backtop


Print 46 comment(s) - last by Flunk.. on Aug 14 at 4:09 PM


Time Machine

Intuitive Spaces
Apple unveils just a bit of its next major OS release

Apple today talked a great deal about its upcoming version of OS X, codenamed Leopard. While it's true that past and current versions of OS X have introduced a fair number of updates and new features into the overall OS X mix, upcoming version 10.5 will be a giant step forward for OS X, making the minor 0.1 numeration change quite an understatement. While Apple did not go into detail about some of what it claims to be Leopard's larger improvements and new features, it did say that more details will be revealed at a later date. For now, Apple is still working on Leopard and anticipates a shipping date sometime in spring of 2007.

Leopard will be a true 64-bit operating system with 32-bit compatibility. Apple claims that 32-bit applications will run alongside 64-bit applications without conversion, emulation or virtualization. Users will be able to run both types of applications side by side in real time.

Another major feature that Steve Jobs talked about is Time Machine, Leopard's built in backup and rollback mechanism. Time Machine brings a lot to the table in terms of keeping data safe and accessible for users and like the upcoming System Restore feature in Windows Vista, Time Machine is able to perform several neat features and then some. Users are able to instantly restore an entire system or simply one file, down to specific dates. Like the restore system in Windows Vista, Leopard users will also be able to see what past versions of a document looked like, and preview it before a restore. Time Machine also appears to be well integrated into Finder, OS X's built in file searching and management system. Users can perform file lookups by date and time stamp, and Finder will display past versions of that file. Time Machine can also perform searches within past documents.

Apple says that the API in Time Machine will be openly available to developers for integration. For example, Time Machine features are available in Leopard's release of iPhoto, allowing users to restore entire rolls of film or just one photo. Users can use Time Machine to backup to local disk or to a network.

Apple's highly popular Boot Camp will be seeing a full release in Leopard. Responsible for allowing Mac users to dual-boot Windows XP, Boot Camp was introduced earlier this year for Intel-Macs. The feature became an instant success with Mac owners and online Apple retailers even started shipping Macs with optional Windows XP Home or Professional bundles. Apple did not talk about virtualization integration.

Mac users will already be familiar with OS X highly useful but elegant desktop management feature called Expose. With Leopard, Apple is introducing a new feature called Spaces, which is really just a virtual desktop feature. However, Spaces go beyond typical virtual desktops utilities by integrating Expose-like features and presentation. Users can simply click a button, and all Spaces will arrange themselves onto the screen so that a user can see what's going on in all the desktops. Users can even drag and drop individual applications from one desktop to another within the overall view. Within the same view, users will be able to rearrange the desktops around to their liking as well. Spaces brings the best of virtual desktop features with the elegance of Expose into one highly useful tool.

Several other features being introduced with Leopard are new iChat features such as video camera support and tabbed-chat. iChat will also introduce iChat Theater, allowing users to share photos and presentations to friends through a live view. Leopard will also have vastly improve text-to-speech features, which will be able to read documents in a highly realistic voice.

Apple indicated that there are many other big features of Leopard that are still under wraps at this time, but so far, the company believes that it's ahead of Microsoft and Windows Vista. More details to come at the next Apple conference, Mac World.

At WWDC today, Apple introduced its new Mac Pro desktop to replace the outgoing PowerMac G5 desktops. Its Xserve servers also saw the transition over to Intel processors, completing Apple's overall transition.


Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

I have a question
By The Boston Dangler on 8/7/2006 7:52:57 PM , Rating: 2
Could experienced Mac folks please explain the following:

For 25 years, Apple mercilessly (and sometimes very accurately, sometimes not) bashes MS and its products, yet one of the major features of Macs (since the switch to Intel) is Windows XP.

I'd appreciate your thoughts, thx.




RE: I have a question
By Questar on 8/7/06, Rating: 0
RE: I have a question
By The Boston Dangler on 8/7/2006 8:26:28 PM , Rating: 2
Definately a major feature, according to Apple. They seem very proud of Boot Camp, and don't mind telling the world how great it is.



RE: I have a question
By fierydemise on 8/7/2006 9:10:34 PM , Rating: 2
Bootcamp is a major feature, it allows Apple to appeal to windows users who would be otherwise reluctant to switch. Apple is trying to walk a fine line between appealing to windows user and actively endorsing windows which would obviously be detrimental to apple.


RE: I have a question
By jconan on 8/7/2006 10:17:25 PM , Rating: 2
apple is in 4 the hardware sale to takeover the top 2 pc companies?


RE: I have a question
By isaacmacdonald on 8/8/2006 9:33:29 AM , Rating: 2
I don't agree that they're walking a fine line--at least not with xp. OSX has a vastly superior interface to xp which leads directly to increased productivity in lots of tasks. Right now, bootcamp can be seen as a means of supporting applications/games exclusive to xp. The OS itself is hardly competition (IE: I doubt you'll see bootcamp causing a lot of OSX users to switch to predominantly using XP).

I imagine this will change with vista (hope).


RE: I have a question
By Vertigo101 on 8/8/2006 6:51:19 PM , Rating: 2
I would love to know 1 task that you experince increased productivity in with OSX that an experienced PC user could not match.


RE: I have a question
By Pirks on 8/9/06, Rating: 0
RE: I have a question
By kelmon on 8/9/2006 2:48:19 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
I would love to know 1 task that you experince increased productivity in with OSX that an experienced PC user could not match.


Just 2 trite examples that spring to mind. Firstly, moving between networks with different settings (particularly with proxy servers and fixed IP addresses) takes a mouse click or, in my case, it's entirely automatic. Only Windows ported applications such as Firefox require me to actually change network settings because they don't use the Network Preferences of the OS.

Secondly, creating new Folders in the Finder (i.e. file manager) can be achieved with a keyboard shortcut (Command-N) - why is such a common function not available in Windows Explorer without either going through the menus or contextual menu?


RE: I have a question
By Flunk on 8/14/2006 4:09:50 PM , Rating: 2
Wait a sec, are you seriously calling Firefox a "Windows-ported" program? Firefox is a full open-source project designed to be fully multiplatform. But even I must admit that the widowing interface they use GTK favors the Gnome interface system (popular on Linux, Sun Solaris).

On your other point, yes, the lack of a keyboard shortcut to create folders is annoying.

What I want is for Apple to update their user interface. Give us something entirely new instead of subtle tweaks. The main interface with the desktop and consistent menus along the top has stayed functionally the same across every version of OS since 1.0. It would be nice to see something new and origional that improves the usability of the interface. I'm not saying it's terrible, just that it could be much better.


RE: I have a question
By Hare on 8/12/2006 3:19:31 PM , Rating: 2
Try exposé for one workday... (sure there are pc imitations, but how many people actually know of those or install them).

Another one is the built in search tool...


RE: I have a question
By Ralph The Magician on 8/7/2006 10:26:03 PM , Rating: 2
It's the one thing I don't get either. I don't think Apple knows what to do either, to be honest. They are kind of torn over the issue.


RE: I have a question
By The Boston Dangler on 8/9/2006 9:19:51 AM , Rating: 2
Apparently, the flock cannot help me resolve this little paradox.

This just in: Eastasia is our enemy, Eurasia is our ally.


RE: I have a question
By WelshBloke on 8/9/2006 7:17:53 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Eastasia is our enemy, Eurasia is our ally


Nice Orwell quote!


Wow
By MADAOO7 on 8/8/2006 2:12:10 PM , Rating: 2
Was it just me, or did that Time Machine blow your mind? I'm a huge fan of what Apple does, yet I use Windows XP, and every year I'm blown away by that WWDC presentation.




RE: Wow
By Vertigo101 on 8/8/2006 6:57:34 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, because I know everyone wants all of their hard drive space eaten up by a system-restore feature. WildFile GoBack (Now Norton GoBack) tried this years ago, and I can't even count how many people had me remove it from their systems.


Yes it's cool
By hmurchison on 8/8/2006 9:07:57 PM , Rating: 2
It's a snapshot feature where you don't have to restore to a point you simply restore you missing file. No rebooting required.


RE: Wow
By bwmccann on 8/9/2006 12:39:11 AM , Rating: 1
Blown away??? By what? Microsoft introduced this same feature with Server 2003.


RE: Wow
By Pirks on 8/9/06, Rating: 0
RE: Wow
By Hare on 8/12/2006 3:28:27 PM , Rating: 2
Pirks. Please read my replies below. You might want to educate yourself a bit before flaming people. You just proved you know absolutely nothing about time machine and how it's a lot different than any other backup solution.


It's not the feature it's the implementation
By hmurchison on 8/10/2006 8:49:01 PM , Rating: 2
Sheesh you guys are thick.

Yes Microsoft has Volume Shady Copy in products that are $600 and more. Apple isn't stating that they have created the technology. Hell snapshots predate even MS VSC but what they've done is made this technology acessible to the rank and file consumer.



RE: It's not the feature it's the implementation
By Hare on 8/12/2006 3:24:29 PM , Rating: 2
Volume shadow copy HAS nothing in common with time machine. Jesus some people just take everything the moron Paul Thurrott says without a grain of salt. People are just dumb sheeps without the ability to think critically...

[url=http://www.roughlydrafted.com/RD/Home/26B5D607-34E...]Read this[/url] (check the part about time machine). I REPEAT it is nothing like the volume shadow copy, that just makes a read only snapshot of your volume. Time machine is a very advanced back-up system and people will absolutely love it.


RE: It's not the feature it's the implementation
By Hare on 8/12/2006 3:26:22 PM , Rating: 2
I forgot, no bbcode support...

anyway. You can pretty much restore any single file within any open application with time machine. Try to do that with volume shadow copy, dear Paul Thurrot... Dumbass.


By Filibuster on 8/13/2006 2:26:25 PM , Rating: 1
In Server 2003 you just right click the file, go to properties and choose "previous versions". Then pick which version you want to restore (or save to another place).

You can pick a single file or a whole folder.

You can do this anywhere you can right click a file (like the open menu of an application, if you really wanted to, but on Server 2003 this would be kind of weird.

They aren't exactly the same, since on server 2003 it is for protecting documents and files in a shared folder, but considering it is a server there should only be user data on shared folders. I'm sure it would be easy to integrate this into a desktop OS. Also, the feature can be integrated into Windows XP so you can restore files from a workstation. Small Business Server 2003 does all that on it's own when you join the pc to the domain.

I recovered a customers ACT database that got hosed a few days after his tape drive failed. It worked like a charm. (no reboot needed)

I don't know what Paul Thurrot said but he is probably right in this case since it sounds like about the same thing except its for a desktop os.


By Hare on 8/13/2006 3:45:42 PM , Rating: 2
Every single backup software works somewhat similar. Can you open your contacts management app with shadow volume copy and see browse different backups in realtime like with time machine? Or recover your photos right inside the photo album app (inside the application go back a week etc.)?

www.apple.com/macosx/leopard/timemachine.html

Look at the link. Sure they have a lot in common, but seriously. Time machine is pretty damn innovative and the user friendliness surpasses every single backup software in the market. I'd say Paul Thurrot exaggerates a lot. Time machine is indeed big...


RE: Wow
By The Boston Dangler on 8/9/2006 9:13:29 AM , Rating: 2
It's just you.


Anyone else noticed...?
By PrinceGaz on 8/7/2006 6:59:01 PM , Rating: 2
Has anyone else noticed a certain pattern to the naming scheme of OS X releases? Cheetah, Puma, Jaguar, Panther, Tiger, and next Leopard. They're all named after large cats!




RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By silentpc on 8/7/2006 7:05:39 PM , Rating: 3
You live and learn.


RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By deeznuts on 8/7/2006 7:43:31 PM , Rating: 2
Funny thing is technically there is no "panther." Technically it is a genus composed of lions, jaguars, tigers and leopards (the only cats that can roar). And in usage, depending on region it is a puma/cougar/mountain lion, jaguar, or leopard.


RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By plowak on 8/8/2006 12:30:23 PM , Rating: 2
Tell that to Huey P Newton!


RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By headbox on 8/7/2006 8:35:46 PM , Rating: 3
"Has anyone else noticed a certain pattern to the naming scheme of OS X releases?"

It took you until version 10.5 to notice something Apple said it was doing since 10.1? It sounds like you're a couple sticks of RAM short of a functioning computer...


RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By oTAL on 8/7/2006 10:56:26 PM , Rating: 2
*lol*
I had tu uprate you since you read my mind ;)


RE: Anyone else noticed...?
By bldckstark on 8/8/2006 12:50:50 PM , Rating: 2
Uhhh, you can't rate posts if you reply.


Disappointed
By Shadowself on 8/7/2006 3:50:27 PM , Rating: 2
The one feature I wanted to see, screen resolution independence, was not mentioned.

We've needed screen resolution independence as far back as the high density monitors (120dpi from the likes of RadiUS and such) of 1990 or so.

Even with vector graphics on screen the dominant OSes of today still assume a screen resolution of 72 dpi. Thus if you look at 144 point type on screen with 100 dpi rather than it being two inches tall it is only 1.44 inches tall.

When will OSes support screen resolution independence so WYSIWYG is really true?




It's Beta
By hmurchison on 8/7/2006 4:18:53 PM , Rating: 2
There are features that haven't been discussed yet. Most likely UI features so don't rule out anything yet.



RE: Disappointed
By tuteja1986 on 8/8/2006 7:52:30 AM , Rating: 2
People complain about Vista ;( but they don't get how apple screw its loyalist up with incremental OS upgrade every year. Like when i upgraded to OSX Panther to tiger OSX i didn't see any major improvement that was worth $200AUD. Anyways i hope this OS has more feature to make me willing to spend for it.


By hmurchison on 8/8/2006 9:06:14 PM , Rating: 2
Does Microsoft offer you a Family License of Vista for $199 or less? Does Apple force you to activate their product online? Does Apple force you to install your older application and then upgrade that version? Does Apple spli their OS into cripple "Home" versions versus the more featured "Professional" version? Obviously you're not as loyal as you claim if you cannot see the advantages that you have with OS X.

It's rather pointless the get into Panther vs Tiger differences with you. I'm not sure you'd understand the benefits anyways.


True 64bit OS???
By defter on 8/8/2006 3:24:26 AM , Rating: 2
Does that mean that current and previous OSX's weren't "true 64bit"??

I recall that Apple was hyping three years ago how they have worlds first 64bit desktop CPU (even though K8 was already available)...




RE: True 64bit OS???
By aliasfox on 8/8/2006 11:19:07 AM , Rating: 2
I think they were hyping the first 64-bit personal computer, and at the time, no OEM (at least no major ones) had picked it up to put in an OEM system, although do-it-yourselfers were building them.


RE: True 64bit OS???
By psychobriggsy on 8/8/2006 12:34:44 PM , Rating: 2
The core OS was 64-bit.

None of the libraries that make Mac OS X were however.

You could have 64-bit command line applications, and presumably libraries. Also the OS could address all 8GB of RAM, even if 32-bit applications could only see 4GB of it at the most.

Graphical applications had to link to the 32-bit Cocoa APIs, so they had to be 32-bit. To do 64-bit processing you'd have to have a separate process performing the 64-bit work and some inter-process communication.

Leopard has fixed things so that everything can be 64-bit.


RE: True 64bit OS???
By kelmon on 8/9/2006 2:40:03 AM , Rating: 2
Stupid question but what difference is a fully 64-bit OS going to make when compared to the current 64-bit core but 32-bit User Interface? This is obviously a feature that Apple wants people to know about but I have no idea what impact it will make to me. My limited understanding of the subject says that 64-bit systems can access more than 4GB of physical memory but is that all the benefits outside of scientific applications?


64 bit
By smitty3268 on 8/7/2006 3:58:49 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Leopard will be a true 64-bit operating system with 32-bit compatibility.


So what happens in all those Core Duo notebooks that can only run 32-bit code? Does all the 64-bit stuff run in some compatibility layer?




RE: 64 bit
By hmurchison on 8/7/2006 4:19:54 PM , Rating: 2
Applications will have to be compiled to run 32-bit and 64-bit.

The application will likely run at the higher 64-bit level if the software and hardware support it.


RE: 64 bit
By psychobriggsy on 8/8/2006 12:24:11 PM , Rating: 2
Apple software uses fat binaries, so a single application will include binaries for:

32-bit PowerPC
64-bit PowerPC (optional, also currently 64-bit Mac OS X software is very limited, so the 64-bit PPC code might exist outside the fat binary as a stand-alone console application providing 64-bit services to the 32-bit application binary)
32-bit Intel x86 ("Universal")
64-bit AMD64 ("Universal" for Leopard)

This is a benefit of using the old NextStep system, which also had fat binaries, in that case for 68k, x86, SPARC and PA-RISC (and maybe some more).

Apple's XCode software will automatically generate these fat binaries. I guess that a Leopard fat binary will include all four of the above codebases if "Universal" and "64-bit" are selected in XCode.


Webcast
By ksherman on 8/7/2006 4:45:50 PM , Rating: 2
Anyone know whence the WWDC will be up? I dont remember how long it took for Apple to make it availible




RE: Webcast
By ksherman on 8/7/2006 5:12:56 PM , Rating: 2
"It looks like the iPhone 4 might be their Vista, and I'm okay with that." -- Microsoft COO Kevin Turner

Related Articles
Apple Launches New Xserve Servers
August 7, 2006, 1:29 PM
Apple WWDC 2006 Expectations
August 7, 2006, 10:05 AM
Apple Launches the Mac Pro
August 7, 2006, 1:08 PM













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki