backtop


Print 82 comment(s) - last by Pirks.. on Feb 24 at 9:01 AM


Apple already provides parental controls for the iPhone/iPod touch. Parents can choose to block apps that are rated 4+, 9+, 12+, or 17+

The Playboy and Sports Illustrated apps were spared the ban-hammer
“We obviously care about developers, but in the end have to put the needs of the kids and parents first" -- Phil Schiller

Yesterday, DailyTech reported that Apple had taken the drastic step to remove over 4,000 adult-themed apps (although some say the number is as high as 5,000) from the App Store. Apple released a short statement explaining the removals, noting, "If we find these apps contain inappropriate material, we remove them and request the developer make any necessary changes in order to be distributed by Apple."

Now, however, Apple marketing guru Phil Schiller has shed a little more light on the removals and has given the reason for why as much as 3% of the 140,000+ apps in the App Store were jettisoned. “It came to the point where we were getting customer complaints from women who found the content getting too degrading and objectionable, as well as parents who were upset with what their kids were able to see," Schiller told the New York Times. The latter point is an interesting one considering that Apple provides parental controls to prevent such content from being seen by children – perhaps the parents just aren't bothering to enable the feature.

Fred Clarke, one of the men behind banned app Sexy Scratch Off, said that he was shocked by Apple's sudden change of direction with regards to adult apps. “We’re showing stuff that’s racier than the Disney Channel, but not by much," said Clarke. “This goes farther than sexy content. For developers, how do you know you aren’t going to invest thousands into a business only to find out one day you’ve been cut off?”

Surprisingly enough, a Playboy app and the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit 2010 app are still available from the App Store. In fact, the latter is listed under the App Store's "What's Hot" section -- hot indeed.

With regards to those two high profile apps that were spared, Schiller simply said, "The difference is this is a well-known company with previously published material available broadly in a well-accepted format."

In other words, if your bikini models are provided by a little-known developer, you're toast. However, if your bikini models are backed by Sports Illustrated or Playboy, you're home free.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Illogical, Captain!
By frobizzle on 2/23/2010 8:25:14 AM , Rating: 5
Apparently in this case, the needs of the few outweigh the needs of the many!




RE: Illogical, Captain!
By marvdmartian on 2/23/2010 8:43:34 AM , Rating: 5
The rules, according to Apple:

1. Apple is always right.

2. Apple reserves the right to tell you how to think, what to think, and when to think.....as well as telling you what features you need in the devices you will buy from us, and which ones you do not need.

3. In any other circumstance, if a question occurs, refer back to rule #1. That is all.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By therealnickdanger on 2/23/2010 8:51:22 AM , Rating: 2
You forgot:

4. Think Different™, unless #1, #2, or #3.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By MrBlastman on 2/23/2010 9:45:36 AM , Rating: 3
Actually, Apple has only two rules:

1. There is no free thinking.

2. There is NO free thinking!


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By themaster08 on 2/23/2010 10:02:02 AM , Rating: 3
Think Different, don't think at all™


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By nikon133 on 2/23/2010 3:19:30 PM , Rating: 3
You can think different - as long as it is what we think..?


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By foolsgambit11 on 2/23/2010 9:23:30 PM , Rating: 2
"Now let's recite the non-conformists' oath! I promise to be different! I promise to be unique! I promise not to repeat things other people say!"


RE: Illogical, Captain!
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Hieyeck on 2/23/2010 8:48:07 AM , Rating: 2
It's like rules from mom!


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By reader1 on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Brandon Hill (blog) on 2/23/2010 8:57:02 AM , Rating: 4
Maybe I missed something -- what's the point of 17+ (mature) parental controls for iPhone apps again?


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By reader1 on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By chagrinnin on 2/23/2010 5:01:05 PM , Rating: 1
I built my own pr0n machine but my mom uses Dell pr0n and she seems fine with it. Dell's pr0n is okay but HP pr0n did really good this last quarter. :p


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By frobizzle on 2/23/2010 9:04:29 AM , Rating: 5
quote:
Apple is transforming computing devices into what consumers have wanted for 15 years:

So, after 15 years of supposedly giving people what they want, they still have less than 10% of the market? Sounds like they are not giving people what they want.

As always, reader1 fails epically!


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By reader1 on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By gibb3h on 2/23/2010 9:18:00 AM , Rating: 5
Are you actually insane?

Closed platform is the polar opposite of what should be happenign to the computing industry.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By aegisofrime on 2/23/2010 9:30:03 AM , Rating: 5
I would like to see what happens when Linus Torvalds meets reader1.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By davepermen on 2/23/2010 9:32:24 AM , Rating: 4
while it is insane indeed, it's exactly what most people want.

the same people that consume or consumed tv during the last centuries. they only want to consume, not to think. they don't want to make themselves look bad by having to do a choice, and then noticing it wasn't the popular one.

those people want nothing BUT a closed platform, where anything gets fed to them.

and those people will love to be able to complain about it, to show their "intelligence". and they love how they have no choice, so can't be pointed at when something is wrong.

the only thing people care is how they look to other people. by buying "the popular thing" that allows one to look good without having to ever think, not giving a chance to ever look bad in the future, they feel like they made a good choice.

apple is giving them exactly that choice.

marketing genius, but example on how ****ed our world really is.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By bodar on 2/24/2010 12:18:16 AM , Rating: 2
So Apple is the consumer electronics-equivalent of Dancing With the Stars and Real Housewives? I am Jack's complete lack of surprise...


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By MrBlastman on 2/23/2010 10:15:22 AM , Rating: 4
quote:
Closed platforms are easier to use and more mass consumer friendly compared to open platforms.


Correction:

"Closed platforms are more financially beneficial to the company providing the platform and less friendly to the actual owner of the device."

My computer can do thousands of things. Thousands of things... that I know of right now. What it might be able to do tomorrow is more than what I can do today. I know this for a fact after witnessing the evolution of the PC over the last 30 years.

The best part about my PC is... when those new things are invented, I more than likely will be able to do them with my same PC by adding in the software or plugging in some hardware due to it being modular. I'm not forced to have this or that, I have what I want. I might spend a _little_ more money up front, but in the end, I save thousands of dollars due to me buying into an open platform.

I don't have to buy a new device for each and every specialization I need every single time. I might buy a modular input/output device but these individual addons are far less than a separate stand-alone platform for each one.

The reason people have been buying into these closed-end platforms are due to:

a. the lower perceived upfront costs
b. the image associated with these devices

In the end, they spend way more on these devices due to closed application access points such as the app store than they would have with an open platform. Why?

Open platforms have professionally developed applications which do many things all in one. They also have many FREELY developed Open-Source applications that you can use at your whim. Free does not exist in app stores. You pay a toll each time.

Back in the day this was called nickel and diming. It still is that--but Jobs would like you to think otherwise.

All the drones are free to use closed-platforms if they like. I'll stick to my open one. I will laugh when the consumer-whores are sucked into a never-ending vortex of slipping quality while I feast on the fruits of the few who understand the virtue of being untethered.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By kerpwnt on 2/23/2010 11:12:15 AM , Rating: 2
Apple provides the tech illiterate masses with crutches that let them continue life without learning anything about anything.

These things are just computers. We aren't asking people to learn rocket science...


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By reader1 on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Ryanman on 2/23/2010 8:35:03 PM , Rating: 4
Pirks and reader1, you both sound like idiotic douchebags, did you know that?


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: 0
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By frobizzle on 2/24/2010 8:53:12 AM , Rating: 2
Pirks and reader1 sound like clones, both spewing the same tired rhetoric that their lord and master Jobs anoints them with. Then again, that is probably true of any Apple fanboy.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/24/10, Rating: 0
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Gio6518 on 2/23/10, Rating: 0
RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Gio6518 on 2/23/2010 2:37:31 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
Linux is the ultimate openness and see what is its market share in desktop/consumer machines.


you right oh wait
isnt android on linux............
and pretty sure out of the dozens of different models of android pones has outsold iphone as a whole combined....droid almost did it by itself

and the upcoming chrome OS thats going on netbooks, sure it'll fail....... NOT

and if they make it viable to a real PC...i'd buy

funny part is google did in a year or two what apple has tried to do over 30 years...with very little to no sucess..

quote:
So far huge growth of Apple and an influx of iphone/imac/ipod/etc copycats


in reality the iphone is a windows mobile copy cat...as i said before my win mobile i had way before ipod even was a wet dream it jobs pants, did everything that iphone did (except the motion sensors for games) and even had a biometric fingerprint scanner

MR.Pirks a.k.a reader1 alter ego


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Pirks on 2/23/2010 4:06:04 PM , Rating: 3
Funny part is Linux thrives when it's CLOSED by Google and turned into closed platform like Droid or Chrome. Maybe not as closed as Apple's but very close.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By frobizzle on 2/23/2010 9:55:21 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
The Mac has failed to gain market share because it isn't restricted enough, i.e., it isn't a closed platform

Pssssst...Exidor is waiting for you in the alley. He will transport you to your new home in the Alpha Centuri system.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Inkjammer on 2/23/2010 10:58:22 AM , Rating: 1
Now, if Apple and AT&T would just let me out of my contract because I no longer agree with their mass censorship, I'd do just that!


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By 67STANG on 2/23/2010 1:32:53 PM , Rating: 2
Your post got me thinking... if you had posted this at gizmodo.com (AKA Steve Jobs' personal playground) you would have a -5 rating, not a +5. I love Anandtech.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Mitch101 on 2/23/2010 9:31:54 AM , Rating: 4
quote:
Apparently in this case, the needs of the few outweigh the needs of the many!

I'm sure the few complaining Out Weigh many.

Translation: Fat women are complaining about guys looking at skinny girls.


RE: Illogical, Captain!
By Jeffk464 on 2/23/2010 11:15:18 AM , Rating: 2
Another reason driod is going to end up kicking iphone butt. Open source, you can basically do whatever you want with it.


Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By redbone75 on 2/23/2010 8:33:55 AM , Rating: 5
I'm so sick and tired of companies caving in to every person, group of people or entity that has an objection to something. Hey, guess what? The world doesn't revolve around one set of views or principles! There is a simple solution to this: have a mature section, not necessarily adult, just a section that has content that may be inappropriate for minors, and have access to it controlled by the information set up in your iTunes account. When attempts are made to access that section, a notifier is sent to a parental control email account to inform the parents of said activity, just to make sure it is something allowed. This way, the onus is shifted to the parents, right where it should be!

I take issues with any company that decides to intrude on or restrict my activities because of the sensitivities of others. If Apple has these objectionable apps accessible to anyone, then it's their fault and they need to take appropriate measures to rectify the situation. Simple removing the apps is lazy and reeks of elitism. Message to Steve Jobs: there are actually some people who use your products out of convenience, not because you told them to. These people often have a mind of their own and don't need you to make decisions for them.




RE: Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By iFan on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
By themaster08 on 2/23/2010 10:27:32 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
Everyone wants to be with the elite.

For the masses, closed platform computing is exciting because it's new to them. The fad will die off eventually. People will start coming to their senses and realise that the fruits of the world extend much further than just Apples.

Until then, let Reader1 and Pirks have their fun.


RE: Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
By themaster08 on 2/23/2010 11:16:36 AM , Rating: 2
Ok, I'm going to completely disregard what you just said as it bears absolutely no relation my point.

What I will say however, is that I have no problem with closed plaforms per se. What I do have a problem with is Reader1's absurd views that open platforms should cease to exist, and that Apple can do no wrong.

While you might think his views hold some truth, the rest of us fail to take him seriously because he wreaks of single-minded fanboyism.

I mean, what sort of person says "I'll be buying 2 iPad's" before they've even used one? Logic and reasoning bear no association to his posts or purchasing decisions.


RE: Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By Pirks on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
By themaster08 on 2/23/2010 12:07:33 PM , Rating: 3
quote:
Fate was sealed when MS announced WinMo7 as a pretty much closed platform.

Perhaps Microsoft sees a closed platform is better in that particular market. That's fine, however, that doesn't seal fate.

The iPhone hardly paints a picture of the success of closed platforms in general. Mass consumers don't know what a closed platform is, let alone base their purchasing decisions on it. I wonder if a closed platform would have been just as successful if a less "trendy" company had done it first? Just a thought.

Just because their mobile phone OS will become more or less closed platform, that hardly means that trend will be shifted onto their computer OS. If that so happens, it really defeats the purpose of it being a PC, and will be a sad day for computing in general. After all, isn't personality and customisation what PC's and Windows are all about?


RE: Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By reader1 on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
By Wellsoul2 on 2/23/2010 12:58:21 PM , Rating: 1
Open computing will prevail because people like free stuff.

Remember America Online...once everything outside your sandbox is better and free they will leave. (Or most will)


RE: Apple is as lazy as these complaining parents.
By Pirks on 2/23/2010 1:06:39 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
people like free stuff
Apple's AppStore is overflowing with free apps. People watch free torrented shows and listen to free torrented music on their Macs, iPhones and iPods every day. You fail :P


By Wellsoul2 on 2/23/2010 3:48:48 PM , Rating: 1
Quote:
Apple's AppStore is overflowing with free apps. People watch free torrented shows and listen to free torrented music on their Macs, iPhones and iPods every day. You fail :P

The point is you can do it without paying the premium of
buying an imac or iphone. 90% of the market prefers not
to buy Apple...cheaper wins (almost) every time.


By Pirks on 2/23/2010 4:13:02 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
cheaper wins almost every time
Yeah, I know most people drive cheapo Chevys, not expensive Lexuses. Thank you Captain Obvious.


By martinw on 2/23/2010 1:29:23 PM , Rating: 1
What's with everyone downvoting iFan. Don't you guys recognize good sarcasm when you see it?


By Gio6518 on 2/23/2010 2:42:58 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
Apple is for the elite. If common people want to use a computer then they have Microsoft 7 for that. That's why Apple are rapidly catching up on Microsoft's market share (the real tactic behind the iPad).


no apple is for brainwashed tech illiterate

they use windows because they want to beable to use more than 3% of available software out on the market


When you buy an Apple product...
By Motoman on 2/23/2010 9:53:32 AM , Rating: 3
...you are buying a subscription to have someone else do all of your thinking for you. If you are capable of thinking for yourself, you would never consider buying an Apple product.

It's staggering how people will take the propaganda hook, line, and sinker when the entire charade is littered with red flags like this demonstrating what a truly moronic move it is to become an Apple customer.

...but then again, people are stupid. In droves. Just ask P.T. Barnum. Verily, Steve Jobs is the new Barnum.




RE: When you buy an Apple product...
By iFan on 2/23/10, Rating: -1
RE: When you buy an Apple product...
By Boze on 2/23/2010 10:34:27 AM , Rating: 3
quote:
It's not propaganda, it's a well-established fact that the only computer company that can be trusted with your information is Apple.


Oh yeah, Apple can be trusted alright, that's why Snow Leopard was wiping out people's data awhile back.

We already have one retarded, deluded jackass who lives in a fantasy world about Apple (reader1), we don't need two. Kindly move along.


RE: When you buy an Apple product...
By Motoman on 2/23/2010 11:37:33 AM , Rating: 3
Your forgot Pirks. I think there's a few others lurking around that Apple has completed their iLobomoties on too...


RE: When you buy an Apple product...
By Pirks on 2/23/2010 12:05:33 PM , Rating: 1
Tony Swash?


By Motoman on 2/23/2010 11:36:23 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
This is why I don't buy Microsoft products because I don't like being restricted in a closed system. Only Apple provides the combination of openness and protection, thats why open source is the way forward, like the Apple App Store.


...what in the $#@% are you smoking?! The ENTIRETY of this article is focused on how CLOSED and RESTRICTED the Apple empire is.

Is it opposite day? Is this Bizzaro again? I thought we told you already: We am not disliking your genius and is hope you comes back every day!


This makes no sense.
By therealnickdanger on 2/23/2010 8:49:59 AM , Rating: 2
I have questions.

Since I do not own any Apple devices, I may not be getting this correctly. As I understand it, the App Store can be accessed by iPhone and iPod Touch (and the upcoming iPad), correct?

In order to use the app store (buy things), you need a credit card to activate an account with which to buy items, correct? Or are all apps free to try first no matter if you have an account?

So just how are kids able to buy this content? Don't you have to be at least 16 or 18 to have a credit card? Wouldn't that mean that the very parents who are complaining are the ones buying it? Can't you restrict App Store functionality on these devices, like Microsoft's parental controls or something?

Also, why are women complaining? From the pr0n I've seen, the women who star in it really love it. :) I kid, I kid.




RE: This makes no sense.
By therealnickdanger on 2/23/2010 8:53:07 AM , Rating: 4
OK, when I first commented on this article, the picture of the parental controls was not up. This answers a great many questions:

PARENTING FAIL.


RE: This makes no sense.
By Camikazi on 2/23/2010 10:14:58 AM , Rating: 2
It usually is parenting fail, but the parents decide to yell and complain so a company has to do the parenting for them. Basically they pass the blame from them to the companies.


As much as I hate to support Apple...
By troysavary on 2/23/2010 9:28:45 AM , Rating: 2
this time I have to side with them. Their store, their rules. Don't like it, shop elsewhere. Apple has to weigh in whether pissed off moms or pissed of geeks looking for porn will lose them more sales. Since the latter is not Apples target market, they made the financially prudent decision.

Personally, I find the idea of buying an app to check out chicks in bikinis just shows how utterly stupid you are considering how easy it is to find that for free anyway. Actually, I find buying the majority of the apps stupid as just making sure you buy a platform that supports Flash means that almost all the functionality of apps is free somewhere.




RE: As much as I hate to support Apple...
By rika13 on 2/23/2010 10:39:56 AM , Rating: 3
The problem is, you can't "shop elsewhere".

The App store is a tying agreement and is a flagrant violation of anti-trust law, akin to GM requiring you to purchase gas only from them and putting a patented chemical in that the car looks for to ensure you can't use any other gas.

The boycott of apps would constitute both economic damage and violate the rule of reason as there is no legitimate reason to block such apps (they are not illegal, and the block is entirely political not technical or legal)


By Akrovah on 2/23/2010 4:31:59 PM , Rating: 2
You can simply not buy the iPhony, then you are not locked into thier app store. Problem solved.

Seriously, I'm no fan of Apple, but this is thier product to do with what they will. Deal with it.


apple <> parents
By tastyratz on 2/23/2010 8:35:11 AM , Rating: 2
You did your job by putting in the parental controls apple, when parents complain tell them to do their own damn job and use them. Stop this PC babysitting bull censoring the rest of us because of a few inept parents.

I am sure all those well degraded women would hardly complain over a Chippendale app... but appropriately categorize the apps and make it easy to hide content in the app store... Make the first opening of the app store contain a prompt "Hide questionable or objectionable content? y/n"

There. Cut the coddling crap.




RE: apple <> parents
By mydogfarted on 2/23/2010 10:07:01 AM , Rating: 2
Plus, it isn't like the iPhone/iPod Touch/iPad don't have a web browser to access the internet, where hardcore porn is very easily accessible. My only complaints are that you can't upload your own apps without jail breaking your phone, and AT&T blows as a provider.


Long Overdue
By iFan on 2/23/10, Rating: 0
RE: Long Overdue
By Avatar28 on 2/23/2010 11:13:32 AM , Rating: 2
You mean like how they invented the MP3 player? And the GUI?


RE: Long Overdue
By jthistle on 2/23/2010 1:50:11 PM , Rating: 1
There is something wrong with you if you don't want rampant fornication.


RE: Long Overdue
By themaster08 on 2/23/2010 5:07:43 PM , Rating: 1
quote:
We need more Apple-like companies willing to do our thinking for us

Learning and thinking is what will breed the poineers of tomorrow.

quote:
Where Apple pioneer, drones simply follow.

That's more like it.


damn
By Chiisuchianu on 2/23/2010 6:53:45 PM , Rating: 2
Damn feminists and liberal soccer moms.




RE: damn
By martinw on 2/23/2010 7:40:18 PM , Rating: 2
Damn right wing religious zealots.

There is enough room here for everyone's favorite negative stereotype.


What a load of crap?!
By Belard on 2/24/2010 3:06:25 AM , Rating: 2
Okay ladies,its NONE of your business what is on someone elses PHONE!? Its not yours.

Okay, why don't a bunch of people complain to Apple that we find any religious apps to be offensive and have them removed.

How long before the internet in the USA is censored "for the children"?! I doubt google phone or Windows phone will change anytime soon.




RE: What a load of crap?!
By Belard on 2/24/2010 3:17:37 AM , Rating: 2
For some reason, DT thought I was posting SPAM, so I am posting part of my POST here (trying to).

If its a guy's phone with women that look hotter than you - stop stuffing your face, get on a tread mill. Guys look at nude pictures. Gals read romance novels. Yep, they READ about the sweaty glistening, hard pumping Fabio type guys dressed as pirates. Ravaging their poor defenseless virgin bodies.

Apple: Think Nothing


typical evil steve
By rika13 on 2/23/2010 9:49:06 AM , Rating: 2
"Think Different" has become "Think The Same, But Not Compatible, More Expensive, And Then All But Killed For The iPhone And My App Store Where I Control What You Think"




RE: typical evil steve
By Shatbot on 2/23/2010 11:01:06 AM , Rating: 1
Well, we all know during sex Steve is definitely on top with you-know-who receiving, but the internet is all about being racy. It's about where the most extreme freaks of humanity can jump online and find a pal.

Who hasn't seen meatspin?
If there's a parental lock on this thing then why cant I have a big bouncing tranny cock flapping about in time with the motion sensor if I want it? The internet is about freedom, I'm surprised Apple operate this way given that they are an American company.

My country(New Zealand) doesn't have guaranteed freedom of speech, but I know that it's an amazing thing to have included back in the time of writing the Constitution. If you make a product to deal with the internet, be prepared to put up with everything it can throw at you. The best and worst of humanities accomplishments; in all their disgusting beauty are hung out to dry, it's the spice of life.

So sorry Steve,

when it comes to sex; I like to do the fucking, and (now) there's no app for that.


Business Risk
By jbizzler on 2/23/2010 8:33:20 AM , Rating: 2
How can an upstart business put invaluable resources into making software they're not even sure will be allowed to get to the customer?

Instead of taking away apps for everyone, why not give people better parental controls?

As for the generally upset women; we can't do much about that. We can try and tell them about software freedom, but if they're serious enough about fighting the supposed "degradation" of our gender, then our nerdy computer stuff can't change their minds.




Getting easier
By UncleRufus on 2/23/2010 10:50:58 AM , Rating: 2
It's getting easier and easier to choose between these two companies.

Now, we have Google that is trying to fight censorship in a communist country, and Apple promoting censorship right here at home.

It may not seem as such at first glance, but it is a very short leap down a slippery slope from censoring 'adult' material to censoring 'subversive' or 'anti-government' material.




Ironic
By Shatbot on 2/23/2010 11:21:39 AM , Rating: 2
I just think it's funny that moody, irritable women are responsible for the unsoiling of the iPad.




Perhaps...
By Helbore on 2/24/2010 6:41:47 AM , Rating: 2
Perhaps the little kiddies shouldn't have iPhones, then. I mean, what does a schoolkid need with a smartphone anyway? If the parents don't like what the platform offers, perhaps they should have the parenting balls to tell little Jonny he can't have whatever he wants, instead of caving into his "I want an iPhone" tantrums.

As for grown women being offended by the apps - perhaps they could just, y'know, not download those apps. It's not like they're being forced to download them and look at pictures of naked girls.

The problem isn't grubby apps. The problem is too many people who have failed to follow their body into adulthood.

Parents; grow up and take some responsibilty for your own kids. Offended women; grow up and stop sticking your oars into places they don't need to be. Apple; stop policing people's thoughts. That way, everyone's happy.




"People Don't Respect Confidentiality in This Industry" -- Sony Computer Entertainment of America President and CEO Jack Tretton

Related Articles
Apple Gets Strict on Adult Apps
February 22, 2010, 12:09 PM













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki