backtop


Print 14 comment(s) - last by ImSpartacus.. on Apr 22 at 7:22 PM

DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Monday

Western Digital VelociRaptor VR150
@ AnandTech
@ StorageReview
@ TechReport
@ HotHardware
@ PCPer
@ LegitReviews

CPU
INTEL Q9450 Core 2 Quad @ HardwareLogic
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 @ Techgage

Video
9600 GT SLI @ XbitLabs
BFG 9800GTX OCX @ HardwareCanucks
Zotac GeForce 9800GTX AMP Edition @ t-break
Palit GeForce 9800GTX @ Gamepyre
Leadtek 9600 GT SLI @ Madshrimps

Storage
MTRON PRO 32GB 2.5 SATA SSD @ TweakTown

Hard Drive Enclosures
Sans Digital MobileSTOR MS2UTN+ @ OCIA
Rosewill RX81-CW @ GideonTech
Silverstonetek TS01B @ Metku

Cooling
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler @ OCIA
Noctua NH-U12P CPU Cooler @ Pro-Clockers
OCZ Vendetta CPU cooler @ EliteBastards

Cases
Thermaltake Armor+ @ 3dGameMan
Sunbeam Quarterback @ OCC
In Win B2 Stealth Bomber @ ThinkComputers
SilverStone Kublai KL03 @ Phoronix

Flash Drives
A-DATA PD17, PD18, and PD19 @ Virtual-Hideout
Super Talent Pico 8GB @ DVHardware

Display
ViewSonic VX1940w 19" @ bit-tech

Projectors
BenQ W9000, Epson TW1000, Optoma Themescene HD80, and Panasonic PT-AE2000E Projectors @ AVReviews

Peripherals
HP Elite Autofocus Webcam @ Geek
ThinkPad Bluetooth Mouse @ Geek
Trust Wireless Vista Remote Control @ InsideHW

CE
The Digital Sensor: A Guide to Understanding Digital Cameras @ AnandTech



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By ImSpartacus on 4/21/2008 8:32:49 PM , Rating: 2
RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By Goty on 4/21/2008 9:06:20 PM , Rating: 5
There's only one problem with that review: It's from Tom's.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By shabby on 4/21/2008 9:13:27 PM , Rating: 2
RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By oab on 4/21/2008 11:20:46 PM , Rating: 2
A quick look at Wikipedia reveals some (now removed) speculation on the Internets about alleged biases that THG has/had/perceived to have had:

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Tom%27s_...
http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Tom%27s_...

If you have the perception of bias, it's as good as being true. The real bad stuff *I* heard about THG was back in the Athlon 64 (hammer) and 9800/9700 pro days when the site "favoured" Intel and nVidia over the (at the time) superior Amd/ATI products.

I never read those articles myself, but that was the internet buzz at the time, and I don't really think the site has properly recovered from it. I have my own list of sites I trust, and THG isn't one of them. Even if there was no bias, there might as well have been.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By callmeroy on 4/22/2008 10:41:10 AM , Rating: 2
Not defending Tom's or against it but -- the only problem with those links is that is wikipedia :).

Wiki is great for "fun non-important" research or just to sate your curiousity a bit, but since ANYONE can type ANYTHING, at ANYTIME -- yeah -- its the LAST source I'd use for anythign even remotely serious.


By AlphaVirus on 4/22/2008 12:46:50 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Not defending Tom's or against it but

You can never trust a single site anyways. If I want to purchase a new *insert product* then I will browse to at least 3 tech sites. I will never trust 1 sites reviews as all of them will have different conclusions.

quote:
Wiki is great for "fun non-important" research or just to sate your curiousity a bit, but since ANYONE can type ANYTHING, at ANYTIME -- yeah -- its the LAST source I'd use for anythign even remotely serious.

Agreed. The only time I visit Wikipedia is the get an idea of a topic. I know some people that go "Hey guess what I learned on Wiki, bla bla bla" And speak as if they are a guru now.


By ImSpartacus on 4/22/2008 7:22:08 PM , Rating: 2
Wikipedia is more reliable than many think, but I agree, it is not appropriate for serious work.

So, considering teh internets is serious business, I don't think we should use wikipedia.


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By deeznuts on 4/22/2008 1:30:48 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Whats wrong with thg?


Confucius once say, "He who reads Toms Hardware and believes ... IS A FOOL!"


RE: Tom's Hardware VelociRaptor review?
By TomZ on 4/22/2008 1:44:27 PM , Rating: 2
I'd say there's way too much snobbery around here. Any of your criticizing TG actually read the article? I didn't think so.


By ImSpartacus on 4/22/2008 6:59:15 PM , Rating: 2
says the man whose name is "TomZ"...


DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By AmbroseAthan on 4/21/2008 8:28:36 PM , Rating: 2
Looks like I have something new to save for, DPReview has their Nikon D3 review up:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/NikonD3/




RE: DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By FliGuyRyan on 4/21/2008 10:35:38 PM , Rating: 2
Although I will not dare to undermine the D3's throne, I will say I'm very, VERY happy with my D300.

I couldn't have imagined a camera this good, and it's been a long wait for a DSLR worth buying (when you're dropping that much cash).

Very, very cool... finally Nikon gave Canon the one-two punch after all these years.


RE: DPReview: Nikon D3 Review
By xsilver on 4/22/2008 12:08:34 AM , Rating: 2
With nikon implementing a lens motor drive only policy on their lower end camera's; It appears they are shifting to the high end, where the profits are.

If the IT industry has shown anything, having a superior product doesnt always translate to market dominance.
People carrying canon xxxD series cameras IMO outnumber everybody else 2:1.


By PAPutzback on 4/22/2008 7:52:31 AM , Rating: 1
The Flash Memory\Drive group.




"Intel is investing heavily (think gazillions of dollars and bazillions of engineering man hours) in resources to create an Intel host controllers spec in order to speed time to market of the USB 3.0 technology." -- Intel blogger Nick Knupffer











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki