Print 8 comment(s) - last by Oregonian2.. on Apr 21 at 2:16 PM

DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Friday

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 and Core 2 Duo E7200 @ TechReport

XFX 8800 GS XXX Alpha Dog @ I4U
ASUS EN8800GT 1GB @ TweakTown
PowerColor AX3650 512MD2 @ OverclockersOnline

Super Talent Pico A 8 GB @ Metku

Vantec Hard Drive Dock @ Pro-Clockers

Gateway FX540XT @ ComputerShopper

Thermalright IFX-10 Motherboard Backside Cooler @ HardwareCanucks

Asus Eee PC 900 @ bit-tech

Logitech Z Cinema SRS TruSurround HD @ EverythingUSB

Cooler Master Real Power Pro 850W @ OCC
Huntkey Titan 650W PSU @ DriverHeaven

Canyon CNR-PC1 @ InsideHW

Comments     Threshold

This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

Flash drive != memory
By Nihility on 4/19/2008 7:10:35 AM , Rating: 4
Why do flash drives get classified as memory? It seems to me like memory would be RAM, seeing 8GB under "memory" gets me all excited for nothing.

RE: Flash drive != memory
By nugundam93 on 4/20/2008 10:49:44 PM , Rating: 2
because flash drives are after all, memory devices, albeit nonvolatile ones. oh wait, even the platter-based hard drives, optical media, and so on.

so will we consider the storage category in the reviews as redundant? :)

RE: Flash drive != memory
By Oregonian2 on 4/21/2008 2:16:20 PM , Rating: 2
They're also very different at a low level. Flash parts are read like ram based memories, but they are written block-style like hard drives are (both NOR and NAND varieties, and NAND varieties, which most flash cards are, traditionally require error correction filesystem-like software support). To me "memory" includes SRAM, DRAM, etc where there can be a random read or write to any address (even if burst mode blocks can be done, they're not required). I'll go as far as allowing a read-modify-write cycle for writing (needed for sub-word writes with error correction memory), but it goes over to "storage" if there's block required to be involved (usually the writing). If the processor just does a random write-cycle to a random address in the device and it does the write (down at the hardware cycle level) then it's memory. IMO anyway... (but I'll admit things can be contorted and good arguments can be made for a lot of fuzzy in between ways of looking at procedures... most non-static memories do things sequentially and with command-writes as well as data/address writes, where one might construe flash to be equivalent even if a bit more explicit and at a software level).

Intel review
By eye smite on 4/18/2008 10:47:57 PM , Rating: 2
The benchmark scores are interesting, as in some cases the older intel parts, namely the QX6850 gets outdone noticeably by the lower clocked Q9300.

RE: Intel review
By Ringold on 4/20/2008 2:11:35 PM , Rating: 2
Finally, we totally faked some of this.

The Phenom X3... oh, wait. Not time yet.

I love humor in the middle of an otherwise mundane processor review.

<3 TechReport

looks like..
By neo64 on 4/19/2008 2:08:46 AM , Rating: 2
that vantec drive dock looks incredibly similar to..

a usb-enabled toaster >.<

XFX 8800GS
By Joz on 4/19/2008 11:53:15 PM , Rating: 2
if you can get over the insane noise this thing produces, and find it for sale, you can grab it for ~100 after MIR, and its a great deal.

Decent performance and a gateway 300W 18a/18a PSU handles it with a C2D. But then agian, a 9600GT from palit was $10 more, and thats what I got for myself.

By paulgswanson on 4/21/2008 1:59:47 PM , Rating: 2
that really pisses me off. Flash Drives are non-volatile data space. NOT memory. Memory = Ram. Flashdrive = Hd space.... DOn't miss classify it! You'll not only confuse common folk. You piss the computer savvy folk off!

"Intel is investing heavily (think gazillions of dollars and bazillions of engineering man hours) in resources to create an Intel host controllers spec in order to speed time to market of the USB 3.0 technology." -- Intel blogger Nick Knupffer

Copyright 2015 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki