backtop


Print 20 comment(s) - last by tviceman.. on Jun 6 at 7:25 PM

Engadget says "Woot"! Gizmodo says "Meh".

The Palm Pre has generated interest that no Palm product before it has been able to achieve. Official Palm sanctioned reviews of the Pre are now showing up online and one of the most thorough of the lot is from Engadget. Unauthorized reviews had been published earlier this week.

A quick look at the pictures shows that the Pre is a very small phone. It looks much more compact than the iPhone, which isn't that large of a device. Engadget calls the design stunning and it fits very well in the hand. The Pre has a 3.5mm headphone jack, which means you don’t need to buy proprietary headphones for music.

The first area of concern for Engadget was the amount of play between the body and the screen when the device is open stirring doubt about the long-term stability of the phone. If there is lots of play on a brand new device, a year down the road after thousands of open and close cycles what will the play be like. It’s not a deal breaker reports Engadget.

Perhaps an isolated incident, but part of the plastic retaining cap for the mini-USB port on Engadget's Pre broke, a problem Palm says they have never seen. A replacement phone held up better says Engadget.

The screen color reproduction is described as excellent, but a tad hard to read in sunlight thanks to the glossiness of the phone.

Engadget says the keyboard is actually pretty good. The keyboard was a point of serious debate prior to the official launch. The camera is reportedly great with good colors and a working flash. The universal search feature turned out to be less universal than hoped for. The search function doesn't allow you to search emails or text messages.

The much-hyped Synergy functionality has a significant flaw; the device doesn't offer any way to limit the contacts imported. That means if you have tons of people on Facebook you don’t really know or Gmail has auto saved contacts for people you don't know, it ends up in your contacts book. That can be a very serious problem for some users.

The battery for the Pre lasted about 3/4 of a day with heavy multimedia use; this is similar to the battery life of the iPhone. In the end, Engadget simply says that the Pre is a fantastic phone with a few issues that won’t keep it from recommending the phone. The biggest issue with the Palm is the Sprint network if you are a customer on another network.

Gizmodo
also has a review of the phone up and was harsher on the Pre than Engadget. The opening mechanism of the keyboard drew some ire from Gizmodo. Gizmodo also reports that the build quality is only so-so and the phone feels cheap. The keyboard is also described as so-so. Gizmodo proclaimed that the software is agile, smart, and capable but the hardware is a liability. In the end Gizmodo said the Pre isn't that bad of a phone.





Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Better than article suggest?
By BPB on 6/4/2009 3:14:14 PM , Rating: 4
Maybe it's just me, but I think the Engadget review is more positive than this article implies. Based on their review I think I'll be getting one since I'm already on Sprint.




RE: Better than article suggest?
By djc208 on 6/5/2009 6:54:58 AM , Rating: 3
I thought so too, most of his gripes were either issues with things not being as polished/useable as they could be, which given that this is the first generation isn't a huge surprise (it's taken Apple three generations to add cut and paste), or an input issue, which was more "why did they do it that way" than something didn't work.

Too bad I'll never be able to get one since I can't have camera phones at work.


Ttile misleading?
By dslrjunky on 6/4/2009 10:55:45 AM , Rating: 2
I thought it was sanctioned I was reading through the article and non of it was mentioned or linked to the said sanctioned by Palm or its affiliates to those reviewers.. or I may be going blind... In any case something like this big as Pre, leaks are always expected it may be good or bad as the launch date is getting closer but I expect this to be a hit, especially with those treo fans... I for one is interested because of the hypes and ninja pics on the intrawebz... I say good for Palm that such product coming from them generated this much attention and possible huge $$$$ returns! about time apple realize that being nice and shiny alone is not gonna cut it anymore...




RE: Ttile misleading?
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 6/4/2009 11:01:37 AM , Rating: 2
Sanctioned meaning the units were provided by Palm and the reviews all went up when Palm said they could. Heck, Palm even had an employee fly a new Pre to Engagdet when theirs broke.

The other review posted earlier this week by Boy Genius Report definitely wasn't approved by Palm.


RE: Ttile misleading?
By dslrjunky on 6/4/2009 11:13:17 AM , Rating: 2
lol reading too much into iran and north korea nuclear sanctions...lol!!!

coffee and redbull starts to takes its toll on me


It's Gizmodo
By eddieroolz on 6/4/2009 5:30:15 PM , Rating: 3
Shouldn't expect much from a self-professed Apple fanatic site.




RE: It's Gizmodo
By Natfly on 6/4/2009 5:59:52 PM , Rating: 3
I was thinking the same thing. It's actually a more positive review than I would expect from them.


Sharp Edges
By smegz on 6/4/2009 3:28:48 PM , Rating: 2
I was surprised to hear how sharp that the bottom edge of the KB is. Giz even posted a video of them using the Pre to slice cheese; not a particularly hard cheese mind you, but the slices looked pretty clean. Point is moot for me, I have experience with Sprint coverage and in different parts on my house, Sprint coverage drops. Maybe if they work some of the hardware issues out for the Verizon rollout in 6 months, this phone might be a bit more interesting.




RE: Sharp Edges
By bodar on 6/4/2009 10:35:10 PM , Rating: 3
No, that's a feature. It's for self-defense.

http://www.buzzhumor.com/videos/25210/Best_Cell_Ph...


Now we have more options!
By Darkk on 6/4/2009 10:35:08 AM , Rating: 2
I've been anxious to try out the new Palm Pre even though never been a fan of Palm products.

I have no plans getting the iPhone so this might be worth looking into.




RE: Now we have more options!
By Griswold on 6/4/09, Rating: 0
RE: Now we have more options!
By tviceman on 6/6/2009 7:25:49 PM , Rating: 2
I will likely never buy the iphone simply for the reason of its associated monthly costs. I currently have unlimited data and text, free evening talking and 450 anytime minutes for a bill that totals $65. With the iphone, I'm pretty sure I'd be in the $100 ball park with a similar plan.


Since when has an iphone last 3/4th's of the day
By Sazar on 6/4/2009 2:06:56 PM , Rating: 2
With heavy multimedia usage?

I am lucky to get 4-5 hours of music and a couple of hours of video tops while having wifi and bluetooth functional (i.e. real-world usage, without gimping features to extend battery life artificially).

There is a very good reason I have a charger at home, one in my car and one at work. I love my phone but it's hardly going to last a 1/3'rd of the day without running out of juice with heavy usage.




By ksherman on 6/5/2009 12:46:34 PM , Rating: 2
I never use bluetooth, so my battery will last a little longer, but your totally right. Games especially drain the battery FAST. I too have a charger at home for over night, one in my car (I drive a ton, helps when running the GPS too) and a docking station with speakers in both my offices. Just in case, I have an extra iPod cord in my bag with my MacBook Pro, so I can juice it up if I am away from all three. Now the battery life is great! :-/


palm os apps?
By johnsonx on 6/4/2009 5:16:47 PM , Rating: 2
Does anyone know if the OS on this new device has any compatibility with old PalmOS apps?




RE: palm os apps?
By johnsonx on 6/4/2009 5:23:38 PM , Rating: 2
nevermind, I found the info in the engadget review, near the bottom of part 2. The device and OS itself isn't PalmOS compatible at all, but it does have a PalmOS emulator built-in called 'Classic' that will run PalmOS apps. Unfortunately there do appear to be some limitations, such as no access to the file-system or memory cards, but many apps will work.


so-so
By The0ne on 6/4/09, Rating: 0
RE: so-so
By ice456789 on 6/4/2009 3:54:23 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
I love it when reviews get technical! "..the keyboard is 'so-so'..." O.o

I love it when responses get funny too. Har har!


looks much smaller?
By QueBert on 6/5/2009 6:02:23 PM , Rating: 2
what kind of crack are they smoking? The screen is .4 inches smaller, and even then it still doesn't exactly look smaller to me. But if it is, I would have to imagine it looks much smaller due to the screen size difference.




Probably a huge success
By Murst on 6/4/2009 6:58:28 PM , Rating: 1
The initial sales of this phone will prob be so-so, due to the Sprint exclusivity. However, after 6 months, this phone will probably be the best selling phone in the US.

The majority of people who were willing to switch networks to get an iPhone have probably already done so. Others are waiting for a neat phone to come out on their network, and unless Apple decides to release the iPhone on Verizon/Tmobile, this phone ( or a variation of this phone ) will be the #1 choice.

Of course, it will depend on the price. Getting it to $100 by 2010 w/ a 2 yr contract from T-mobile or Verizon just may be enough to start outselling the iPhone.




"What would I do? I'd shut it down and give the money back to the shareholders." -- Michael Dell, after being asked what to do with Apple Computer in 1997
Related Articles













botimage
Copyright 2015 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki