backtop


Print 11 comment(s) - last by SlyNine.. on Dec 27 at 4:32 PM


AMD Radeon HD 7970
DailyTech's roundup of hardware reviews from around the web for Thursday

AMD Radeon HD 7970
 @ AnandTech
 @ Hardware Canucks
 @ Hardware Heaven
 @ HardOCP
 @ Hardware Secrets
 @ HotHardware
 @ KitGuru
 @ Legit Reviews
 @ Neoseeker
 @ Tom's Hardware
 @ Vortez
 @ VR-Zone

Case
Antec P280 Case @ LanOC
BitFenix Merc Case @ PureOverclock
NZXT Phantom Black Case @ LanOC
Xigmatek Elysium Case @ OCC

Cooler
Corsair A50 CPU Cooler @ CircuitREMIX

Memory
Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3-1600 16GB Kit @ Benchmark Reviews
Mushkin Redline PC3-17000 16GB Kit @ Tweaktown

Peripherals
Arctic K481 Wireless Keyboard @ Hi Tech Legion
CM Storm Sentinel Z3RO-G Mouse @ Technic3D
Xebec Tech X-Line Keyboard @ eTeknix

PSU
Super Flower Golden King 550W PSU @ XSReviews

Storage
Kingston HyperX 120GB SSD @ Rbmods

Video Cards
EVGA GTX 560 Ti @ HardwareOverclock



Comments     Threshold


This article is over a month old, voting and posting comments is disabled

AMD keep going baby
By Mitch101 on 12/24/2011 11:36:16 AM , Rating: 2
Between AMD's last drivers which allow you to have custom settings for each game and this latest generation 7 series of cards which adds a number of additional features HD3D eyefinity, UVD3, Steady Video 2.0 and the low power all I can say is wow. Im not sure Ill use MST Hubs, & DDM Audio but all this is in ONE Card and the rest are preformance enhancements which you just expect from a newer generation card. Also I dont think I will have a 4K display before Im ready to upgrade again but neat.

Im already sold on Eyefinity alone and just using one video card to do it and Im a believer in 3D video from way back in the TNT3800 days.

Id really like to see NVIDIA do triple screen gaming in a single card otherwise for me there is no competition. As long as it takes two cards from NVIDIA to drive triple screen gaming its not for me.




RE: AMD keep going baby
By evolveNow on 12/24/2011 2:34:44 PM , Rating: 1
I've been waiting for AMD to release this new card and was prepared to buy 2 of them until I saw the price tag. $550 dollars for a single card! What are they thinking? A $200 dollar increase from the 6970. Absolute BS.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By ChronoReverse on 12/24/2011 3:30:12 PM , Rating: 2
It's priced less than the 3GB GTX580 which it is faster than.

This card wasn't made for you; the later 7870 will be what you're looking for.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By SlyNine on 12/24/2011 6:09:50 PM , Rating: 2
Yes, but remember this is a new generation. In the past we have been able to buy 2x the performance from a new generation at the same cost.

4600-9700pro, 4870-5870. This is probably the worst cost per performance *increase* we have seen from a new generation. At roughly 15-30% more performance for a huge increase in price compared to their last gen card, instead of 2x for the same price


RE: AMD keep going baby
By Mint on 12/25/2011 12:36:59 PM , Rating: 2
The 5870 cost $380 at launch, and had a higher street price due to demand. The 4870 cost $160 at the time.

If NVidia cuts the 580's cost to $400, then you can start asking for ATI to bring the 7970 to below $500. As it is, it's priced between the 580 and the 6990/590, which matches where the performance lies.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By SlyNine on 12/27/2011 4:30:04 PM , Rating: 2
Facepalm, What you are not understanding is its a new node, which generally means a massive performance increase for the SAME price. I guess you didn't get my OBVIOUS point or have not been buying Video cards for very long.

The 5870 launched at 379$ and SOLD for that price for a time, I bought one at launch and have the receipt to prove it.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By SlyNine on 12/27/2011 4:32:45 PM , Rating: 2
It wasn't until the 5870 came out that the 4870 dropped in price either. But nice try.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By Mitch101 on 12/24/2011 6:01:13 PM , Rating: 2
New Release, No competition, bragging rights just wait for the initial shine to wear off the price will drop.


RE: AMD keep going baby
By tamalero on 12/26/2011 5:36:14 AM , Rating: 2
while it sucks for us, you need to understand something...
due of capacity limitations of TSCM.. ATI cannot churn that many cards to afford lowering the price..
the 5870 was sold cheap.. but capacity limited AMD.. and thus they couldn't sell enough and make enough $$$.

AMD doesn't want to have the same problem again..
so keep the price inflated.. still exhaust their TSCM capacity..
win win for AMD... but not for us of course..
until TSCM does their job.. and Nvidia releases crap.. I dont think we will see better prices.


Sad Really
By SlyNine on 12/24/2011 6:05:35 PM , Rating: 2
2 years after releasing the 5870 for 379$, they release this card for 500+ and its only about 40-60% faster.

I don't mind the 40-60% increase so much, But that 500$ price tag is insane.

I imagine since this is AMD's first real Compute based GPU the next generation speed jump will be a little bit more inline with the transistor count. But still the days of ratcheting up power demands and using bigger HSFs are pretty much dead, they hit the wall.




By EricMartello on 12/25/2011 10:19:50 PM , Rating: 2
I have a GTX580 specifically because it is single-GPU and the fastest of its kind at the time. The main benefit of single GPU cards is that they do not suffer from that annoying micro-stutter that seems to plague all multi-GPU systems. I had it pretty bad with my 5970 in certain games, and since it seems to be triggered by sudden "bursts" of data, such as quickly panning around, it would always happen at the worst times resulting in me losing some battles I should not have lost. After going to the 580 I've had no such issues and am once again the supreme gaming master.




"There's no chance that the iPhone is going to get any significant market share. No chance." -- Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer











botimage
Copyright 2014 DailyTech LLC. - RSS Feed | Advertise | About Us | Ethics | FAQ | Terms, Conditions & Privacy Information | Kristopher Kubicki