backtop


Print 26 comment(s) - last by ersts.. on Sep 22 at 7:46 PM


AT&T is expected to offer unlimited 3G calling for the iPhone for $20 or less using its new 3G MicroCell device. The device works in regions that are currently dead to AT&T's network.  (Source: Engadget Mobile)
There's lots of new developments concerning the nation's hottest smart phone

There are few major pieces of news to report with the iPhone.  The first is the new 3G MicroCell appliance from AT&T, a device that provides local 3G to the many spots across the nation that are dead to AT&T's 3G network.

The device has not yet received a price, but the rumors are already flying about a possible iPhone tie-inEngadget Mobile and others claim that AT&T will offer unlimited MicroCell iPhone calling for $20 a month.  Reportedly with AT&T Internet, the fee drops to $10 a month, and with AT&T Internet and landline service it goes away entirely.  Reportedly the device will also support 3G data and text message transmission under existing plans.

Currently, AT&T offers iPhone service plans for $60 for 450 daytime rollover minutes, $80 for 900, $100 for 1350, or $120 for unlimited.  Using the new service users may be able to save money by opting for a cheaper plan and calling from their home location.  It is unclear, though, whether the device would first burn through the users' rollover minutes, or whether it would start in unlimited mode.

At any rate, the device may at last prove a cure to the iPhone's perennial signal quality complaints.

The second big piece of iPhone news is that Apple has reportedly opened an investigation into why some users with OS v3.1-equipped iPhones are experiencing poor battery life.  Reportedly, AppleCare teams are emailing customers lists of 11 questions and an app that tracks and reports battery life to Apple.

One key issue is whether the battery life is truly bad, or whether the OS's battery indicator is merely faulty.  Describes one of the reported questions,"When you notice a power drop, does it seem to be a legitimate power drop, or rather an issue with the battery icon indicator?"

Apple is reportedly emailing users who complain about battery life on its forums.  The company is warning customers that install the application not to sync their phones as the battery logs it creates are very large.  They suggest disabling it after Apple has received their information.

Its unclear exactly when or how Apple might use the feedback to improve the iPhone's OS, but its certainly good to see the company taking action on this reported issue.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Smart phones are the greatest rip off ever...
By Iaiken on 9/21/2009 2:17:17 PM , Rating: 4
quote:
$60 for 450 daytime rollover minutes, $80 for 900, $100 for 1350, or $120 for unlimited.


Now I pay $20 a month for my LG Chocolat with 450 daytime rollovers and unlimited nights and weekends. I've used a few of my friends iPhones and a few blackberries (from work) and I just don't believe that any of them are $720-$1200 a year worth of added value over my existing phone.

In the case of the blackberry I didn't care because it was through my work and they paid for everything. Heck, I even used it a fair amount during software releases or IT emergencies, but for the most part my personal cell phone is only ever used as a phone.

Instead, they've become these facetious status symbols and I really have to applaud the carriers on their marketing.




By WileCoyote on 9/21/2009 3:47:47 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Instead, they've become these facetious status symbols and I really have to applaud the carriers on their marketing.


I use the iPhone to run my business - $150/month vs having to hire a secretary. Not a status symbol for everyone!


RE: Smart phones are the greatest rip off ever...
By omnicronx on 9/21/2009 4:06:19 PM , Rating: 4
Damn.. If you laid it out like that I would have bought an iPhone ages ago.. Nobody told me the iPhone returns your calls and tells your mother you are not there when you really are...

What kind of nonesense is this.. secretaries (or admin assistants as most like to be called now) do a hell of a lot more than answer phone calls and take messages. Heck even if you take what you are saying as true, from a business perspective a much cheaper BB can do a hell of a lot more than an iPhone.

Seems like nothing more than an excuse to me. You could have bought many other solutions with cheaper plans and cheaper phones, so apparently it is a status symbol, because it sure as heck was not a business only decision. If it was, remind me not to invest in your company..


RE: Smart phones are the greatest rip off ever...
By kmmatney on 9/21/2009 6:51:18 PM , Rating: 1
When I checked at the AT&T store for a business phone (small company), the Blackberries weren't any cheaper than the iPhone, and they weren't as easy to use. And what do you mean they can "do a whole lot more". I didn't see anything the BBs could do that the iPhone couldn't do. It is the other way around - the iPhones can do a whole lot more. Bottom line: The iPhone is a kick-ass phone - if it sucked no one would buy it.

I've never paid for my own cell phone, they've always been work provided, so I can't comment from a cost perspective. I have used several smartphones, and IMO the iPhone beats everything else hands-down. I really don't get the iPhone hate...


By mikeyD95125 on 9/21/2009 7:26:24 PM , Rating: 2
There is one thing that is a total deal breaker with the iphone for me, battery life. As long as it's charged the iphone is the best phone on the market. I have 2 friends who own them and it seems like everytime I want them to look something up on the internet or they want play a game they can't because their battery is about to die. What is the point of a phone that you can't even use for 24 hours. Sure it's a great product, for 6-7 hours a day. This bugs the hell out of me. But I obviously use my phone for different things than an iphone user.


By Alexstarfire on 9/21/2009 10:36:27 PM , Rating: 2
You musta missed the articles showing that the iPhone isn't very business friendly in terms of eMail support and server support. I'm glad your iPhone can calculate the tip you need to leave at the restaurant and tell you the flight schedule of a plane, but I fail to see how pretty much an app on the iPhone is going to help you with your business, especially over a BlackBerry.


By SunAngel on 9/22/2009 12:08:50 AM , Rating: 2
I don't find the battery life to be all that bad. Sure, if your running the display 24/7 or using a gps like google maps or at&t navigator and not using the dim feature the battery will get eaten away like a fat kid eating chocolate cake. But, overall if internet, game, and video playback is at moderate use you can reach 2 days on one charge.

Anyone constantly using their phone gaming or gps definitely should be plugged in to a charger. Heck, if your on your phone that much you need to be at a desk or using a landline somewhere. I'm sure travelers on "official business' don't have time to game and surf the web friviously. Talking a total of 3 hours a day the battery will last a whole week. Add in other things and that is when battery like drops dramatically.

I would a say 10 minutes of facebooking, 10 minutes of gaming, or 10 minutes of internet per hour plus 2 hours of talking should still net a 2-3 days before a charge is needed.


RE: Smart phones are the greatest rip off ever...
By dice1111 on 9/22/2009 8:37:32 AM , Rating: 2
I was an Apple hater, still kind am (PC's and such). HOWEVER, work got me an iPhone and I had to learn to love it and I truley have. I use my iPhone for business. It sinks up with my exchange server perfectly. E-mail, Calander and Contacts. That is all I need. Gmail, hotmail, and my ISP POP mail all work great as well.

I would like you to send me a link on an updated review of the e-mail trouble your refering to. I believe most of the bugs have been worked out. I have never have a problem in the last ~8 months with my phone.

Other then that, WinAdmin to log on to my PC remotley and I have my entire PC avaliable to me on my phone. Never mind the free Trapster ap (ap for telling me where speed traps and cop stops are located) alone has paid for my phone over and over again.

I've had a BB before and it was good, however, and I was very surprised myself, the iPhone blows it away. I've come to really like the thing. Bat life has never been a problem for me either.

Bottom line, this phone just works...


By omnicronx on 9/22/2009 2:30:34 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
Bottom line, this phone just works...
Ya well the exchange server admin sitting right behind you does not seem to agree (and is laughing at the thought of your comment). Every single person using a non 3GS phone (which was everyone but 1 person out of around 50) no longer has exchange support in OS 3.1 thanks to Apple hiding the fact they did not really support encryption on previous phones (it was a hack) and decided to completely disable this hack once they enabled true support on 3GS phones. My work is not just going to open up their network for a fraction of its users and I am sure many others businesses are in the same boat
quote:
E-mail, Calander and Contacts. That is all I need. Gmail, hotmail, and my ISP POP mail all work great as well.
*looks at his WinMo phone*.. hmm it appears I can do all of those things too. The iPhone is great and surpasses most other phones in overall functionality when you include the greatness of the appstore, but to say its some kind of super business tool makes me laugh. It can be a nightmare for admins, and does NOT always work correctly in a business environment. Quite the opposite actually.

On the otherhand, everyone in my office loves their BB, and I have no problem with exchange support on my WinMo phone (obviously). As a business tool pretty much any smartphone can do what you mention, you don't need an iPhone to carry out your day to day business.


By Hiawa23 on 9/22/2009 9:01:04 AM , Rating: 2
when Embarq stopped wireless service in August of this year, I checked into services & I couldn't believe what people were paying for the Iphone then the monthly plans. No wonder Apple's profits are so high. I went with Metro PCS, unlimited everything $40 plus taxes a month & has fine with that.


you pay me
By Alphafox78 on 9/21/2009 12:16:12 PM , Rating: 5
I think I should get paid for augmenting ATTs crappy 3G service. there should be a discount of $20 as it wouldnt be going through their network at ALL.




RE: you pay me
By SpaceRanger on 9/21/2009 1:04:31 PM , Rating: 2
While I wouldn't expect to be paid for expanding their network, I would gladly take it and use it for no additional cost to me. Even then though, I still won't switch to AT&T for my wireless needs because once I leave the house, I'm SOL once again for network coverage. I don't know about you folks, but I don't stay in my house 24/7.


RE: you pay me
By sigmatau on 9/21/2009 3:58:17 PM , Rating: 2
That could be said about any carrier's coverage. I get better coverage with Boost over Verizon. Freaking Boost is better than Verizon!!!! I was getting one bar at my home with Verizon, 4 bars with Boost.

It just kills me when peopls say, "I'm not going to switch to ATT because of bad service in my area."

Guess what? You can replace ATT in the above sentence with any carrier. Period.

Let me know when Boost is better in your area than ATT. That would be something to talk about.


RE: you pay me
By aebiv on 9/21/2009 1:04:44 PM , Rating: 2
I guess I've had excellent luck with AT&T's 3G coverage, from San Francisco, to New Orleans, and the new towers in Omaha, I've always had a minimum of 3Mbps download speeds.


Subtle Remarks
By chaos7 on 9/21/2009 12:02:16 PM , Rating: 5
quote:
Lots is going on with the nation's hottest smart phone


quote:
would first burn through the users' rollover minutes


A lot of subtle remarks about the iPhone explosions.




RE: Subtle Remarks
By acase on 9/21/2009 1:06:07 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
Lots is going on with the nation's hottest smart phone


Please tell me I did not just read that. I refuse to finish the article after that "sentence". I know it's Mick but good lord.


you will need your unlimited calling because..
By omnicronx on 9/21/2009 1:20:37 PM , Rating: 3
They nurfed exchange support on pre GS devices!

http://arstechnica.com/apple/news/2009/09/some-exc...

Every single person who had an Apple device in my company found out very quickly that our servers enforce encryption. Now they have heavy paperweights as our IT department already told them they will not go out of their way to support it. I wonder how many other business users were left in the cold.




By ersts on 9/22/2009 7:46:00 PM , Rating: 2
That does suck.

Just to make sure this is clear, all iphones support encryption, but only the 3GS supports saving that data on the device encrypted.

To be fair though, if you don't have WM6 (or is it 6.1), they don't support it either (only the main memory is encrypted, and with such little standard memory included with the phone, everyone needs an expansion card, especially for email attachments).

Oh, and from somebody who has supported WM5 in the past for using EAS, it sucks, and after a few days to weeks, it just stops syncing or stops receiving push email, with no error messages, and the only solution is a hard reset. It pisses everyone of because that first sync after a reset takes some around an hour, and that was on Verizon's 3G network. I bet that is why BEM (Blackberry Enterprise Mail) is currently #1; their solution probably "just works."


By chromal on 9/21/2009 3:47:32 PM , Rating: 2
Why no mention of the cheapest iphone plan available?

"Nation 200 Anytime & 1000 night/weekend minutes" for $29.99. It's billing code is "NAT2001KNW" and if you have the 450 minute plan and have more than 250 minutes rolling over month to month, maybe you should consider it."

I'm not sure what valid non-monopolistic explanation exists for why AT&T hides the existance of this iphone plan in their advertising/marketing literature.




By sigmatau on 9/21/2009 4:02:32 PM , Rating: 3
Don't you need a data plan for that?


Mmm iPhone haters lol
By Soldier1969 on 9/21/09, Rating: 0
RE: Mmm iPhone haters lol
By PrezWeezy on 9/21/2009 8:47:33 PM , Rating: 2
I've used it. I don't like it. It didn't seem "fluid" to me at all. Some pages let you go landscape, some don’t. I can never seem to hit the right key and I spend half my time deleting all the text I just wrote because there is no arrow key either. When I open a Safari page there is no way to download the certificate off the server to approve the SSL communication. The only app I really care about is the restaurant slot machine. Otherwise I much prefer my WinMo device. My opinion true, but that doesn't make it any less valid than yours.


RE: Mmm iPhone haters lol
By 67STANG on 9/21/2009 9:37:44 PM , Rating: 2
Wow, I must be doing something wrong... my iPhone 3G is only getting about 3-4 hours when it's not in "paper-weight mode" (WIFI on, BT off).

Really, I couldn't be less happy with the 3G service I get from AT&T. It's much slower than what I had on Verizon, and that's not just a locality thing-- it's like that wherever I go.

Aside from that, I miss:
- Not being able to record video.
- Not being able to see flash content.
- Not being able to send picture msg's.
- Not having a fast UI.
- Not having a memory card slot.
- Not having an option for a larger battery.

On the other hand, what the phone does do, is very nice indeed. I just think that for a 2nd iteration, it's lacking a lot of features that have been around for years on much cheaper phones.

Oh, and every teeny bopper can afford one-- I paid $99 for my phone. Much less than what most high-school kids (parents) paid for their phones...


DailyTech or AppleTech?
By segerstein on 9/21/2009 4:40:22 PM , Rating: 1
Is this DailyTech or AppleTech?

At least half of the articles talk about Apple Inc.

I don't read it anymore, just to let you know...




By damianrobertjones on 9/21/2009 5:19:13 PM , Rating: 2
Good lord, don't go to Reg Hardware then as the entire front page has many, many apple products.

Then again, if it gets more hits, then I suppose the articles keep coming.


Subtitle
By ClownPuncher on 9/21/2009 4:01:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
There's lots of new developments


There are.




"Spreading the rumors, it's very easy because the people who write about Apple want that story, and you can claim its credible because you spoke to someone at Apple." -- Investment guru Jim Cramer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki