backtop


Print 11 comment(s) - last by Akrovah.. on May 18 at 10:23 AM

Those accepted will get access to pre-release versions of Office 2010

Microsoft makes most of its profits off the back of two of its most popular products -- the Windows operating system and Office productivity suite. These are two of Microsoft's most important products, and both of them are due for replacement very soon.

Windows 7 will launch later this year and Office 2010 will reportedly launch next year. Office 2010 promises some much needed tweaks to how the individual portions of the suite performance. Exchange 2010 is said to have received particular attention from the developers. One of the key new features of the email software is a personal email archive among other things.

Office 2010 will add Outlook 2010 to Firefox and Safari browsers, two of the main competitors to Microsoft's IE browser. The new additions to the email application are only a few tweaks that are expected from Office 2010.

Office users wanting to get hands on Office 2010 as soon as possible can now sign up for the Microsoft Office 2010 Technical Preview. The preview requires registration and registering doesn’t guarantee you access to Office 2010 early. All registrants will be waitlisted for consideration for the program and those invited to participate in the program will be notified in mid-July.

Those accepted into the program will get to check out early versions of Word 2010, Excel 2010, Outlook 2010, PowerPoint 2010, OneNote 2010, Communicator 2010, Access 2010, InfoPath 2010, and Publisher 2010. TechEd attendees will get the pre-release versions of the applications as well.





Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Was there something wrong with 97? 2000? 2003?
By Insomniator on 5/12/2009 2:06:55 PM , Rating: 2
Sorry, I don't want to have to train an entire staff on how to use a new interface when the old one was completely completely fine.

I've used this argument before for windows and people said improvements have been made since XP that make Vista/7 worthwhile in the long run. Fine. But office? Please... for literally everyone working at my entire college, as long as SAVE and OPEN are easy to get to, its fine.

MS just wants to sell more copies of software that has no reason to change (other than its awful auto formatting, which is the one thing I've seen no change on)




RE: Was there something wrong with 97? 2000? 2003?
By Sazar on 5/12/2009 2:21:38 PM , Rating: 5
The ribbon is, for lack of a better description, faster, more intuitive and more efficient.

There was nothing wrong with old crank-shafts and carburetors and wind-up windows, but innovation led to newer products that are everywhere now.

Spend the hour or so you need to familiarize yourself with the ribbons and be enlightened.

Free tip of the day, when going between ribbons, instead of clicking on the ribbon "tabs" on the top, scroll through with your mouse wheel. Much faster and much easier.


By Spivonious on 5/12/2009 3:19:45 PM , Rating: 2
I agree with you about the ribbon, but the benefits are only seen with new users. Users who are familiar with the old interface are going to be completely lost in the new interface for at least a couple of days.

As far as what's improved since 97...well 2000 upgraded VBA to version 6...umm...yep that's about it. Seriously, if you have to ask what's changed, then you won't benefit from upgrading.


By hopsandmalt on 5/12/2009 7:31:27 PM , Rating: 2
Actually there are quite a few changes that we really enjoy. First and foremost the ribbon bar.. but second is the integration with Sharepoint. Those are huge for us in our office... dont know about anyone else.


By Akrovah on 5/18/2009 10:23:15 AM , Rating: 2
One thing that has been improved tremendously in 2007 is the formula editor. It's not a big thing no, but it was very nice when trying to type reports for my physics classes.


By Samus on 5/13/2009 6:15:23 PM , Rating: 2
Office 2000, XP, 2003, I agree were not as innovative over their previous versions as we'd like, but Office 2007 brought substantial changes to the suites' framework. Document encryption, native 64-bit libraries, save to PDF, the list of improvements is vast.


By mars2k on 5/13/2009 5:50:06 AM , Rating: 1
Yes there was, none of these work as well as 2007 with Exchnage 2007 which was far beter than Ex 2003 or 2000 or 5.5 or 5.0 or smoke signals. Office 2010 will do even more stuff really well with Exchange 2010 which will be better than Ex 2007.
If all you've seen by way of change is auto formatting then you have not been paying attention or do not know what you're looking at and therefore may not be qualified to make a judgement.
No decent company can compete effectively in todays world without getting on board with this stuff because the next company will be on board and do a much better job as a result. Good luck finding your next job.


wow
By judasmachine on 5/12/2009 10:17:37 AM , Rating: 1
How about that preview of Office 2101? Does it write your papers before you even sit down at the desk?

Seriously though, I like the ribbon of the current offering, and i hope they expand it. It feels easier to me, and I like to see it become more adaptive.




RE: wow
By Bateluer on 5/12/2009 10:30:27 AM , Rating: 5
Office 2101 automatically out sources the paper to India for you. Its translation matrix is buggy though, and you'll have to scrub the Engrish when you get the document returned.


I tested last version
By Screwballl on 5/12/09, Rating: -1
RE: I tested last version
By nemoshotyany on 5/12/2009 6:48:16 PM , Rating: 1
*Paints you orange*

Yep... Still shit.


"So, I think the same thing of the music industry. They can't say that they're losing money, you know what I'm saying. They just probably don't have the same surplus that they had." -- Wu-Tang Clan founder RZA
Related Articles
Microsoft Announces Office 2010 Suite
April 15, 2009, 3:35 PM













botimage
Copyright 2015 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki