backtop


Print 31 comment(s) - last by FITCamaro.. on May 15 at 7:19 AM

The Lumia 925 will hit T-Mobile in the US and Vodafone in the UK

Nokia has officially introduced its new Lumia 925 smartphone running Windows 8. Nokia boasts about its PureView camera promising "the best" low light images and a new aluminum body.

The smartphone features the new Nokia Smart Camera mode that will be coming is an update to all Lumia Windows Phone 8 smartphones. Smart Camera offers users an easier way to capture 10 images at one time and the ability to edit the pictures with options like Best Shot, Action Shot, and Motion Focus. The camera also allows users to share photographs on various social networks all at the same time.


"We keep innovating," said Jo Harlow, executive vice president of Nokia Smart Devices. "We're advancing experiences on the Nokia Lumia portfolio whether that means great new benefits for an existing Lumia owner, or bringing new showcase devices like the Nokia Lumia 925."

Due to its metal frame, the Lumia 925 doesn’t support native wireless charging. Instead, Nokia is offering a wireless charging cover that can be clipped onto the back of the device allowing it to be used with the Nokia range of wireless charging accessories.


The phone uses a 4.5-inch AMOLED WXGA resolution display; Nokia promises that the display is easily read in sunlight and the screen can be used while wearing gloves or with fingernails. Most of the other specs of the device are rather mundane, including a 2000 mAh battery and a 1.5 GHz dual-core Snapdragon processor. The rear camera has 8.7-megapixel resolution and features optical image stabilization. Other hardware features include a 1.2MP front-facing camera, 1 GB of RAM and 16 GB of storage.
 
The first network to get the device in the United States will be T-Mobile.

Sources: Nokia, T-Mobile



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

wireless charging cover?
By Manch on 5/14/2013 9:07:00 AM , Rating: 2
Seems like a step back to me. The composite err.. plastic body is durable and quite nice. I like aluminum, but the plastic self heals minor scratches and i dont need a seperate cover for the wireless charging. If the wireless charging cover acts as a phone case, or only makes it as thick as a 920 then sure ok.




RE: wireless charging cover?
By superflex on 5/14/2013 9:22:16 AM , Rating: 3
I for one, am tired of cheap looking and feeling plastic phones.
IMHO, the move to premium exterior finishes is the future.
I understand the gripe about the loss of wireless charging with a metal body, but connecting a charging cable to my phone is not the end of the world.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By DukeN on 5/14/2013 9:50:30 AM , Rating: 1
I am for one, all in favor of form over function.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By p05esto on 5/14/2013 7:27:54 PM , Rating: 2
No way. Aluminum sucks. It scratches so easy and only comes in one color. After a few weeks of use an aluminum phone looks terrible. I'll take that saoft composite plastic finish any day of the week. Plus I like a little color in my life and aluminum only comes in one color.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By FITCamaro on 5/15/2013 7:17:20 AM , Rating: 2
Inside a case, they all look the same.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By Manch on 5/14/2013 10:12:50 AM , Rating: 4
Ive had my share of phones with crap plastic, but the lumia phones dont feel or look cheap, and they are quite durable. I have an 800 and a 920, and I dont bother with a case bc the body itself is so durable and resists scratching. I only use a screen protector. It's possible to use plastics without it seeming second rate. Not having the wireless charging isnt the end of the world, but I think the wireless charger cover just seems like a craptastic solution. The metal body phones have "windows" for the antenna's, so why not for the wireless charging? Plus how much weight/bulk does teh aluminum shell save?


RE: wireless charging cover?
By CaedenV on 5/14/2013 10:44:27 AM , Rating: 2
I have a 920 as well and completely agree; Wireless charging is no longer an option, I drop my phone all the time and it still looks new even without the use of a case or screen protector, and no, plastic does not have to feel cheap!

As for the new phones; yes, the metal body does make it notably lighter, and while the camera is the same depth as the 920 the bulk of the body is much thinner which is a big complaint had by a lot of reviewers (not so much customers though).
You cannot have wireless charging with a metal frame because it acts as a shield from the coil. This same grounding phenomenon that ruins wireless charging is what makes reception a little better, so you end up with some give and take. I would be perfectly fine without wireless charging if there was an upright stand for the phone that charged via the contacts on the back of the phone. I just know far too many people who managed to keep their phone nice only to have their phone be 'broken' due to the USB port wearing out before the end of the contract. Wireless charging (or contact charging) completely removes that fear, and I only have to use a USB cable when doing a big photo dump, or swapping out my music selection.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By Manch on 5/15/2013 5:20:50 AM , Rating: 2
OK, cool, thanks for the info. I didnt know that about the metal case interfering with the wireless charging. I was looking at the pics, and the back looks like its plastic? or is it painted aluminum? Also if the wireless charging case is plastic, then that just defeats the purpose of having an aluminum case.

I love the wireless charging. I've broken a few usb ports on some of my phones and I'm always careful but lots of times, they just dont seem like the port is secured in the case well and wear/break rather easily.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By Mitch101 on 5/14/2013 10:50:27 AM , Rating: 3
I don't bother with a case or screen cover its really durable and scratch resistant and I find cases just interfere with the phone. No phone should need a protective case if they do then its made from cheap materials.

Nokia Lumia 920 Hammer & Knife Scratch Test
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDEahsoa_N4

Nokia Lumia 920 Destruction: What Does It Take?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3c8il_Q6SU&feature...

He finally had to throw it against a concrete lamp post to break it.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By hughlle on 5/14/2013 10:42:36 AM , Rating: 4
Plastic or aluminium has nothing to do with "premium"

Not every plastic phone is a samsung phone. There are phones out there made from plastic that feel every bit as premium as something made from aluminium. I for one much prefer the plastic casing of my htc desire to aluminium cases. Feel fantastic. No scuffs, no scratches, no dents. It could be argued that a dented aluminium phone is far from a premium exterior.

It is my opinion that if the right plastics and design are used, then there is no argument over plastic being inferior or superior to aluminium, it is then all a matter of personal preference, and nothing more. But as said, if we are talking plastics such as the samsung phones and tablets, then yes, it is my opinion that theses are very inferior.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By half_duplex on 5/14/13, Rating: 0
RE: wireless charging cover?
By BRB29 on 5/14/2013 11:00:55 AM , Rating: 2
My Galaxy Nexus is plastic and it feels solid, more sturdy than my friends' GS3. However, holding the Nexus while holding the HTC One, iphone5, or any solidly built aluminum phone is night and day. It does not make that much difference in everyday use though. Just feels nicer and your lid/batteries don't fall out when you drop the phone.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By V-Money on 5/14/2013 11:30:24 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
IMHO, the move to premium exterior finishes is the future.

I always found it funny that the best phone I've ever owned, seen, or used in terms of the "feel" was my Nexus One. I loved that phone, it just felt so nice and it seemed so solid. When I upgraded to the Galaxy Nexus it took me awhile to get used to it and I honestly hated it (form wise) compared to the N1. The aluminum body ones look pretty, but I still don't like the feel of them as much as I did the N1, but I may try a One as my next phone if the Nexus 5 doesn't lure me in.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By nafhan on 5/14/2013 1:29:02 PM , Rating: 2
If phones increase significantly in durability over what we've got currently, I'd agree with you. As it is, me and just about everyone I know puts their phone in a big ugly plastic case ASAP. This obviously negates any benefit I see coming from "premium feeling" materials.


RE: wireless charging cover?
By superflex on 5/14/2013 1:38:22 PM , Rating: 2
Well, the masses have spoken and I'm obviously in the super minority.
I agree Nokia plastic is a far cry from Samsung plastic and plastic has it's benefits. Never having owned a phone with wireless charging, I guess I dont see the benefit.
I just think in the world of top of the line phones with retail prices north of $600, premium materials are one way to differentiate yourself from the hoards.


Sunlight
By rountad on 5/14/2013 10:37:33 AM , Rating: 2
If the display is easily visible in full sunlight, that will be a big improvement over its competitors.




RE: Sunlight
By Myrandex on 5/14/2013 10:48:52 AM , Rating: 4
The Lumia 920 today has the best sunlight visible screen that I've ever seen. Before I bought mine, the AT&T Rep let me bring a couple of phones outside (the latest iPhone, the latest Galaxy at the time, etc.) to compare them and we were quite impressed with how bright it was in full daylight.

Jason


RE: Sunlight
By BRB29 on 5/14/2013 10:54:13 AM , Rating: 2
but does it drain battery like i drain fresh coconuts in Haiti?


RE: Sunlight
By Wererat on 5/14/2013 11:37:12 AM , Rating: 2
I agree (and with the prior commenter about the 920) and also (as a rider) think the ability to use the phone with gloves is great.

I think people who are liable to drop their phones often might want the poly case, though.


16GB
By Gunbuster on 5/14/2013 1:35:32 PM , Rating: 2
Improve camera, then cut the amount of storage to 16 GB. Blerg




lacking resolution
By agent2099 on 5/14/13, Rating: -1
RE: lacking resolution
By Myrandex on 5/14/2013 10:50:52 AM , Rating: 2
My Lumia 920's resolution seems real nice for the screen size. I haven't one sat down and thought "Geez I really wish my screen was full 1080P". I appreciate my higher resolution computer monitors and TV screens for viewing HD content, but honestly when I bumped up from the 800x480 resolution from the previous generation phone that I had, everything is nice and crisp when looking at a nice HD video source.

Jason


RE: lacking resolution
By Mitch101 on 5/14/2013 11:12:46 AM , Rating: 4
Remember your eyes will explode if you don't have a retina screen and if 1080P is required on a 5 inch screen. We should all throw out our HDTV's because the picture is just not watchable. But Microsoft will cave into this and add 1080P by the end of the year.

Windows Phone 8 will support 1080p displays by the end of the year
http://www.theverge.com/2013/4/9/4196022/windows-p...


RE: lacking resolution
By Reclaimer77 on 5/14/2013 8:17:58 PM , Rating: 1
All that tells us is the OS will support 1080p (wtf doesn't it already?)

That does not mean, however, there will BE a Windows Phone by then that has a resolution of 1080p.

Again Microsoft's and Nokia's approach is just, and I hate this word, lackadaisical. They don't seem to care about being generations behind.

Also what's up with this phone coming to T-Mobile first. T-Mobile!!?? Even if I wanted this phone, there's just no way I would leave Verizon for that horrible small-time provider.

Just pointing that out, now go back to your cheerleading :)


RE: lacking resolution
By Mitch101 on 5/14/2013 10:52:33 PM , Rating: 2
Samsungs check clear for you?

They are probably like a lot of people who think its ridiculous to need 1080p on a 5 inch device. I personally don't see the need but if someone wants it Microsoft will provide it.
As another poster said most laptops dont even have 1080P and life is perfectly fine but we somehow need it for a much smaller 5" screen?

Be reasonable is 1080P on your home TV just painful to watch that you whip out your phone to watch movies?

I just read a review of the Samsung Galaxy S4 as still being laggy with 8 cores and the apps feel incomplete like they are rushing to get something specific to the device instead of refining it? How is that even possible the core OS is still laggy? I like Android OS but come on get with the basics of your OS and optimize it already its how Microsoft can challenge any device and win most of the time with dual cores because the Windows Phone OS is extrmely well optimized. Even on an 800mhz single core the Windows Phone OS is smooth as silk and here Android is supposedly much more mature and its still laggy with 8 cores?

I love the talk of somehow Windows Phone is a generation behind? How the OS is fast and slick. The Cameras on the Nokia Windows Phones are way ahead of everyone else even Google knows it and is rushing to try and get help for the Nexus 5 from Nikon. Soon Audio will be way ahead of everyone else until the exclusivity rights expire for HTC. Sorry but the Galaxy S3 is about a half generation behind the Nokia 925/928 and the Galaxy S4 might be a whole Generation behind the Nokia EOS.

Before you call me a liar about the S4 lag here is a link about the issues
http://forums.androidcentral.com/samsung-galaxy-s4...

‘S Lag’ a Complaint for International Galaxy S4 Owners With Exynos 5 Octa CPU http://www.gottabemobile.com/2013/05/02/s-lag-a-co...


RE: lacking resolution
By FITCamaro on 5/15/2013 7:19:56 AM , Rating: 3
I have a Note 2 which has a 5.5" screen and its only 720p. I'm perfectly fine with that. More pixels doesn't mean I can do more like on a laptop.

1080p on a 5" or so screen is largely just a gimmick.


RE: lacking resolution
By BRB29 on 5/14/2013 10:53:06 AM , Rating: 2
what? most laptops sold today are not even 1080p. Even ultrabooks not all 1080p. I've seen more 900p ultrabooks than 1080p ones.

This is not a flag ship phone. 768p is not enough?
If you're comparing this to a GS4, that thing is 1080p on 5" and it also cost much more.


RE: lacking resolution
By CaedenV on 5/14/2013 10:55:10 AM , Rating: 2
MS is a step behind on the phone side, but that will be dealt with during GDR2 or 3 which will overhaul the way WP handles graphics. This will allow for 1080p displays on the phone, plus the return of support for external displays. Perhaps my own opinion, but 4.8" is as big as I want my phone to be, and WXGA resolution is more than plenty for that screen size. 1080p support will allow for 5.5+" fablet WP devices, but I don't think it will bring about 1080p for normal 'big' phones in the 4.5-5" range.

On the desktop side there is absolutely nothing preventing a manufacturer from using a good high resolution display. MS supports whatever resolution you want to throw at it above 1024x768. Want 9 1600p displays? Windows is ready for it... you just may have an issue getting a GPU to push that many pixels. The bigger issue is that the manufacturers (Dell, HP, Acer, ASUS, and Lenovo) are cheap and do not want to throw money at a display because their own research tells them that people care more about general platform performance over visuals.


RE: lacking resolution
By Mitch101 on 5/14/2013 11:00:36 AM , Rating: 4
Android widens lead in Q1 as iPhone loses market share, Windows Phone gains ground
http://bgr.com/2013/04/29/windows-phone-8-u-s-sale...

The latest numbers from Kantar Worldpanel found that the operating system accounted for 5.6% of sales in the United States in the first quarter of 2013, up 1.9 percentage points from the same period in 2012. Android smartphones continue to dominate the market, increasing 1.4 percentage points and accounting for 49.3% of all smartphone sales, compared to the iPhone’s market share, which fell from 44.6% in Q1 2012 to 43.7% last quarter.

Who's the biggest gainer in U.S. smartphone market share? Wrong! It's Windows Phone.

It's not just the U.S. where Windows Phone is seeing growth. It's picking up overseas as well, with a 4.1% market share. It has been doing particularly well in Europe. In the five countries covered in the report, Windows Phone had 6.5% of sales, up 2.5% from a year ago.

All this is the second piece of recent good news in mobile for Microsoft. Several days ago, a Strategy Analytics report found that Windows tablets had 7.5% of the market in the first quarter of 2013, with 3 million shipped. So Microsoft seems to be finally gaining some traction in mobile. People seem not to be locked into old habits, and appear to be willing to try something new. And that may be the best news of all for Microsoft's mobile strategy.


RE: lacking resolution
By mrwassman on 5/14/2013 1:23:59 PM , Rating: 2
I don't think Microsoft makes laptops


RE: lacking resolution
By Cheesew1z69 on 5/14/2013 6:24:40 PM , Rating: 2
or phones...


"You can bet that Sony built a long-term business plan about being successful in Japan and that business plan is crumbling." -- Peter Moore, 24 hours before his Microsoft resignation











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki