backtop


Print 72 comment(s) - last by wholland.. on Jul 2 at 1:35 AM


A teardown of the iPhone 4 showed it to have been beautifully designed and packing a great set of hardware.  (Source: ifixit)

  (Source: Engadget)

iPhone 4 (left) vs. iPhone 3GS (right)  (Source: Engadget)

iPhone 3GS display resolution (left) vs. iPhone 4 "Retina Display" (right)  (Source: Engadget)
Reviewers say iPhone 4 beats Android sets hands down, but has flaws -- network, multitasking, and notifications

The iPhone 4 is launching officially tomorrow.  Pre-orders are arriving today and some lucky pre-order customers received their phone yesterday.

Every year the iPhone launch frenzy seems to only grow more massive.  This year pre-orders quickly sold out.  So what's the fuss about?  We're about to find out.  Today we present to you a pair of early reviews and the first teardown of the phone.  The overall message?  Most will be willing to put up with some minor software or network bugaboos in exchange for the iPhone's unparalleled hardware and packaging.

Without further ado, let's first begin with perhaps the first complete teardown of the phone. 
iFixIt has taken a shiny new iPhone 4 and torn it into tiny pieces.  

While the most expensive iPhone 4 has a capacity of 32 GB, the unit only has 29.06 GB of Samsung NAND, leaving you 28.77 GB after the 301 MB install of Apple's OS and supporting software.

According to the report, the case design's modifications mean that it will be easier to remove the rear panel (to replace the battery, for example) but harder to replace the front glass.  Moving on, there's a 3.7V 1420 mAh Li-Polymer battery, 512 MB of Numonyx RAM (as rumored), and an A4 processor with 1 GHz Cortex A8 Core onboard (although the final clock speed dictated by the OS is unknown).  Other previously mentioned improvements include dual microphones, a 5-megapixel camera with LED flash, and a new screen made of Corning Gorilla Glass, a chemically strengthened alkali-aluminosilicate thin sheet glass that is reported to be 20 times stiffer and 30 times harder than plastic.

IFixIt seems pretty impressed with the design.  They write:

In what can only be described as a work of genius, Apple has integrated the UMTS, GSM, GPS, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth antennas into the stainless steel inner frame.

The dual purpose stainless steel inner frame/antenna assembly addresses possibly the two biggest flaws concerning previous iterations of the iPhone: continuous dropped calls and lack of reception.

Meanwhile those who reviewed the phone had similar reactions.  All Things Digital and Wall Street Journal editor Walt Mossberg loved the Retina display, scratch proof casing (which survived several 3 foot drops on hard surfaces), and improved camera.  He says the multitasking might fall a bit short as only some apps are allowed to truly multitask, in order to save battery life.  He explains:

In fact, for many scenarios, such as games, Apple’s version of multitasking is really just fast switching among open apps that save their place. And, even to achieve this, the apps must be updated. For some users, this limited version of multitasking will be a disappointment.

Walt's biggest complaint, though was the network.  He states:

The most important downside of the iPhone 4 is that, in the U.S., it’s shackled to AT&T, which not only still operates a network that has trouble connecting and maintaining calls in many cities, but now has abandoned unlimited, flat-rate data plans. Apple needs a second network.

He concludes:

Just as with its predecessors, I can’t recommend this new iPhone for voice calling for people who experience poor AT&T reception, unless they are willing to carry a second phone on a network that works better for them.
For everyone else, however, I’d say that Apple has built a beautiful smartphone that works well, adds impressive new features and is still, overall, the best device in its class.

Engadget also reviewed the device.  Joshua Topolsky bragged about the iPhone 4's battery life and managed to squeeze out 38 hours on a charge.  The site was disappointed though at the lack of widgets.  The thing that most ticked it off though was notifications.  Topolsky writes:

We're at version 4 of this OS, and we're still plagued by these intrusive, productivity-freezing alerts. If you're as busy as we are, then you know what it's like to get invite after invite for your calendar, text messages, and push notifications that just stall the phone out. While every other modern OS-maker has figured out an elegant way to deal with notifications (including the forthcoming Windows Phone 7), Apple clings to this broken system. Why? We can't really say.

As to the hardware, Engadget showed the iPhone 4 a whole lot of love.  Topolsky says the camera works great in low light conditions, video calling is slick, and that you "won't find a better display on a phone."

The site concludes its iPhone love-fest commenting:

We can't overstate how high-end the design of the iPhone 4 is. The 3GS now feels cheap and chubby by comparison, and even a phone like the HTC Droid Incredible -- which just came out -- seems last-generation.
...
We're not going to beat around the bush -- in our approximation, the iPhone 4 is the best smartphone on the market right now. The combination of gorgeous new hardware, that amazing display, upgraded cameras, and major improvements to the operating system make this an extremely formidable package.

Is the iPhone 4 really the  "best phone" on the market?  That's up to you to decide, but that's the opinion being voiced by early reviewers.  And, hey, it even comes with free tracking.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Is it the best iPhone?
By quiksilvr on 6/23/2010 9:59:46 AM , Rating: 5
Yes. Is it the best phone in the market? No.

EVO is a superior product in the hardware sense (microSD expansion, HDMI out, better front facing camera, better back facing camera, 16:9 widescreen).

Now as of now, in the software sense (Android 2.1 vs iOS4), obviously iOS4 is smoother and runs fairly quickly on iPhone 4. However, Froyo not only has has a faster browser and a generally improved experience, it has Flash, automatic app upgrading and WiFi/USB tethering built-in. And widgets.

Keep in mind, there are several factors:
1) Who's your carrier?
2) Which software do you prefer?
3) Do you really care about microSD expansion or HDMI out or a better front facing camera or 16:9 widescreen?

It all depends on the user, but to me, I'll take Android over Apple any day.




RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By reader1 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By piroroadkill on 6/23/2010 10:08:53 AM , Rating: 2
Is what you'd say if your name is reader1


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By reader1 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By xler8r on 6/23/2010 10:47:44 AM , Rating: 1
Whoa there buddy. Regardless of personal feelings on either companies, look at the facts and their operating structures. Despite how Google has diverged from their original path, they were at one time a directed energy beam at One thing, its search engine tech. Its certainly changed since then, but the fact remains they're not a hardware maker, I for one hope they never do venture into consumer hardwarez.
A specialized market focus, if done right has always benefited companies and this combo of HTC-Google is indicative of just that.

Now, lets look at Apple and ask ourselves why they are using Intel. I rest my case.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By AssBall on 6/23/2010 11:55:31 AM , Rating: 3
At least I can have my Porn Apps. What the heck are you supposed to spank it to with an iPhone?


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By Gio6518 on 6/23/2010 12:27:14 PM , Rating: 3
quote:
At least I can have my Porn Apps. What the heck are you supposed to spank it to with an iPhone?


not only can you look up porn but the phone can finish you off too

http://www.androlib.com/android.application.net-te...


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By darkblade33 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By B3an on 6/24/2010 5:55:08 AM , Rating: 2
Cellular web? What year are you living in?

Most new Android phones will be able to visit and properly display websites designed for desktops/laptops.

Sites like youtube might automatically not display Flash after detecting a phone browser even if the phone supports Flash, but the vast amount of sites wont do this, including most pr0n sites.

Bit of a rant here... but BTW Flash is running extremely well for me on Froyo with hardware acceleration, and watching a Flash video of playing a Flash game does not drain the battery any quicker than viewing a video in a media player or playing a non-flash based Android game. It proves that Apples stance on Flash is total BS.

Have you ever tried to run the HTML5 demo's on Apples own site, on a iPad or iPhone? even for the most basic of things like a fade out animation it completely cripples the CPU.
Things that are are vastly more complex in Flash will run perfectly fine on Froyo.

But This is the web experience Apples wants you to have.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By DEVGRU on 6/24/2010 10:49:28 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
At least I can have my Porn Apps. What the heck are you supposed to spank it to with an iPhone?


Uh, HELLO... Pictures of Steve Jobs? Duh.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By Gio6518 on 6/23/2010 12:17:19 PM , Rating: 5
inferior ?
crapple finally caught up to were android was 6 to 9 months ago.....

yup 5 mp is better than 8 ? (NO)
512 mb ram better than 384 (YES)
1ghz cortex a8 underclocked better than 1 ghz snapdragon (NO)
screen resolution better kinda technically.(screen resolution depicted by the human eye is relevant to screen size and distance, so viewing both at 18 inches away with 20/20 vision then no the evo will look better)
OS4 compared to Froyo (NO)
screen size (NO)
3G compared to 4G (NO)
crapple OS security (NO)
http://www.macoscompatible.com/news/story/ios_4_ad...
5,000 fart apps (YES)


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By omnicronx on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By darkblade33 on 6/23/2010 7:50:34 PM , Rating: 3
1ghz cortex a8 underclocked better than 1 ghz snapdragon
( YES ) .. if you're just looking at clock speed they look equal .. but you're not seeing how much work each processor can do for each clock tick.

Below is a review from anandtech showing the same processors you speak of ..

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3633/apples-a4-soc-f...


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By weskurtz0081 on 6/23/2010 1:04:56 PM , Rating: 2
How many Android phones have you used? How about the Nexus One, ever use that? I have owned both the iPhone and the Nexus One, and I have to say, it's quality is easily on par with the iPhone, both devices being top quality products.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By dguy6789 on 6/23/2010 6:06:43 PM , Rating: 2
Apple doesn't manufacture anything. They design something and then have a company called Foxconn(a company known for shoddy quality in the PC world I might add) manufacture all Apple products.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By rocky12345 on 6/23/2010 10:45:16 AM , Rating: 2
is what you say if you lived in the magical land of Apple & can not see out of the rotten core.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By iFX on 6/23/10, Rating: 0
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By quiksilvr on 6/23/2010 10:10:53 AM , Rating: 2
And by "generally improved experience", I meant that between 2.1 and 2.2 and not 2.2 vs iOS4. I have no knowledge on overall GUI experience, but I do know that 2.2 browser is indeed faster.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By FATCamaro on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By cknobman on 6/23/2010 10:42:30 AM , Rating: 5
Dont talk out of your ass it makes you look like a fool.

The EVO does flash, I know because I own one and use it everyday. It dosnt support FULL flash today but it supports a smartphone version of flash that has been good enough for every flash site ive been to except for 1 and that was only a limited part of the site as well.

General usability? LOL Ive had both and used both and while the iphone is easy to use (for simpletons) the android platform is 10x more useable than the iOS because of what you can do with it. Its nice having some decision making capabilities rather than doing what your told all the time.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By FATCamaro on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By cknobman on 6/23/2010 11:15:12 AM , Rating: 5
Coming from the mouth of someone who likely has an iphone and obviously dosnt have a phone with flash lite.

Hmm if flash lite lets me view 99% if sites with flash on them vs. the iphone which lets me view exactly 0% then flash lite is better than nothing and its still goes to show that there are features in the CURRENT version (2.1) of my EVO that are better than the iOS 4 which directly disproves your earlier statement of needing to wait for android 2.2 to come out.

In fact every single person with an iphone that has seen my EVO with flash lite was in disbelief when I could go to simple sites like speakeasy and do a speed test when their iphones crapped out.

You are the idiot.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By omnicronx on 6/23/2010 4:30:41 PM , Rating: 2
You do realize that pretty much all android phones will get REAL flash in the coming months once Froyo 2.2 is released, right?

Even right now you can get it on your EVO on 2.1 (thanks to the guys down at XDA)..

Thanks for being a moron and not adding to the conversion though!!!


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By darkblade33 on 6/23/2010 7:56:35 PM , Rating: 2
I get the feeling Google is adding Flash to Droid more for apps though and not for the mobile web. Remember one of Google's main guys is the lead guy for HTML 5, and Google ( not just Apple, and Microsoft ) has put alot money and time into making sure the cellular web has a strong HTML5 showing seems to be banking on it. I dont know every reason google wants to use HTML5 ( like they did with Youtube ) .. but Flash on the cellular web could only slow it down and consume more power from a device that needs to be more power efficient.. Just my two cents..


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By Shadowself on 6/23/2010 2:24:33 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
There is no best smart phone on the market.


IMHO, this is the only factual statement made in your post that will never be refuted, FIT. The rest is either open to interpretation or will be configuration dependent.

"The Best" is all dependent upon the individual user. For some the iPhone *is* the best smart phone. For others it is an Android phone. For others it is a Windows phone. Hell, I know people who HATE not having a physical keyboard. I know people who HATE anything that is not a clamshell phone. To each his own. No single phone is no true best smart phone.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By plewis00 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By SkullOne on 6/23/2010 10:46:22 AM , Rating: 2
Considering there is no official Android based Slate PC out yet, yes your user experience probably sucked.

At this point I won't say iPhone is the best and I won't say Android is the best. I much prefer Android versus iPhone though. I kicked my iPhone 3G to the curb for Droid and haven't looked back, but that's just me.

To each their own with what phone they want.

If you want freedom and control over your hardware then you want Android. If you want to be told what you can and can't do with your hardware then get an iPhone.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By plewis00 on 6/23/2010 11:12:14 AM , Rating: 2
You are 100% correct, but these problems didn't bother me on the Android-slate I had because I'm technically-minded enough to see through them and the device for what it is (and at less than a fifth the price, I'm sure you understand why). When I say the software was unfinished I mean little things like you wouldn't see on an 'official' device like the 'no SIM card' message (it doesn't have a SIM slot!), the power management lacking, etc.

I may be slightly-biased because I am already partly locked into Apple with iTunes and my iPods but for proper work I use a Bold 9700.

And also, my iPhone is jailbroken (which is really the only reason I went with one).


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By finbarqs on 6/23/2010 10:55:19 AM , Rating: 2
I think the apple has a few superior things going for it: Battery life, Build Quality (Yes my EVO 4G has the light leak-screen rising problem -- so dust got under the glass), arguably a better design, smoother operation, BETTER CAMERA, and 24-bit coloring (16.7 million simultaneous colors as opposed to 16-bit coloring (65k simultaneous colors). Plus engadget's close up of the comparison between a nexus one screen and iPhone4 screen makes the iphone4's screen look godly.

In digital photography, higher megapixels translates to smaller pixels, given the sensor size stays the same. smaller pixels means a higher pixel density. That's why apple addresses this issue by saying "We've kept the pixel density the same, just made the sensor bigger to accomodate the 5 megapixels". More resolution just means that you can make larger prints. Doesn't translate to a more "detailed" picture. In fact, quite the opposite. Each pixel on a camera sensor is like a "light collecting bucket", where the bigger they are, the more information, more light they can gather. So larger pixels actually translates to more detailed pictures, and your lens (since they are using tiny lenses) will be able to resolve the sensor. Having such a crammed sensor might translate into the lens not being able to resolve the camera sensor, causing some cases of diffraction to occur.

I'd say iPhone 4's camera is superior to probably any camera phone on the market right now! Think of it this way:

it's like comparing a 5D Mark 2, to a 21MP Hasselblad or a PhaseOne.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By quiksilvr on 6/23/2010 2:13:26 PM , Rating: 2
They got INSANELY close to the screen. How about a nice side by side comparison of movies? Show us pics and then show us an HD video of side-by-side. A 32" 1080p will look better than a 40" 720p, but which one do you think you'd get if both were the same price?

And I need to see an extensive camera test between the Evo and the iPhone 4 to see which is better. And FYI, "The Best Camera on a Cellphone" title belongs to the Samsung Memoir.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By omnicronx on 6/23/2010 4:53:15 PM , Rating: 2
I see where you are going with this but your analogy is flawed . With a 40" TV, you will always be seeing a 40" image regardless of what resolutions it supports. In that sense surely people would pick the bigger screen.

Where your logic is flawed is the vast majority of people will never take advantage of an 8MP camera. 5MP is what is needed to blow up an image to around 8x10, with the average use being much smaller.(pictures on facebook etc).

Making matters worse as the OP pointed out, the iPhones pixel density has remained the same while upping the MP. I know for a fact that this is not possible with an 8MP part, sensors of the same density for that price point don't exist.(which is one of the main reasons they only jumped to 5MP). Cramming in all the MP's you can may actually have a negative effect. The lens does not get enough light, causing diffraction issues (among others) as the OP noted.

MP's are rarely equal and only a tiny piece of the equation, especially when talking about small form factors.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By maven81 on 6/24/2010 12:11:09 PM , Rating: 2
"Each pixel on a camera sensor is like a "light collecting bucket", where the bigger they are, the more information, more light they can gather. So larger pixels actually translates to more detailed pictures, and your lens (since they are using tiny lenses) will be able to resolve the sensor."

This is incorrect. Larger pixels most definitely collect more light, but they never collect more detail. The detail depends on the sampling of the lens/sensor arrangement. It's true that if you have a tiny lens that supports say 10px/mm at best and you stick a sensor that has 30px/mm behind it you're just wasting all those pixels. You'll get a photo that's 3 times larger but has the same detail as one taken with a 10px/mm sensor and is 3 times smaller.

But if we're talking a high quality lens that can resolve tiny details of course a sensor with smaller pixels will have a higher resolution. To achieve the same resolution on the sensor with bigger pixels you'll have to increase the focal length of the lens, and then you'll have a much smaller field of view.

There are other factors of course... signal to noise ratio, dark current, etc... but even then these effect the quality of the image, not the resolution of the image.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By omnicronx on 6/23/2010 3:29:25 PM , Rating: 1
I few holes in your theory.

1) Better camera to whose standards? MP is not everything, more MP requires more light and as the rule goes.. the more MP, the bigger the sensor.. the less light. Over 5MP cameras are useless on phones right now, its just not cost effective to pair the lens with the right hardware to take advantage.. in fact said hardware doesn't really exist for the form factors required. The result, I would not be surprised if the iPhones 5MP camera is better than the EVO's 8MP camera.
They have switched manufacturers since the last time around, and from the teardown of the iPhone 4, it looks like people will be quite happy.

2)16:9, yes it maybe 16:9 but the iPhones resolution and ppi is actually higher than all android devices.

3)As it stands, its a little overrated. It can only play youtube and videos from your sd card..(as with the Apple, it requires 3rd party devs to access the appropriate APIS, only problem being the only phone with this functionality, there will be no rush to take advantage of said features for one phone, unlike Apples app store that will most likely take advantage far sooner i.e no slingbox output etc for the EVO as it currently stands) It also shudders like no tomorrow with 720P videos captured by the phone, and seems to have problems in general with videos larger than its native resolution. The external display of an iPad at 1024x768 looked better in many situations..

4)Hardware.. the iPhone 4 is by far the best CPU/GPU combo on the market. There is really no denying this.. As stated before, even the 3GS outputs more mflops than the Nexxsys One / EVO / Incredible.. (i.e the GPU is much better, qualcomm is not known for making good mobile gpus) Also does not have its frames locked at 30FPS =P.. a HUGE problem with some of the big name android devices currently on the market..

Will never buy an iPhone myself, and my next device will definately be Android.. but I think its kind of hard to disagree that right now the 4g is the best phone on the market. Now of course this will change in a few months, as for all intents and purposes, top of the line android devices could get two hardware refreshes by the time the next iPhone is released.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By maven81 on 6/24/2010 12:24:13 PM , Rating: 2
"the more MP, the bigger the sensor.. the less light."

The sensor is only bigger if the pixels are the same size. And I'm sure you mean less light per pixel.


RE: Is it the best iPhone?
By Enoch2001 on 6/24/2010 2:07:39 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
It all depends on the user, but to me, I'll take Android over Apple any day.


For me, Android is a cluster fuck of a mess and about as elegant as an ass with the mudd-butt. iOS4 delivers elegance in spades, by comparison. ust my 2 cents.


By PAPutzback on 6/23/2010 9:53:42 AM , Rating: 4
The only thing wrong with my EVO is that I can't stream netflix movies.




By Hydrofirex on 6/23/2010 12:10:56 PM , Rating: 4
Lawl @ "The Liberal media"

Wow, so now we're politicising smart phones? What's next? Windows Vista was the conservatives call to action, and this is why the (queue sting music) Left Wing Media hated it.

You support the tea party don't you? Well, dont worry, King Obama has logged this post and will be sending out secret agents in the guise of census takers to reprogram your household.

HfX


By chrish89 on 6/23/2010 12:21:41 PM , Rating: 1
It's a conspiracy! No one is lining up to buy these shitty phones.


Jibber Jabber
By xler8r on 6/23/2010 10:01:01 AM , Rating: 3
"Reviewers say iPhone 4 beats Android sets hands down, but has flaws -- network, multitasking, and notifications"

Impressive how the best handset on the market has some distinct flaws...

Pay a man, he'll say anything. Hold a milk bone in front of most dogs, they'll bark. So indicative of media massaging.

Just another reason why I despise Jobs and his "magical" products.
Party on complacent consumers, party on.




RE: Jibber Jabber
By reader1 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Jibber Jabber
By nafhan on 6/23/2010 10:36:32 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
That means other phones are even more flawed.
Actually, it means some of the news outlets think the iPhone 4 is better. That's it.


RE: Jibber Jabber
By bplewis24 on 6/23/2010 11:26:48 AM , Rating: 2
Good post, as you've picked out the singularly most succinct & contradictory statement in the article.

How can a phone beat Android "hands down" when the exact flaws it has (network, multi-tasking and notifications) are things that Android does in superior fashion?

Of course the network thing is a case-by-case basis and not specific to the OS, but the other are clearly OS issues that are superior.

The only way the iPhone 4 would clearly beat Android "hands down" is if it were released in 2009. It's nice that they have almost caught up to their competition, though.

Brandon


Here is an interesting statistic
By Tony Swash on 6/23/10, Rating: 0
By PsychoPif on 6/23/2010 4:21:12 PM , Rating: 2
Is it me or do you copy paste the exact same post in every IPhone topic...

Good thing your name is Tony Swash and not Reader2 or I'd think you're some kind of bot.


By omnicronx on 6/23/2010 4:56:02 PM , Rating: 2
Completely different model.. Most Android Apps are free. There are also Android equivalents for most of the good iPhone apps..


By wholland on 7/2/2010 1:35:16 AM , Rating: 2
And if a customer is unhappy with the quality or the value of an application, he/she can simply uninstall it within 24 hours of the time of purchase and never be charged.

This requires that developers create apps that are of a high quality and remain useful, and games that have a high replay value. As I understand it if you purchase an app on the iphone, you have to manipulate the system to try to get your money back. On android, its very simple and the credit card isn't charged for 24 hours.

My point is this: Apple isn't just donating money to developers. That money is coming from customers. I'm sure its much easier to make money developing for the apple app store, but the android market will develop higher quality, more useful, and longer standing apps. And as people's minds begin to change about android, the flow of money will also change directions.


Seriously?
By TheDoc9 on 6/23/2010 11:27:27 AM , Rating: 2
Never have I seen such blatant worship. There's nothing 'genius' about this phone. Engineers have been doing things like building antennas into casing for decades!

The best part about these review advertisements, is that even though the phone is so cool, the network blows and they STILL recommend getting the phone anyway! Buy this phone, and then when you need to make a call use your backup phone!....Silly, Stupid, Blind, Foolishness.

A review of any other phone would've not recommended the purchase based on the network alone.

iOS4 lacks options that competitors have and the phone is nice and well built, but it's no nicer than some of the competition. This really is a reality distortion field...and like steve jobs said at the apple conference (about the iphone4) - 'it's like an old Leica camera, it's just beautiful, you're really going to love this.'

- and so we do.




RE: Seriously?
By AntDX316 on 6/26/2010 3:55:52 PM , Rating: 2
I don't really care about having anything special talking with friends other than basic messaging and making phone calls. The iPhone 4 is so good that making phone calls and messaging people to me is more of a third basic feature instead of a secondary. I see using handheld apps is like a primary feature. Using the GPS and doing research on the web as a secondary. Making calls and messaging as a third feature. :)


WTF
By LedHed on 6/23/2010 11:52:17 PM , Rating: 2
how do you make an article saying the iPhone4 can't do Pandora and Safari at the same time and then say it beats the Android hands down?

I don't understand how Jason Mick and the rest of DailyTech get along.




RE: WTF
By Enoch2001 on 6/24/2010 2:05:11 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
how do you make an article saying the iPhone4 can't do Pandora and Safari at the same time and then say it beats the Android hands down?


Sorry? Where does it say that in the article? Additionally, you *CAN* do Pandora and Safari at the same time in iOS4...


Mine is stuck...
By cditty on 6/23/2010 10:19:23 AM , Rating: 1
I have been waiting for this phone for the camera, as my phone is what I usually have when my daughter is doing something cute. Trying to make an 8x10 out of a 3GS picture is impossible. I'm so glad people are reviewing the camera well.

I am supposed to be delivered today, but my tracking still shows me at a sort facility about 1.5 hours from here. FedEx has always shown delivery for tomorrow, but from the beginning Apple has said the 23rd. Even sent me a follow up email.

I hope it comes today.

Looking forward to Anand reviewing it himself.




RE: Mine is stuck...
By kmmatney on 6/23/2010 2:51:43 PM , Rating: 2
OK - I'm jealous. The 4G looks like a nice bit of hardware. A few people I know, who were able to get in on the pre-order, will get theirs tomorrow as well. I have to wait another year before I can upgrade, although I heard there might be an special upgrade price.


Article biased / unbiased?
By W00dmann on 6/23/2010 3:45:27 PM , Rating: 2
Hi Jason,

I read your articles this afternoon (including "piracy crackdown" and "EV Bill") and found them to be relatively even-handed, which is a step in the right direction. My only complaint would be the "free tracking" comment ending your Apple article, which is a cheap shot (obviously you could not control yourself there). And btw linking to your own biased / sensationalistic article does not bolster any argument you may make, much less constitute solid journalism. But overall, nothing too horrendous today.




U really dont understand isnt...?
By Romion on 6/24/2010 3:43:27 AM , Rating: 2
The facts are that do not matter if the Iphon is good or bad. The most important thing is to be a subject to many debates. Do not mater what u are saying/think and what the reality is. Most of Iphone buyers DO NOT KNOW THAT OTHERS PHONES CAN DO SAME OR MORE THINGS THAN IPHONE. And anandtech know that these debates on their "news" attract many many comments, and visitors on their site, what financialy is verry good for them, right?
Pls stop reading/comment on those stupid news or in real life and Apple will fade away.
My comment is a necessary evil, maybe some of u will wake up and will understand the world they live in.

Anand pls stop with this ads. Maybe u receive money from Apple but saying that a phone that "can't keep the GSM, 3G, WI-FI signals is the best phone" is an insult for us, the readers.
WE ARE NOT THAT STUPID.

AFTER ALL U MAKE MONEY BECAUSE OF US, THE READERS

APPLE IS SO SUCCESFULL BECAUSE WE ARE TALKING ABOUT IT.

Sorry for my english skills, im not a native english speaker.




By T2k on 7/1/2010 12:35:00 AM , Rating: 2
...the biggest and most disgusting Apple-shill, this worm-like lifeform?

God, DT is getting worse and worse every day, it seems...




Apple was first...
By Daniel8uk on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Apple was first...
By TheDoc9 on 6/23/2010 11:32:03 AM , Rating: 2
See, the reality distortion field it's in full effect!

Apple didn't invent the first touchscreen phone, and iOS tends to run better because it's built for literally one or two devices. Android continues to improve and support more, and continues to be independent developer friendly and offer more options on the phone itself.


RE: Apple was first...
By cokbun on 6/23/2010 12:13:38 PM , Rating: 4
first touch screen phone? ever hear of sony ericsson p 800? ipaq's ?, dopod ? ( htc now ), O2, and many more touch screen phone that comes out before the iphone?

first mobile OS ? you mean it was out before windows mobile? symbian ?, linux and all

whats next? the iPad is the first tablet PC ?


RE: Apple was first...
By piroroadkill on 6/23/2010 1:32:05 PM , Rating: 2
First.. touchscreen phone? You're either trolling or seriously mentally deficient.


RE: Apple was first...
By kmmatney on 6/23/2010 2:36:37 PM , Rating: 2
I would say Apple had the first phone with a usable touchscreen that made web browsing "not suck". I bought my iPhone about a year ago - its a work phone so I was stuck on AT&T. I tried every smartphone they had - the iPhone was the only one that had WiFi and a good web browser. Maybe they didn't have the first touchscreen, but they were the first to put it to good use.


RE: Apple was first...
By Shadowself on 6/23/2010 2:17:19 PM , Rating: 2
Has to be sarcasm. Has to be.


RE: Apple was first...
By Daniel8uk on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Apple was first...
By axeman1957 on 6/23/2010 7:01:57 PM , Rating: 2
And they only files suit to stop sales of iPhones after Apple files suit against them, since Apple invented everything used in the iPhone from scratch.


Apple's vertical model is the key.
By reader1 on 6/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Apple's vertical model is the key.
By plewis00 on 6/23/2010 10:12:46 AM , Rating: 2
I don't think you know what a 'vertical approach' or 'vertical model' is; you just like to sound clever hoping you'll bamboozle others with intelligent-sounding language...


By xler8r on 6/23/2010 10:14:52 AM , Rating: 1
Props on the usage of Bamboozle :D hehe


By rocky12345 on 6/23/2010 10:42:20 AM , Rating: 2
Kooliad land again I see. Maybe next time sip the Apple juice not gulp it just some friendly advice.


RE: Apple's vertical model is the key.
By solarrocker on 6/23/2010 12:23:44 PM , Rating: 2
Please tell me what kind of drugs you're on, I want to be able to believe that I live in a different universe also.


By Penti on 6/23/2010 1:41:37 PM , Rating: 2
That they aren't vertically integrated into producing a lot of different crap is the key. Nokia can't start selling 450 million 600 dollar smartphones. Both makes compromises. Apple can survive on their one model market scheme because they don't own any factories and just hire in whatever they need, Samsung to do the SoC and the TFT screen, Foxconn to manufacture it etc. They have no staff needing to churn out 500 different things every year. They can draw from the experiences of others. Investments from others. Apple supports their device fairly well that can't be said about the others mostly. Software platform is the most important part. They have managed with flawed devices, bad reception and crappy mics. Apple aren't much different from the other computer OEMs, very US centric and don't give much of a damn about the customers. Ones something is EOLed it's useless. And they are too very slow moving sometimes. They use the same contract manufacturers as every one else on top of that.


"My sex life is pretty good" -- Steve Jobs' random musings during the 2010 D8 conference














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki