backtop


Print 14 comment(s) - last by Breakfast Suse.. on Feb 20 at 12:22 PM


NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan Edition @ Hot Hardware
DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Tuesday

Notebooks
Asus N56DP Laptop @ Gaming Laptops Junky

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN
@ PC Perspective
@ Hardware Heaven
@ OCC
@ Techgage
@ Hexus
@ Hardware Canucks
@ Hot Hardware
@ Legit Reviews
@ Ninja Lane

Graphics
MSI R7970 Lightning @ Vortez

Storage
ADATA DashDrive Elite 500GB External USB 3.0 Hard Drive @ Funky Kit
\Kingston DataTraveler Ultimate G3 64GB @ PureOverclock
Kingfast F3 Plus SSD Review (240GB) @ The SSD Review
OCZ Vector 256GB Solid State Drive @ Pro-Clockers

Cooling
Swiftech H220 Compact Drive II CPU Water Cooler @  TweakTown
Prolimatech Genesis Black Series CPU Cooler @ Hardware Secrets

Power Supplies
Kingwin Power Force 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply @ TweakTown

Peripherals
ASUS Orion Pro Headset @ Neoseeker
Sennheiser PC 363D 7.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset @ HardwareHeaven.com
Wavemaster Moody 2.1 Speaker System @ eTeknix
Cooler Master CM Storm Sentinel Advance II Gaming Mouse @ Modders-Inc.com


Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Ammohunt on 2/19/13, Rating: 0
By jkcheng122 on 2/19/2013 10:53:25 AM , Rating: 2
You're not exactly playing games that require the latest and greatest GPUs. Also in question is what resolution you play at.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By arthur449 on 2/19/2013 10:52:03 AM , Rating: 2
I don't see the issue. For NVIDIA it's both a halo product and an outlet for Tesla K20x chips that didn't meet strict heat / leakage specifications or had defects running full speed FP calculations.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Digimonkey on 2/19/2013 11:17:15 AM , Rating: 3
I have a 680 GTX and find it lacking. Some people are happy to play at 30fps on medium textures, I'm not one of them. I prefer to bump everything up to max, and install extra visual mods game permitting. I also prefer to run at close to 100-120fps as possible. I'm just trying to do this on one monitor at 1080p and the 680 struggles. The users using dual or triple monitor setups...and I believe this is an increasing number, will need even more horsepower.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By bug77 on 2/19/2013 12:06:47 PM , Rating: 2
Not many gamers have 120Hz monitors. But even at 60fps, there are games that still require a powerful card.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Morvannec on 2/19/2013 1:27:20 PM , Rating: 2
Try Crysis 3 when it comes out. If the specifications I've seen are correct on the PC it's DX11 only (no pandering to DX9 XP cavemen - yay!) and recommended RAM is 8GB, which might indicate they've put some effort into a proper 64-bit version too.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By ax on 2/19/2013 3:05:25 PM , Rating: 2
Crysis 3 is out in USA. It runs fine on GTX 560 Ti, 1920x1200, granted not everything maxed but almost (rest of hardware, i7-2700K, 8GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit, installed on Samsung 830 SSD).
I don't see a point spending a grand for upgrade. I also played Far Cry 3 which is graphic heavy and no problems as well.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By dubldwn on 2/19/2013 2:49:40 PM , Rating: 2
680/7970 struggle with the newest games at 1080p 2xAA highest settings. 1440p? SLi or Titan. Actually, then you'd want to SLi Titan.


Why is priced wrong
By Nimbo on 2/19/2013 1:17:46 PM , Rating: 2
This price fundamentally changes the following rules:
1. New top of line the single gpu cards are priced to substitute last year cards in the same $500-$600 price range. In the case their just adding this card to the line up. Under this new nvidia logic next 50% performance improvement will cost $2000?
2. I understand that developing cycles have increased since the "compute" GPUs were introduced. We went from 6 months to 24months for a new architecture. A year have passed since the introduction of Kepler, this should be just a refresh of last year design (like 480 to 580). You are paying a premium for last year tech!. And to make it worst are setting the precedent that the full design should cost $1000 not $500.
3. We should get more performance for the same money every year when new video cards are released compared to last year releases. This year we are being charged for new performance. I don't think it has happened before.
Where is AMD when needed the most?
Hopefully there are not many fools falling for this ripoff




RE: Why is priced wrong
By dubldwn on 2/19/2013 2:51:07 PM , Rating: 2
Price of the 680 is BS, so this is TOTAL BS. Problem is, they're selling...


RE: Why is priced wrong
By MrBungle123 on 2/19/2013 4:50:19 PM , Rating: 2
newegg has GTX 680s for $460-600 depending on model... how is $460 BS for a highend GPU?


RE: Why is priced wrong
By kwrzesien on 2/20/2013 9:54:24 AM , Rating: 2
Because the chip in the 680 is the successor of the 560, and should be priced at $300. The chip in the Titan is the successor of the 580, and should be priced $500-$600.


RE: Why is priced wrong
By TakinYourPoints on 2/20/2013 4:40:04 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Where is AMD when needed the most?


This is part of the problem. AMD isn't competing so NVIDIA can coast ahead.


RE: Why is priced wrong
By Breakfast Susej on 2/20/2013 12:22:37 PM , Rating: 2
I think nVidia has wanted for a long time, and has just successfully moved the halo product into the $999 price range.

This is what happens with a lack of competition. Relying on the benevolence of nVidia in pricing will lead to poverty.


"I'd be pissed too, but you didn't have to go all Minority Report on his ass!" -- Jon Stewart on police raiding Gizmodo editor Jason Chen's home











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki