backtop


Print 39 comment(s) - last by Jellodyne.. on Sep 14 at 4:35 PM


  (Source: holyfragger.com)
Get ready for the Rumble Pit.

One of the most celebrated first-person shooter game series is coming to an end -- but not without a bang.  Giveaways, midnight release parties and other special events are scheduled for the direct prequel to the Halo trilogy; Halo: Reach

The yet-to-be-released game is already earning rave reviews and will be available in stores on Tuesday, according to 
Joystiq and Bungie.net.

The science fiction video game franchise has been a run-away success for Microsoft Xbox and Xbox 360.  The game, created by Bungie, began with the release of
Halo: Combat Evolved in 2001 and was followed by Halo 2 and Halo 3. 

The prequel takes place in 2552, after the fall of the human-colonized planet Reach.  The game follows the six special ops Spartans of the Noble Team as they begin their fight against the Covenant, the alien militant alliance who have targeted the humans. 

Highly focused and detailed, 
Reach offers more autonomy in the game and provides new maps and visuals like Forge World, which allows players to build a world they envision; and weapons like the long-range Designated Marksman Rifle which takes down enemies with one shot. 

In 
Reach instead of playing Master Chief, Noble Team observer, the player can choose to step into the role of a Noble Team member.  When the Campaign ends the user can remain "in character" throughout all of the game modes.

The game designers have upped the ante for multiplayers as well with Firefight, Rocketfight and Gruntocalypse.  Gamers fight through battles and are rewarded with mini-events.  
  
Reach will be made available in Standard, Limited and Legendary Editions. The standard version is $59.99, the limited edition is $79.99  and the legendary edition is $149.99 

Fans can receive a token to unlock a Spartan Recon Helmet, by picking up the game on launch day.  More information can be found here.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By BZDTemp on 9/13/2010 1:03:31 PM , Rating: 4
I learned my lesson with Doom 3 and shall never do it again. DO NOT BELIEVE RELEASE DAY REVIEWS.

I'm not saying if Halo Reach is good, great or rubbish since I have not played it. I'm just saying waiting a few days can be a good idea.

While the reviews can be accurate there is unfortunately a big risk those releasing initial reviews have done rush jobs and/or feel they own the publisher something. The result is that we see reviews being very generous with the superlatives even with games that are less deserving.

Even if the reviewer is doing a good job there may be editor which choose to alter what he or she said in the review. Remember release day reviews means traffic=money for the website/magazine and there can also be advertising deals at stake. Publishers are not beyond punishing sites for poor reviews!




RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By Mitch101 on 9/13/2010 1:12:26 PM , Rating: 2
Doom 3 is playable if you do the flashlight mod. Having to switch between being able to see or shoot was what killed it for most. Note I said playable.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By BZDTemp on 9/13/2010 1:25:35 PM , Rating: 2
Playable - I can agree on that. But remember how so many reviews were speaking of it as Doom 3 being the best thing ever.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By Mitch101 on 9/13/2010 1:41:47 PM , Rating: 2
True dat made you wonder if they even played the game.

I stopped reading the review sites when they got caught for positive reviews in exchange for pre-testing games and when the game companies threatened to pull advertising if they got a negative review on a title.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By B3an on 9/14/2010 8:38:15 AM , Rating: 2
I personally think Doom 3 was very good, not amazing though. For it's time it had an amazing engine and was different from most things. Only real problem i hate was lack of variety in the scenery.

The Halo games are some of the most over rated games ever though. It all began simply because at the time the original Halo was released on the Xbox, there nothing else all that great for FP shooters on that consoles and many other consoles. If it originally came out on PC as first planned it would have just been an above average shooter, nothing special against the vast amount of already great FPS games on PC at the time. Just look at how the PC versions of the Halo games stack up against other FPS games on PC, even with the improved graphics and that in the PC versions, most PC gamers would not rate them highly or even mention them.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By MrBlastman on 9/14/2010 10:03:58 AM , Rating: 2
Doom 3 was great, especially online Deathmatch. When playing on a modded server that allows 8 players (versus 4 normally) it gets extremely intense. The weapons are all great, though the rocket launcher is still an insane powerhouse. When you're down though, with some armor and only a shotgun, you can still come out ahead if you get in close and nail the guy with a shot or two.

They even have strafe jump in the game! Those who hate Doom 3 just aren't hardcore enough. It has gobs of gameplay built into it that require skill, reflexes and tactics.

It did need the Super Shotgun though... For those who _really_ love Doom, but miss Doom in Doom 3, check out Classic Doom 3, a remake of the original Doom, Episode 1 in the Doom 3 engine, even the music is remade.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/classic-doom-3


By Mojo the Monkey on 9/14/2010 3:11:01 PM , Rating: 2
if you want to see the true Halo precursor, check out "Marathon" - one of the first FPS games released on the Macintosh (circa OS 7, I believe). I liked it better than Doom.


By Jellodyne on 9/14/2010 4:35:29 PM , Rating: 3
> The Halo games are some of the most over rated games ever though.

The thing people don't get with Halo is that it's totally brilliant in one area -- its lobby/ranking system/matchmaking engine. The way Halo lets you group up with your friends and easily find well matched opponents was and still is heads and shoulders above what anyone else is doing.

Look at what has happened to Unreal, at one point the kings of FPSes. Their Unreal 3 engine is amazing to look at, and the game plays pretty good, but their matchmaking actually got worse with their adaptation of Gamespy (and it was never near Halo levels anyway). The Unreal 3 online experience is a deserted wasteland.

People keep trying to improve visuals and effects but if you want to make a hit you've got to look at how easy it is to find a fun online match of Halo and try to match or beat that.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By AssBall on 9/13/2010 3:11:00 PM , Rating: 3
I must be one of the few people who really enjoyed Doom3. I thought it was scary/tense as hell, and had a fun storyline to follow. You have to really get into it, alone in the dark to enjoy it, but I did.


By Souka on 9/13/2010 3:36:12 PM , Rating: 4
Same here... fun game.

Flashlight didn't really bother me... but I played in dark room with surround sound... muzzle flashes and fire lit up the enemy quite nicely. :)


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By kyleb2112 on 9/13/2010 5:34:09 PM , Rating: 3
Ditto for me. I thought the way they used darkness was ballsy, and there are STILL top games coming out which can't touch the graphics.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By zmatt on 9/13/2010 8:08:30 PM , Rating: 4
I enjoyed it, But I dunno about that. I think they went overboard with the bump mapping. the characters look like zombies, and if it was well lit the graphics would be less impressive. It was the crysis of it's time though. Dynamic lighting and bump mapping were the flavor of the day. It's definitely been surpassed though, and for quite some time.

as far as Halo is concerned i dislike the series. I'm a pc gamer and Halo pc was great. The game was improved from the console version and Halo CE kept things fresh. Halo 2 pc was a joke though, the tool tips were still referring to xbox controls and you had to have an Xbox live account, wtf. Microsoft really did the PC a disservice that time around. I don't knwo why since they make far more money on windows sales than Xbox. But whatev.


By JKflipflop98 on 9/14/2010 5:59:46 AM , Rating: 2
You mean, the zombies look like zombies?

I'm not seeing the issue here. I think it's more along the lines of "It seems to be cool to hate Doom, so I'll go along too".


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By BZDTemp on 9/14/2010 7:23:52 AM , Rating: 2
How do you recon Halo PC was improved? What did I miss?

Apart from allowing for higher resolution, shorter load times and aiming aid turned off I did not notice any differences. To me Halo PC was simply Halo only easier because mouse+keyboard rules in FPS.


By B3an on 9/14/2010 8:46:57 AM , Rating: 2
It had vastly improved texture res compared to the xbox. But even with the PC version clearly playing and looking better, it was nothing more than pretty good in comparison to other great PC shooters.
The Halo series does not deserve the ratings and fanfare it gets.


By damianrobertjones on 9/13/2010 5:52:42 PM , Rating: 2
..and here as well. Fantastic game that I enjoyed from start to finish.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By TSS on 9/13/2010 5:17:18 PM , Rating: 3
The flashlight mod took away exactly that what made doom 3 a good game.

I always say, no matter how scary a game is, you feel alot safer when you've got ye ol' shotgun. Doom 3 completly eliminated this feeling of safety because you could shoot, but not see the enemies, or you could see, but not shoot the enemies. This is what made it the scariest game i've played in years - Even FEAR with it's "throw bodies through windows at random moments" didn't scare me as much as doom 3. Apart from those 2 games, no moment in any game in the last 2 decades has scared me at all (and FEAR only made me jump a little 3 times).

For anybody that remembers, alpha labs 4, the bloody footprints to the broken door and the babies scream. First time i heard that was at 3am with headphones on in the dark. That remains, till this day, the only time a game litteraly sent shivers down my spine and i had to take a 5 minute break because it spooked me. No game before or since has done that for me. That, my friend, is true horror.

For those who don't remember, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qyE3XZYaCD0 and be sure to turn the sound up high ^^


By damianrobertjones on 9/13/2010 5:54:16 PM , Rating: 2
Yep, very, very tense at parts. The small spider things made me very .. uncomfortable when they first appeared.

I think the 'main' complaint is that people expected Doom 3 to be Doom 2 updated and with luck Doom 4 will be just that. As it stands, Doom 3 and the expansion will always be fondly remembered.


By supermitsuba on 9/13/2010 1:28:07 PM , Rating: 2
Kinda like Oblivion and the massive bugs in that game. Sure the landscape was impressive, but not enought to give that game 5s all around.


RE: Don't buy games on pre-release reviews
By BruceLeet on 9/13/2010 2:44:29 PM , Rating: 2
That is the kind of advice you'd give for new games, new franchises. Not a franchise that's been out since 2001.

There are millions of Halo fans out there, they're going to buy it regardless of its reviews. My nephew is a fan, not diehard but he's a fan and I doubt he would take your advice especially with the latest installment of Halo.

Article should mention that Master Chief is completely non-existent in this release, a little fun fact. Which of course is a prequel but you'd think they'd have him in there as a greenhorn spartan or something...given his notoriety within the franchise.


By BZDTemp on 9/13/2010 3:29:33 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
That is the kind of advice you'd give for new games, new franchises. Not a franchise that's been out since 2001.


My advice is especially important in such a situation. It's when you're buying into a franchise the risk of a disappointment is extra big. The fans will likely buy without even reading a review but the less hard core and the newcomers will look for info - this is where honest reviews matter and where one must watch out for the not so honest.


By Hiawa23 on 9/13/2010 7:05:42 PM , Rating: 2
Will be picking up mine tomorrow. This was a no brainer as I have loved all the Halo games, & I would have bought this if for nothing else to complete the series. Can't wait.


Fixed!
By Iaiken on 9/13/2010 1:00:18 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
One of the most overrated first-person shooter game series is coming to an end -- but not without a bang.


There, that's much more accurate...




RE: Fixed!
By Mitch101 on 9/13/2010 1:08:40 PM , Rating: 3
Your thinking of Metal Gear Solid. Great visuals mediocre game play.


RE: Fixed!
By quiksilvr on 9/13/2010 1:23:32 PM , Rating: 3
You, sir, shall burn in eternal hell fire for uttering such blasphemy!


RE: Fixed!
By Quadrillity on 9/13/2010 1:59:10 PM , Rating: 2
someone should CQC him ...


RE: Fixed!
By jvillaro on 9/13/2010 7:40:33 PM , Rating: 2
Well maybe he's talking about the pos camara angles, 400 gazillion hours of movies but only 5 minutes of gameplay, you get in to all that of sneaking around and then you just feel stupid because you can just stand up, run around and kill everybody and and no harm done you can finish the game just the same...
The metal gear games are good, I've liked them and played them since the NES... but yeah they are also overrated.
Different folks, different strokes man, maybe its a religion to you but for others it isn't all that. I really just think that if the Halo series was on PS also there woulndn't be so many people (fan boys
) b!tching. (I play both consoles so I play what ever I want where ever I want)


RE: Fixed!
By bighairycamel on 9/13/2010 3:18:53 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Your thinking of Metal Gear Solid. Great visuals mediocre game play.
Except MGS isn't an FPS.

At least that series defined a whole new genre of gameplay. What did any Halo game ever do to revolutionize first person shooters? Not saying they're bad games by any means, I've had a lot of fun with multiplayer. But yes they are quite over-rated.


RE: Fixed!
By Unspoken Thought on 9/13/2010 4:26:04 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
But yes they are quite over-rated.


I love how any game, movie, idea etc that someone doesn't like, but has high mass appeal, is over-rated.

How about giving credit when it's due and encourage the highlights of medium so new developers will take notice?

The glass doesn't always have to be half empty.


RE: Fixed!
By smackababy on 9/13/2010 4:39:58 PM , Rating: 2
Actually, Halo IIRC was the first to bring in recharging "health" in the form of the energy shield. How many FPS have that now?

I am not saying Halo is the greatest thing ever, but it stands as a very fun arcade style shooter that I enjoy. It helped kill off the twitch style shooters that the noobs hated so much and put console online multiplayer on the map.

And for the record, Kojima only invented the stealth genre with Metal Gear because game development and technology did not offer enough to create the combat system he wanted.


By inperfectdarkness on 9/13/2010 3:09:52 PM , Rating: 1
without a doubt, UT > Halo.

always has; always will. let the downmodding commence.




RE: 15 years as an FPS gamer, and i can say...
By EnzoFX on 9/13/2010 4:14:53 PM , Rating: 2
I will always think of Halo as dumbed-down FPS gaming.


By VahnTitrio on 9/13/2010 5:54:46 PM , Rating: 2
Dumbed-down really isn't a good word for it. Halo requires as much strategy as any other FPS. On the most basic level it is pretty simple. At high levels (like MLG) taking advantage of every little detail is a must.

If I had to pick any game to be dumbed-down it would be the ultra noob friendly MW games.


By Unspoken Thought on 9/13/2010 4:41:56 PM , Rating: 2
I can agree with the UT comment as a competitor FPS, but EPIC dropped the ball. As an immersive story driven campaign, polished presentation, quick & fun multi-play with little nuances here and there, it's really not all that bad for the Sci Fi genre enthusiast.

Plus now with in depth map editor, Forge World, which immediately reminds me of the map modding community in UT with their new game types and map building architectures, you can do so much more and make it personalized. I bet people will spend hours just building maps instead of playing.

Until the UT3 community grows back to the UT2K4 days as opposed to the lone populated server currently up(and thats on a good day), I'll get my fix through the Halo universe.


Can't wait
By VahnTitrio on 9/13/2010 1:03:02 PM , Rating: 2
As a fan of the series I look forward to this game. If executed correctly this game could fix a lot of the quirks that have frustrated me with past Halo titles (most notably the BR). I hope the apocalyptic overtones of the campaign are carried out well. Will know by this time Wednesday.




RE: Can't wait
By StevoLincolnite on 9/13/2010 3:13:12 PM , Rating: 2
I got the game 4 and a half hours ago. (Midnight launch, Australia.)

Campaign seems great so far, good music, good visuals.

However, there is some frame rate stutter during the campaign and the story has a slow pace during the early part of the game which is a little annoying, but it does slowly get more frantic as you progress.

Lovin' the jet pack, it reminds me of Tribes which was just allot of pure fun, the armor abilities really does change things around in multi-player.

It's a good game, not a revolutionary one, but an evolutionary game over Halo 3. - Plus it's a breath of fresh air from the likes of "Warfare" games. (CoD/Bad Company etc')


Buy what you want
By htown10 on 9/13/2010 2:56:02 PM , Rating: 2
I agree that some reviews can be influenced by factors mentioned by some above but it all comes down to what you want. If you follow a game that's being previewed by many, be it on PC, Xbox 360, PS3, etc, and like how the game is coming along, buy it when its available.

There is not one review that can determine the overall quality of a game, there will always be a reviewer that didn't like a certain aspect of the game and will take off points for it.

Read the reviews, but decide for yourself.




Halo....
By LordSojar on 9/14/10, Rating: 0
RE: Halo....
By robinthakur on 9/14/10, Rating: 0
"Intel is investing heavily (think gazillions of dollars and bazillions of engineering man hours) in resources to create an Intel host controllers spec in order to speed time to market of the USB 3.0 technology." -- Intel blogger Nick Knupffer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki