backtop


Print 14 comment(s) - last by Breakfast Suse.. on Feb 20 at 12:22 PM


NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan Edition @ Hot Hardware
DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Tuesday

Notebooks
Asus N56DP Laptop @ Gaming Laptops Junky

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN
@ PC Perspective
@ Hardware Heaven
@ OCC
@ Techgage
@ Hexus
@ Hardware Canucks
@ Hot Hardware
@ Legit Reviews
@ Ninja Lane

Graphics
MSI R7970 Lightning @ Vortez

Storage
ADATA DashDrive Elite 500GB External USB 3.0 Hard Drive @ Funky Kit
\Kingston DataTraveler Ultimate G3 64GB @ PureOverclock
Kingfast F3 Plus SSD Review (240GB) @ The SSD Review
OCZ Vector 256GB Solid State Drive @ Pro-Clockers

Cooling
Swiftech H220 Compact Drive II CPU Water Cooler @  TweakTown
Prolimatech Genesis Black Series CPU Cooler @ Hardware Secrets

Power Supplies
Kingwin Power Force 850-Watt 80 PLUS Bronze Power Supply @ TweakTown

Peripherals
ASUS Orion Pro Headset @ Neoseeker
Sennheiser PC 363D 7.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset @ HardwareHeaven.com
Wavemaster Moody 2.1 Speaker System @ eTeknix
Cooler Master CM Storm Sentinel Advance II Gaming Mouse @ Modders-Inc.com


Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Ammohunt on 2/19/13, Rating: 0
By jkcheng122 on 2/19/2013 10:53:25 AM , Rating: 2
You're not exactly playing games that require the latest and greatest GPUs. Also in question is what resolution you play at.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By arthur449 on 2/19/2013 10:52:03 AM , Rating: 2
I don't see the issue. For NVIDIA it's both a halo product and an outlet for Tesla K20x chips that didn't meet strict heat / leakage specifications or had defects running full speed FP calculations.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Digimonkey on 2/19/2013 11:17:15 AM , Rating: 3
I have a 680 GTX and find it lacking. Some people are happy to play at 30fps on medium textures, I'm not one of them. I prefer to bump everything up to max, and install extra visual mods game permitting. I also prefer to run at close to 100-120fps as possible. I'm just trying to do this on one monitor at 1080p and the 680 struggles. The users using dual or triple monitor setups...and I believe this is an increasing number, will need even more horsepower.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By bug77 on 2/19/2013 12:06:47 PM , Rating: 2
Not many gamers have 120Hz monitors. But even at 60fps, there are games that still require a powerful card.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By Morvannec on 2/19/2013 1:27:20 PM , Rating: 2
Try Crysis 3 when it comes out. If the specifications I've seen are correct on the PC it's DX11 only (no pandering to DX9 XP cavemen - yay!) and recommended RAM is 8GB, which might indicate they've put some effort into a proper 64-bit version too.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By ax on 2/19/2013 3:05:25 PM , Rating: 2
Crysis 3 is out in USA. It runs fine on GTX 560 Ti, 1920x1200, granted not everything maxed but almost (rest of hardware, i7-2700K, 8GB RAM, Win 7 64-bit, installed on Samsung 830 SSD).
I don't see a point spending a grand for upgrade. I also played Far Cry 3 which is graphic heavy and no problems as well.


RE: NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN why?
By dubldwn on 2/19/2013 2:49:40 PM , Rating: 2
680/7970 struggle with the newest games at 1080p 2xAA highest settings. 1440p? SLi or Titan. Actually, then you'd want to SLi Titan.


Why is priced wrong
By Nimbo on 2/19/2013 1:17:46 PM , Rating: 2
This price fundamentally changes the following rules:
1. New top of line the single gpu cards are priced to substitute last year cards in the same $500-$600 price range. In the case their just adding this card to the line up. Under this new nvidia logic next 50% performance improvement will cost $2000?
2. I understand that developing cycles have increased since the "compute" GPUs were introduced. We went from 6 months to 24months for a new architecture. A year have passed since the introduction of Kepler, this should be just a refresh of last year design (like 480 to 580). You are paying a premium for last year tech!. And to make it worst are setting the precedent that the full design should cost $1000 not $500.
3. We should get more performance for the same money every year when new video cards are released compared to last year releases. This year we are being charged for new performance. I don't think it has happened before.
Where is AMD when needed the most?
Hopefully there are not many fools falling for this ripoff




RE: Why is priced wrong
By dubldwn on 2/19/2013 2:51:07 PM , Rating: 2
Price of the 680 is BS, so this is TOTAL BS. Problem is, they're selling...


RE: Why is priced wrong
By MrBungle123 on 2/19/2013 4:50:19 PM , Rating: 2
newegg has GTX 680s for $460-600 depending on model... how is $460 BS for a highend GPU?


RE: Why is priced wrong
By kwrzesien on 2/20/2013 9:54:24 AM , Rating: 2
Because the chip in the 680 is the successor of the 560, and should be priced at $300. The chip in the Titan is the successor of the 580, and should be priced $500-$600.


RE: Why is priced wrong
By TakinYourPoints on 2/20/2013 4:40:04 AM , Rating: 2
quote:
Where is AMD when needed the most?


This is part of the problem. AMD isn't competing so NVIDIA can coast ahead.


RE: Why is priced wrong
By Breakfast Susej on 2/20/2013 12:22:37 PM , Rating: 2
I think nVidia has wanted for a long time, and has just successfully moved the halo product into the $999 price range.

This is what happens with a lack of competition. Relying on the benevolence of nVidia in pricing will lead to poverty.


“So far we have not seen a single Android device that does not infringe on our patents." -- Microsoft General Counsel Brad Smith

Latest Headlines
4/21/2014 Hardware Reviews
April 21, 2014, 12:46 PM
4/16/2014 Hardware Reviews
April 16, 2014, 9:01 AM
4/15/2014 Hardware Reviews
April 15, 2014, 11:30 AM
4/11/2014 Hardware Reviews
April 11, 2014, 11:03 AM










botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki