Image courtesy of NASA
It has been confirmed that the furthest planet in the Earth's solar system has two new moons

The Hubble Space Telescope has confirmed that Pluto has two more moons, which will accompany Charon and now brings the planet's total number of moons to three.  Astronomers believe that a cataclysmic collision of two objects millions of years ago created all three satellites that now orbit Pluto.  The new moons have been temporarily named P1 and P2, and were discovered in May 2005 with the Hubble Space Telescope.  Scientists have guessed that P1 and P2 are around 40 and 31 miles in diameter.  Charon is much larger with a 750 mile diameter.  

Pluto is the furthest planet in our solar system and lies in a vast band of small, icy bodies beyond Neptune called the Kuiper belt. Charon was discovered in 1978 and although some astronomers suspected that Pluto could have other, smaller, moons, none were found until now because of the difficulty in detecting objects so far away from Earth.

"We are going to continue to work with them to make sure they understand the reality of the Internet.  A lot of these people don't have Ph.Ds, and they don't have a degree in computer science." -- RIM co-CEO Michael Lazaridis

Most Popular Articles2nd Generation August Smart Lock – Now with Apple HomeKit Features
September 18, 2017, 7:00 AM
iSO 11 is Almost Ready:
September 19, 2017, 7:48 AM
Intel Coffee Lake release date
September 10, 2017, 6:07 AM
iOS 11 Arrives in 2 Days – Here is What You Get.
September 17, 2017, 6:59 AM
We will Get 5G Phones in 2019
September 19, 2017, 6:49 AM

Latest Blog Posts

Copyright 2017 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki