backtop


Print 24 comment(s) - last by syslog2000.. on Jul 2 at 3:34 PM

CrackBerry goes hands on with the Passport

BlackBerry is fighting a battle to remain relevant in the smartphone space, and it has two new products in the pipeline that it hopes will reverse its fortunes. While the company has shown off both the new Classic and the Passport, it’s the latter that has garnered the most attention.
 
Until now, we didn’t know much about the Passport other than the fact that it featured a wide QWERTY keyboard and an unusual 4.5” 1440x1440 display. For the BlackBerry fans out there that cling on to any new release from the Canadian company, CrackBerry has posted a user-written, pre-release review of the Passport.

 
On the “square” screen:
 
The screen is one of such elegance, that it even made the most diehard iPhone user smile. It's got one of the sharpest screens out there and the UI that felt cramped on the Q10 now is unleashed in a fashion that renders you hopelessly in love…
 
The screen is everything on the BlackBerry Passport. They finally figured it out. It's the focus here and also takes over a large amount of the duties of the keyboard. At a whopping 1440x1440 pixels, the screen is pleasantly bright and gives everything more space.
 
Processors specs are unavailable at this point, but other hardware features were revealed:
 
This model has 3 GB of RAM and 32 GB of on-board memory, though I did add a 64 GB SD card myself. Finally, there is an easily accessible nano SIM slot to allow for easy SIM switching without the battery interfering. With it having an internal battery which lasts forever, BlackBerry put the SD card slot and SIM slot on the top of the phone inside of a removable panel.
 
About that new keyboard:
 
So how does this work? It works in a fashion never witnessed before. The symbols, characters, numbers and everything else is on screen and intuitively changes depending on where you are. If you are on the compose panels contact list, you will get the numeric buttons on the screen and if on the body portion, the symbols and character can be invoked.
 
This was of course a prototype device and not every feature was functioning properly. It was also running an older version of BlackBerry’s flagship operating system (10.3.0.428), so performance and software features should be further fleshed out by the time it is officially released.
 
Is the Passport enough to get folks out of their Apple iPhones and Samsung Galaxies? Probably not. But it’s at least nice to see BlackBerry looking to differentiate itself in the market with the Passport.

Source: CrackBerry



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Yeah...
By Flunk on 7/1/2014 9:50:16 AM , Rating: 3
I'll go out on a limb here and suggest this will be a commercial failure. Blackberry has been stunningly bad at listening to their customers over the last few years and this seems to keep going even further in that direction.




RE: Yeah...
By retrospooty on 7/1/2014 10:14:47 AM , Rating: 2
LOL... This review is hilarious.

"The screen is one of such elegance, that it even made the most diehard iPhone user smile. It's got one of the sharpest screens out there and the UI that felt cramped on the Q10 now is unleashed in a fashion that renders you hopelessly in love…"

OK, lets take the diehard iPhone user, someone used the smallest lowest res lowest PPI screen in any high end phone and give them a larger higher res screen. Duh. Really did you like it?

As for the rest of the review, it's just way over the top asskissey to be taken seriously. I know BBOS10 is decent. As as OS, it's up to par with Android and WP, and is ahead of IOS with features, but still , there is nothing to make anyone on the other 3 platforms want to switch. Certainly not an odd shaped, odd sized niche product like this.


RE: Yeah...
By Reclaimer77 on 7/1/14, Rating: -1
RE: Yeah...
By retrospooty on 7/1/2014 1:13:39 PM , Rating: 2
I think the review and quote is from Crackberry, not done by Brandon. He was just reporting it. Whoever it was is a riot. "It works in a fashion never witnessed before."


RE: Yeah...
By Reclaimer77 on 7/1/2014 2:01:58 PM , Rating: 2
Yes I'm aware of that. However he still put it in his article when there must have been far more impartial "reviews" to pull from out there.


RE: Yeah...
By retrospooty on 7/1/2014 4:56:54 PM , Rating: 2
Everything about this thing is odd. LOL.


RE: Yeah...
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 7/1/2014 7:20:17 PM , Rating: 2
Seriously? You think that BlackBerry... BLACKBERRY got to me? :)

BUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

It's a somewhat interesting device from a company that sinking. There haven't been any significant coverage of the device because, well, it hasn't been released yet.

Me personally, I like to browse over at CrackBerry every once in a while, just to see how the community clings on to every bit of news that comes out of the BlackBerry camp despite the fact that things don't look good at all for the company. It's like they cling on to any small bit of hope and run with it.

From the outside looking in, I almost feel like Cartman licking the tears of Scott Tenorman.


RE: Yeah...
By retrospooty on 7/1/2014 8:18:55 PM , Rating: 2
See, that is what I thought when I glanced at the article above. I thought you were sort of posting it in a "look at hapless Blackberry" stance. Just without overtly making funnies at their expense since the funny product does that all by itself. LOL


RE: Yeah...
By Reclaimer77 on 7/1/2014 8:42:42 PM , Rating: 1
Nah not "seriously", was all in jest my friend :)


RE: Yeah...
By GTVic on 7/1/2014 10:31:04 PM , Rating: 2
I guess you couldn't be bothered to read that this was the first review. But I'm surprised you read anything before posting.


RE: Yeah...
By slunkius on 7/2/2014 1:31:21 AM , Rating: 3
You are partially correct. reclaimer reads only some parts of the article, selectively ignoring any facts which do not support his prefabricated theories. this is very sophisticated self assurance mechanism.


RE: Yeah...
By Mitch101 on 7/1/2014 4:57:54 PM , Rating: 3
If its not Android/Samsung then someone must be holding a gun or money? Tony is beginning to be more sensible than you.


RE: Yeah...
By HardwareDufus on 7/1/2014 11:03:40 AM , Rating: 2
So elegant. A 5 X 5 grid of flat icons.
That 1440x1440 Works magic for those 25 icons. (rolls eyes)
How about some pictures showing the flow interface in action?

Can't figure out why they just didn't go a little longer on the screen and make it 1920X1440 to achieve a 3X4 aspect portrait screen. It would have been really unique. Useable width... keyboard UHD (1920X1080) capable when rotated 90 degress.

Overall the total device height would not have increased that much.


RE: Yeah...
By Mitch101 on 7/1/2014 11:05:09 AM , Rating: 2
I got to give them credit this is being different but its not a direction I can make sense from.


RE: Yeah...
By retrospooty on 7/1/2014 1:16:54 PM , Rating: 2
Being this different makes sense for a company that has a solid product portfolio. Someone like Samsung making this as a niche option would make sense... But for Blackberry, struggling at now less than 1% market share I believe are the latest #'s... Man what a weird move. "Lets cater to the group of people that want a Blackberry, but want one with a large square screen and a physical keyboard, and also hate rounded corners. There has to be millions of people like that right?" LOL


RE: Yeah...
By TheDoc9 on 7/1/2014 11:39:27 AM , Rating: 2
I kind of like it, it if ran android I'd consider it. I'd really like to see a new high-performance android with a keyboard.


RE: Yeah...
By ScanSpeak on 7/2/2014 10:55:20 AM , Rating: 2
The Passport is getting a lot of positive attention and BB's stock is up.

Me as a heavy smartphone user, I'll take a good look at the passport. My Z30 has been great. I really like the efficiency of the BB10 OS, the keyboard, and the all day battery life. I'm sold on the larger screen as well.

I love my Apple products at home but when on the road my Z30 replaces 90% of what my laptop did.


Beyond the speed of sound
By Gunbuster on 7/1/2014 11:53:54 AM , Rating: 2
Wow, The BB fanboy is going strong. That review is trying to blow sunshine up the readers @ss at approximately mach 10.




RE: Beyond the speed of sound
By Nortel on 7/1/2014 1:29:36 PM , Rating: 1
This is like a squared off "Motorola Charm"... hurts my hands just thinking about typing on this thing.


Sure...
By shabby on 7/1/2014 10:16:47 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
The phone (if we can call it that) is meant for executives and serious businessmen who will now do more on their BlackBerry smartphones.


Those executives should carry a playbook since it has an even bigger screen, they can do 3x more work compared to this.

But since the keyboard is messed up with a spacebar between the bottom row of keys these executives will have to relearn its layout, hopefully they can still do more...




Looks like a FAIL
By pugster on 7/1/2014 10:26:17 AM , Rating: 2
Gees, one look at this device and it will surely sink Blackberry.




This is a beautifull phone
By qashqai on 7/2/2014 2:44:27 AM , Rating: 2
I find it strange that so little people say anything good about this phone. This is an technological marvel compared to what was available 20 years back. This phone reminds me of an nokia phone that I once had, and I like the shape and size.
I don't understand why everybody must have this samsung look phones that has no character. All the phones look like samsungs nowadays. I use blackberry for 2 years now. It fulfills my every need and is very reliable.




Jony Ive
By rountad on 7/2/2014 11:02:29 AM , Rating: 2
The review was so obsequious that my mind read it in the voice of Jony Ive.




Summary of Crackberry review
By syslog2000 on 7/2/2014 3:34:04 PM , Rating: 2

Gush, gush, GUSH, gush, gush, GUSH!




"Spreading the rumors, it's very easy because the people who write about Apple want that story, and you can claim its credible because you spoke to someone at Apple." -- Investment guru Jim Cramer














botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki