/2012 9:26:10 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Dude people aren't even buying digital cameras all that much anymore! Smart phones, even with their inferior cameras, are slowly but surely marginalizing the dedicated camera industry. When the average person just want's pictures to send to their friends and family or put on Facebook, smart phones are convenient and "good enough" for most uses.

Disagree with this comment.

Low price Point & Shoot cameras are indeed getting marginalized by "good enough" cell phone cameras. But the dSLR market is taking off. You're starting to see the divide between having something in your pocket for everyday use, and dedicated cameras for those must have shots.


By steelicon on 6/19/2012 5:08:33 PM , Rating: 2
Did you know that the Nokia 808 PureView "Hyperion" RM-807 is a World Phone with Pentaband 3G connection that allows you to be a jet-setter travelling all around the world without worrying about different carrier and network signals working?

http://conversations.nokia.com/2012/06/19/unique-n...

Yes, you can travel virtually anywhere and be able to connect and use 3G speeds up to 14.4Mbps using your Nokia 808 PureView!

Nokia 808 PureView RM-807
GENERAL 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1900 / 2100
Announced 2012, February
Status Available. Released 2012, June




By chµck on 6/19/2012 7:34:33 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
UPDATE: We incorrectly stated that the Nokia 808 PureView would only work with T-Mobile at 2G speeds. This was caused by an error in the spec sheet. We’re sorry about any confusion. The Nokia 808 PureView works just fine with T-Mobile in the United States.


WP7
By B3an on 6/19/2012 1:47:56 PM , Rating: 2
I suspect the only reason this dont have WP7 on it is because the camera hardware isn't supported by WP7's rather strict hardware requirements (which is actually a good thing because it ensures quality, but it need supports for higher-end stuff).

And thats the only problem i have with WP7. I consider it superior to any other phone OS but the lack of support for high end hardware lets it down and has kept me away from it. If my Galaxy S3 ran WP7 it would be perfect. Hopefully WP8 will change things.




Optics
By CityZen on 6/19/2012 1:41:12 PM , Rating: 1
This phone will sell on the (amazing and unique) camera alone. OS is less relevant than in other phones.




"Intel is investing heavily (think gazillions of dollars and bazillions of engineering man hours) in resources to create an Intel host controllers spec in order to speed time to market of the USB 3.0 technology." -- Intel blogger Nick Knupffer

Related Articles













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki