backtop


Print 21 comment(s) - last by maroon1.. on Jul 27 at 3:52 PM


AMD performance desktop platforms  (Source: AMD)

AMD mainstream platforms  (Source: AMD)
New standard desktop platforms in 2008 and Fusion platforms for 2009 with a slight mention of next-generation Radeon

AMD today previewed its next two generation of desktop platforms for performance and mainstream platforms. The new platforms outline details of new AMD chipsets, processors and graphics cores.

AMD’s next new performance platform will be Spider. Spider is the first platform for AMD Phenom X4 and X2 processors, slated for later this year.  AMD pairs the Phenom X4 and X2 processors with the upcoming RD7xx series chipsets for Spider. Spider also features PCIe 2.0, and HyperTransport 3.0, or HT3.

Following Spider is Leo. Leo is AMD’s 2008 platform refresh, again designed to accommodate Phenom X4 and X2 processors. Leo will accommodate the upcoming 45nm refresh of the Phenom X4 and X2. The refreshed Phenom processors will feature 6MB of L3 cache on top of the standard die shrink. Leo will still use the RD7xx series chipsets, but with support for up to four GPUs in CrossFire. AMD plans to initially debut quad-CrossFire with its FASN8 4x4 platform.

AMD’s Leo platform preview also mentions light details of its next-generation GPU. The next-generation R7xx series GPU will be DirectX 10+ compliant. AMD plans to manufacturer R7xx on a 55nm fabrication process as well.

Moving into 2009 is the introduction of Python, a Fusion based platform. Python features a native quad-core Fusion processor in an AM3 package. The Fusion processor will feature a DirectX 10 or 11 compliant graphics core with a second-generation Universal Video Decoder, or UVD. AMD plans to manufacturer this variant of Fusion on a 32nm fabrication process. The Fusion-based processor will also pair an RD8xx series chipset and support DDR3 memory.

AMD’s next-generation Cartwheel mainstream platform is set to replace the current Pinwheel platform. Pinwheel consists of an Athlon X2 processor with the AMD 690 chipset.  Cartwheel will accommodate upcoming 45nm Athlon X2 processors with a new chipset. The new RS700 series chipset will deliver PCIe 2.0 and HT3.0 support. A new integrated graphics core delivers DirectX 10 compliant graphics with UVD and Avivo HD video processing technologies.

AMD plans to position Fusion for mainstream platforms as well. AMD’s Copperhead platform features a native quad-core Fusion processor similar to the Fusion in Python. AMD is light on Copperhead’s chipset details, but mentions the platform will have a Fusion south bridge. The platform will also support DDR3 memory.

Expect AMD to debut Leo and Cartwheel next year with its 45nm die-shrinks and the Fusion-based Python and Copperhead platforms in 2009.


Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

so far away...
By Samus on 7/26/2007 3:26:49 PM , Rating: 3
We need this stuff sooner. My last two systems have been Intel, but the last five before that were AMD. You're not going to win people like me over with a $160 top-end CPU, we care about performance, and even with your $160 CPU, we can't overclock it to even near-intel performance levels.

And damn I miss ATI videocards, haven't owned one in awhile either, although I'll admit even still I believe the video playback is smoother and the 2D is crisper (comparing my 7900GS to my roommates 1900XT)




RE: so far away...
By leidegre on 7/26/2007 3:37:14 PM , Rating: 2
I agree, and I drool when I read about this kind of stuff, but will it delivier? And will it deliver within a time frame which is intresting? To many plans have been laid out, just to be forgotten. However, I feel as it's very important that they do just this, to teas us, to keep the heat, and eyes on the company.
Be it AMD or Intel, I'm always excieted, but many times over, I'm dissapointed with the final product.


RE: so far away...
By Spuke on 7/26/2007 3:58:21 PM , Rating: 2
I only get excited when these products are in my computer at home. Until then, it only makes for VERY interesting reading. :)


RE: so far away...
By FITCamaro on 7/26/2007 4:29:34 PM , Rating: 2
It might not beat Intel's performance, but $160-170 for the X2 6000+ is still a hell of a value. And the difference in games vs. Intel's dual cores isn't that huge. Only with the quad cores coming down to $270ish in price does it really hurt AMD. I mean why spend $170 when for $100 more you can get twice the cores, and about 3x the performance in multi-threaded tasks.


RE: so far away...
By maroon1 on 7/26/2007 5:54:28 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
but $160-170 for the X2 6000+ is still a hell of a value.


I disagree

6000+ is power hungry processor and it doesn't overclock very well

According to xbitlabs it consumes more that quad core QX6850 !!!

For similar price range you can get Core 2 duo E6550 which performs on par with 6000+ at stock speeds but it overclocks way much better and consume much less power


RE: so far away...
By maroon1 on 7/26/2007 5:58:16 PM , Rating: 2
I forgot to post the xbitlabs link
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/cpu/display/core2...

I meant that 6000+ consume more power than QX6850


RE: so far away...
By Amiga500 on 7/27/2007 9:00:55 AM , Rating: 2
Not everyone overclocks mate.

There are also some things (mainly number crunch related) where a 6000+ will be better than a E6550.

Granted, in virtually all general use programs, the Intel is clearly the winner, but for some niche products, the AMD is still better (at stock speeds).


RE: so far away...
By maroon1 on 7/27/2007 3:52:39 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
the AMD is still better (at stock speeds).


6000+ is not better at stock speeds, E6550 was better in the majority in of general use programs according to the website I posted.


RE: so far away...
By RW on 7/27/2007 4:20:45 AM , Rating: 2
What's truly ironic is that if Phenom doesn't have a fast clockspeed and performance to totally left Core 2 Duo in the dust there would be nothing Phenomenal about it. LOL


80nm vs. 90nm, and 55nm vs. 65nm
By Martimus on 7/26/2007 3:28:51 PM , Rating: 2
Why do GPU and CPU manufacturers use different manufacturing processes to produce their chips? Both Intel and AMD use the same standard 90nm and 65nm processes for production, but ATI GPU's are developed with 80nm, and now 55nm. (I'm not sure about nVidia) Does anyone know why they are different?




RE: 80nm vs. 90nm, and 55nm vs. 65nm
By Anh Huynh on 7/26/2007 3:37:27 PM , Rating: 1
GPUs have greater complexity.


By James Holden on 7/26/2007 9:57:10 PM , Rating: 2
GPUs are actually incredibly less complex than CPUs.


By chaosrain on 7/26/2007 3:41:46 PM , Rating: 2
I believe it has something to do with the fact that AMD's ATI cards are not built in an AMD fab. I'm pretty sure that TSMC and UMC make the ATI GPU's and NB/SB chips. So, the real issue is that these chips are being made in different fabs altogether. Now, as to why, AMD and Intel use the same process sizes and the GPU folks use the same (but different from CPU) sizes...I have no idea.


Anandtech Article
By deeznuts on 7/26/2007 4:11:36 PM , Rating: 2
I coulda sworn Anandtech had an article discussing AMD stuff like this, what happened to it?




RE: Anandtech Article
By Anosh on 7/26/2007 5:36:27 PM , Rating: 2
It's still there and there is even an update. Poke around and you'll find it.


RE: Anandtech Article
By deeznuts on 7/26/2007 7:12:06 PM , Rating: 2
That's probably why they took it down, for the update.


Over a Year??
By sixth on 7/26/2007 4:40:15 PM , Rating: 1
So let me get this straight...it is going to be OVER A YEAR until we see a new GPU from ATI/AMD?!? ATI was better off by themselves before the takeover. Nvidia is going to have their 9800 series cards out before ATI/AMD even shows something new. I can see it now...bye bye competition for nVidia!




RE: Over a Year??
By m1ldslide1 on 7/26/2007 4:59:15 PM , Rating: 5
Why would ATI worry about nVidia's 9800 series card? ATI already had a whole lineup of those like four years ago. nVidia doesn't even have a single one yet. Talk about late to market.

=D


sweet!
By thartist on 7/26/2007 11:16:55 PM , Rating: 2
it all sounds so beautiful and sweetly outlined...
duh, for comsumers sake i hope the can at least loosely carry on with those plans on time...




By crystal clear on 7/27/2007 4:35:12 AM , Rating: 2
AMD roadmaps appear then suddenly disappear ! very strange.

AMD product/platform announcement regularly fed to the press, do more bad than good for AMD.

People have been overfed with these regular doses of announcement,to a point/stage/level that they(the people) just read them & forget about them!

An attitude-Oh one more announcement-nothing worth the read.

For the press its good as they have something to report-for the reader its boring-Oh the same old stuff refreshed !

Very bad marketing & P.R. techniques indeed.

AMD does more damage to itself than Intel would do to AMD.




No way!
By GhandiInstinct on 7/26/07, Rating: 0
"Can anyone tell me what MobileMe is supposed to do?... So why the f*** doesn't it do that?" -- Steve Jobs

Related Articles
AMD Talks GPGPU and "Fusion"
July 16, 2007, 1:34 PM
AMD Prepares Quad CrossFire
July 10, 2007, 1:05 PM
AMD Prepares Phenom FX Lineup
July 2, 2007, 5:06 PM













botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki