backtop


Print 8 comment(s) - last by Oregonian2.. on Apr 21 at 2:16 PM

DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Friday

CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 and Core 2 Duo E7200 @ TechReport

Video
XFX 8800 GS XXX Alpha Dog @ I4U
ASUS EN8800GT 1GB @ TweakTown
PowerColor AX3650 512MD2 @ OverclockersOnline

Memory
Super Talent Pico A 8 GB @ Metku

Storage
Vantec Hard Drive Dock @ Pro-Clockers

Systems
Gateway FX540XT @ ComputerShopper

Cooling
Thermalright IFX-10 Motherboard Backside Cooler @ HardwareCanucks

Mobile
Asus Eee PC 900 @ bit-tech

Audio
Logitech Z Cinema SRS TruSurround HD @ EverythingUSB

PSU
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850W @ OCC
Huntkey Titan 650W PSU @ DriverHeaven

CE
Canyon CNR-PC1 @ InsideHW



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Flash drive != memory
By Nihility on 4/19/2008 7:10:35 AM , Rating: 4
Why do flash drives get classified as memory? It seems to me like memory would be RAM, seeing 8GB under "memory" gets me all excited for nothing.




RE: Flash drive != memory
By nugundam93 on 4/20/2008 10:49:44 PM , Rating: 2
because flash drives are after all, memory devices, albeit nonvolatile ones. oh wait, even the platter-based hard drives, optical media, and so on.

so will we consider the storage category in the reviews as redundant? :)


RE: Flash drive != memory
By Oregonian2 on 4/21/2008 2:16:20 PM , Rating: 2
They're also very different at a low level. Flash parts are read like ram based memories, but they are written block-style like hard drives are (both NOR and NAND varieties, and NAND varieties, which most flash cards are, traditionally require error correction filesystem-like software support). To me "memory" includes SRAM, DRAM, etc where there can be a random read or write to any address (even if burst mode blocks can be done, they're not required). I'll go as far as allowing a read-modify-write cycle for writing (needed for sub-word writes with error correction memory), but it goes over to "storage" if there's block required to be involved (usually the writing). If the processor just does a random write-cycle to a random address in the device and it does the write (down at the hardware cycle level) then it's memory. IMO anyway... (but I'll admit things can be contorted and good arguments can be made for a lot of fuzzy in between ways of looking at procedures... most non-static memories do things sequentially and with command-writes as well as data/address writes, where one might construe flash to be equivalent even if a bit more explicit and at a software level).


Intel review
By eye smite on 4/18/2008 10:47:57 PM , Rating: 2
The benchmark scores are interesting, as in some cases the older intel parts, namely the QX6850 gets outdone noticeably by the lower clocked Q9300.




RE: Intel review
By Ringold on 4/20/2008 2:11:35 PM , Rating: 2
quote:
Finally, we totally faked some of this.


quote:
The Phenom X3... oh, wait. Not time yet.


I love humor in the middle of an otherwise mundane processor review.

<3 TechReport


looks like..
By neo64 on 4/19/2008 2:08:46 AM , Rating: 2
that vantec drive dock looks incredibly similar to..

a usb-enabled toaster >.<




XFX 8800GS
By Joz on 4/19/2008 11:53:15 PM , Rating: 2
if you can get over the insane noise this thing produces, and find it for sale, you can grab it for ~100 after MIR, and its a great deal.

Decent performance and a gateway 300W 18a/18a PSU handles it with a C2D. But then agian, a 9600GT from palit was $10 more, and thats what I got for myself.




By paulgswanson on 4/21/2008 1:59:47 PM , Rating: 2
that really pisses me off. Flash Drives are non-volatile data space. NOT memory. Memory = Ram. Flashdrive = Hd space.... DOn't miss classify it! You'll not only confuse common folk. You piss the computer savvy folk off!




"We are going to continue to work with them to make sure they understand the reality of the Internet.  A lot of these people don't have Ph.Ds, and they don't have a degree in computer science." -- RIM co-CEO Michael Lazaridis











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki