backtop


Print 14 comment(s) - last by ImSpartacus.. on Apr 22 at 7:22 PM

DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Monday

Western Digital VelociRaptor VR150
@ AnandTech
@ StorageReview
@ TechReport
@ HotHardware
@ PCPer
@ LegitReviews

CPU
INTEL Q9450 Core 2 Quad @ HardwareLogic
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ Techgage

Video
9600 GT SLI @ XbitLabs
BFG 9800GTX OCX @ HardwareCanucks
Zotac GeForce 9800GTX AMP Edition @ t-break
Palit GeForce 9800GTX @ Gamepyre
Leadtek 9600 GT SLI @ Madshrimps

Storage
MTRON PRO 32GB 2.5 SATA SSD @ TweakTown

Hard Drive Enclosures
Sans Digital MobileSTOR MS2UTN+ @ OCIA
Rosewill RX81-CW @ GideonTech
Silverstonetek TS01B @ Metku

Cooling
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler @ OCIA
Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler @ Pro-Clockers
OCZ Vendetta CPU cooler @ EliteBastards

Cases
Thermaltake Armor+ @ 3dGameMan
Sunbeam Quarterback @ OCC
In Win B2 Stealth Bomber @ ThinkComputers
SilverStone Kublai KL03 @ Phoronix

Flash Drives
A-DATA PD17, PD18, and PD19 @ Virtual-Hideout
Super Talent Pico 8GB @ DVHardware

Display
ViewSonic VX1940w 19" @ bit-tech

Projectors
BenQ W9000, Epson TW1000, Optoma Themescene HD80, and Panasonic PT-AE2000E Projectors @ AVReviews

Peripherals
HP Elite Autofocus Webcam @ Geek
ThinkPad Bluetooth Mouse @ Geek
Trust Wireless Vista Remote Control @ InsideHW

CE
The Digital Sensor: A Guide to Understanding Digital Cameras @ AnandTech



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By ImSpartacus on 4/21/2008 8:32:49 PM , Rating: 2
RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By Goty on 4/21/2008 9:06:20 PM , Rating: 5
There's only one problem with that review: It's from Tom's.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By shabby on 4/21/2008 9:13:27 PM , Rating: 2
RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By oab on 4/21/2008 11:20:46 PM , Rating: 2
A quick look at Wikipedia reveals some (now removed) speculation on the Internets about alleged biases that THG has/had/perceived to have had:

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Tom%27s_...
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Tom%27s_...

If you have the perception of bias, it's as good as being true. The real bad stuff *I* heard about THG was back in the Athlon 64 (hammer) and 9800/9700 pro days when the site "favoured" Intel and nVidia over the (at the time) superior Amd/ATI products.

I never read those articles myself, but that was the internet buzz at the time, and I don't really think the site has properly recovered from it. I have my own list of sites I trust, and THG isn't one of them. Even if there was no bias, there might as well have been.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By callmeroy on 4/22/2008 10:41:10 AM , Rating: 2
Not defending Tom's or against it but -- the only problem with those links is that is wikipedia :).

Wiki is great for "fun non-important" research or just to sate your curiousity a bit, but since ANYONE can type ANYTHING, at ANYTIME -- yeah -- its the LAST source I'd use for anythign even remotely serious.


By AlphaVirus on 4/22/2008 12:46:50 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Not defending Tom's or against it but

You can never trust a single site anyways. If I want to purchase a new *insert product* then I will browse to at least 3 tech sites. I will never trust 1 sites reviews as all of them will have different conclusions.

quote:
Wiki is great for "fun non-important" research or just to sate your curiousity a bit, but since ANYONE can type ANYTHING, at ANYTIME -- yeah -- its the LAST source I'd use for anythign even remotely serious.

Agreed. The only time I visit Wikipedia is the get an idea of a topic. I know some people that go "Hey guess what I learned on Wiki, bla bla bla" And speak as if they are a guru now.


By ImSpartacus on 4/22/2008 7:22:08 PM , Rating: 2
Wikipedia is more reliable than many think, but I agree, it is not appropriate for serious work.

So, considering teh internets is serious business, I don't think we should use wikipedia.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By deeznuts on 4/22/2008 1:30:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Whats wrong with thg?


Confucius once say, "He who reads Toms Hardware and believes ... IS A FOOL!"


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By TomZ on 4/22/2008 1:44:27 PM , Rating: 2
I'd say there's way too much snobbery around here. Any of your criticizing TG actually read the article? I didn't think so.


By ImSpartacus on 4/22/2008 6:59:15 PM , Rating: 2
says the man whose name is "TomZ"...


DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By AmbroseAthan on 4/21/2008 8:28:36 PM , Rating: 2
Looks like I have something new to save for, DPReview has their Nikon D3 review up:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/NikonD3/




RE: DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By FliGuyRyan on 4/21/2008 10:35:38 PM , Rating: 2
Although I will not dare to undermine the D3's throne, I will say I'm very, VERY happy with my D300.

I couldn't have imagined a camera this good, and it's been a long wait for a DSLR worth buying (when you're dropping that much cash).

Very, very cool... finally Nikon gave Canon the one-two punch after all these years.


RE: DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By xsilver on 4/22/2008 12:08:34 AM , Rating: 2
With nikon implementing a lens motor drive only policy on their lower end camera's; It appears they are shifting to the high end, where the profits are.

If the IT industry has shown anything, having a superior product doesnt always translate to market dominance.
People carrying canon xxxD series cameras IMO outnumber everybody else 2:1.


By PAPutzback on 4/22/2008 7:52:31 AM , Rating: 1
The Flash Memory\Drive group.




"Google fired a shot heard 'round the world, and now a second American company has answered the call to defend the rights of the Chinese people." -- Rep. Christopher H. Smith (R-N.J.)











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki