backtop


Print 29 comment(s) - last by kensiko.. on Jun 22 at 3:01 PM


AMD Radeon HD 4850 @ PC Perspective
DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Thursday

Radeon HD 4850
@ TweakTown
@ PC Perspective
@ PC Ekspert
@ AMD Zone
@ Legion Hardware
@ Legit Reviews

Video
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ 55nm Preview @ PC Perspective
Sapphire Atomic HD 3870 X2 Video Card @ Hardware Secrets
GTX 280 ForceWare 177.35 Performance @ TweakTown
Visiontek HD 3870 X2 Overclocked Edition @ Bjorn3D
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC Edition  @ Guru3D

Processors
AMD K10 - Phenom Overclocking Guide @ OCIA.net

Motherboards
ASUS Striker II NSE @ Trusted Reviews
ASUS P5Q Deluxe @ OCC
ASRock K10N750SLI-WiFi nForce 750a Motherboard @ ThinkComputers.org

Memory
Aeneon XTUNE DDR3-1600 CL9 4GB Memory Kit @ 3dGameMan
G.Skill 4GB DDR3-1600 Pi Series Dual Channel Memory Kit @ Bigbruin.com

Displays
ASUS MK241H 24" Widescreen LCD Monitor @ HotHardware.com
ASUS MK241 LCD Monitor @ I4U

Cooling
Noctua NH-C12P @ Bjorn3D
Zalman VF900-Cu Ultra Quiet Heatpipe VGA Cooler @ BmR

Cases
Antec P182SE Special Edition Mid-Tower Case @ PC Perspective
Technic3D/Hiper Osiris Case @ Technic3D

Storage
QNAP TS-409 Turbo NAS @ Elite Bastards

Consumer Electronics
Motorola Bluetooth Headset H680 @ BlueTomorrow
LG Flatron W2252TQ 22in LCD @ Trusted Reviews


Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

HD4850 Released?
By homerdog on 6/19/2008 11:31:45 AM , Rating: 2
As far as I can tell these cards are kinda out, but not really. How exactly does this work?




RE: HD4850 Released?
By therealnickdanger on 6/19/2008 11:33:09 AM , Rating: 2
They have been available for sale in limited capacities in other countries for more than a week, I think. I'm sure some review models were obtained via less official channels, however.


RE: HD4850 Released?
By Icelight on 6/19/2008 2:18:05 PM , Rating: 3
There was an issue at one of the packaging factories. Essentially, the cases have been very prone to falling out of trucks.


RE: HD4850 Released?
By Clauzii on 6/19/2008 10:48:29 PM , Rating: 2
Ahhh, heavy cooler :))


Bought Reviews
By Phynaz on 6/19/2008 12:19:04 PM , Rating: 1
Umm, So...Like where are the independent reviews? Looks like the reviews are only from AMD fan sites.

I wonder why AMD didn't give one of these to Anand, TR, or Hardocp?




RE: Bought Reviews
By Bull Dog on 6/19/2008 12:59:12 PM , Rating: 2
I'm going to guess that they are trying to get their complete reviews done. AMD did kinda make a mess of this launch.

It was going to be two days ago, then it got moved to next wednesday, and today AMD said, "Go!" But unfortunately no one was really ready.


RE: Bought Reviews
By Goty on 6/19/2008 2:55:49 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, evidently AMD lifted the NDA on the cards almost a week early.


Other reviews !
By Wirmish on 6/19/2008 3:52:15 PM , Rating: 2
http://tinyurl.com/4f7rl2 (french)
http://tinyurl.com/4s2rfw (french)
http://tinyurl.com/4e4cy9 (deutch)

HD 4850 --> $195 -> http://tinyurl.com/423ntf
9800 GTX -> $265 -> http://tinyurl.com/5k3vxh

1920x1050 4xAA 16xAF: HD 4850 = +20% > 9800 GTX




RE: Other reviews !
By kensiko on 6/22/2008 3:01:37 PM , Rating: 2
Ah wirmish tu es partout !!


DH Link
By Goty on 6/19/2008 12:02:07 PM , Rating: 2
The link to Drive Heaven isn't a review, it's a contest.




7.1 sound
By DingieM on 6/20/2008 5:03:54 AM , Rating: 2
These new HD4000 series support 7.1 audio through HDMI.

I would like to see it tested...

But it seems like DAAMIT learned from its mistakes and gets better and better and better.
Kudo's!




WOOOHAAAA
By MrBowmore on 6/19/08, Rating: -1
RE: WOOOHAAAA
By FDisk City on 6/19/2008 11:05:24 AM , Rating: 5
Have enough coffee with your sugar this morning?


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By therealnickdanger on 6/19/2008 11:31:56 AM , Rating: 4
Is Crysis even fun to play? I don't think I've ever once read a review of the game itself, it just seems like a $50 benchmark utility to tell you how much your $3,000 rig sucks. I tried out the demo a couple times on different hardware and just getting it to run seemed like a game on its own.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By aznstriker92 on 6/19/2008 11:38:16 AM , Rating: 2
Dude are you kidding. Its more like my $700 rig telling crysis how much it sucks. Sure maybe when crysis first came out it told $3000 rigs how much they sucked but now, no way. (unless you have a 30') With my old pentium D and 8800GT I can play it on all high @ 1280 1024.
The game is worth trying though.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By therealnickdanger on 6/19/2008 11:47:20 AM , Rating: 3
Actually, I was kidding - being facetious anyway. I can run the demo at "playable" framerates on my old 7950GT machine and my newer HD3850 machine with reasonable eye-candy. The demo just didn't seem to offer much that interested me - other than shiny gfx.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By MPE on 6/19/2008 12:17:52 PM , Rating: 3
Yep - definitely overrated game IMO. Another FPS pushing the technology boundary but pretty sad in the creative aspect of game making.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By abzillah on 6/19/2008 12:21:37 PM , Rating: 1
Crysis is an ok game. I would rate it at a 4 out of 10. There story line is good, the graphics are great, but the game play is not that great. It takes a million shots with the guns to kill one person. The weapons in the game are horrible. Call of Duty 4 on the other hand gets a 9 out of 10.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Bull Dog on 6/19/2008 12:56:14 PM , Rating: 3
Errrm, ever try aiming for the head?


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By MrBowmore on 6/19/2008 8:07:41 PM , Rating: 2
geeeeeeeeez

Whats with the lack of irony all of a sudden? ;)
Seriosly though, the new series seem to be catching up on Nvidias corresponding. Now i'm only waiting on a few good games to pop up... (alan wake,GTAIV e.t.c.)


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By ImSpartacus on 6/19/2008 1:01:50 PM , Rating: 2
I'm not sure what kind of magic sprinkles you have on your Pnetium D, but I have an E8400 @ 3.6GHz and a single stock 8800GT and I can barely manage medium-high settings at that resolution.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Dark Legion on 6/19/2008 6:23:55 PM , Rating: 2
Yeah, me too, because i have a Pentium D @ 3.3 and a GTS 512 and i can only play mostly medium with a few high settings at the same resolution.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Clauzii on 6/19/2008 10:53:52 PM , Rating: 2
Maybe a different perception of FPS-need, who knows. Some people can play low and be happy, some not.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Clauzii on 6/19/2008 10:50:43 PM , Rating: 2
Hence the name :)


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Tamale on 6/19/2008 1:05:26 PM , Rating: 2
looks to me like an 8800 GT for $130 still offers better performance.. and a whole lot more value.

http://www.techbargains.com/jump.cfm?id=287&afsrc=...

http://www.techbargains.com/jump.cfm?id=488&afsrc=...

huh??


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Parhel on 6/19/2008 1:25:29 PM , Rating: 4
No, the HD4850 outperforms the 8800GT across the board. The 8800GT offers better bang for the buck - I own one, and I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. But give AMD their due . . . this is an excellent card. And remember, prices don't stay stagnant. This is launch day . . . prices will drop.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Tamale on 6/19/2008 2:01:24 PM , Rating: 2
when it outperforms the 8800 GT, it does so just barely.. no?

http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=579&type=expe...

they're pretty much neck and neck, and the 4850 costs significantly more. not a great deal if you ask me.


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Parhel on 6/19/2008 2:16:14 PM , Rating: 2
Yes and no . . . The 8800GT in that review is clocked at 700 Core / 2000 Memory. That's hardly comparable with the $140 card. In fact, that card is going for about $190:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N8...

And the HD4850 still beats it, and offers more advanced features. Again, this is launch day and you can't expect to get a "great deal" on launch day. Yes, right now the 8800GT can't be beat in bang for the buck. But I wouldn't be surprised if the HD4850 is the "new 8800GT."


RE: WOOOHAAAA
By Clauzii on 6/19/2008 10:55:25 PM , Rating: 2
Look on Anandtech. Looks pretty convincing to me :))


"People Don't Respect Confidentiality in This Industry" -- Sony Computer Entertainment of America President and CEO Jack Tretton











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki