backtop


Print 19 comment(s) - last by noxipoo.. on May 15 at 12:26 PM

Amazon.com buys digital camera review website

Online retailer Amazon.com today announced it has acquired dpreview.com, a website for digital camera information and reviews. Founded in 1998 by Phil Askey, dpreview.com will continue to function as a stand-alone operation based in London. Financial terms of the deal were not disclosed.

“Dpreview.com is by far the most authoritative source anywhere for straight talk about new digital cameras,” said Jeff Bezos, founder and CEO of Amazon.com.  “We at Amazon.com have been their fans for a long time, and we extend a big welcome to the dpreview.com team.”

“One of the difficulties of operating dpreview.com independently has been the balance between producing content and delivering new site features,” said Phil Askey, founder of dpreview.com.  “Now, with the support of Amazon, I’ll be able to devote more of my time to expanding and improving our features – such as product reviews and discussion forums while still delivering the high-quality content that our readers have come to expect.”

Amazon.com sells hundreds of different digital cameras and accessories, though lacks a dedicated editorial review section like those featured in the online retailer’s music and movies section. Currently, only customer-submitted reviews are noted with each digital camera product. As a result of the acquisition of dpreview.com, Amazon shoppers may soon find expanded information on products offered on the website.



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Terrible news
By Jackyl on 5/14/2007 1:24:21 PM , Rating: 5
It is one of the few good camera review sites. Hopefully it will remain unbiased.




RE: Terrible news
By Kooky Krusher on 5/14/2007 1:31:03 PM , Rating: 2
yeah, no kidding. anytime a major player like amazon, google, etc. makes a purchase it makes me a bit nervous....particularly when it's a site I trust. Here's hoping that dpreview will continue to do good, reliable, and honest work.


RE: Terrible news
By Whedonic on 5/14/2007 1:34:26 PM , Rating: 2
If they simply form a symbiotic relationship with Amazon, ie Amazon helps with funding, while dpreview provides useful resources to Amazon, then this could be a good thing. But if dpreview stop being objective, that'd be a real waste.


RE: Terrible news
By Tuan Nguyen on 5/14/2007 1:42:56 PM , Rating: 4
You can't say it's terrible news yet because we haven't seen anything bad happen yet.


RE: Terrible news
By sdsdv10 on 5/14/2007 1:59:51 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, he/she maybe jumping the gun a little bit. Nontheless, far more of these buyouts/mergers go wrong than go right. I too was disappointed to hear this news. I sure hope my cynicism is misplaced.


RE: Terrible news
By GoatMonkey on 5/14/2007 3:37:29 PM , Rating: 2
At minimum dpreview will have to change their quick price comparison box that they include with reviews to show only Amazon's price. That's my guess anyway.


RE: Terrible news
By ninjit on 5/14/2007 1:57:18 PM , Rating: 4
I don't think you have anything to really worry about.

Amazon's reason for buying them is to provide another portal to consumers to buy cameras through them.

Amazon themselves don't make digital cameras, and I doubt they have any real preference on which camera you buy, as long as you buy from them.

So all the reviews and information should still be unbiased, the only changes I anticipate are more links to purchase the camera you are reading about from amazon.


RE: Terrible news
By Spyvie on 5/14/2007 2:15:48 PM , Rating: 2
I certainly think it’s possible that overstocked cameras or the SKUs with the highest profit margins will get more glowing reviews.

At any rate it’s hard to see how this will benefit consumers.


RE: Terrible news
By A5 on 5/14/2007 2:42:26 PM , Rating: 2
They give good reviews to pretty much every Nikon and Canon - and I'm guessing those are the biggest sellers at Amazon anyway, so the real question is if there will be any difference.


RE: Terrible news
By zsouthboy on 5/14/2007 3:27:13 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, it couldn't be the product itself. The review must be biased. That's why Nikon and Canon are big sellers. In the DSLR department.


RE: Terrible news
By feelingshorter on 5/14/2007 11:07:47 PM , Rating: 2
You just twisted the above poster's word. Whose to say "Canon and Nikon receives good reviews anyways" for no reason? I'm not the only one that have tried many brands of cameras and they do stand out from the pack in terms of price/performance. Canon and Nikon are big sellers because they make very good cameras. Ask anyone that have used one.


RE: Terrible news
By R3MF on 5/14/2007 2:50:39 PM , Rating: 2
it's a good site, best of luck to him with his new backing.


RE: Terrible news
By Enoch2001 on 5/15/2007 12:07:17 AM , Rating: 2
This is far from terrible news. If it was bought by Canon or Nikon, then I'd worry - but it was bought by a major retailer that has no reason to persuade purchasers to buy one brand over the other. I'm sure it will be unbiased as always - you can't even get a straight recommendation from Phil after reading a 20-page review of a camera!

Anyway, congrats to Phil - cha-ching!!!


RE: Terrible news
By noxipoo on 5/15/2007 12:26:24 PM , Rating: 2
if this improves their forums it would be worth it, their forums suck


ARGH
By jay401 on 5/14/2007 2:28:18 PM , Rating: 2
Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo :(

So much for a great camera site with unbiased reviews.




RE: ARGH
By TomZ on 5/14/2007 2:57:23 PM , Rating: 1
I agree. It would be naive to assume that the site could continue to be fair, balanced, and honest when it is being funded by a company like Amazon.


RE: ARGH
By IvanAndreevich on 5/14/2007 8:51:23 PM , Rating: 3
So what's Amazon's interest in biased reviews? :-\

Goddamn I hate panicking conspiracy theorists all around


Wonderful News!
By mmeytin on 5/14/2007 9:15:04 PM , Rating: 3
Phil will now have better access to review hardware, will have funds to do even better reviews, and will hopefully branch out to other related technologies, such as digital video cameras or photo printers. No seriously, why are most people so wary about this acquisition? Amazon has owned www.imdb.com among other previously independent websites for ages - have there been problems with those after their purchase by the company? I'm for one am optimistic that this will ultimately be a good deal for users of both online resources.




RE: Wonderful News!
By Roy2001 on 5/15/2007 1:12:03 AM , Rating: 2
I hope they will review camcorders, given new technology is coming, like HDV, MPEG2 vs. AVC, HD vs. flash.


"Google fired a shot heard 'round the world, and now a second American company has answered the call to defend the rights of the Chinese people." -- Rep. Christopher H. Smith (R-N.J.)











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki